DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 USC 103 with regards to the newly added amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yagi and Bogue in view of Yagi.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 with regards to the failsafe fastener comprising a threaded bolt have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant simply states that the fastener provided by Bogue in view of Sippel further in view of Clark and further in view of Weiss is not the same as the fastener claimed without pointing out specifically how this is the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 8 have added the limitations requiring the dovetail to be formed “monolithic from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components”. There is no support for these limitations provided in the specification of the instant application. While the drawings do not show any seams in the vane to the dovetail, the specification provides no limitations describing that the structure is formed of a single continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components. The figure is not sufficient to provide support for how the airfoil structure is formed and there is nothing in the specification to describe how the vane is formed. The only discussion in the specification of how any of the structure is formed is describing that the shoe member or boot, not the dovetail, can be formed of a single unit in paragraphs 0044 and 0048. Further, these limitations provide negative limitations as they exclude structures with joints, connections, or the assembly of multiple components. Negative limitations must be clearly supported by the disclosure of the specification, which has not been provided for these limitations. See MPEP 2173.05(i) for a discussion of negative limitations. Claims 2-7 and 9-13 are rejected due to being dependent from claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagi (US 20160305263).
Regarding claim 1, Yagi discloses A composite vane (Par. 0006) with a locking feature (Figure 2) comprising:
a leading edge and a trailing edge opposite chordwise from the leading edge (Figure 3); a radially inner attachment region opposite spanwise from a radially outer attachment region (Figure 3 shows radially inner and outer attachment regions);
a span dimension extending between the radially inner attachment region and the radially outer attachment region; a chord dimension extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge; a pressure side opposite a suction side of the composite vane (Figure 3 shows the radial extent of the vane and Figure 2 shows pressure and suction sides);
a dovetail section formed monolithic from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components within the composite vane proximate the radially outer attachment region (Figure 2 shows a dovetail 22a where no joints seams or assembly of multiple components form the interface between the vane 20 and the dovetail);
a shoe member in operative communication with the dovetail section (55);
a boot in operative communication with an inner portion opposite spanwise from the dovetail portion (Figure 2, items 33 and 34); and
a failsafe fastener comprising a threaded bolt and nut arrangement in operative communication with the boot and the inner portion of the composite vane (Figure 2, items 36 and 37 combine to form the failsafe fastener having a threaded bolt and nut in communication with the boot and inner portion of the vane).
Regarding claim 2, Yagi discloses that the shoe member comprises a receiver, the receiver is configured to couple with the dovetail section (Figure 2, item 55 shows a receiver being the open area to hold the dovetail section).
Regarding claim 3, Yagi discloses that the dovetail section comprises a wedge portion, the wedge portion being configured to cooperate with the receiver to form an interference fit between the shoe member and the dovetail section (Figure 2 item 22a shows that the inner end of 22a has a wedge shape that cooperates with the receiver 55 and forms an interference fit there).
Regarding claim 4, Yagi discloses that the boot is configured to receive the inner portion of the composite vane (Figures 2 and 3, items 33 and 34)
Regarding claim 5, Yagi discloses an adhesive in operative communication between the shoe member and the dovetail section (Par. 0044 describes that an adhesive can be between the shoe 55 and the dovetail portion 22).
Regarding claim 7, Yagi discloses that the boot is configured to couple with the failsafe fastener and configured to couple with the inner portion with an adhesive (Figure 3 shows the boot is coupled with a fastener 36 and paragraph 0038 describes adhesive being used for the boot).
