DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
The specification objections in the previous Office Action have been addressed and are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statements dated February 26, 2026 and April 14, 2026, is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. Copies of the PTOL-1449s initialed and dated by the Examiner are attached to the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2017/0090924 by Mishra et al. (previously cited and hereinafter referred to as “Mishra”).
Regarding claim 1, Mishra discloses:
an accelerator device comprising: a memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, a processor comprising a memory, which discloses an accelerator device. See also ¶ [0060], which discloses accelerating dot product operations.); and
a compute cluster including multiple processing resources coupled with the memory, the multiple processing resources coupled …to facilitate data exchange between the multiple processing resources, respective processing resources of the multiple processing resources including a matrix accelerator configured to (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, the processor can include multiple cores that are coupled to one another. See also ¶ [0060], which discloses accelerating dot product operations, which discloses a matrix accelerator.):
perform a dot product operation on elements of a sparse first matrix and a second matrix in response to …[an] instruction, elements of the sparse first matrix are compacted into a compressed representation including a non-zero value element and an indication of the non-zero value element, and the …instruction is to cause the matrix accelerator to skip computations associated with input including a zero value element (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations on elements of sparse vectors, i.e., matrices, in which computations associated with the zero values are ignored, i.e., skipped. As disclosed at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation that includes non-zero element values and indicia of the positions of the non-zero elements.); and
write output of the dot product operation… (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses writing the output of the dot product operations.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned coupling is with a data crossbar, the aforementioned dot product operations are in response to a sparse dot product instruction, and the aforementioned writing of output is to memory.
However, Mishra discloses a crossbar. See e.g., ¶ [0054]. Mishra also discloses at ¶ [0203] that any number of well-known techniques can be used to connect the processing resources, which covers using a crossbar to do so. It would have been obvious to use a crossbar because crossbars are a well-known way to improve performance by allowing any to any connectivity, which increases data transfer flexibility.
Mishra discloses performing complex operations in response to a single instruction. See, e.g., the pseudocode shown at ¶ [0081] for performing operations in response to an instruction. It would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity.
Mishra also discloses storing data to memory. See, e.g., Figure 18 and related description. It would have been obvious to store the dot product operation output to memory in order to enable the output to be used at a later time.
Regarding claim 2, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the compressed representation is to be stored …in a compressed format (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned storing is to the memory.
However, Mishra discloses storing data to memory. See, e.g., Figure 18 and related description. It would have been obvious to store the compressed representation to memory in order to enable the data to be used at a later time.
Regarding claim 3, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 2, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the memory is a level two cache memory or a shared local memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, L2 cache.).
Regarding claim 4, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 3, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
…a processing resource of the multiple processing resources is configured to: load the compressed representation… into an internal memory within the processing resource (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation, which discloses loading the elements into an internal memory. See also, at Figure 18 and related description, a cache hierarchy, which discloses moving data between external memory and internal memory.);
load the second matrix… into the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, storing elements of the second vector, i.e., matrix, which discloses loading elements into an internal memory. See also, at Figure 18 and related description, a cache hierarchy, which discloses moving data between external memory and internal memory.);
perform the dot product operation via the matrix accelerator on elements from the compressed representation and selected elements of the second matrix, wherein the selected elements of the second matrix correspond with non-zero values of the sparse first matrix stored within the compressed representation and are selected by the matrix accelerator from the elements of the second matrix stored in the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations using non-zero elements stored in a compressed representation, which discloses selecting the elements.);
and write at least a portion of the output of the dot product operation to the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses writing the output of the dot product operations to internal memory.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned dot product operations are in response to a sparse dot product instruction, and the aforementioned loading is from the memory.
However, Mishra discloses performing complex operations in response to a single instruction. See, e.g., the pseudocode shown at ¶ [0081] for performing operations in response to an instruction. It would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity.
Mishra also discloses, e.g., at Figure 18 and related description, moving data between external memory and various levels of cache, i.e., internal memory. It would have been obvious to load from the external memory because doing so represents utilizing well-known tradeoffs between memory capabilities and costs.
Regarding claim 5, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 4, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the matrix accelerator is configured to select the selected elements of the second matrix from a vector in the internal memory based on indications of the non-zero values of the sparse first matrix, the vector including a plurality of elements of the second matrix (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations using non-zero elements stored in a compressed representation, which discloses selecting the elements. As shown at Figure 2 and related description, the values to be used are selected based on indicia of locations of non-zero values.).
