DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 13, the phrase “the (1_2)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel in the first direction” contradicts with “ the (1_2)th sub-pixel…. is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_2)th sub-pixel in a second direction crossing the first direction.” It is unclear whether the (1_2)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel in the first direction or in a second direction crossing the first direction. Clarification of “the (1_2)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel in the first direction” and “ the (1_2)th sub-pixel…. is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_2)th sub-pixel in a second direction crossing the first direction” is required.
For purposes of further examination, due to the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, the following art rejection for the above rejected claim is based as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1).
As to claim 1, Chien et al. teaches a pixel comprising: first sub-pixels comprising a (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) and a (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]); second sub-pixels comprising a (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) and a (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]), and configured to emit light of a color different from that of the first sub-pixels ([0057]: red subpixels R11 and R12 in Fig. 3); and a third sub-pixel configured to emit light of a color ([0057]: green sub-pixel) different from that of each of the first sub-pixels (red subpixels R11 and R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]) and the second sub-pixels (blue sub-pixel B11 and B12 in Fig. 3), wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) and the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) are configured to be driven during a first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high. Fig. 3 shows red subpixel R11 and blue sub-pixel B11 connected to scan line GL1; [0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL1 shown in FIG. 4), and not driven during a second period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL2 is high;[0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL2 shown in FIG. 4), and wherein the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3) and the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) are configured to be driven during the second period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL2 is high. Fig. 3 shows red subpixel R12 and blue sub-pixel B12 connected to scan line GL2;[0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL2 shown in FIG. 4), and not driven during the first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high). As to claim 3, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 1, wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) and the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]) are configured to be alternately driven(see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high, the (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) is driven. Period when scanning signal on GL2 is high, the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12) is driven. Fig. 3 shows red subpixel R11 connected to scan line GL1 and red subpixel R12 connected to scan line GL2; [0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL1 and GL2 shown in FIG. 4), wherein the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) and the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) are configured to be alternately driven (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high, the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) is driven. Period when scanning signal on GL2 is high, the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) is driven. Fig. 3 shows blue sub-pixel B11 connected to scan line GL1 and blue sub-pixel B12 connected to scan line GL2; [0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL1 and GL2 shown in FIG. 4), and wherein each of the first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high) and the second period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL2 is high) corresponds to one frame ([0039]: one frame).
As to claim 10, Chien et al. teaches a pixel comprising: first sub-pixels comprising a (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) and a (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]); second sub-pixels comprising a (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) and a (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]), and configured to emit light of a color different from that of the first sub-pixels ([0057]: red subpixels R11 and R12 in Fig. 3); and third sub-pixels comprising a (3_1)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G12 in Fig. 3) and a (3_2)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G11 in Fig. 3;[0057]), and configured to emit light of a color ([0057]: green subpixels G11 and G12 in Fig. 3) different from that of each of the first sub-pixels ([0057]: red subpixels R11 and R12 in Fig. 3) and the second sub-pixels ([0057]: blue sub-pixels B11 and B12 in Fig. 3), wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3), the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3), and the (3_1)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G12 in Fig. 3) are configured to be driven during a first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high. Fig. 3 shows red subpixel R11, blue sub-pixel B11 and green sub-pixel G12 connected to scan line GL1; [0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL1 shown in FIG. 4), and not driven during a second period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL2 is high;[0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL2 shown in FIG. 4), and wherein the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]), the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]), and the (3_2)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G11 in Fig. 3;[0057]) are configured to be driven during the second period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL2 is high. Fig. 3 shows red subpixel R12, blue sub-pixel B12 and green sub-pixel G11 connected to scan line GL2;[0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL2 shown in FIG. 4), and not driven during the first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0273394 A1).
As to claim 2, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 1, wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) and the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]) are configured to emit light ([0057]: red subpixels R11 and R12 emit red color light), andwherein the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) and the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) are configured to emit light ([0057]: blue subpixels B11 and B12 emit blue color light), but does not disclose emit light having the same luminance as each other.
However, Chen et al. teaches emit light having the same luminance as each other ([0063]: luminance of red subpixels should be the same, luminance of blue subpixels should be the same).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. by emitting light having the same luminance as each other as taught by Chen et al. in order to raise the quality of visual effects.
As to claim 11, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 10, wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) and the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]) are configured to emit light ([0057]: red subpixels R11 and R12 emit red color light), wherein the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) and the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) are configured to emit light ([0057]: blue subpixels B11 and B12 emit blue color light), and wherein the (3_1)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G12 in Fig. 3) and the (3_2)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G11 in Fig. 3;[0057]) are configured to emit light ([0057]: green subpixels G11 and G12 emit green color light), but does not explicitly disclose with the same luminance as each other. However, Chen et al. teaches emit light having the same luminance as each other ([0063]: luminance of red subpixels should be the same, luminance of blue subpixels should be the same, luminance of red subpixels should be the same).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. by emitting light having the same luminance as each other as taught by Chen et al. in order to raise the quality of visual effects.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1) in view of Pyun et al.(US 2022/0076630 A1).
