DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the matrix of lighting units (rows and columns) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2018/0227555 A1 by Engelen et al (Engelen)
Referring to claim 1, Engelen ( Fig 1a to Fig 6c) teaches: a matrix light-emitting diodes spotlight, (Fig 1a, item LED matrix item 104 abstract and paragraphs [0002] [0005] teaches spot matrix light) comprising:
a light-generating assembly (Fig 1a item 100 [0033]) comprising a carrier (Not shown but mentioned the details however suggested that well known to persons skilled in the art are not discussed in detail) which a matrix of LEDs is arranged (item 104 paragraph [0033]); an LED control device (item 102 LED controller [0033]) which is coupled to the light-generating assembly (item 104) and is designed to control the matrix of LEDs individually to emit light on the basis of a matrix-resolved image information stream (See paragraph [0036] where Engelen suggested that via user interface the source light pattern or lighting characteristics are controlled); and
a control information generator (inter face 108) which is coupled to the LED control device and which has a first input interface for feeding in lighting parameters (See paragraph [0036] and a second input interface (Fig 2 user device 200) for feeding in user-generated adjustment commands for adjusting lighting parameters fed in via the first input interface for generating the matrix-resolved image information stream (see paragraphs [0043]-[0051] where Engelene suggests using the user interface 200 inputting the commands to create image of the source light pattern projected on to a target using matrix lamp 100 ).
Referring to claim 2 Engelen teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, further comprising: a feedback device (See Fig 2 using camera 210 acts as feedback and see paragraph [0051]) which is coupled to the control information generator (See item CPU connected to interface 208 which is connected to 108 by wire or wireless [0035] ) and is designed to detect the light emitted by the light-generating assembly and, on the basis of the detected light , to send a feedback signal to the control information generator for calibrating the matrix-resolved image information stream (See paragraphs [0050][0051] where Engelen teaches how the camera controls the light parameter characteristics [0054]-[0055]).
Referring to claim 3 Engelen teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, wherein the matrix-resolved image information stream comprises static image information or dynamic video information which specifies the lighting behavior of the individual LEDs of the matrix over time. (See Fig 2 and item 210 camera information controls the lighting behavior see paragraphs [0045]-[0055]).
Referring to claim 5 Engelen teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, further comprising: a user control device (See Fig 2 item 200 user device paragraph [0043]) which is coupled to the control information generator via the second input interface and has at least one of mechanical and electronic operating elements for a user. (See paragraph [0045]).
Referring to claim 6 Engelen teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, wherein the lighting parameters include at least one of: a radiation characteristic, a brightness, a brightness gradient, a two-dimensional light distribution shape, a color, a color gradient and a color correction. (See paragraph [0036]).
Referring to claim 7 Engelen teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, wherein the light-generating assembly (item further comprises projection optics designed to project the emitted light of each individual LED onto objects in the far field without distortion and color errors.
Referring to claim 8 Engelen ( Fig 1a to Fig 6c) teaches a method for controlling a light-generating assembly of a matrix light-emitting diodes (LED) spotlight, (Fig 1a, item LED matrix item 104 abstract and paragraphs [0002] [0005] teaches spot matrix light) which has a carrier (Carrier or support to LED matrix was not shown but mentioned the details however suggested that well known to persons skilled in the art are not discussed in detail) on which a matrix of LEDs (item 104) is arranged, the method comprising the steps of: receiving lighting parameters via a first input interface of a control information generator; receiving user-generated adjustment commands for adjusting the lighting parameters fed in via the first input interface via a second input interface of the control information generator see paragraphs [0043]-[0051] where Engelene suggests using the user interface 200 inputting the commands to create image of the source light pattern projected on to a target using matrix lamp 100 );
converting the adjusted lighting parameters by the control information generator into a matrix-resolved image information stream; and controlling the individual LEDs of the matrix of LEDs by means of an LED control device to emit light on the basis of the matrix-resolved image information stream (see paragraphs [0043]-[0051] where Engelene suggests using the user interface 200 inputting the commands to create image of the source light pattern projected on to a target using matrix lamp 100 ).
