DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Claims 1-43 are cancelled.
Claims 44-56 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 44-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gourapura et al. (US20150265696A1) hereinafter Gourapura in view of Lee et al. ("PEGylation to Improve Protein Stability During Melt Processing", Macromol Biosci. 2015 Oct;15(10):1332-7. doi: 10.1002/mabi.201500143. Epub 2015 Jun 12.) hereinafter Lee and Von Andrian et al. (US20140314865A1) hereinafter Von Andrian.
Regarding claims 44-56, Gourapura discloses a degradable viral nanoparticle construct for delivery of virus or virus-like particles to a cell or tissue of
interest of a subject, the nanoparticle construct comprising: a biodegradable polymer matrix ([0087], [0091]), discloses a plurality of virus or virus-like particles encapsulated within the biodegradable polymer matrix ([0087], [0091]), the nanoparticle construct upon administration to a subject ([0098], [0207]), providing a sustained release of the virus or virus-like particles to the cell or tissue [0146].
Gourapura does not teach a melt processed nanoparticle or upon release from the degradable polymer matrix having the same or substantially similar structural and/or biochemical characteristics as the particles prior to melt processing and does not explicitly disclose a method of treating cancer by administering.
However, Lee is drawn to the effect of PEGylation on protein stability during melt processing using lysozyme and PLGA. The results indicate that PEGylation increases the retained activity of lysozyme, increases dispersion in the melt, and reduces the biphasic release profile in melt processed systems (abstract). Lee discloses a melt processed nanoparticle (abstract) and upon release from the degradable polymer matrix having the same or substantially similar structural and/or biochemical characteristics as the particles prior to melt processing (pg 1335 col 1 2; pg 1336 Fig. 4A).
However, Von Andrian is drawn to methods of designing, manufacturing, and using inventive vaccine nanocarriers and pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The invention provides methods of prophylaxis and/or treatment of diseases, disorders, and conditions comprising administering at least one inventive vaccine nanocarrier to a subject in need thereof (abstract).
Von Andrian discloses the compositions and methods can be used for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of any cancer [0465]. Cancers include but are not limited to biliary tract cancer; brain cancer; breast cancer; cervical cancer; choriocarcinoma; colon cancer; endometrial cancer; esophageal cancer; gastric cancer; intraepithelial neoplasms; lymphomas; liver cancer; lung cancer (e.g., small cell and non-small cell); melanoma; neuroblastomas; oral cancer; ovarian cancer; pancreatic cancer; prostate cancer; rectal cancer; sarcomas; skin cancer; testicular cancer; thyroid cancer; and renal cancer, as well as other carcinomas and sarcomas [0471].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construct of Gourapura, with melt processed nanoparticle and upon release from the degradable polymer matrix having the same or substantially similar structural and/or biochemical characteristics as the particles prior to melt processing, as taught by Lee, because it would have enabled a melt processed degradable viral nanoparticle construct for delivery of virus or virus-like particles to a site of interest, wherein the composition and methods can be used for the treatment of cancers, thus combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Lee further discloses that the biodegradable polymer matrix includes a melt processable biodegradable polymer material (abstract; PLGA) that is cytocompatible and, upon degradation, produces substantially non-toxic products (abstract; PLGA to lactic and glycolic acid).
Gourapura further discloses that the virus or virus-like particles having a release profile from the biodegradable polymer material at least partially defined by the degradation of the biodegradable polymer material under physiological conditions ([0146]).
Gourapura further discloses that the virus or virus-like particles are substantially uniformly dispersed in the biodegradable polymer matrix ([0146]).
Gourapura and Lee do not specifically teach that the degradable polymer material has melt temperature below the degradation temperature of the virus or virus-like particles. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized that it is desirable to have used a degradable polymer material having melt temperature below the degradation temperature of the virus or virus-like particles such that the polymer matrix would degrade first to enable the virus or virus-like particle to be released subsequently.
Gourapura. in view of Lee, further discloses that the degradable polymer material comprises poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) or a copolymer thereof (Gourapura [0087]; Lee abstract; PLGA).
Gourapura further discloses that the cargo molecule comprises at least one of a targeting agent ([0092]; "the presence of the UEA can help direct the composition or vaccine to mucosal specialized follicle or epithelial cells").
Gourapura discloses providing in situ delivery of the virus or virus-like particles upon administration to a subject ([0098]).
Gourapura further discloses being provided in the shape of a plurality of microparticles ([0209]; "Morphology {size and shape} of Nano-PRRSV-VLPs can be determined by coating the freeze-dried vaccine powder with gold-platinum under vacuum with the help of an ion coater and examined using TEM at 10 KV"; [0085]; "In some embodiments, the nanocarrier is a microparticle").
Double Patenting
Claims 44-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,654,117 in view of Von Andrian et al. (US20140314865A1) hereinafter Von Andrian.
The instant claims differ from the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,654,117 because claim 1 of the ‘117 patent does not require the method step of treating cancer by administering. However, Von Andrian is drawn to methods of designing, manufacturing, and using inventive vaccine nanocarriers and pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The invention provides methods of prophylaxis and/or treatment of diseases, disorders, and conditions comprising administering at least one inventive vaccine nanocarrier to a subject in need thereof (abstract). Von Andrian discloses the compositions and methods can be used for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of any cancer [0465]. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect success in administering the composition of the ‘117 patent to treat cancer as taught by Von Andrian.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 44-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12156947 in view of Von Andrian et al. (US20140314865A1) hereinafter Von Andrian.
The instant claims differ from the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,654,117 because claim 1 of the ‘947 patent does not require the method step of treating cancer by administering. However, Von Andrian is drawn to methods of designing, manufacturing, and using inventive vaccine nanocarriers and pharmaceutical compositions thereof. The invention provides methods of prophylaxis and/or treatment of diseases, disorders, and conditions comprising administering at least one inventive vaccine nanocarrier to a subject in need thereof (abstract). Von Andrian discloses the compositions and methods can be used for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of any cancer [0465]. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect success in administering the composition of the ‘947 patent to treat cancer as taught by Von Andrian.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615