DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
This application claims priority to Korea Patent Application No. 10-2024-0016911 filed on 02/02/2024 and Korea Patent Application No. 10-2024-0080203 filed on 06/20/2024, and on 01/14/2025 and 01/17/2025, the USPTO electronically retrieved copies of these documents. Thus, on the office action summary sheet examiner has checked off the box “all” certified copies have been received at this time.
Specification Objections
The specification is objected to because the title is not descriptive. See MPEP 606.01 – “Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed”. Correction is needed. Examiner suggests by way of example the following title: “DISPLAY APPARATUS INCLUDING A DATA DISTRIBUTOR THAT SELECTIVELY CONNECTS DRIVING CIRCUIT OUTPUT LINES TO DATA LINES”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 and 17-26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 at line 5 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 2-10 and 21-22 that depend upon claim 1.
Claim 1 at lines 11-12 includes “the first data line and the second data line are neighboring each other and receive corresponding data signal, respectively”, which is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “the first data line and the second data line are neighboring each other and each receive a corresponding data signal, respectively”. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 2-10 and 21-22 that depend upon claim 1.
Claim 1 at lines 14-15 includes “the third data line and the fourth data line are neighboring each other and receive corresponding data signal, respectively”, which is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “the third data line and the fourth data line are neighboring each other and each receive a corresponding data signal, respectively”. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 2-10 and 21-22 that depend upon claim 1.
Claim 2 at line 2 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 3-10 that depend upon claim 2.
Claim 3 at line 3 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 4-10 that depend upon claim 3.
Claim 3 at lines 3-4 includes “the fifth data line and the sixth data line are neighboring each other and receive corresponding data signal, respectively”, which is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “the fifth data line and the sixth data line are neighboring each other and each receive a corresponding data signal, respectively”. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 4-10 that depend upon claim 3.
Claim 7 at line 1 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 at lines 2-3 includes “the sub-pixel circuit column that is connected to the second data line” lacks antecedent basis. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “a sub-pixel circuit column that is connected to the second data line”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 at line 2 includes “are to face each other” is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “
Claim 11 at line 6 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 12-15 and 23-24 that depend upon claim 11.
Claim 12 at line 2 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 at line 2 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 at line 6 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 17-20 and 25-26 that depend upon claim 16.
Claim 17 at line 2 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 at line 5 includes a space between “column” and “,” that is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by removing this space. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 at line 2 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 at line 2 includes an extra space between each of the words. This objection may be overcome, for example, by left justifying the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043406 A1 to Cha et al. (“Cha”).
As to claim 1, Cha discloses a display apparatus (FIG. 1: 100; ¶0043) comprising:
a display(100)(FIG. 1; ¶0043) comprising sub-pixel circuits(SPX)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5; ¶¶0057, 0108-0112) arranged in a row direction and a column direction (FIGs. 3, 5: SPX; ¶¶0108-0112) and data lines(D1-D4, etc.)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116 – since other plurality of switch circuits SC exists besides the one shown in FIG. 2 {¶0078}, there must be at least another four more data lines for each of these SCs) connected to corresponding sub-pixel circuits(SPX)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 140; ¶¶0057, 0108-0112);
a data driving circuit(120)(FIG. 1; ¶0052) that outputs data signals through output lines(B1-BM)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054);
a data distributor(130, SC)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0056, 0076) selectively connecting each of the output lines(B1-BM)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) to one(D1 or D3 of DG1; D2 or D4 of DG2)(FIGs. 2-3; ¶0056) of a corresponding pair of data lines(DG1/D1&D3, DG2/D2&D4)(FIGs. 2-3; ¶0056) among the data lines(D1-D4, etc.)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) according to a first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084) and a second control signal(CLb)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084); and
a control circuit(110)(FIG. 1; ¶0044) that alternately outputs the first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0048, 0082-0084) and the second control signal(CLb)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0048, 0082-0084), wherein
the data lines(D1-D4, etc.)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) comprise a first data line(D1)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065), a second data line(D3)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065), a third data line(D2)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065), and a fourth data line(D4)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065),
the first data line(D1)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) and the second data line(D3)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) are neighboring each other (FIGs. 2-3, 5: D1, D3; ¶0065) and receive corresponding data signal, respectively (FIGs. 2-3, 5: D1, D3; ¶¶0065, 0084), according to different ones of the first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC, D1; ¶¶0048, 0082-0084) and the second control signal(CLb)(FIGs. 1-4: SC, D3; ¶¶0048, 0082-0084),