Regarding claim 8, Yagi discloses A fan exit guide vane system with a locking feature for a gas turbine engine, the fan exit guide vane system comprising:
a fan located within a fan duct (Figure 1, item 10); and
an array of composite fan exit guide vanes supported within the fan duct downstream from the fan, the array of composite fan exit guide vanes span across the fan duct attached to a radially inner surface of the fan duct and a radially outer surface of the fan duct (Figure 1, item 20);
wherein each composite fan exit guide vane of the array of composite fan exit guide vanes comprises:
a leading edge and a trailing edge (Figure 3) opposite chordwise from the leading edge; a radially inner attachment region opposite spanwise from a radially outer attachment region (Figure 3 shows radially inner and outer attachment regions);
a span dimension extending between the radially inner attachment region and the radially outer attachment region;
a chord dimension extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge; a pressure side opposite a suction side of the composite fan exit guide vane (Figure 3 shows the radial extent of the vane and Figure 2 shows pressure and suction sides);
a dovetail section formed monolithic within the composite fan exit guide vane proximate the radially outer attachment region, wherein monolithic is defined as from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components (Figure 2 shows a dovetail 22a where no joints seams or assembly of multiple components form the interface between the vane 20 and the dovetail);
a shoe member in operative communication with the dovetail section (55);
a boot in operative communication with an inner portion opposite spanwise from the dovetail portion (Figure 2, items 33 and 34);
an adhesive in operative communication between the shoe member and the dovetail section, the adhesive in operative communication between the boot and the inner portion (Par. 0044 describes that an adhesive can be between the shoe 55 and the dovetail portion 22); and
a failsafe fastener formed as a threaded bolt and nut arrangement in operative communication with the boot and the inner portion of the composite fan exit guide vane (Figure 2, items 36 and 37 combine to form the failsafe fastener having a threaded bolt and nut in communication with the boot and inner portion of the vane).
Regarding claim 9, Yagi discloses that the shoe member comprises a receiver, the receiver is configured to couple with the dovetail section (Figure 2, item 55 shows a receiver being the open area to hold the dovetail section).
Regarding claim 10, Yagi discloses that the dovetail section comprises a wedge portion, the wedge portion being configured to cooperate with the receiver to form an interference fit between the shoe member and the dovetail section (Figure 2 item 22a shows that the inner end of 22a has a wedge shape that cooperates with the receiver 55 and forms an interference fit there).
Regarding claim 11, Yagi discloses that the boot is configured to receive the inner portion of the composite vane (Figures 2 and 3, items 33 and 34)
Regarding claim 12, Yagi discloses that the boot is configured to couple with the failsafe fastener and configured to couple with the inner portion with an adhesive (Figure 3 shows the boot is coupled with a fastener 36 and paragraph 0038 describes adhesive being used for the boot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogue (US 20080085187) in view of Yagi (US 20160305263).
Regarding claim 1, Bogue discloses A composite vane (Par. 0019) with a locking feature comprising:
a leading edge and a trailing edge opposite chordwise from the leading edge (Figure 3 shows the vane 222 having a leading and trailing edge); a radially inner attachment region (Figure 2, item 226) opposite spanwise from a radially outer attachment region (Figure 2, item 224); a span dimension extending between the radially inner attachment region and the radially outer attachment region (Figure 2 shows the vane 222 having a span separating 226 and 224); a chord dimension extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge (Figure 3); a pressure side opposite a suction side of the composite vane (Figure 3 shows the vane 222 having a pressure side and a suction side);
a dovetail section formed monolithic within the composite vane proximate the radially outer attachment region (Figure 4, item 232 shows a dovetail on the outer attachment region. As Paragraph 0021 describes that the wedge and collar can be mounted with fusion welding or structural adhesive, the two items are formed as a single unit as described above to meet the limitations of “monolithic”); a shoe member in operative communication with the dovetail section (Figure 5 shows a shoe member 230 in communication with the dovetail through the wedge portion;
a boot in operative communication with an inner portion opposite spanwise from the dovetail portion (Figure 2, item 228 shows a boot attached to the inner end), and
a failsafe fastener in operative communication with the boot and the inner portion of the composite vane (Paragraph 0020 describes that the inner end of the airfoil structure 226 is secured to the mounting structure 228 through the use of a pin, meaning a failsafe fastener in the structure of a pin is in operative communication with the boot 228 and the inner surface of the airfoil structure 226).
However, Bogue does not explicitly disclose that dovetail and composite vane are formed monolithic from a single, continuous material without joints, connections or a failsafe fastener comprising a threaded bolt and nut arrangement in operative communication with the boot and the inner portion of the composite vane. Bogue and Yagi are analogous prior art because both describe dovetail composite vane securing structures. Yagi teaches a vane formed monolithic from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components within the composite vane proximate the radially outer attachment region (Figure 2 shows a dovetail 22a where no joints seams or assembly of multiple components form the interface between the vane 20 and the dovetail). Yagi further teaches providing a failsafe fastener consisting of a threaded bolt and nut arrangement in communication with the boot and the inner portion of the composite vane (Figure 2, items 36 and 37 combine to form the failsafe fastener having a threaded bolt and nut in communication with the boot and inner portion of the vane).