As to claim 4, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first period is the same as a threshold age of each of the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel. However, Pyun et al. teaches wherein the first period is the same as a threshold age of each of the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel ([0123]: instances of the scan signal and instances of the gate signal are sequentially applied to the pixels having pixel ages that are equal to or greater than reference value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. the first period is the same as a threshold age of each of the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel as taught by Pyun et al. in order to display images with uniform luminance.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1) in view of Keum et al. (US 2024/0332463 A1).
As to claim 5, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 1, wherein the first sub-pixels (red
subpixels R11 and R12 in Fig. 3), the second sub-pixels (blue sub-pixels B11 and B12 in Fig. 3), and
the third sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G11 and G12 in Fig. 3) are located side by side with one another
along a first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the (1_2)th
sub-pixel is located between the (1_1)th sub- pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel, and wherein the (2_2)th
sub-pixel is located between the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel. However, Keum et al. teaches wherein the (1_2)th sub-pixel ([0050]: first subpixel 131, Fig.
1) is located between the (1_1)th sub- pixel ([0050]: second subpixel 131 on the right of first
subpixel 131 in Fig. 1) and the (2_1)th sub-pixel ([0051]: first subpixel 132, Fig. 1), and wherein the
(2_2)th sub-pixel ([0051]:second subpixel 132 on the right of first subpixel 132, Fig. 1) is located
between the (2_1)th sub-pixel ([0051]: first subpixel 132, Fig. 1) and the third sub-pixel ([0052]: subpixel
133 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the (1_2)th sub-pixel is located
between the (1_1)th sub- pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel, and wherein the (2_2)th sub-pixel is located
between the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel as taught by Keum et al. in order to increase
pixels per Inch and quality of the display.
As to claim 12, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 10, wherein the first sub-pixels (red
subpixels R11 and R12 in Fig. 3), the second sub-pixels (blue sub-pixels B11 and B12 in Fig. 3), and
the third sub-pixels (green sub-pixel G11 and G12 in Fig. 3)are located side by side with one another in a
first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the (1_2)th sub-
pixel is located between the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel, and wherein the (2_2)th sub-
pixel is located between (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (3_1)th sub-pixel. However, Keum et al. teaches wherein the (1_2)th sub-pixel ([0050]: first subpixel 131, Fig.
1) is located between the (1_1)th sub- pixel ([0050]: second subpixel 131 on the right of first
subpixel 131 in Fig. 1) and the (2_1)th sub-pixel ([0051]: first subpixel 132, Fig. 1), and wherein the
(2_2)th sub-pixel ([0051]:second subpixel 132 on the right of first subpixel 132, Fig. 1) is located
between the (2_1)th sub-pixel ([0051]: first subpixel 132, Fig. 1) and the (3_1)th sub-pixel
([0052]: subpixel 133 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the (1_2)th sub-pixel is located
between the (1_1)th sub- pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel, and wherein the (2_2)th sub-pixel is located
between the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (3_1)th sub-pixel as taught by Keum et al. in order to increase
pixels per Inch and quality of the display.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2020/0075691 A1).
As to claim 7, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 1, wherein the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue
sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) and the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) are located
adjacent to each other in a first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3), but does not explicitly disclosewherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel in a second direction crossing the first direction, wherein the (1_2)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel in the second direction, and wherein the third sub-pixel is located between the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (1_2)th sub-pixel.
However, Zhou et al. teaches wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel ((1_1)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 20 below) is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel ((2_1)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 20 below) in a second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 20) crossing the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 20), wherein the (1_2)th sub-pixel ((1_2)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 20 below) is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel ((2_2)th in Fig. 20 below) in the second direction (vertical direction), and wherein the third sub-pixel (third sub-pixel G in Fig. 20) is located between the (1_1)th sub-pixel ((1_1)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 20 below) and the (1_2)th sub-pixel ((1_2)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 20 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the (1_1)th sub-pixel is located
adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel in a second direction crossing the first direction, wherein the (1_2)th
sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel in the second direction, and wherein the third sub-
pixel is located between the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (1_2)th sub-pixel as taught by Zhou et al. in order
to increase pixels per Inch and quality of the display.
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1) in view of Cui et al. (US 12426445 B1).