Regarding claim 6, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 5, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the internal memory includes a register file or a level one cache memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 17 and related description, L1 cache.).
Regarding claim 7, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the matrix accelerator is configured to associate elements from the compressed representation and corresponding selected elements of the second matrix with corresponding channels of input data for processing within the matrix accelerator (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations using non-zero elements stored in a compressed representation, which discloses associating corresponding elements. As disclosed at ¶ [0092], the operations are put into vertical SIMD alignment, which discloses corresponding channels.).
Regarding claim 11, Mishra discloses:
a method comprising: on a general-purpose graphics processor (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, using a general purpose graphics processing unit.):
performing a dot product operation on multiple elements of a sparse first matrix and a second matrix …[an] instruction, the dot product operation performed via a compute cluster including multiple processing resources coupled with a memory, the multiple processing resources coupled …to facilitate data exchange between the multiple processing resources, respective processing resources of the multiple processing resources including a matrix accelerator, wherein elements of the sparse first matrix are compacted into a compressed representation that includes a non-zero value element and an indication of the non-zero value element, and the …instruction is to cause the matrix accelerator to skip computations associated with input including a zero value element (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations on elements of sparse vectors, i.e., matrices, in which computations associated with the zero values are ignored, i.e., skipped. As disclosed at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation that includes non-zero element values and indicia of the positions of the non-zero elements Mishra also discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, the processor can include multiple cores that are coupled to one another. See also ¶ [0060], which discloses accelerating dot product operations, which discloses a matrix accelerator.); and
writing output of the dot product operation… (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses writing the output of the dot product operations.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned dot product operations are in response to a sparse dot product instruction, the aforementioned coupling is with a data crossbar, and the aforementioned writing of output is to memory.
However, Mishra discloses performing complex operations in response to a single instruction. See, e.g., the pseudocode shown at ¶ [0081] for performing operations in response to an instruction. It would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity.
Mishra also discloses a crossbar. See e.g., ¶ [0054]. Mishra also discloses at ¶ [0203] that any number of well-known techniques can be used to connect the processing resources, which covers using a crossbar to do so. It would have been obvious to use a crossbar because crossbars are a well-known way to improve performance by allowing any to any connectivity, which increases data transfer flexibility.
Mishra also discloses storing data to memory. See, e.g., Figure 18 and related description. It would have been obvious to store the dot product operation output to memory in order to enable the output to be used at a later time.
Regarding claim 12, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 11, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
storing the compressed representation …in a compressed format (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation.); and
via a processing resource of the multiple processing resources and in response to the …instruction (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses via a processing resource of the multiple processing resources and in response to the …instruction.):
loading the compressed representation …into an internal memory within the processing resource (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations with the compressed representations, which discloses loading the compressed representation …into an internal memory within the processing resource.);
loading the second matrix …into the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations with the second matrix, which discloses loading the second matrix into internal memory.);
performing the dot product operation via the matrix accelerator on elements from the compressed representation and selected elements of the second matrix, wherein the selected elements of the second matrix correspond with non-zero values of the sparse first matrix stored within the compressed representation and are selected by the matrix accelerator from the elements of the second matrix stored in the internal memory, wherein the matrix accelerator is configured to select the selected elements of the second matrix from a vector in the internal memory based on indications of the non-zero values of the sparse first matrix, the vector including a plurality of elements of the second matrix (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations using non-zero elements stored in a compressed representation, which discloses selecting the elements.); and
writing at least a portion of the output of the dot product operation to the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses writing the output of the dot product operations to internal memory.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned dot product operations are in response to a sparse dot product instruction, and the aforementioned storing and loading use the memory.
However, Mishra discloses performing complex operations in response to a single instruction. See, e.g., the pseudocode shown at ¶ [0081] for performing operations in response to an instruction. It would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity.
Mishra also discloses, e.g., at Figure 18 and related description, moving data between external memory and various levels of cache, i.e., internal memory. It would have been obvious to load from the external memory because doing so represents utilizing well-known tradeoffs between memory capabilities and costs.
Regarding claim 13, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 12, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
compacting the elements of the sparse first matrix into the compressed representation within a memory of the processing resource (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, generating a compressed representation, which discloses compacting the elements of the sparse first matrix into the compressed representation within a memory of the processing resource.).