Bogue Paragraph 0021 describes that the wedge and collar can be made of fusion welding and that the material wedge can be made of composite, which is the same material as the vane body. As both Bogue and Yagi show dovetail ends for vane structures fitted in outer shoe structures with similar engagement shapes and Bogue already describes that the wedge and vane body can both be made of composites, the monolithic dovetail form of Yagi would provide predictable results in the dovetail of Bogue. Further, monolithically forming multiple elements together provides a stronger bond between items and greater reliability than separately forming the two items.
Yagi describes that the coupling structure provides a high structural strength while providing a reduced weight of the engine while also preventing separation of the fiber layers of a composite material during the operation of the engine (Pars. 0007 and 0046). Bogue Figure 2 shows an inner pin connection of the vane to the casing but describes that other types of connection structures can be used (Par. 0020). Yagi further describes that the connection and adhesive combination provide a higher structural strength (Par. 0050) and that the bolts and nuts provide a fastening force to achieve the strength (Par. 0037).
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the monolithic dovetail and vane formation from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components within the composite vane proximate the radially outer attachment region of Yagi for the vane and dovetail of Bogue because monolithically forming multiple elements together provides a stronger bond between items and greater reliability than separately forming the two items and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the coupling part of the threaded failsafe fasteners and bolts and adhesive of Yagi in the inner and outer connection structures of Bogue because the coupling structure provides a high structural strength while providing a reduced weight of the engine while also preventing separation of the fiber layers of a composite material during the operation of the engine (Pars. 0007 and 0046) and the connection and adhesive combination provide a higher structural strength (Par. 0050) and that the bolts and nuts provide a fastening force to achieve the strength (Par. 0037).
Regarding claim 2, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the shoe member comprises a receiver, the receiver is configured to couple with the dovetail section (Bogue Figure 4 shows a receiver 244 that couples with the dovetail section 232).
Regarding claim 3, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the dovetail section comprises a wedge portion, the wedge portion being configured to cooperate with the receiver to form an interference fit between the shoe member and the dovetail section (Bogue Figure 4, item 232 shows a wedge portion of the dovetail section that is secured in the receiver to form an interference fit as the interference between 232 and 244 prevents the vane from moving radially inwards when placed within the shoe).
Regarding claim 4, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the boot is configured to receive the inner portion of the composite vane (Bogue Figure 2 shows the boot 228 receives the inner portion of the vane 226, which is further described in paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 5, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches an adhesive in operative communication between the shoe member and the dovetail section (Yagi Par. 0044 describes that an adhesive can be between the shoe 55 and the dovetail portion 22).
Regarding claim 6, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the shoe member is configured slidable onto the dovetail section (Bogue Figure 4 shows the shoe 230 being slidable onto the dovetail section as is further described in paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 7, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the boot is configured to couple with the failsafe fastener and configured to couple with the inner portion with an adhesive (Yagi Figure 3 shows the boot is coupled with a fastener 36 and paragraph 0038 describes adhesive being used for the boot).
Regarding claim 8, Bogue discloses A fan exit guide vane system with a locking feature for a gas turbine engine (Pars. 0001-0002), the fan exit guide vane system comprising:
a fan located within a fan duct (Figure 1, item 102); and
an array of composite fan exit guide vanes (Par. 0019) supported within the fan duct downstream from the fan, the array of composite fan exit guide vanes span across the fan duct attached to a radially inner surface of the fan duct and a radially outer surface of the fan duct (Figure 1 shows the FEGVs 120 spanning across the duct);
wherein each composite fan exit guide vane of the array of composite fan exit guide vanes comprises:
a leading edge and a trailing edge opposite chordwise from the leading edge (Figure 3 shows the vane 222 having a leading and trailing edge); a radially inner attachment region (Figure 2, item 226) opposite spanwise from a radially outer attachment region (Figure 2, item 224);
a span dimension extending between the radially inner attachment region and the radially outer attachment region (Figure 2 shows the vane 222 having a span separating 226 and 224);
a chord dimension extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge (Figure 3); a pressure side opposite a suction side of the composite fan exit guide vane (Figure 3 shows the vane 222 having a pressure side and a suction side);
a dovetail section formed monolithic within the composite vane proximate the radially outer attachment region (Figure 4, item 232 shows a dovetail on the outer attachment region. As Paragraph 0021 describes that the wedge and collar can be mounted with fusion welding or structural adhesive, the two items are formed as a single unit as described above to meet the limitations of “monolithic”);
a shoe member in operative communication with the dovetail section (Figure 5 shows a shoe member 230 in communication with the dovetail through the wedge portion); a boot in operative communication with an inner portion opposite spanwise from the dovetail portion (Figure 2, item 228 shows a boot attached to the inner end).
