DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2937760 A1 (hereinafter Thompson).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson disclose a shower system (Fig. 11) comprising:
a water subsystem (160) comprising one or more electronic valves configured to control a flow rate and a temperature of water dispensed from one or more shower outlets (521-528) within a shower enclosure; and
a controller (610) in communication with the water subsystem and configured to:
record a sequence of user inputs (see para. [0109]) to adjust operation of the water subsystem while operating the water subsystem to dispense the water from the one or more shower outlets in accordance with the sequence of user inputs;
display a new shower experience option corresponding to the sequence of user inputs on a user display device (display 561 and see para. [0110]); and
operate the water subsystem in accordance with the sequence of user inputs responsive to a user selecting the new shower experience option corresponding to the sequence of user inputs (see para. [0110]).
Regarding claim 2, the shower system of claim 1, wherein the sequence of user inputs on the controller includes at least one of (a) a user input to change the temperature of the water dispensed from the one or more shower outlets, (b) a user input to change the flow rate of the water dispensed from the one or more shower outlets, or (c) a user input to activate or deactivate at least one of the one or more shower outlets (see para. [0109]).
Regarding claim 3, the shower system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to calculate an amount of water usage (see para. [0106]: “sensors may provide feedback to controller 610 regarding the temperatures and/or flow rates of the water dispensed be each of the mixing valves 160) while operating the water subsystem in accordance with the sequence of user inputs and display the amount of water usage upon completion of the sequence of user inputs.
Regarding claim 5, the shower system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to record multiple sequences of user inputs and display multiple shower experience options, each of the shower experience options corresponding to a unique recorded sequence of the user inputs (see para. [0109]).
Regarding claim 6, the shower system of claim 1 further comprising a control panel (560) communicatively coupled to the controller, wherein the control panel is configured to display the new shower experience option corresponding to the sequence of user inputs (see para. [0110]).
Regarding claim 7, the shower system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to transmit the sequence of user inputs to a mobile application (300) communicatively coupled with the controller, wherein the mobile application is configured to display the new shower experience option corresponding to the sequence of user inputs.
Regarding claim 9, the shower system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to:
display a prompt for user input indicating whether the shower system is located in a low flow region (lower spray 526); and
in response to receiving the user input indicating the shower system is located in the low flow region, operate the water subsystem to limit a maximum flow rate of the water dispensed from the one or more shower outlets (see paras. [0103]-0104]).
Regarding claim 10, the shower system of claim 1, further comprising:
an audio subsystem (640) configured to output audio from one or more audio output devices within the shower enclosure; and
a lighting subsystem (620) configured to change lighting output of lighting devices within the shower enclosure; wherein the controller is configured to:
record a second sequence of user inputs to adjust operation of the audio subsystem or the lighting subsystem in connection with the new shower experience option (see para. [0110]); and
operate the water subsystem, the audio subsystem, and the lighting subsystem in accordance with the sequence of user inputs to adjust operation of the water subsystem and the second sequence of inputs to adjust operation of the audio subsystem or the lighting subsystem responsive to the user selecting the new shower experience option (see para. [0110]).
Regarding claim 11, the shower system of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to operate the water subsystem, the audio subsystem, and the lighting subsystem simultaneously and in coordination with one another to provide a synchronized shower experience by concurrently executing both the sequence of user inputs to adjust operation of the water subsystem and the second sequence of inputs to adjust operation of the audio subsystem or the lighting subsystem (see para. [0110]).
Regarding claim 15, Thompson discloses a shower control system (Fig. 11) comprising:
a control panel (560) configured to receive user inputs regarding adjustment to operation of one or more components of a shower system;
a plurality of sensors (see para. [0133]: “one or more sensors”) configured to measure operational data associated with the one or more components of the shower system; and
a cloud integration controller (controller 610) communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors, wherein the cloud integration controller is configured to:
receive the operational data from the plurality of sensors (see para. [0133]);
receive the user inputs from the control panel (see para. [0110]);
transmit, via a network (see Fig. 12), the user inputs and the operational data to a remote computing system (see para. [0114]);
receive error information (see para. [0039]) from the remote computing system; and cause a display (561) of the shower system to present the error information.
Regarding claim 16, the shower control system of claim 15, wherein the remote computing system is configured to:
detect an error based on the operational data from the plurality of sensors and the user inputs from the control panel (see para. [0039]); and
identify a component of the one or more components of the shower system associated with the error (see para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 17, the shower control system of claim 16, wherein the remote computing system is configured to generate one or more troubleshooting steps for resolving the error (see para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 18, the shower control system of claim 17, wherein the cloud integration controller is configured to receive, from the remote computing system, the error information indicating the detected error, the component associated with the error, and the one or more troubleshooting steps for resolving the error (see para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, the shower control system of claim 15, wherein the control panel includes a user display (see para. [0041]: display of smart phone, laptop, tablet) and the cloud integration controller is configured to cause the user display of the control panel to display the error information.