the third data line(D2)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) and the fourth data line(D4)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) are neighboring each other (FIGs. 2-3, 5: D2, D4; ¶0065) and receive corresponding data signal, respectively (FIGs. 2-3, 5: D2, D4; ¶¶0065, 0084) according to a same one of the first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC, D2; ¶¶0048, 0082-0084) and the second control signal(CLb)(FIGs. 1-4: SC, D4; ¶¶0048, 0082-0084),
the first data line(D1)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) and the second data line(D3)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) are spaced apart from each other by at least one sub-pixel circuit column(from far left the 2nd and 3rd column of SPX)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 140; ¶¶0057, 0108-0112), and
two neighboring data lines (FIG. 3; ¶0065 – FIG. 3 depicts at different regions: D1 and D3 are neighbors; D1 and D2 are neighbors; D2 and D4 are neighbors; D3 and D4 are neighbors) among the first data line(D1)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065), the second data line(D3)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065), the third data line(D2)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065), and the fourth data line(D4)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) are arranged to face each other (FIG. 3; ¶0065 – FIG. 3 depicts at different regions: D1 and D3 are neighbors and face each other; D1 and D2 are neighbors and face each other; D2 and D4 are neighbors and face each other; D3 and D4 are neighbors and face each other).
As to claim 2, Cha discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, as applied above.
Cha further discloses wherein each of the data lines(D1-D4, etc.)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116 – since other plurality of switch circuits SC exists besides the one shown in FIG. 2 {¶0078}, there must be at least another four more data lines for each of these SCs) is arranged on either a first side(right side) or a second side(left side) of a corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(from far left the 1st to 4th columns of SPX)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 140; ¶¶0057, 0108-0112), the third data line(D2)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) is arranged on the second side(left side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(from far left the 2nd column of SPX)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 140; ¶¶0057, 0108-0112), and the fourth data line(D4)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) is arranged on the first side(right side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(from far left the 2nd column of SPX)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 140; ¶¶0057, 0108-0112).
As to claim 3, Cha discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, as applied above.
Cha further discloses wherein the data lines(D1-D4, etc.)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116 – since other plurality of switch circuits SC exists besides the one shown in FIG. 2 {¶0078}, there must be at least another four more data lines for each of these SCs) further comprise a fifth data line(D5 similar to D1)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) and a sixth data line(D6 similar to D2)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116), the fifth data line(D5 similar to D1)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) and the sixth data line(D7 similar to D3)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) are neighboring each other (D5 neighbors D6 similar to how D1 neighbors D2 in the SPX area)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) and receive corresponding data signal, respectively (FIGs. 2-3, 5: D5 and D6 similar to D1 and D2; ¶¶0065, 0084) according to a same one of the first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084) and the second control signal,
the fifth data line(D5 similar to D1)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) is connected to a first output line(B1 of a 2nd from far left SC)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) from among the output lines(B1-BM)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) according to the first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084),
the sixth data line(D6 similar to D2)(FIGs. 1-3, 5; ¶¶0078, 0116) is connected to a second output line(B2 of a 2nd from far left SC)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) from among the output lines(B1-BM)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) according to the first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084),
the first data line(D1)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) is connected to a third output line(B1 of a 1st from far left SC)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) from among the output lines(B1-BM)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) according to the first control signal(CLa)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084), and
the second data line(D3)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) is connected to the first output line(B1 of a 2nd from far left SC)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) according to the second control signal(CLb)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084 – D3 is coupling connected to B1 of a 2nd from far left SC via SW3 of 2nd from far left SC),
the third data line(D2)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) is connected to the second output line(B2 of a 2nd from far left SC)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) according to the second control signal(CLb)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084 – D2 is coupling connected to B2 of a 2nd from far left SC via SW4 of 2nd from far left SC), and
the fourth data line(D4)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) is connected to the third output line(B1 of a 1st from far left SC)(FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶0052-0054) according to the second control signal(CLb)(FIGs. 1-4: SC; ¶¶0082-0084 – D4 is coupling connected to B1 of a 1st from far left SC via SW3 of 2nd from far left SC).