Regarding claim 16, Mishra discloses:
a graphics processing system comprising: a memory device; a graphics processor coupled with the memory device, the graphics processor including (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, a processor comprising a memory, which discloses a graphics processing system comprising: a memory device; a graphics processor coupled with the memory device.):
a cache memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, the processor includes cache.); and
a compute cluster including multiple processing resources coupled with the cache memory, the multiple processing resources coupled …to facilitate data exchange between the multiple processing resources, respective processing resources of the multiple processing resources including a matrix accelerator configured to (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, the processor can include multiple cores that are coupled to one another. See also ¶ [0060], which discloses accelerating dot product operations, which discloses a matrix accelerator.):
perform a dot product operation on elements of a sparse first matrix and a second matrix in response to … [an] instruction, elements of the sparse first matrix are compacted into a compressed representation including a non-zero value element and an indication of the non-zero value element, and the …instruction is to cause the matrix accelerator to skip computations associated with input including a zero value element (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations on elements of sparse vectors, i.e., matrices, in which computations associated with the zero values are ignored, i.e., skipped. As disclosed at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation that includes non-zero element values and indicia of the positions of the non-zero elements.); and
write output of the dot product operation… (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses writing the output of the dot product operations.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned coupling is with a data crossbar, the aforementioned dot product operations are in response to a sparse dot product instruction, and the aforementioned writing of output is to cache.
However, Mishra discloses a crossbar. See e.g., ¶ [0054]. Mishra also discloses at ¶ [0203] that any number of well-known techniques can be used to connect the processing resources, which covers using a crossbar to do so. It would have been obvious to use a crossbar because crossbars are a well-known way to improve performance by allowing any to any connectivity, which increases data transfer flexibility.
Mishra discloses performing complex operations in response to a single instruction. See, e.g., the pseudocode shown at ¶ [0081] for performing operations in response to an instruction. It would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity.
Mishra also discloses storing data to cache. See, e.g., Figure 18 and related description. It would have been obvious to store the dot product operation output to cache in order to enable the output to be used at a later time.
Regarding claim 17, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 16, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the compressed representation is to be stored … in a compressed format (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned storing is to the cache.
However, Mishra discloses storing data to cache. See, e.g., Figure 18 and related description. It would have been obvious to store the compressed representation to cache in order to enable the data to be used at a later time.
Regarding claim 18, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 17, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
…a processing resource of the multiple processing resources is configured to: load the compressed representation … into an internal memory within the processing resource (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, the elements are stored in a compressed representation, which discloses loading the elements into an internal memory. See also, at Figure 18 and related description, a cache hierarchy, which discloses moving data between external memory and internal memory.);
load the second matrix …into the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, storing elements of the second vector, i.e., matrix, which discloses loading elements into an internal memory. See also, at Figure 18 and related description, a cache hierarchy, which discloses moving data between external memory and internal memory.);
perform the dot product operation via the matrix accelerator on elements from the compressed representation and selected elements of the second matrix, wherein the selected elements of the second matrix correspond with non-zero values of the sparse first matrix stored within the compressed representation and are selected by the matrix accelerator from the elements of the second matrix stored in the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations using non-zero elements stored in a compressed representation, which discloses selecting the elements.); and
write at least a portion of the output of the dot product operation to the internal memory (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses writing the output of the dot product operations to internal memory.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned dot product operations are in response to a sparse dot product instruction, and the aforementioned loading is from the cache memory.
However, Mishra discloses performing complex operations in response to a single instruction. See, e.g., the pseudocode shown at ¶ [0081] for performing operations in response to an instruction. It would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity.
Mishra also discloses, e.g., at Figure 18 and related description, moving data between various levels of cache, i.e., internal memory. It would have been obvious to load from the cache memory because doing so represents utilizing well-known tradeoffs between memory capabilities and costs.
Regarding claim 19, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 18, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the matrix accelerator is configured to select the selected elements of the second matrix from a vector in the internal memory based on indications of the non-zero values of the sparse first matrix, the vector including a plurality of elements of the second matrix (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations using non-zero elements stored in a compressed representation, which discloses selecting the elements. As shown at Figure 2 and related description, the values to be used are selected based on indicia of locations of non-zero values.).
