CTNF 18/965,736 CTNF 89526 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 2. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 3. Claim s 1-7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub. No. 2018/0328889 A1 Hansen (hereinafter Hansen ) . Regarding Claim 1, Hansen teaches apparatus for absorption spectroscopy (Fig. 1, Par. [0072]) , the apparatus comprising (Fig. 1-8) : at least one mechanical resonator (Fig. 1, 2 @ 117, Par. [0025, 0073]) including a surface (Fig. 1, 2 @ 116, Par. [0025, 0073]) configured to adsorb a sample (Par. [0025, 0073]) ; an optical source (Fig. 1, 4 @ 113 301, Par, [0025, 0072]) , wherein the optical source is intensity modulated at a modulation frequency f mod (Par. [0074, 0076, 0101, 0106-0107]) , and wherein the light source is configured to illuminate the surface (Fig. 1, 2 @ 116, Par. [0025, 0073]) with modulated source radiation (Par. [0076, 0101, 0106-0107]) ; a detector of mechanical motion of the at least one mechanical resonator (Abstract, Par. [0007, 0072]) ; wherein absorption of the modulated source radiation by the sample adsorbed on the surface causes mechanical oscillation of the at least one mechanical resonator at frequency f mod (Par. [0007, 0009, 0035, 0076, 0106-0107]) ; wherein the detector is configured to sense the mechanical oscillation of the at least one mechanical resonator and provide an output signal (Par. [0009-0010, 0026, 0074, 0081]) ; whereby the output signal is a measure of optical absorption by the sample (Abstract, Par. [0007, 0009-0010, 0072]) . Regarding Claim 2, Hansen teaches the at least one mechanical resonator has a mode having resonance frequency f res , wherein a full-width half-maximum line width of the mode is D f, and wherein |f res - f mod | ≤ 10 D f (Par. [0035], [0076]: If the illumination is of surface 116 is modulated, for example by repeating an on-off pattern by switching the power the light source on and off; the changes in resonant frequency will follow the pattern of {illumination-heating-change in resonator elasticity}. Since the mechanical dimensions of the system are extremely small, the change in resonator frequency will quickly follow the illumination and heating. Thus, illumination of surface 116 may be modulated (switched on and off) at a suitable rate, and the change in resonator frequency may be detected in synchronism at this rate thus teaches the equation, [0106-0107]) . Regarding Claim 3, Hansen teaches the mode is a higher-order mode having two or more antinodes on the surface (Par. [0076]: If the illumination is of surface 116 is modulated, for example by repeating an on-off pattern by switching the power the light source on and off; the changes in resonant frequency will follow the pattern of {illumination-heating-change in resonator elasticity}. Since the mechanical dimensions of the system are extremely small, the change in resonator frequency will quickly follow the illumination and heating. Thus, illumination of surface 116 may be modulated (switched on and off) at a suitable rate, and the change in resonator frequency may be detected in synchronism at this rate. [0106], [0107]: The resonant elements will generate signals in the form of changes in oscillation frequency, in synchronism with the modulation (on-off switching) of power to the optical illumination thus teaches the limitation) . Regarding Claim 4, Hansen teaches sample absorption of the modulated source radiation couples more efficiently to the mode having resonance frequency f res than bulk absorption of the modulated source radiation (Par. [0076]: If the illumination is of surface 116 is modulated, for example by repeating an on-off pattern by switching the power the light source on and off; the changes in resonant frequency will follow the pattern of {illumination-heating-change in resonator elasticity}. Since the mechanical dimensions of the system are extremely small, the change in resonator frequency will quickly follow the illumination and heating. Thus, illumination of surface 116 may be modulated (switched on and off) at a suitable rate, and the change in resonator frequency may be detected in synchronism at this rate. [0106], [0107]: The resonant elements will generate signals in the form of changes in oscillation frequency, in synchronism with the modulation (on-off switching) of power to the optical illumination thus teaches the limitation) . Regarding Claim 5, Hansen teaches the sample is a single molecule (Examiner interprets white blood cells as intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. EX parte Masham , 