DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: The use of an abbreviation “ED AX”, should have been spelled out for the first time in a claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2018-119202 A(herein after, JP-202; provided with the IDS).
Note: all the citation to be found in the machine translation of the JP-202.
Regarding claim 1, JP- discloses a method for producing a metal powder
for three dimensional additive manufacturing, comprising: reducing an oxygen concentration in the metal powder; wherein the step of reducing comprises: dry etching the metal powder; and removing at least a part of an oxide film of the metal powder (see paragraphs [0016],[0023], [0028] and claims 1-2, 8-10).
Regarding claim 2, JP-202 discloses the metal powder added to the etching solution is stirred by ultrasonic vibration and is separated from the etching solution [0037].
Regarding claim 3, JP-202 discloses the metal powder comprises a metal alloy material [0036].
Regarding claim 6, JP-202 discloses above that the metal material is in a powder form [0023].
Regarding claim 24, JP-202 discloses that the above-mentioned process including reducing the oxygen concentration of the metal powder while suppressing a decrease in fluidity of the used metal powder. Therefore, the used metal powder can be reused as a metal powder [0028] and therefore, the metal powder being reconditioned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-202 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chung et al (US 2008/0164238).
Regarding claims 7 and 27 , JP-202 discloses above for the claim 1 but fails to disclose the claimed temperature.
However, Chung et al disclose (see, paragraph [0007]and claims 1, 5): a method of etching a metal oxide layer, comprising: primary etching the metal oxide layer exposed by the photoresist using chlorine gas in an inductively coupled plasma method, wherein the primary etching is performed at a temperature of 0°C to 100°C, and a reactive ion etching (RIE) is performed at a temperature of approximately 300°C or higher.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Chung et al's teaching of etching metal oxide with the temperature range encompasses the instant range into the teaching of JP-202 for effective removal of the oxide material as suggested by Chung et al.
Additionally, the selection of reaction parameters such as temperature and concentration would have been obvious as it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller 105 USPQ 233, 255 (CCPA 1955).See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948);
Claim(s) 9-10,13-18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-202.
Regarding claims 9-10, JP-202 discloses that at least a part of the oxide film of the metal powder can be removed by dry etching using a mixed gas containing boron trichloride gas, chlorine gas, and argon gas (see paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, JP-202 discloses that at least a part of the oxide film of the metal powder can be removed by dry etching using a mixed gas containing boron trichloride gas, chlorine gas, and argon gas (see paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 14, JP-202 discloses that the metal powder added to the etching solution is stirred by ultrasonic vibration and is separated from the etching solution (see claims 2, 5); and aforesaid teaching obviously milling the etched metal material after etching and before the separation.
The additional feature of claim 16 would be easily derived from the disclosure of JP-202(see claim 1: a method for producing a metal powder for three dimensional additive manufacturing.
Regarding claim 17, JP-202 discloses that by removing at least a part of the film, it is possible to reduce the oxygen concentration of the metal powder, and to reuse it as a metal powder suitable for three-dimensional additive manufacturing (see paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, JP-202 discloses that the oxygen concentration of the used metal powder before performing the oxide film removal process was 2000 ppm, and by performing the oxide film removal process, the oxygen concentration of the metal powder could be reduced to 150 ppm or less (see paragraph [0045]); and such detection would have been performed by ordinary skill in the art by known technique, such as Energy-dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX/EDAX) evaluates localized oxide concentration.
Regarding claim 23, JP-202 discloses that at least a part of the oxide film of the metal powder is removed while stirring the metal powder added to the etching solution by ultrasonic vibration, and the metal powder is separated from the etching solution using a sieve or filter paper (see paragraph [0037]).
Claim(s) 22, 25-26 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-202 as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Carrion et al (Powder Recycling Effects on the Tensile and Fatigue Behavior of Additively Manufactured Ti-6AI-4V Parts; provided with the IDS).
Regarding claim 22, JP-202 discloses above for the claim s1-2 but fails to teach the metal material comprises titanium alloy material.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Carrion et al disclose a process of powder recycling effects on titanium alloy material (see at least the abstract, introduction at page 963-964).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Carrion et al's teaching of recycling metal material comprising titanium alloy material into the teaching of JP-202 because such would have been a simple substitution for known materials as suggested by Carrion et al.
Regarding claim 25, JP-202 discloses above that metal material could be metal alloy and claim 25 relates to a titanium alloy material and has substantially the same technical features disclosed in claim 1 of JP-202,differing only in the category of invention. Thus, the same reasoning as in claim 1 applies to claim 25.
Regarding claims 26,28-29, JP-202 discloses above and would be easily derived from the disclosure of JP-202 (see paragraph [0028]: the used metal powder can be reused as metal powder suitable for three-dimensional additive manufacturing and the metal could be titanium alloy as the metal material, suggested by Carrion et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713