DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1, 10, 14 have been amended and claims 1-20 are pending as amended on 07/29/26.
4. The new ground of rejection set forth below for claims are necessitated by Applicant's amendment filed on 07/29/26. In particular, claim 1, 10, 14 have been amended to include features “viscosity control additive, wherein the viscosity control additive comprises.” Now, the scope of independent claims 1, 10, 14 and the claims depends from claims 1, 10, 14 are changed. For this reason, the present action is properly made final.
5. Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Priority
This application is a CON of 18/536,994 12/12/2023 PAT 12180414; 18/536,994 has PRO 63/517,513 08/03/2023; 18/536,994 has PRO 63/477,087 12/23/2022; 18/536,994 has PRO 63/387,046 12/12/2022.
Response to Amendment
8. Applicant's amendment filed on 07/29/26, has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments with respect to rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodhi (US 2013/0087330) in view of Hall (US 2020/0131421) filed on 07/29/26, have been fully considered but are moot in view of amendment. Applicants arguments about viscosity control additive, wherein the viscosity control additive comprises asphalt shingle waste have been respectfully considered but are not persuasive because regarding claim 1, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt%, fall into claimed range of no greater than 20% by weight based on the total weight of the drilling fluid, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises a waste asphalt (para [0013], [0017], [0035], [0037], [0041]); regarding claim 10, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises an asphalt, wherein the asphalt comprises 19 to 36% by weight, fall into instant claim range of 1% to 99% by weight of a waste asphalt based on a total weight of the asphalt (para [0013], [0017]-[0018], [0035], [0037], [0041]); and regarding claim 14, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt%, fall into claimed range of 1 to 20% by weight based on the total weight of the drilling fluid, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises a waste asphalt (para [0013], [0017], [0035], [0037], [0041]). Since Sodhi discloses the same asphalt shingle waste, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises the same waste asphalt; and in same amount as instantly claimed the viscosity control properties of the asphalt shingle waste would inherently be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934). In view of amendment to claims and response, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
10. In view of amendment to claims filed on 07/29/26 the statutory double patenting rejections have been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/531423 (amendment filed on 07/20/26). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant and copending claimed inventions are almost same with the only difference is the copending claims disclose the asphalt shingle waste is derived from a briquette.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodhi (US 2013/0087330) in view of Hall (US 2020/0131421).
Regarding claims 1-2, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt%, fall into claimed range of no greater than 20% by weight based on the total weight of the drilling fluid, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises a waste asphalt (para [0013], [0017], [0035], [0037], [0041]). Since Sodhi discloses the same asphalt shingle waste, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises the same waste asphalt; and in same amount as instantly claimed the viscosity control properties of the asphalt shingle waste would inherently be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Sodhi does not disclose 0.1% to 10% by weight regarding instant claim 1 or 0.1% to 5% by weight regarding instant claim 2 of at least one rheological modifier based on a total weight of the drilling fluid.
However, Hall discloses a drilling fluid comprising rheology agent such as gum hydrocolloid in an amount of from about 0.5 to about 1 wt% to monitor the viscosity of the drilling fluid (para [0001]-[0002], [0016]-[0017], [0026]), fall into instant claim 1 range of 0.1% to 10% by weight or instant claim 2 range of 0.1% to 5% by weight.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify Sodhi with rheology agent such as gum hydrocolloid in an amount of from about 0.5 to about 1 wt%, as taught by Hall. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Hall that to do so would help to monitor the viscosity of the drilling fluid.
Regarding claims 3-6, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt% (para [0017], [0035], [0037]), overlapping instant claim 3 range of no greater than 10 wt%, instant claim 4 range of no greater than 5 wt%, instant claim 5 range of 1 to 10 wt%, or instant claim 6 range of 1 to 5 wt%, based on the total weight of the drilling fluid.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the drilling fluid, wherein Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt%, overlapping the requirement of claims 3-6. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, Sodhi discloses the asphalt shingle waste comprises an
asphalt, limestone, granules, and impurities (para [0018]).
