Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the depth of the inner convex portion at a radially outermost part must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. For examining purposes, the limitations of claim 3 will be construed as being taught by the prior art because the convex portions are practically identical to applicant’s claimed and disclosed convex portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokizawa (JP 2010284008) in view of Hirose (JPH 10322980).
1. Tokizawa teaches:
A stator core (title) for a rotary electric machine (title), comprising
a stator core 3 having a circular back yoke/rear band part 5 and teeth 4 protruding from the back yoke in a radial direction of the stator core (fig 1), wherein the stator core is formed by stacking core sheets 7 in multiple layers (fig 1), the core sheet has convex portions/slot-depth part 8 provided at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction (figs 1), and
flat portions/base bend part 4b provided between adjacent convex portions (fig 2) in the circumferential direction (fig 2), each of the convex portions has a folded shape/chevron (figs 1-5) that is convex in a stacking direction (figs 1-5) and extends in the radial direction (figs 1-5), the convex portions are stacked and overlapping each other in the stacking direction (figs 1-5); but does not teach that a plate thickness of the convex portion is smaller than a plate thickness of the flat portion.
Hirose teaches that a plate thickness t1/t2 of the convex portion 4 is smaller than a plate thickness t0 of the flat portion 5 to reduce scrap in manufacturing the stator core during winding.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention of Tokizawa was effectively filed to modify it such that a plate thickness of the convex portion is smaller than a plate thickness of the flat portion, as taught by Hirose so as to reduce waste during manufacturing.
2. Tokizawa in view of Hirose teach:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein thicknesses (of Hirose) of steel sheet material (of Tokizawa) forming the core sheet (of Hirose) are different between the convex portions (of Hirose) and the flat portions (of Hirose), a protrusion height of the convex portion (of Tokizawa) on an inner side in the radial direction is larger than a protrusion height of the convex portion (of Tokizawa) on an outer side in the radial direction (Tokizawa figs 2-5), and the convex portion protrudes from the flat portion at a radially outermost position of the back yoke (Tokizawa figs 2-5).
3. Tokizawa teaches:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 2, wherein a concave surface portion on an opposite side of a convex surface portion of the convex portion is an inner convex portion, and a depth of the inner convex portion at a portion which is an outermost edge in the radial direction is equal to or larger than the plate thickness of the flat portion (since the convex portions and stator core of Tokizawa are practically identical, the limitations of claim 3 are being construed as being taught by Tokizawa, please see drawing objection above).
5. Tokizawa teaches:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein the core sheet includes a first sheet having the convex portions and being continuous in the circumferential direction (Tokizawa figs 2-5), and a second sheet having a portion of the first sheet excluding the convex portions (corresponding to the back band 5c, fig 5), the first sheet and the second sheet are overlapped with each other in the stacking direction (Tokizawa figs 2-5), and a plate thickness of the convex portion is smaller than a plate thickness of the flat portion (of Hirose fig 3).
6. Tokizawa teaches:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 5, wherein the plate thickness of the convex portion is equal to the plate thickness of a part of the first sheet other than the convex portions (Tokizawa figs 2-5), and the plate thickness of the convex portion is smaller than the plate thickness of the flat portion (of Hirose fig 3).
7. Tokizawa teaches:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 5, wherein the convex portions of the first sheet (figs 4 and 5) are provided in a range from an innermost edge (figs 4 and 5) in the radial direction to an intermediate position (figs 4 and 5) in the radial direction of the back yoke (figs 4 and 5), and portions which are both sides of the convex portions in the circumferential direction (figs 4 and 5) of the second sheet are continuous at the outermost edge (corresponding to the back band 5c, fig 5) in the radial direction (figs 4 and 5).
10. Tokizawa teaches:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein the core sheet has a yoke forming portion/rear band part 5 forming the back yoke and a teeth 4 forming portion forming the teeth, a rolled portion/back band inclined part 5c is provided at an edge of the yoke forming portion in the radial direction (figs 4 and 5) opposite to the teeth forming portion (figs 4 and 5), and a portion between the convex portions in the circumferential direction has a circular arc shape by the rolling portion in a plan view (figs 4 and 5).
11. Tokizawa teaches:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein the core sheet has a yoke forming portion/rear band part 5 forming the back yoke and a teeth forming portion forming the teeth, a rolled portion/back band inclined part 5c is provided at an edge of the yoke (figs 4 and 5) forming portion in the radial direction opposite to the teeth forming portion (figs 4 and 5), the rolled portion is provided at the edge excluding the convex portions (figs 4 and 5), and a portion between the convex portions in the circumferential direction (figs 4 and 5) has a circular arc shape by the rolling portion in a plan view (figs 4 and 5).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokizawa in view of Hirose and in further view of Hashimoto (JP 2010130824).
8. Tokizawa teaches:
The stator core for the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein the teeth of the stator core protrude inward from the back yoke in the radial direction of the stator core (figs 1-5); but does not teach that the convex portion has a flat shape at a top in a predetermined range in the radial direction including an innermost edge in the radial direction.
Hashimoto teaches that the convex portion/caulking part 10 has a flat shape 3A at a top (when flipped 180 degrees) in a predetermined range in the radial direction including an innermost edge/engaging hole 3o (the engaging hole is the innermost edge of the convex portion, fig 2b) in the radial direction (the Radial direction can be seen as the direction that the teeth 2T protrude, fig 1) to increase the strength of the coupling between laminations (abstract) which makes the motor more reliable.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Tokizawa being effectively filed to modify it such that the convex portion has a flat shape at a top in a predetermined range in the radial direction including an innermost edge in the radial direction, as taught by Hashimoto so as to improve the reliability of the electric machine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834