8. Claims 11, 13-14, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0019842 A1 to Kim.
As to claim 11, Kim discloses a display apparatus (FIG. 1; ¶0030) comprising:
a display (FIGs. 1-2: DSP; ¶¶0030-0031) comprising sub-pixel circuits(R, G, B)(FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033) arranged in a row direction and a column direction (FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE, R, G, B; ¶¶0031, 0033), data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) connected to corresponding sub-pixel circuits(R, G, B)(FIGs. 2, 4, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033, 0035, 0047), and first voltage transfer lines(for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD)(FIG. 4; ¶0034) extending in the column direction (FIG. 4: for each PXL an ELVDD line; ¶0034);
a data driving circuit(DD)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0031) that outputs a data signal through output lines(OC1-OC6 and/or pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073);
a data distributor(D-MUX)(FIGs 1, 5; ¶0075) selectively connecting each of the output lines(OC1-OC6 and/or pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) to one of(one of: DL1/DL4, DL2/DL5, DL3/DL6, DL7/DL10, D8/D11, D9/D12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0077) a corresponding pair of data lines(DL1/DL4, DL2/DL5, DL3/DL6, DL7/DL10, D8/D11, D9/D12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0077) among the data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) according to a first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0068) and a second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0068); and
a control circuit(D-MUX, CL1)(FIG. 5; ¶0068) that alternately outputs the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0068) and the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0068), wherein the data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) comprise first groups(DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) and second groups(DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031),
each of the first groups(DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) comprise a first data line(DL1, DL7)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031), a second data line(DL2, DL8)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031), and a third data line(DL3, DL9)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) that are sequentially arranged in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2, 5: DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9; ¶0031) and that receive data signals according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
each of the second groups(DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) comprise a fourth data line(DL4, DL10)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031), a fifth data line(DL5, DL11)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031), and a sixth data line(DL6, DL12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) that are sequentially arranged in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2, 5: DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12; ¶0031) and that receive data signals according to the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
the first groups(DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) and the second groups(DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) are alternately arranged in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2, 5: DL1-DL3, DL4-DL6, DL7-DL9, DL10-DL12; ¶0031), and
one of the first voltage transfer lines(for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD)(FIG. 4; ¶0034) is disposed between the third data line(DL3, DL9)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) and the fourth data line(DL4, DL10)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031 – as shown in FIG. 4: each pixel has an ELVDD line at its left side with its data line Vdata at its right side).
As to claim 13, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, as applied above.
Kim further discloses wherein the first data line(DL1)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to a first output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC1)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) from among the output lines(pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
the second data line(DL2)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to a second output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC2)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) from among the output lines(pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
the third data line(DL3)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to a third output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC3)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) from among the output lines(pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
the fourth data line(DL4)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to the first output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC1)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073 – DL4 is coupling connected to the left on of pair of lines directly connected to OC1 via CS2),
the fifth data line(DL5)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to the second output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC2)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073 – DL5 is coupling connected to the left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC2 via CS2), and
the sixth data line(DL6)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to the third output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC3)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073 – DL6 is coupling connected to the left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC3 via CS2).
As to claim 14, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, as applied above.
Kim further discloses wherein the display (FIGs. 1-2: DSP; ¶¶0030-0031) further comprises second voltage transfer lines(any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1)(FIGs. 1-2, 4-5; ¶¶0034, 0049) extending in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2, 4-5: any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1; ¶¶0034, 0049), and the first voltage transfer lines(for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD)(FIG. 4; ¶0034) are connected to the second voltage transfer lines(any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1)(FIGs. 1-2, 4-5; ¶¶0034, 0049 – second voltage transfer lines {FIGs. 1-2, 4-5: any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1} is either directly or coupling connected to the first voltage transfer lines {FIG. 4: for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD}).