As to claim 8, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein
the (1_1)th sub-pixel, the (2_1)th sub-pixel, the (1_2)th sub-pixel, and the (2_2)th sub-pixel are
sequentially located along a first direction, and wherein the third sub-pixel extends in the first direction,
and is located adjacent to the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels in a second direction crossing
the first direction.
However, Cui et al. teaches wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel ((1_1)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 5), the
(2_1)th sub-pixel ((2_1)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 5), the (1_2)th sub-pixel ((1_2)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 5), and
the (2_2)th sub-pixel ((2_2)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 5) are sequentially located along a first direction
(horizontal direction in Fig. 5), and wherein the third sub-pixel (third sub-pixel G in Fig. 5) extends in the
first direction (horizontal direction), and is located adjacent to the first sub-pixels ((1_1)th sub-pixel R in
Fig. 5) and the second sub-pixels ((2_1)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 5) in a second direction (vertical direction in
Fig. 5) crossing the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the (1_1)th sub-pixel, the (2_1)th
sub-pixel, the (1_2)th sub-pixel, and the (2_2)th sub-pixel are sequentially located along a first direction,
the third sub-pixel extends in the first direction, and is located adjacent to the first sub-pixels and the
second sub-pixels in a second direction crossing the first direction as taught by Cui et al. in order
to reduce complexity of manufacturing the display.
As to claim 14, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose wherein
the (1_1)th sub-pixel, the (2_1)th sub-pixel, the (1_2)th sub-pixel, and the (2_2)th sub-pixel are
sequentially located along a first direction,
wherein the (3_1)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-
pixel in a second direction crossing the first direction, and
wherein the (3_2)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_2)th sub-
pixel in the second direction.
However, Cui et al. teaches wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel ((1_1)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 5), the
(2_1)th sub-pixel ((2_1)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 5), the (1_2)th sub-pixel ((1_2)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 5), and
the (2_2)th sub-pixel ((2_2)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 5) are sequentially located along a first direction
(horizontal direction in Fig. 5), wherein the (3_1)th sub-pixel ((3_1)th sub-pixel G in Fig. 5) is located
adjacent to the (1_1)th sub-pixel ((1_1)th sub-pixel R in Fig. 5) and the (2_1)th sub- pixel ((2_1)th sub-
pixel B in Fig. 5) in a second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 5) crossing the first direction (horizontal
direction in Fig. 5), and
wherein the (3_2)th sub-pixel ((3_2)th sub-pixel G in Fig. 5) is located adjacent to the (2_1)th
sub-pixel ((2_1)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 5) and the (2_2)th sub-pixel ((2_2)th sub-pixel B in Fig. 5) in the
second direction (vertical direction, Fig. 5 shows (3_2)th sub-pixel G is below (2_1)th sub-pixel B and
(2_2)th sub-pixel B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the (1_1)th sub-pixel, the (2_1)th
sub-pixel, the (1_2)th sub-pixel, and the (2_2)th sub-pixel are sequentially located along a first direction,
wherein the (3_1)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-
pixel in a second direction crossing the first direction, and the (3_2)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to
the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_2)th sub-pixel in the second direction as taught by Cui et al. in order
to reduce complexity of manufacturing the display.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1) in view of Huangfu et al. (US 2019/0140030 A1).
As to claim 13, Chien et al. teaches the pixel of claim 10, wherein the (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3) and the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3)are located adjacent to each other in a first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3), wherein the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]) is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3), wherein the (3_1)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G12 in Fig. 3) is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in Fig. 3) in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3), and wherein the (3_2)th sub-pixel (green sub-pixel G11 in Fig. 3;[0057]) is located adjacent to the (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]) in the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3), but does not explicitly disclose the (1_2)th sub-pixel is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_2)th sub-pixel in a second direction crossing the first direction.
However, Huangfu et al. teaches the (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R in Fig. 2(b)) is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel (first subpixel B (102) in Fig. 2(b)) and the (2_2)th sub-pixel in a second direction (second blue subpixel B in a vertical direction in Fig. 2(b)) crossing the first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2(b)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the (1_2)th sub-pixel
is located adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_2)th sub-pixel in a second direction
crossing the first direction as taught by Huangfu et al. in order to distribute red and
blue sub-pixels evenly.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2020/0251038 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 10997898 B2) and further in view of Chung (US 2018/0018916 A1).
As to claim 15, Chien et al. teaches a display device ([0002]: display) comprising:
a pixel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels ([0057]: sub-pixels ); and
a main controller configured to control the sub-pixels based on driving data ([0040];[0043]: driving
apparatus 100 drive display panel), wherein the sub-pixels comprise:
a (1_1)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R11 in Fig. 3), and a (2_1)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B11 in
Fig. 3), configured to be driven during a first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1
is high. Fig. 3 shows red subpixel R11, blue sub-pixel B11 connected to scan line GL1; [0059-0060]:
signal timing of the scan line GL1 shown in FIG. 4), and not driven during a second period (see Fig.