Regarding claim 20, the shower control system of claim 15, wherein the operational data includes at least one of (a) water flow rate, (b) water temperature, or (c) connectivity status (see para. [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of US 2016/0060852 (hereinafter Rexach).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson teaches all of the claimed of the as discussed above regarding of claim 1 except for a user input of the sequence of user inputs causes the controller to enter a deluge mode, the deluge mode comprising: operating an overhead showerhead to fill a reservoir; and draining the reservoir responsive to detecting that the reservoir is full or according to preset increments of time. Attention is directed to the Rexach reference which teaches an analogous system including a deluge feature comprising: operating an overhead showerhead to fill a reservoir; and draining the reservoir responsive to detecting that the reservoir is full or according to preset increments of time (see para. [0096]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effective filed to employ a user input sequence of a deluge feature as taught by Rexach in order to improve temperature mixing of the water to provide a more consistent experience for the user (see para. [0096] of Rexach).
Regarding claim 12, Thompson discloses a shower system (Fig. 11) comprising:
a water subsystem (160) comprising one or more electronic valves configured to control a flow rate of water dispensed from a plurality of shower outlets (521-528) within a shower enclosure;
one or more sensors (see para. [0133]: “one or more sensors”) configured to acquire data indicative of the flow rate of water dispensed from the plurality of shower outlets; and
a controller (610) in communication with the water subsystem and the one or more sensors, the controller configured to:
determine flow rates (see para. [0109]: “flow rate setpoints") for each of the plurality of shower outlets based on the flow rate data; and
operate the plurality of shower outlets in accordance with the flow rate values (see para. [0109]: “flow rate setpoints") when executing a stored shower experience.
Although Thompson does not specifically disclose the controller configured to determine maximum flow rates and convert a plurality of stored percentage flow rate values for the plurality of shower outlets into a plurality of absolute flow rate values for the plurality of shower outlets by scaling the percentage flow rate values to the maximum flow rates. Attention is directed to the Rexach reference which teaches an analogous system having a controller (230) configured to determine maximum flow rates (see para. [0086]: “maximum flow rate that is greater than or equal to the maximum source flow rate") for each of the plurality of shower outlets based on the flow rate data; convert a plurality of stored percentage flow rate values for the plurality of shower outlets into a plurality of absolute flow rate values (see para. [0086]: “collective flow rate”) for the plurality of shower outlets by scaling the percentage flow rate values to the maximum flow rates (see para. [0086]: “the collective flow rate of the of the first plurality of holes 108a, 107b, 108c may additionally be configured to have a maximum flow rate that is greater than or equal to the maximum source flow rate"); and operate the plurality of shower outlets in accordance with the absolute flow rate values (collective flow rates) when executing a stored shower experience.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effective filed to configure the controller of Thompson to determine maximum flow rates for each of the plurality of shower outlets based on the flow rate data; convert a plurality of stored percentage flow rate values for the plurality of shower outlets into a plurality of absolute flow rate values for the plurality of shower outlets by scaling the percentage flow rate values to the maximum flow rates; and operate the plurality of shower outlets in accordance with the absolute flow rate values when executing a stored shower experience in order to provide rapid water flow for rinsing off soap or shampoo (see para. [0086] of Rexach).
Regarding claim 13, the shower system of claim 12 of the above combination, wherein the one or more electronic valves are configured to modulate the flow rate independently for each of the plurality of shower outlets, thereby enabling individual control of the flow rate through each shower outlet.
Regarding claim 14, the shower system of claim 12 of the above combination, wherein the controller is configurable to: receive a user input to decrease a flow rate of water dispensed from a first shower outlet of the plurality of shower outlets; and allocate unused flow capacity from the first shower outlet to remaining shower outlets of the plurality of shower outlets.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of US 2015/0322652 (hereinafter Mazz).
Regarding claim 8, Thompson teaches all of the claimed of the as discussed above regarding of claim 1 except for the controller is configured to execute a purge process comprising: operating the water subsystem to dispense the water from the one or more shower outlets until the water reaches a temperature setpoint; operating the water subsystem to pause dispensing the water from the one or more shower outlets when the water reaches the temperature setpoint; and operating the water subsystem to dispense the water from the one or more shower outlets at the temperature setpoint in response to a user input. Attention is directed to the Mazz reference which teaches an analogous system (200) having a controller being configured to execute a purge process (see paras. [0130]-[0132]) comprising: operating the water subsystem to dispense the water from the one or more shower outlets until the water reaches a temperature setpoint; operating the water subsystem to pause dispensing the water from the one or more shower outlets when the water reaches the temperature setpoint; and operating the water subsystem to dispense the water from the one or more shower outlets at the temperature setpoint in response to a user input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effective filed to configure the Thompson controller execute a purge process as taught by Mazz in order to improve temperature mixing of the water to provide a more consistent experience for the user.
Conclusion
/TUAN N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754