Regarding claims 8-9, Sodhi discloses fluid loss reducer such as gilsonite or HALAD-23 in an amount of 0.05 to 10 wt% (para [0048], [0056]), encompassing instant claim 8 range of 0.1 to 5 wt%, wherein the at least one fluid loss reducer is different from the asphalt shingle waste.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the drilling fluid, wherein Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising fluid loss reducer such as gilsonite or HALAD-23 in an amount of 0.05 to 10 wt%, encompassing the requirement of claim 8. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claims 10-11, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises an asphalt, wherein the asphalt comprises 19 to 36% by weight, fall into instant claim range of 1% to 99% by weight of a waste asphalt based on a total weight of the asphalt (para [0013], [0017]-[0018], [0035], [0037], [0041]). Since Sodhi discloses the same asphalt shingle waste, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises the same waste asphalt; and in same amount as instantly claimed the viscosity control properties of the asphalt shingle waste would inherently be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Sodhi further discloses fluid loss reducer such as gilsonite or HALAD-23 in an amount of 0.05 to 10 wt% (para [0048], [0056]), encompassing instant claim range of 0.1 to 5 wt%, wherein the at least one fluid loss reducer is different from the asphalt shingle waste. Sodhi does not disclose 0.1% to 5% by weight of at least one rheological modifier based on a total weight of the drilling fluid.
However, Hall discloses a drilling fluid comprising rheology agent such as gum hydrocolloid in an amount of from about 0.5 to about 1 wt% to monitor the viscosity of the drilling fluid (para [0001]-[0002], [0016]-[0017], [0026]), fall into instant claim range of 0.1% to 5% by weight.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify Sodhi with rheology agent such as gum hydrocolloid in an amount of from about 0.5 to about 1 wt%, as taught by Hall. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Hall that to do so would help to monitor the viscosity of the drilling fluid.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the drilling fluid, wherein Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising fluid loss reducer such as gilsonite or HALAD-23 in an amount of 0.05 to 10 wt%, encompassing the requirement of claim 10. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 12, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt% (para [0017], [0035], [0037]), fall into claimed range of no greater than 20% by weight based on the total weight of the drilling fluid.
Regarding claim 13, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt% (para [0017], [0035], [0037]), overlapping instant claim range of 1 to 10 wt%, based on the total weight of the drilling fluid.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the drilling fluid, wherein Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt%, overlapping the requirement of claim 13. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claims 14-16, 18-20, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt%, fall into claimed range of 1 to 20% by weight based on the total weight of the drilling fluid, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises a waste asphalt (para [0013], [0017], [0035], [0037], [0041]). Since Sodhi discloses the same asphalt shingle waste, wherein the asphalt shingle waste comprises the same waste asphalt; and in same amount as instantly claimed the viscosity control properties of the asphalt shingle waste would inherently be the same as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Sodhi further discloses fluid loss reducer such as gilsonite or HALAD-23 in an amount of 0.05 to 10 wt% (para [0048], [0056]), encompassing instant claim 14 range of 1 to 10 wt%, or instant claim 16 range of 1 to 5 wt% wherein the at least one fluid loss reducer is different from the asphalt shingle waste.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the drilling fluid, wherein Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising fluid loss reducer such as gilsonite or HALAD-23 in an amount of 0.05 to 10 wt%, encompassing the requirement of claims 14, 16. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Sodhi does not disclose 1% to 10% by weight of at least one rheological modifier based on a total weight of the drilling fluid.
However, Hall discloses a drilling fluid comprising rheology agent such as gum hydrocolloid in an amount of from about 0.5 to about 1 wt% to monitor the viscosity of the drilling fluid (para [0001]-[0002], [0016]-[0017], [0026]), overlap an end point the instant claim 14 range of 1% to 10% by weight or instant claim 15 range of 1% to 5% by weight.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of
invention, to modify Sodhi with rheology agent such as gum hydrocolloid in an amount of from about 0.5 to about 1 wt%, as taught by Hall. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Hall that to do so would help to monitor the viscosity of the drilling fluid.
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of about 0.5 to about 1 wt%, overlaps the claim 14 range of 1% to 10% wt% or the claim 15 range of 1% to 5% wt% at an end point. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05. The combination of Sodhi and Hall teach the asphalt shingle waste is different from the at least one rheology modifier, wherein the asphalt shingle waste is different from the at least one fluid loss reducer.
Regarding claim 17, Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt% (para [0017], [0035], [0037]), overlapping instant claim range of 1 to 10 wt%, based on the total weight of the drilling fluid.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the drilling fluid, wherein Sodhi discloses a drilling fluid comprising an asphalt shingle waste in an amount of 3.5 to 19 wt%, overlapping the requirement of claim 17. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766