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (1987)) . Regarding Claim 6, Hansen teaches the optical source is tunable, whereby an absorption spectrum of the sample can be obtained by scanning an output wavelength of the optical source (Par. [0007]: wavelengths, [0008]: a processor programmed to control the wavelength , [0022]: illuminating particulates collected on a resonator with light of differing wavelength s, [0034]: the spectrum from (for example) 370 nm (ultraviolet) to 950 nm, (infra-red) representing the spectrum range of wavelength s of illumination available from miniature light sources thus teaches the limitation. Also see Par. [0071-0072]) . Regarding Claim 7, Hansen teaches the optical source is a dual-comb source configured to provide two or more emission wavelengths, each emission wavelength having a distinct intensity modulation frequency, whereby an absorption spectrum of the sample can be obtained at all emission wavelengths simultaneously (Par. [0022, 0034, 0035, 0074, 0076, 0081, 0101, 01016-0107]) . Regarding Claim 10, Hansen teaches a sensor of adsorbed sample mass (Par. [0003]) . Regarding Claim 11, Hansen teaches the sensor of adsorbed sample mass is configured to sense a change in a resonant frequency of the at least one mechanical resonator due to the adsorbed sample mass (Par. [0008, 0028]) . Regarding Claim 12, Hansen teaches the at least one mechanical resonator comprises two or more mechanical resonators (Fig. 1, 6 @ 117, Par. [0010]) ; wherein the optical source comprises two or more dual-comb sources each configured to provide two or more emission wavelengths, each emission wavelength having a distinct intensity modulation frequency (Par. [0022, 0034, 0035, 0074, 0076, 0081, 0101, 01016-0107]) ; further comprising optics configured to map optical emission from the two or more dual-comb sources to the two or more mechanical resonators (Fig. 6 @ 620, Par. [0097]) ; whereby improved sensing throughput is provided (Par. [0077]) . Regarding Claim 13, Hansen teaches the at least one mechanical resonator is piezoelectric (Par. [0029]) , whereby the detector of mechanical motion of the at least one mechanical resonator includes electrodes disposed to sense a piezoelectric voltage of the at least one mechanical resonator (Fig. 2 @ 119, Par. [0004, 0024, 0028, 0078]) . Regarding Claim 14, Hansen teaches the electrodes are substantially not illuminated by the optical source (Par. [0004, 0027-0028]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2006/0097807 A1 Mage et al. (hereinafter Mage ) . Regarding Claim 8, Hansen teaches the at least one mechanical resonator (See Claim 1 rejection) but does not explicitly teach a cryogenic chamber, wherein the at least one mechanical resonator is disposed within the cryogenic chamber, whereby a signal to noise ratio of optical absorption measurement is improved. However, Mage teaches a cryogenic chamber and the resonator (Fig. 6 @ 33, Abstract, Par. [0057]) being placed in the cryogenic chamber (Fig. 6 @ 32, Abstract, Par. [0057]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansen by Mage as taught above such that a cryogenic chamber, wherein the at least one mechanical resonator is disposed within the cryogenic chamber, whereby a signal to noise ratio of optical absorption measurement is improved (inherently teaches. Also see Mage: Par. [0001- 0002]) in order to generate oscillators of very high stability that exhibit ever decreasing phase noise (Mage, Par. [0002]) . Regarding Claim 9, Hansen as modified by Mage teaches the at least one mechanical resonator (Mage: Fig. 6 @ 33. Also see Claim 8 rejection above) has a squeezed vacuum state (Mage: Fig. 6) to improve sensitivity (inherently teaches. Also see Mage: Par. [0001-0002]) (5-steps omitted due to same motivation) . Additional Prior Art 07-96 AIA 6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of absorption spectroscopy . US Patent Pub. No. 2018/0196012 A1 by Blanchard et al. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMIL AHMED whose telephone number is (571)272-1950. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kara Geisel can be reached on 571-272-2416 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 2 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 3 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 4 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 5 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 6 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 7 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 8 Art Unit: 2877 Application/Control Number: 18/965,736 Page 9 Art Unit: 2877