DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 02/12/2026 without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 for further examination. Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/04/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first processing device” in claims 1-2 & 8-10; “second processing device” in claims 1-2, 4-5 & 8-10; “conveyance mechanism” in claims 1-2 & 8-10.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-9 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada et al. (JP 2017-055110 A) hereinafter Harada (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Harada are included between parentheses).
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “of curing the composition on the substrate in a contact state in which the flat surface of the member is in contact with the composition… of separating the member from the composition on the substrate that has undergone the curing processing by the first processing device and is in the contact state…having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device to the second processing device…around the substrate in the contact state”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of curing the composition on the substrate in a contact state in which the flat surface of the member is in contact with the composition, of separating the member from the composition on the substrate that has undergone the curing processing by the first processing device and is in the contact state, conveying the substrate having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device to the second processing device and the ion generator configured to ionize a gas around the substrate in the contact state, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 1, Harada discloses a planarization apparatus that planarizes a composition on a substrate by using a member having a flat surface (abs; fig 1-15), comprising:
a first processing device (21) capable of performing curing processing of curing the composition (resin composition) on the substrate (40) in a contact state in which the flat surface of the member (50) is in contact with the composition (resin composition) ([0030]-[0032]; [0042]-[0044]; [0072]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1);
a second processing device (17) capable of performing separation processing of separating the member (50) from the composition (resin composition) on the substrate (40) that has undergone the curing processing by the first processing device (21) and is in the contact state ([0030]-[0032]; [0035]; [0039]-[0048]; [0059]-[0062]; [0066]; [0070]-[0073]; [0100]-[0101]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1); and
a conveyance mechanism (12) capable of conveying the substrate (40) having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device (21) to the second processing device (17) ([0030]-[0036]; [0038]-[0048]; [0059]-[0062]; [0066]-[0067]; [0070]-[0073]; [0081]; [0100]-[0101]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1),
wherein the second processing device (17) includes an ion generator (18/181) capable of ionizing a gas around the substrate (40) in the contact state ([0031]; [0049]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “starts to ionize the gas around the substrate in the contact state after the conveyance mechanism conveys the substrate from the first processing device to the second processing device”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of starting to ionize the gas around the substrate in the contact state after the conveyance mechanism conveys the substrate from the first processing device to the second processing device, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 2, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the ion generator (18/181) is capable of starting to ionize the gas around the substrate (40) in the contact state after the conveyance mechanism (12) conveys the substrate (40) from the first processing device (21) to the second processing device (17) ([0049]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “starts to ionize the gas around the substrate in the contact state before the separation processing is started”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of starting to ionize the gas around the substrate in the contact state before the separation processing is started, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 3, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the ion generator (18/181) is capable of starting to ionize the gas around the substrate (40) in the contact state before the separation processing is started ([0049]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “the separation processing includes a holding operation of causing the holder to hold the member by bringing the holder close to the member in contact with the composition on the substrate, and a separating operation of separating the member from the composition on the substrate by bringing the holder far from the substrate after the holding operation, and the ion generator starts to ionize the gas around the substrate in the contact state before the holding operation is started”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of the separation processing including a holding operation of causing the holder to hold the member by bringing the holder close to the member in contact with the composition on the substrate, and a separating operation of separating the member from the composition on the substrate by bringing the holder far from the substrate after the holding operation, and the ion generator starting to ionize the gas around the substrate in the contact state before the holding operation is started, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 4, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the second processing device (17) includes a holder (see fig 1, block connecting 17 to 50) capable of holding the member (50) in contact with the composition (resin composition) on the substrate (40), the separation processing capable of including a holding operation of causing the holder (see fig 1, block connecting 17 to 50) to hold the member (50) by bringing the holder (see fig 1, block connecting 17 to 50) close to the member (50) in contact with the composition (resin composition) on the substrate (40), and a separating operation of separating the member (50) from the composition (resin composition) on the substrate (40) by bringing the holder (see fig 1, block connecting 17 to 50) far from the substrate (40) after the holding operation, and the ion generator (18/181) capable of starting to ionize the gas around the substrate (40) in the contact state before the holding operation is started ([0030]-[0036]; [0038]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