However, Bogue does not explicitly disclose that dovetail and composite vane are formed monolithic from a single, continuous material without joints, connections or a failsafe fastener comprising a threaded bolt and nut arrangement in operative communication with the boot and the inner portion of the composite vane or an adhesive in operative communication between the shoe member and the dovetail section, the adhesive in operative communication between the boot and the inner portion or that the fastener comprises a threated bolt and nut arrangement. Bogue and Yagi are analogous prior art because both describe dovetail composite vane securing structures. Yagi teaches a vane formed monolithic from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components within the composite vane proximate the radially outer attachment region (Figure 2 shows a dovetail 22a where no joints seams or assembly of multiple components form the interface between the vane 20 and the dovetail). Yagi further teaches providing a failsafe fastener consisting of a threaded bolt and nut arrangement in communication with the boot and the inner portion of the composite vane (Figure 2, items 36 and 37 combine to form the failsafe fastener having a threaded bolt and nut in communication with the boot and inner portion of the vane) and an adhesive in operative communication between the shoe member and the dovetail section (Yagi Par. 0044 describes that an adhesive can be between the shoe 55 and the dovetail portion 22).
Bogue Paragraph 0021 describes that the wedge and collar can be made of fusion welding and that the material wedge can be made of composite, which is the same material as the vane body. As both Bogue and Yagi show dovetail ends for vane structures fitted in outer shoe structures with similar engagement shapes and Bogue already describes that the wedge and vane body can both be made of composites, the monolithic dovetail form of Yagi would provide predictable results in the dovetail of Bogue. Further, monolithically forming multiple elements together provides a stronger bond between items and greater reliability than separately forming the two items.
Yagi describes that the coupling structure provides a high structural strength while providing a reduced weight of the engine while also preventing separation of the fiber layers of a composite material during the operation of the engine (Pars. 0007 and 0046). Bogue Figure 2 shows an inner pin connection of the vane to the casing but describes that other types of connection structures can be used (Par. 0020). Yagi further describes that the connection and adhesive combination provide a higher structural strength (Par. 0050) and that the bolts and nuts provide a fastening force to achieve the strength (Par. 0037).
Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the monolithic dovetail and vane formation from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components within the composite vane proximate the radially outer attachment region of Yagi for the vane and dovetail of Bogue because monolithically forming multiple elements together provides a stronger bond between items and greater reliability than separately forming the two items and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the coupling part of the threaded failsafe fasteners and bolts and adhesive of Yagi in the inner and outer connection structures of Bogue because the coupling structure provides a high structural strength while providing a reduced weight of the engine while also preventing separation of the fiber layers of a composite material during the operation of the engine (Pars. 0007 and 0046) and the connection and adhesive combination provide a higher structural strength (Par. 0050) and that the bolts and nuts provide a fastening force to achieve the strength (Par. 0037).
Regarding claim 9, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the shoe member comprises a receiver, the receiver is configured to couple with the dovetail section (Bogue Figure 4 shows a receiver 244 that couples with the dovetail section 232).
Regarding claim 10, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the dovetail section comprises a wedge portion, the wedge portion being configured to cooperate with the receiver to form an interference fit between the shoe member and the dovetail section (Bogue Figure 4, item 232 shows a wedge portion of the dovetail section that is secured in the receiver to form an interference fit as the interference between 232 and 244 prevents the vane from moving radially inwards when placed within the shoe).
Regarding claim 11, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the boot is configured to receive the inner portion of the composite vane (Bogue Figure 2 shows the boot 228 receives the inner portion of the vane 226, which is further described in paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 12, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the boot is configured to couple with the failsafe fastener (Yagi Figure 3 shows the boot is coupled with a fastener 36).
Regarding claim 13, Bogue in view of Yagi teaches that the shoe member is configured slidable onto the dovetail section (Bogue Figure 4 shows the shoe 230 being slidable onto the dovetail section as is further described in paragraph 0031).
Conclusion
/THEODORE C RIBADENEYRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745