Referring to claim 9 Engelen teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising the step of: detecting the light emitted by the light-generating assembly and sending a feedback signal for calibrating the matrix-resolved image information stream to the control information generator on the basis of the detected light. (See paragraphs [0050][0051] where Engelen teaches how the camera controls the light parameter characteristics [0054]-[0055]).
Referring to claim 10 Engelen teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the matrix-resolved image information stream comprises static image information or dynamic video information, which specifies the lighting behavior of the individual LEDs of the matrix over time (See Fig 2 and item 210 camera information controls the lighting behavior see paragraphs [0045]-[0055])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelen reference as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2004/0160199 A1 by Morgan et al (Morgan).
Referring to claim 4 Engelen teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, Engelen is silent on wherein the first input interface is at least one of: a DMX interface, an RDM interface, an ArtNet interface and an ACN interface.
However, Morgan further teaches wherein the first input interface is at least one of: a DMX interface, an RDM interface, an ArtNet interface and an ACN interface. (See paragraphs {0021] and [0187} Morgan uses DMX interface protocol).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate Morgan teachings of using DMX protocol in to the Engelene light controlling unit in order to control the LED matrix for controlling the image information.
In alternative, Examiner also rejected claims 1-10 using 35 USC 103 obviousness using another reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2004/0160199 A1 by Morgan et al (Morgan).
Referring to claim 1 Morgan reference teaches: A matrix light-emitting diodes (LED) spotlight (Morgan Fig 1-77 teaches an array of LEDs and controlling their lighting See paragraph [0155] and suggests developing it in to a lighting array/assembly/matrix [0431] which can be used as monochromatic spotlight [0469] in several embodiments), comprising: a light-generating assembly (Fig 3 item 100a-c and paragraph [0155]) comprising a carrier (Morgan teaches a linear housing/circuit board with a cover at paragraph [0024] can be regarded as carrier [0156] where teaches mechanical coupling arrangements) on which a matrix of LEDs is arranged (See paragraph [0157] and in another embodiment Morgan teaches a matrix see paragraph [0431]).
an LED control device (See Fig 1 item 102 in initial embodiment paragraph [0158]) which is coupled to the light-generating assembly (items 104a-c in one embodiment paragraph [0158]) and is designed to control the matrix of LEDs individually to emit light on the basis of a matrix-resolved image information stream (See paragraphs [0163] where static or dynamic lighting effects paragraph [0327] suggests matrix resolved imaging information and image capturing system fig 30 suggests generating image communicating via the control signal [0359] - over all the matrix resolved image information stream is explained in detail at various embodiments).
a control information generator (See Fig 2 item 202 central controller, paragraph [0195]) which is coupled to the LED control device (See Fig 2 item 208a,b,c,d etc. via coupling device 204) and which has a first input interface (See Fig 3 item 102 paragraph [0200]) for feeding in lighting parameters and a second input interface (Fig 3 item 304 user interface [0200]) for feeding in user-generated adjustment commands (See paragraph [0177]) for adjusting lighting parameters fed in via the first input interface for generating the matrix-resolved image information stream (See paragraphs [0024], [0192], [0277]-[0279] where Morgan teaches how data stream controls the lighting as required by user).
Morgan Fig 1-3, teaches the LED lighting and its controlling using main controller and remote controlling using user interfaces. Morgan also teaches in various embodiments using various structures and controlling the lighting of light emitting diodes arranged in any form (See Fig 54, 55).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the spot light illumination techniques as taught by Morgan’s lighting system and fabricate a single embodiment of a spot light which can serve the purpose of an user using the matrix resolved data stream information.
Referring to claim 2 Morgan’s modified reference teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, Morgan teaches the spot light further comprising: a feedback device (Fig 1, and Fig 2 item 204 communication channel feeds the feedback information to central controller 202 paragraphs [0195] –[0196]l, [0260], [0404]) which is coupled to the control information generator (Fig 2 item 204 is connected to item 202 central controller and to adjust the output power [0404]) and is designed to detect the light emitted by the light-generating assembly and, on the basis of the detected light, to send a feedback signal to the control information generator for calibrating the matrix-resolved image information stream (see paragraphs [0023], [0164] [0169]- [0173] teaches calibration and recording them in memory Fig . 1 item 114)
Referring to claim 3 Morgan’s modified reference teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, wherein the matrix-resolved image information stream comprises static image information or dynamic video information which specifies the lighting behavior of the individual LEDs of the matrix over time. (See paragraphs [0024], [0163], [0193] where Morgan teaches how data stream and lighting behavior are controlled).