Regarding claim 20, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 19, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the matrix accelerator is configured to associate elements from the compressed representation and corresponding selected elements of the second matrix with corresponding channels of input data for processing within the matrix accelerator (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations using non-zero elements stored in a compressed representation, which discloses associating corresponding elements. As disclosed at ¶ [0092], the operations are put into vertical SIMD alignment, which discloses corresponding channels.).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra in view of US Publication No. 2019/0114534 by Teng et al. (previously cited and hereinafter referred to as “Teng”).
Regarding claim 8, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the sparse first matrix includes …data …and the second matrix includes …data…, and wherein the output of the dot product operation includes output… (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations, which discloses the sparse first matrix data and second matrix data and output.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned sparse first matrix data includes weight associated with a neural network, the aforementioned second matrix data includes input activation associated with the neural network, and the aforementioned output includes activation data associated with the neural network.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Teng discloses:
weight data, input activation data, and output activation data, all associated with a neural network (Teng discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, weight data, input activation data, and output data, all associated with a neural network.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mishra to include the neural network data disclosed by Teng in order to improve performance by using neural networks to process data.
Regarding claim 9, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the matrix accelerator includes …[an] array of processing elements (Mishra discloses, at Figure 18 and related description, the processor can include multiple cores, which discloses an array of processing elements.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned array is systolic.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Teng discloses:
a systolic array (Teng discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, a systolic array.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mishra to include the systolic array disclosed by Teng in order to improve performance by simplifying control and data transfer operations.
Claims 10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra in view of US Publication No. 2021/0012197 by Simonyan et al. (previously cited and hereinafter referred to as “Simonyan”).
Regarding claim 10, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the sparse first matrix has …sparsity and elements of the sparse first matrix are compacted into a compressed representation based on the … sparsity (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, compressing elements of a sparse matrix based on the sparsity.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned sparsity is structured.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Simonyan discloses:
structured sparsity (Simonyan discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, contiguous sparsity.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mishra to include the structured sparsity disclosed by Simonyan in order to improve performance by enabling implementation with more efficient coding. See Simonyan, ¶ [0010].
Regarding claim 14, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 13, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
the sparse first matrix has … sparsity and elements of the sparse first matrix are compacted into a compressed representation based on the …sparsity (Mishra discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, compressing elements of a sparse matrix based on the sparsity.).
Mishra does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned sparsity is structured.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Simonyan discloses:
structured sparsity (Simonyan discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, contiguous sparsity.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mishra to include the structured sparsity disclosed by Simonyan in order to improve performance by enabling implementation with more efficient coding. See Simonyan, ¶ [0010].
Regarding claim 15, Mishra, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 14, as discussed above. Mishra also discloses:
performing a dot product operation includes performing a dot product operation on 8-bit integer elements (Mishra discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, performing dot product operations. As disclosed at ¶ [0095], the elements can by 8 bit integer elements.).
Response to Arguments
On pages 9-10 of the response filed April 14, 2026 (“response”), the Applicant argues, “Claim 1 recites, in part, "the multiple processing resources coupled with a data crossbar to facilitate data exchange between the multiple processing resources." The Office Action asserts that Mishra meets this limitation at paragraphs [0054] and [0203]. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Mishra paragraph [0054] describes a "fully connected crossbar where each data element in the first source packed data operand may be compared with each data element in the source packed data operand so that an all element to all element comparison may be performed." Thus, the crossbar disclosed in Mishra [0054] is an intra-unit switching mechanism for comparing two packed data operands element-by-element and is not "a data crossbar to facilitate data exchange between multiple processing resources of a compute cluster including multiple processing resources." This distinction is confirmed by Mishra's figures. Mishra FIG. 3, which the Office Action cites for the crossbar disclosure at paragraph [0054], shows only a single execution unit (318) with a single decode unit (314). The crossbar described at paragraph [0054] is internal to that one execution unit; it is element-comparison logic within a single functional block, not an interconnect between multiple processing resources of a compute cluster. Mishra paragraph [0203] states that "logic blocks communicate through a high- bandwidth interconnect network (e.g., a ring network) with some fixed function logic, memory I/O interfaces, and other necessary I/O logic, depending on the application" (emphasis added). Mishra [0203] is specific that the logic blocks communicate with "some fixed function logic, memory I/O interfaces, and other necessary I/O logic." There is no indication that data exchange between multiple processing resources of a compute cluster can be adapted to be performed via the ring network in the manner of the claimed crossbar. Mishra paragraph [0210] states that "a ring based interconnect unit 1812 interconnects the integrated graphics logic 1808, the set of shared cache units 1806, and the system agent unit 1810/integrated memory controller unit(s) 1814," within a general purpose processor of FIG. 18. While Mishra [0210] goes on to state, "alternative embodiments may use any number of well-known techniques for interconnecting such units," (emphasis added), Mishra is explicit that "any number of well- known techniques" may be used to interconnect "such units," (e.g., the integrated graphics logic 1808, the set of shared cache units 1806, and the system agent unit 1810/integrated memory controller unit(s) 1814). Thus, there is no teaching of a data crossbar, ring network, or ring-based interconnect in Mishra that is equivalent to or renders obvious "a data crossbar to facilitate data exchange between the multiple processing resources," as in claim 1.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted by the Applicant, Mitra discloses, e.g., at ¶ [0203], multiple logic blocks, e.g., cores, that are coupled by a high-speed interconnect. Mitra discloses that one example of such an interconnect is a ring network. Mitra does not limit the interconnection to being a ring network, but merely lists a ring network as an example that can be used to interconnect the logic blocks. This discloses that the possible use of other types of interconnects was contemplated by the inventors.