As to claim 16, Kim discloses a display apparatus (FIG. 1; ¶0030) comprising:
a display (FIGs. 1-2: DSP; ¶¶0030-0031) comprising sub-pixel circuits(R, G, B)(FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033) arranged in a row direction and a column direction (FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE, R, G, B; ¶¶0031, 0033), data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) connected to corresponding sub-pixel circuits(R, G, B)(FIGs. 2, 4, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033, 0035, 0047), and first voltage transfer lines(for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD)(FIG. 4; ¶0034) extending in the column direction (FIG. 4: for each PXL an ELVDD line; ¶0034);
a data driving circuit(DD)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0031) that outputs a data signal through output lines(OC1-OC6 and/or pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073);
a data distributor(D-MUX)(FIGs 1, 5; ¶0075) selectively connecting each of the output lines(OC1-OC6 and/or pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) to one of(one of: DL1/DL4, DL2/DL5, DL3/DL6, DL7/DL10, D8/D11, D9/D12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0077) a corresponding pair of data lines(DL1/DL4, DL2/DL5, DL3/DL6, DL7/DL10, D8/D11, D9/D12)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0077) among the data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) according to a first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0068) and a second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0068); and
a control circuit(D-MUX, CL1)(FIG. 5; ¶0068) that alternately outputs the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0068) and the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0068), wherein
the data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) comprise first groups(DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) and second groups(DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031),
each of the first groups(DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) comprise a first data line(DL1, DL7)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031), a second data line(DL2, DL8)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031), and a third data line(DL3, DL9)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) that are sequentially arranged in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2: DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9; ¶0031) and that are connected to a corresponding one of the output lines(OC1-OC6 and/or pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0068),
each of the second groups(DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) comprise a fourth data line(DL4, DL10)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031), a fifth data line(DL5, DL11)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031), and a sixth data line(DL6, DL12)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) that are sequentially arranged in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2: DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12; ¶0031) and that are connected to a corresponding one of the output lines(OC1-OC6 and/or pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the second control signal(CS21)(FIG. 5; ¶0068),
the first group(DL1-DL3, DL7-DL9)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) and the second group(DL4-DL6, DL10-DL12)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) are alternately arranged in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2: DL1-DL3, DL4-DL6, DL7-DL9, DL10-DL12; ¶0031), and
one of the first voltage transfer lines(for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD)(FIG. 4; ¶0034) is disposed between the sixth data line(DL6)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) and the first data line(DL1)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031 – FIG. 4 depicts a vertical line providing ELVDD is on PXL’s left side and Vdata is on its right side, and thus any one of the vertical lines providing ELVDD to a PXL in the 2nd through 6th columns of PXL is a first voltage transfer line between 1st and 6th data lines.).
As to claim 18, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 16, as applied above.
Kim further discloses wherein the first data line(DL1)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to a first output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC1)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) from among the output lines(pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
the second data line(DL2)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to a second output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC2)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) from among the output lines(pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
the third data line(DL3)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to a third output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC3)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) from among the output lines(pairs of lines directly connected to each of OC1-OC6)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the first control signal(CS1)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073),
the fourth data line(DL4)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to the first output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC1)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073 – DL4 is coupling connected to the left on of pair of lines directly connected to OC1 via CS2),
the fifth data line(DL5)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to the second output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC2)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073 – DL5 is coupling connected to the left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC2 via CS2), and
the sixth data line(DL6)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0031) is connected to the third output line(left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC3)(FIGs. 1, 5; ¶0073) according to the second control signal(CS2)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0045, 0068, 0073 – DL6 is coupling connected to the left one of pair of lines directly connected to OC3 via CS2).
As to claim 19, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 16, as applied above.
Kim further discloses wherein the display (FIGs. 1-2: DSP; ¶¶0030-0031) further comprises second voltage transfer lines(any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1)(FIGs. 1-2, 4-5; ¶¶0034, 0049) extending in the row direction (FIGs. 1-2, 4-5: any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1; ¶¶0034, 0049), and the first voltage transfer lines(for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD)(FIG. 4; ¶0034) are connected to the second voltage transfer lines(any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1)(FIGs. 1-2, 4-5; ¶¶0034, 0049 – second voltage transfer lines {FIGs. 1-2, 4-5: any one of each PXL’s horizontal line shown as: a horizontal line directly below ELVDD, a horizontal line directly above Vint, a horizontal line directly above ELVSS or the horizontal lines shown as SLN-1} is either directly or coupling connected to the first voltage transfer lines {FIG. 4: for each PXL: a vertical line providing ELVDD}).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0019842 A1 to Kim in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0177663 A1 to Li et al. (“Li”).
As to claim 12, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, as applied above but does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Kim further discloses wherein each of the data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) is arranged on either a first side(right side) or a second side(left side) of a corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(one of: column of Rs, column of Gs, column of Bs)(FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033), and each of even-numbered data lines(even ones of: DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) is arranged on the first side(right side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(one of: column of Rs, column of Gs, column of Bs)(FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033).