Regarding claim 5, the recitation “performs the separation processing in a state in which the substrate is placed at a processing position and moves the substrate from the processing position to an unload position for unloading the substrate from the second processing device after the separation processing is completed, and the ion generator is placed at a position on an opposite side of the processing position to the unload position”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of performing the separation processing in a state in which the substrate is placed at a processing position and moves the substrate from the processing position to an unload position for unloading the substrate from the second processing device after the separation processing is completed, and the ion generator is placed at a position on an opposite side of the processing position to the unload position, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 5, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the second processing device (17) is capable of performing the separation processing in a state in which the substrate (40) is placed at a processing position and moves the substrate (40) from the processing position to an unload position for unloading the substrate (40) from the second processing device (17) after the separation processing is completed, and the ion generator (18/181) is placed at a position on an opposite side of the processing position to the unload position ([0030]-[0036]; [0038]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
Regarding claim 6, the recitation “continues ionization of a gas until the substrate is placed at the unload position”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of continuing the ionization of a gas until the substrate is placed at the unload position, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 6, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the ion generator (18/181) is capable of continuing the ionization of a gas until the substrate (40) is placed at the unload position ([0030]-[0036]; [0038]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
As regards to claim 7, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the ion generator (18/181) includes an emitter configured to emit soft X-rays ([0031]; [0049]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
As regards to claim 8, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the conveyance mechanism (12) includes a stage (12B) configured to move over the first processing device (21) and the second processing device (17) while holding the substrate (40) ([0030]-[0036]; [0038]-[0048]; [0059]-[0062]; [0066]-[0067]; [0070]-[0073]; [0081]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
Regarding claim 9, the recitation “perform contact processing of bringing the member into contact with the composition on the substrate before the first processing device performs the curing processing, and the conveyance mechanism conveys the substrate having undergone the contact processing by the second processing device to the first processing device and conveys the substrate having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device to the second processing device”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of performing contact processing of bringing the member into contact with the composition on the substrate before the first processing device performs the curing processing, and the conveyance mechanism capable of conveying the substrate having undergone the contact processing by the second processing device to the first processing device and conveying the substrate having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device to the second processing device, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 9, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the second processing device (17) is capable of performing contact processing of bringing the member (50) into contact with the composition (resin composition) on the substrate (40) before the first processing device (21) performs the curing processing, and the conveyance mechanism (12) capable of conveying the substrate (40) having undergone the contact processing by the second processing device (17) to the first processing device (21) and conveying the substrate (40) having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device (21) to the second processing device (17) ([0030]-[0036]; [0038]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation “perform contact processing of bringing the member into contact with the composition on the substrate, wherein the conveyance mechanism conveys the substrate having undergone the contact processing by the third processing device to the first processing device and conveys the substrate having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device to the second processing device”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Harada since Harada meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of performing perform contact processing of bringing the member into contact with the composition on the substrate, wherein the conveyance mechanism conveys the substrate having undergone the contact processing by the third processing device to the first processing device and conveys the substrate having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device to the second processing device, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 10, Harada discloses the apparatus (abs; fig 1-15), wherein the second processing device (17) is capable of performing contact processing of bringing the member (50) into contact with the composition (resin composition) on the substrate (40) before the first processing device (21) performs the curing processing, and the conveyance mechanism (12) capable of conveying the substrate (40) having undergone the contact processing by the second processing device (17) to the first processing device (21) and conveying the substrate (40) having undergone the curing processing by the first processing device (21) to the second processing device (17) ([0030]-[0036]; [0038]-[0063]; [0074]-[0096]; [0100]-[0117]; fig 1-2, 4-9; 11-15; clm 1), however Harada does not disclose a third processing device.
Although Harada does not explicitly disclose the claimed third processing device, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Harada to have the third processing device recited in the claim to accommodate additional substrates or as needed for an intended coating method and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to add an additional transportation track in Harada since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 1 93 USPQ 8.; and it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result it produced, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717