One well-known type of interconnect, as disclosed by Mitra, is a crossbar. Crossbars have well-known advantages and drawbacks, as do all interconnects. The Applicant argues that Mitra’s crossbar is internal to an execution unit, and does not interconnect multiple processing resources. But the question is whether it would have been obvious to use a crossbar, as disclosed by Mitra, to connect the multiple logic blocks. The Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious. The use of a crossbar would have provided the advantages associated with crossbars generally, e.g., high bandwidth, low latency, parallel transmission between multiple endpoints, etc. Furthermore, crossbars and ring networks are both fundamentally well-known interconnection types. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select the appropriate interconnect as circumstances dictated. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 11 of the response the Applicant argues, “Claim 1 further recites that the matrix accelerator is configured to "perform a dot product operation on elements of a sparse first matrix and a second matrix in response to a sparse dot product instruction." The Office Action acknowledges that Mishra does "not explicitly disclose" this limitation, but asserts that Mishra paragraph [0081] discloses "performing complex operations in response to a single instruction" and "[i]t would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity." Applicant respectfully disagrees. Mishra [0081] discloses the instruction VXBARCMPU, which is a data element comparison instruction that performs all-to-all element comparisons between two packed source operands and generates match masks indicating which elements in one operand match elements in the other. Mishra does not actually teach a specific instruction at all to perform sparse dot product operations. The Office Action identifies no prior art that teaches the specific sparse dot product instruction claimed, nor any motivation to combine Mishra's element-comparison instruction with sparse matrix multiplication. The statement that "[i]t would have been obvious to modify Mishra to include a single instruction for performing the disclosed sparse dot product operations because doing so represents applying well-known design tradeoffs, such as the tradeoff between code size and instruction complexity," cannot be logically or legally supported.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mitra explicitly discloses sparse vector dot product calculations, which discloses performing a dot product on sparse matrices. See, e.g., ¶ [0035]. The only difference between this and the claims is that the claims recite doing so “in response to a sparse dot product instruction.”
The Examiner maintains that it is evident that Mitra’s sparse vector dot product calculations are performed in response to one or more instructions. This one or more instructions discloses the claimed sparse dot product instruction. However, Mitra does not explicitly disclose that it is a single instruction that, when executed, caused the sparse vector dot product calculations to be performed. However, there are only two possibilities. One, it is a single instruction, i.e., a sparse dot product instruction, or two, it is multiple instructions. It is fundamentally well known to combine multiple operations into a single instruction. Doing so represents basic design tradeoffs and provides certain advantages, such as shorter code, at the cost of complexity. An example of combining complex functionality into a single instruction is disclosed by Mitra at, e.g., ¶ [0081].
While Mitra is silent regarding the instruction or instructions that cause the sparse vector computations to be performed, the Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to use a single instruction to cause the sparse vector computations, for the reasons above. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On pages 11-13 of the response the Applicant argues the remaining claims are not obvious in view of the cited references for similar reasons.
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The reasons set forth in the remarks and rejections presented above, including those regarding the independent claims, are applicable to these claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN DOMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183