Referring to claim 4 Engelen teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, Morgan further teaches wherein the first input interface is at least one of: a DMX interface, an RDM interface, an ArtNet interface and an ACN interface. (See paragraphs {0021] and [0187} Morgan uses DMX interface protocol).
Referring to claim 5 Morgan’s modified reference teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, further comprising: a user control device (Fig 3 item 304 paragraph [0200]) which is coupled to the control information generator (item 302) via the second input interface (item 300 connected to item 100) and has at least one of mechanical and electronic operating elements for a user (paragraph [0183] where Morgan).
Referring to claim 6 Morgan’s modified reference teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, Morgan further teaches wherein the lighting parameters include at least one of: a radiation characteristic, a brightness, a brightness gradient, a two-dimensional light distribution shape, a color, a color gradient and a color correction (paragraph [0174] where Morgan indicates lighting effects as the lighting parameters which includes most of the parameter indicated above)..
Referring to claim 7 Morgan’s modified reference teaches the matrix LED spotlight of claim 1, wherein the light-generating assembly further comprises projection optics (See Fig 1 item 130 paragraph [0183] ) designed to project the emitted light of each individual LED onto objects in the far field without distortion and color errors. (In paragraph [0183] teaches spatial distribution and adjustments).
Referring to claim 8 Morgan reference Fig 1-3 teaches: A method for controlling a light-generating assembly of a matrix light-emitting diodes (LED) spotlight (Morgan Fig 1-77 teaches an array of LEDs and controlling their lighting See paragraph [0155] and suggests developing it in to a lighting array/assembly/matrix [0431] which can be used as monochromatic spotlight [0469] in several embodiments) which has a carrier on which a matrix of LEDs is arranged (Morgan teaches a linear housing/circuit board with a cover at paragraph [0024] can be regarded as carrier [0156] and also see Fig 4 and paragraph [0214] in another embodiment), the method comprising the steps of: receiving lighting parameters via a first input interface(See Fig 3 item 102 paragraph [0200]) of a control information generator (See Fig 2 item 202 central controller, paragraph [0195]);
receiving user-generated adjustment commands (See paragraph [0177]) for adjusting the lighting parameters fed in via the first input interface (See Fig 3 item 102 paragraph [0200])via a second input interface of the control information generator(Fig 3 item 304 user interface [0200]);
converting the adjusted lighting parameters by the control information generator into a matrix-resolved image information stream (See paragraphs [0163] where static or dynamic lighting effects paragraph [0327 suggests matrix resolved imaging information and image capturing system fig 30 suggests generating image communicating via the control signal [0359] - over all the matrix resolved image information stream is explained in detail at various embodiments); and
controlling the individual LEDs of the matrix of LEDs by means of an LED control device to emit light on the basis of the matrix-resolved image information stream (See Fig 2 item 202 central controller, paragraph [0195]).
Morgan Fig 1-3, teaches the LED lighting and its controlling using main controller and remote controlling using user interfaces. Morgan also teaches in various embodiments using various structures (See Fig 1-77). Morgan reference also suggests arranging LEDs in matrix for spot light and teaches controlling steps in various embodiments.
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the spot light illumination techniques as taught by Morgan’s lighting system and fabricate a single embodiment of a spot light which can serve the purpose of an user (See paragraph [0213]).
Referring to the claim 9 Morgan’s modified reference teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising the step of: detecting the light emitted by the light-generating assembly and sending a feedback signal for calibrating the matrix-resolved image information stream to the control information generator on the basis of the detected light. (Fig 1, and Fig 2 item 204 communication channel feeds the feedback information to central controller 202 paragraphs [0023], [0195] –[0196]l, [0260], [0404]).
Referring to claim 10 Morgan’s modified reference teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the matrix-resolved image information stream comprises static image information or dynamic video information, which specifies the lighting behavior of the individual LEDs of the matrix over time. (See paragraphs [0024], [0163], [0193] where Morgan teaches how data stream and lighting behavior are controlled).
Conclusion
Claims 1-10 are rejected over prior art.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
04/24/2026