Kim does not disclose each of odd-numbered data lines is arranged on the second side of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column.
Li discloses each of odd-numbered data lines(31, 33, 35)(FIG. 3; ¶0097) is arranged on the second side(left side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(311, 313, 315)(FIG. 3; ¶0096).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Li to provide a display apparatus that is brighter by having a higher aspect ratio (i.e., Kim discloses spacing on either side of each data line in the display area which is modified by Li so that a space on sides of two data lines is shared).
As to claim 17, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 16, as applied above but does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Kim further discloses wherein each of the data lines(DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) is arranged on either a first side(left side) or a second side(right side) of a corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(one of: column of Rs, column of Gs, column of Bs)(FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033), and each of even-numbered data lines(even ones of: DL1-DLj)(FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶0031) is arranged on the second side(right side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(one of: column of Rs, column of Gs, column of Bs)(FIGs. 2, 5: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0031, 0033).
Kim does not disclose each of odd-numbered data lines is arranged on the first side of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column.
Li discloses each of odd-numbered data lines(31, 33, 35)(FIG. 3; ¶0097) is arranged on the first side(left side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(311, 313, 315)(FIG. 3; ¶0096).
The motivation to combine Li is set forth above for claim 12.
11. Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043406 A1 to Cha et al. (“Cha”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0221979 A1 to Chae.
As to claim 21, Cha discloses the display apparatus of claim 1 as applied above.
Cha does not expressly disclose an electronic device comprising the display apparatus of claim 1.
Chae discloses an electronic device (¶0275) comprising a display apparatus (FIGs. 1-2; ¶¶0083, 0275).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cha with Chae to provide a display apparatus that can be conveniently moved to different locations.
As to claim 22, Cha and Chae teach the electronic device of claim 21, wherein, as applied above.
Chae further discloses the electronic device (¶0275) is a mobile phone (¶0275), a smartphone (¶0275), a tablet personal computer (¶0275), a mobile communication terminal (¶0275), an electronic notebook (¶0275), an electronic book (¶0275), a portable multimedia player, a navigation, an ultra-mobile PC, a television, a laptop (¶0275), a monitor, a billboard, an Internet-of-Things device, a smart watch, a watch phone, a glasses-type display, a head-mounted display, a center information display disposed on a center fascia or dashboard of a vehicle, a room mirror display, or a display disposed on a rear surface of a front seat of the vehicle.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of claim 22 is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 21.
12. Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0019842 A1 to Kim in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0221979 A1 to Chae.
As to claim 23, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 11 as applied above.
Kim does not expressly disclose an electronic device comprising the display apparatus of claim 11.
Chae discloses an electronic device (¶0275) comprising a display apparatus (FIGs. 1-2; ¶¶0083, 0275).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Chae to provide a display apparatus that can be conveniently moved to different locations.
As to claim 24, Kim and Chae teach the electronic device of claim 23, as applied above.
Chae further discloses wherein, the electronic device (¶0275) is a mobile phone (¶0275), a smartphone (¶0275), a tablet personal computer (¶0275), a mobile communication terminal (¶0275), an electronic notebook (¶0275), an electronic book (¶0275), a portable multimedia player, a navigation, an ultra-mobile PC, a television, a laptop (¶0275), a monitor, a billboard, an Internet-of-Things device, a smart watch, a watch phone, a glasses-type display, a head-mounted display, a center information display disposed on a center fascia or dashboard of a vehicle, a room mirror display, or a display disposed on a rear surface of a front seat of the vehicle.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of claim 24 is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 23.
As to claim 25, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 16 as applied above.
Kim does not expressly disclose an electronic device comprising the display apparatus of claim 16.
Chae discloses an electronic device (¶0275) comprising a display apparatus (FIGs. 1-2; ¶¶0083, 0275).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Chae to provide a display apparatus that can be conveniently moved to different locations.
As to claim 26, Kim and Chae teach the electronic device of claim 25, as applied above.