4, period when scanning signal on GL2 is high;[0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL2
shown in FIG. 4) different from the first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1
is high);
a (1_2)th sub-pixel (red subpixel R12 in Fig. 3; [0057]), and a (2_2)th sub-pixel (blue sub-pixel B12 in Fig. 3;[0057]), configured to be driven during the second period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL2 is high. Fig. 3 shows red subpixel R12, blue sub-pixel B12 and green sub-pixel G11 connected to scan line GL2;[0059-0060]: signal timing of the scan line GL2 shown in FIG. 4), and not driven during the first period (see Fig. 4, period when scanning signal on GL1 is high), but does not explicitly disclose aging data of the sub-pixels.
However, Wang et al. teaches aging data of the sub-pixels (Abstract: current aging degree coefficient of each sub-pixel, performing aging compensation on the sub-pixel according to the current aging degree coefficient).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. with aging data of the sub-pixels as taught
by Wang et al. in order to perform aging compensation to the sub-pixel.
Chien et al. in view of Wang et al. teaches the device as discussed above, but does not
explicitly disclose a third sub-pixel configured to be driven during the first period and the second
period.
However, Chung teaches a third sub-pixel configured to be driven during the first period
([0011]: third sub-pixel in the pixel unit are driven to display in the first period) and
the second period ([0011]: third sub-pixel in the pixel unit are driven to display in the second
period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. in view of Wang et al. with a third sub-pixel
configured to be driven during the first period and the second period as taught by Chung in order to
improve dynamic resolution of the display device and optimize display effect.
As to claim 16, Chien et al. teaches the display device of claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the main controller comprises: memory including a lookup table configured to store the aging data including information on a threshold age of each of the sub-pixels; an aging determiner configured to generate the driving data on a driving time point of each of the sub-pixels; and a signal generator configured to generate an output control signal for individually controlling the sub-pixels based on the aging data and the driving data. However, Wang et al. teaches wherein the main controller comprises: memory including a lookup table configured to store the aging data including information on a threshold age of each of the sub-pixels (col. 15, lines 29-39: a table showing a correspondence between current aging degree coefficients and current aging compensation parameters, and a table showing a correspondence between current aging compensation parameters and theoretical grayscales and the data voltages; col. 22, lines 8-15: software module reside in memory); an aging determiner configured to generate the driving data on a driving time point of each of the sub-pixels (col. 16, lines 57-60 and lines 65-col. 17, line 34: aging degree determination circuit 1 is configured to respectively determine a current aging degree coefficient of each sub-pixel according to historical display data of the sub-pixel. Aging degree determination circuit 1 includes searching sub-circuit 101 and a processing sub-circuit 102 integrated into timing controller); and a signal generator configured to generate an output control signal for individually controlling the sub-pixels based on the aging data and the driving data (col. 16, lines 61-64: perform aging compensation to the sub-pixel according to the current aging degree coefficient of the sub-pixel; col. 17, lines 35-67: determine a current aging compensation parameter of the sub-pixel according to the current aging degree coefficient of the sub-pixel and generate a data voltage of the sub-pixel according to a theoretical grayscale of the sub-pixel in the current frame and the current aging compensation parameter of the sub-pixel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the main controller comprisesmemory including a lookup table configured to store the aging data including information on a threshold age of each of the sub-pixels, an aging determiner configured to generate the driving data on a driving time point of each of the sub-pixels, and a signal generator configured to generate an output control signal for individually controlling the sub-pixels based on the aging data and the driving data as taught by Wang et al. in order to perform aging compensation to the sub-pixel.
As to claim 17, Chien et al. teaches the display device as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal generator is configured to determine the first period to correspond to the threshold age of each of the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel. However, Wang et al. teaches wherein the signal generator is configured to determine the first period to correspond to the threshold age of each of the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel (Abstract: performing aging compensation on the sub-pixel according to the current aging degree coefficient of the sub-pixel when a current frame is displayed; col. 6, lines 44-54: for each sub-pixel, determine whether the current aging degree coefficient of the sub-pixel is greater than a predetermined aging degree coefficient threshold; col. 17, lines 35-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chien et al. such that the signal generator is configured to determine the first period to correspond to the threshold age of each of the (1_1)th sub-pixel and the (2_1)th sub-pixel as taught by Wang et al. in order to perform aging compensation to the sub-pixel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STACY KHOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624