May 28, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “storage mechanism” in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In the specification, Applicant describes “storage mechanism 11”. However, the reference number 11 does not appear in any of the drawings. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Reference number 11 does not appear in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second chair base (being) connected to the first chair base in a flipping manner through the storage mechanism”, in claim 1, and “the second chair base (being) folded and stored between the first seat and the first chair base, with the connecting port coming into contact with the pneumatic rod”, as defined in claim 2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant fails to show much of the claimed subject matter of Claims 1-2. It is not clear exactly how the “second chair base” moves in a “flipping manner” or how “the second chair base (being) folded and stored between the first seat and the first chair base, with the connecting port coming into contact with the pneumatic rod”.
The aforementioned problems render the claims vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, so far as understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benden et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0232993 A1, now U.S. Patent No. 12,226,031 B2).
As for Claim 1, Bended et al. teach an ergonomic sit-stand chair, comprising a first chair base 114, a pneumatic rod 112 (see the specification at column 3, lines 36-38 where it reads “ For example, post 112 may include a gas lift cylinder or equivalent to allow a user to adjust a height of stool 100. “), and a first seat 102 connected in sequence, as well as a first backrest 116 and a backrest bracket (see annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the first seat 102 is connected to a first end of the backrest bracket, and a second end of the backrest bracket is connected to the first backrest 116; the first chair base is provided with a second chair base 104 and a storage mechanism; and the second chair base is connected to the first chair base in a flipping manner through the storage mechanism (see Fig. 2).
As for Claim 7, Bended et al. teach that a surface of the second chair base is provided with an anti-slip layer (see paragraph [0023] where it reads “ .
Claim 1, so far as understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reus (U.S. Patent No. 10,405,666 B1)
As for Claim 1, Reus teaches an ergonomic sit-stand chair, comprising a first chair base 62, a pneumatic rod 58,60; and a first seat 14 connected in sequence, as well as a first backrest 16 and a backrest bracket (see annotated Fig. 4 above), wherein the first seat 14 is connected to a first end of the backrest bracket, and a second end of the backrest bracket is connected to the first backrest 16; the first chair base is provided with a second chair base 70 and a storage mechanism; and the second chair base 70 is connected to the first chair base in a flipping manner through the storage mechanism (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benden et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0232993 A1, now U.S. Patent No. 12,226,031 B2) in view of Onopa (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0319444 A1).
Benden et al. teach the structure substantially as claimed but is silent as to whether or not a surface of the second chair base is provided with an anti-slip layer.
However, Onopa teaches a similar sit-stand chair that has a second chair base wherein a surface of the second chair base is provided with an anti-slip layer (see paragraph [0039] where it reads “Similarly, foot rest 65 may include a covering, coating or surface texture, such as a friction-increasing texture or non-slip coating, to prevent a user's feet from sliding on foot rest 65. In still further exemplary embodiments, additional coverings, coatings or surface textures may be applied to foot-rest 65 to increase an individual's comfort, such as padding, ergonomic contours, and these and combinations of other coverings, coatings or surface textures known in the art.”). It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art for the second chair base, as taught by Benden et al., to include an anti-slip layer, as taught by Onopa, since it would prevent a user's feet from sliding on the second chair base.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636