Chae further discloses wherein, the electronic device (¶0275) is a mobile phone (¶0275), a smartphone (¶0275), a tablet personal computer (¶0275), a mobile communication terminal (¶0275), an electronic notebook (¶0275), an electronic book (¶0275), a portable multimedia player, a navigation, an ultra-mobile PC, a television, a laptop (¶0275), a monitor, a billboard, an Internet-of-Things device, a smart watch, a watch phone, a glasses-type display, a head-mounted display, a center information display disposed on a center fascia or dashboard of a vehicle, a room mirror display, or a display disposed on a rear surface of a front seat of the vehicle.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of claim 26 is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 25.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
13. As to claims 4-10, 15, and 20, if the above objections are overcome then they claims would become allowable (i.e., objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims).
Reasons for Allowance
11. The following is examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed invention is directed to:
Dependent claim 4 identifies the distinct features: “wherein the first data line(FIG. 6: DL1) is arranged on the first side(left side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(FIG. 6: from far left first column of subpixels PCr)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043406 A1 to Cha et al. (“Cha”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 4, Cha discloses the display apparatus of claim 3, as applied above.
Cha further discloses wherein the second data line(D3)(FIGs. 2-3, 5; ¶0065) is arranged on the first side(right side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(from far left the 2nd column of SPX)(FIGs. 1, 3, 5: 140; ¶¶0057, 0108-0112).
Cha does not disclose the above underline limitations.
Dependent claim 8 identifies the distinct features: “wherein the first data line(FIG. 6: DL1) is arranged on the first side(left side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(FIG. 6: from far left first column of subpixels PCr), and the second data line(FIG. 6: DL2) is arranged on the second side(right side) of the corresponding sub-pixel circuit column(FIG. 6: from far left first column of subpixels PCr)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043406 A1 to Cha et al. (“Cha”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 8, Cha discloses the display apparatus of claim 3, as applied above but does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 15 identifies the distinct features: “wherein six data lines(FIG. 12A: DL7-DL12) are disposed between two neighboring first voltage transfer lines(FIGs. 10, 12A: neighboring VLvs) from among the first voltage transfer lines(FIGs. 10, 12A: VLvs)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0019842 A1 to Kim, either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 15, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, as applied above but does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 20 identifies the distinct features: “wherein six data lines(FIG. 12A: DL7-DL12) are disposed between two neighboring first voltage transfer lines(FIGs. 10, 12A: neighboring VLvs) from among the first voltage transfer lines(FIGs. 10, 12A: VLvs)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0019842 A1 to Kim, either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 20, Kim discloses the display apparatus of claim 16, as applied above but does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Other Relevant Prior Art
14. Other relevant prior art includes:
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0164502 A1 to Yoon et al. (“Yoon”):
As to claim 11, Yoon discloses a display apparatus(1000A)(FIG. 1; ¶0042) comprising:
a display(100A)(FIG. 1; ¶0042) comprising sub-pixel circuits(SP1-SP4)(FIGs. 1-3: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0043, 0052, 0054-0055) arranged in a row direction and a column direction (FIGs. 1-3: SP1-SP4, PGO-PGE; ¶¶0043, 0052, 0054-0055), data lines(DL1-DLm)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0053) connected to corresponding sub-pixel circuits (SP1-SP4)(FIGs. 1-3: PGO-PGE; ¶¶0043, 0052, 0054-0055), and first voltage transfer lines(OL1-OL4, etc.)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶0042) extending in the column direction (FIGs. 4-5: OL1-OL4, etc.; ¶0042);
a data driving circuit(400)(FIG. 1; ¶0048) that outputs a data signal through output lines(CH1-CHm; OL1-OL4, etc.)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0048-0049);
a data distributor(switches SW1-SW8)(FIGs 1-2; ¶0053) selectively connecting each of the output lines(CH1-CHm; OL1-OL4, etc.)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0048-0049, 0053) to one of(one of: DL1/DL5 or DL2/DL6 or DL3/DL7 or DL4/DL8)(FIGs. 1-2: 500, CON4; ¶0049) a corresponding pair of data lines(DL1/DL5 or DL2/DL6 or DL3/DL7 or DL4/DL8)(FIGs. 1-2: 500, CON4; ¶0049) among the data lines(DL1-DLm)(FIGs. 1-2; ¶0053) according to a first control signal(CLA)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0049, 0053) and a second control signal(CLB)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0049, 0053); and
a control circuit(500)(FIGs 1-2; ¶0049) that alternately outputs the first control signal(CLA)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0049, 0053) and the second control signal(CLB)(FIG. 2; ¶¶0049, 0053).
Conclusion
/KIRK W HERMANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2621