DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (US 10,812,017; “Tseng”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng teaches an electronic package structure (figure 1), comprising:
a carrier (100, 108);
a first electronic component (101) disposed adjacent to the carrier (100, 108), wherein the first electronic component (101) comprises a heat source region (101H), a first surface (bottom), and a second surface (top) opposite the first surface;
a second electronic component (102) is thermally connected to the heat source region (101H) by a connecting layer (102’), the second electronic component (102) comprising a third surface (bottom) and a fourth surface (top) opposite the third surface, the third surface (bottom) facing the second surface (top);
a first wire (111B) electrically connecting the first electronic component (101) and the carrier (100, 108), wherein the first wire (111B) has a first end (left end) and a second end (right end) opposite to the first end, wherein the second end (right end) of the first wire (111B) is on the carrier (100, 108) and below a top surface of the carrier (100, 108) and the first end (left end) is on the second surface (top of 101); and
a second wire (111A) electrically connecting the first electrical component (101) and the second electrical component (102), wherein the second wire (111A) has a first end (right end) and a second end (left end) opposite to the first end, wherein the first end (right end) of the second wire (111A) is on the second surface (top of 101) and the second end (left end) of the second wire (111A) is on the fourth surface (top of 102);
wherein the third surface (bottom of 102) is bonded to the heat source region (101H) by a die attach film (Bonding layer 102’. Tseng teaches utilizing a die attach film as a bonding layer material. Col. 4, lines 43-44).
As for claim 2, Tseng (figures 1 and 5) teaches wherein the carrier (100, 108) has a first surface (on 100C) recessed from the top surface of the carrier (100, 108), wherein an elevation of the first surface (on 100C) of the carrier is between (see configuration of figure 5) the first surface and the second surface of the first electronic component (101), wherein the first surface of the first electronic component (101) is an active surface, wherein the heat source region (101H) is embedded in the first electronic component (101) and exposed from the active surface (See figure 1).
As for claim 4, Tseng teaches wherein the carrier is monolithic (See configuration of figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Tseng teaches wherein the first electronic component (101) is spaced apart from the carrier (100, 108) by a distance, wherein the third surface (bottom) is a backside surface, and the fourth surface (top) is an active surface, wherein the backside surface (bottom) of the second electronic component (102) is thermally connected to the heat source region (101H).
As for claim 6, Tseng teaches wherein a horizontal distance between the first electronic component (101) and the carrier (100, 108) is less than a vertical distance between the first electronic component (101) and the carrier (1000, 108) in a cross-sectional view (See configuration of figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
Claim 7 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art references of record, Obata and Tseng, fail to teach:
“a support component disposed at or near a center of a bottom surface of the first electronic component, wherein a width of the support component is less than a width of the first electronic component”, as set forth in claim 7;
“wherein the elevation of the second surface is between an active surface of the first electronic component and a backside surface of the first electronic component opposite to the active surface”, as set forth in claim 8; and
“wherein the support structure comprises a photoresist pillar directly contacting the first electronic component.”, as set forth in claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 April 22, 2026