DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025 and 01/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 5 Para [00017]: “avoid collisions this the patient anatomy,” should read “avoid collisions with the patient anatomy,”
Page 5 Para [00018]: “observe a one or more anatomical markers” should read “observe one or more anatomical markers”
Page 9 Para [00046]: “robotic arms 201, 202” should read “robotic arms 101, 102” as shown in Fig. 2
Page 9 Para [00048]: “the camera/sensor 104 need see” should read “the camera/sensor 104 need to see”
Page 9 Para [00048]: “the view of the surgeon's hand h” should read “the view of the surgeon's hand H” as shown in Fig. 3
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The method of claim 12, wherein kinematically controlling the movements of the first and/or robotic surgical arms in the surgical space”, the word first is not associated with anything. The word first should be omitted along with and/or. It should instead read “The method of claim 12, wherein kinematically controlling the movements of the robotic surgical arms in the surgical space”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meglan et al. (US 20220160445 A1) (Hereinafter Meglan) in view of Daon et al. (WO2016139149A1) (Hereinafter Daon), and further in view of Polchin et al. (US 20190327394 A1) (Hereinafter Polchin).
Regarding Claim 1, Meglan discloses a surgical robotic collision avoidance system comprising:
a surgical robot comprising at least one surveillance arm and at least two surgical arms (See at least Fig 1 item 102, 114), wherein the at least one surveillance arm and the at least two surgical arms are mounted on a chassis that defines a surgical work space (See at least Fig 1 item 102, 114, Para [0056] “With continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the linkages 112 further include imaging devices 106, 114, 414 supported or disposed thereon and that are configured to capture images of the surgical environment. Specifically, the imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 may be disposed in spaced relation to, positioned in, or along the various components of the surgical robot 100. The imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 are configured to capture image data of the surgical environment or the surgical space “S” (e.g., linkages 112, surgical tables, individuals, other objects, organs, etc.) and the surgical robot 100. Once captured, the imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 transmit the image data to the controller 200 for analysis…”, Para [0050] “The tower 116 may be fixed within the surgical environment as shown in FIG. 1, or may be a movable cart repositionable within the surgical environment as shown in FIG. 2. The links 112a, 112b include motors 122 associated with respective joints “J” connecting the links 112a, 112b of the linkages 112. The motors 122 are configured to receive electrical power and/or control signals from the controller 200 and, in response, manipulate the position of the linkage 112 and/or the tool 108 within the surgical environment and/or the surgical space “S”…”);
a camera or other sensor mounted on the at least one surveillance arm (See at least Fig 1 item 102, 114, Para [0056] “With continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the linkages 112 further include imaging devices 106, 114, 414 supported or disposed thereon and that are configured to capture images of the surgical environment. Specifically, the imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 may be disposed in spaced relation to, positioned in, or along the various components of the surgical robot 100. The imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 are configured to capture image data of the surgical environment or the surgical space “S” (e.g., linkages 112, surgical tables, individuals, other objects, organs, etc.) and the surgical robot 100. Once captured, the imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 transmit the image data to the controller 200 for analysis…”); and
a controller (See at least Para [0048] “Referring now to FIGS. 1-3, a robotic surgical system provided in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure is illustrated and designated generally 10. The robotic surgical system 10 includes a surgical robot 100, a controller 200…”);
wherein the controller is configured to (a) kinematically position the at least two surgical arms within the surgical workspace to perform a procedure on a patient (See at least Para [0050] “… The links 112a, 112b include motors 122 associated with respective joints “J” connecting the links 112a, 112b of the linkages 112. The motors 122 are configured to receive electrical power and/or control signals from the controller 200 and, in response, manipulate the position of the linkage 112 and/or the tool 108 within the surgical environment and/or the surgical space “S”…”, Para [0088] “In one method, the objects (e.g., robotic arms 102, clinician “C” and/or “patient “P”) represented by one or more spatial point subsets are extracted from the three-dimensional point cloud such to generate a three-dimensional model (block 518). The three-dimensional model represents the objects in a fixed location within the surgical environment captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 (FIG. 1) at the varying time point. The three-dimensional model may include the geometrical shape, pose and location at a fixed location (hereinafter “geometric orientation”) of the objects (e.g., the robotic arms 102, clinician, patient, and other physical devices) representing the images captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 at the varying time point. For instance, in various embodiments, the first three-dimensional model is a representation of the geometric orientation of the objects extracted from the first three-dimensional point cloud at the first time point.”, discloses geometric orientation of the robotic arms which is construed as kinematically moving surgical arm), … and (c) … reposition one or both of the at least two surgical arms as necessary to avoid collisions with the patient and/or the surgical personnel based on optically observed position(s) of the patient anatomy and/or the surgical personnel (See at least Para [0019] “In a further aspect of the present disclosure, the memory further includes instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the processor, causes the controller to: transmit a control signal to the robotic cart or the robotic arm to cause the robotic arm to reposition to avoid the possible collision.”, Para [0044] “…These collisions may be detected based on sensor data received by one or more imaging devices positioned about the surgical environment…”, Para [0047] “…The controller may also transmit modified control signals to adjust movement or positioning of the objected identified as potentially subject to a collision.”, Para [0093] “Corrective action may be taken to avoid the indicated potential collision (block 610). Specifically, the clinician may take corrective action to avoid the potential collision displayed on the display 308. By way of example, the clinician may manipulate the robotic arms 102 of the surgical robot 100 by providing input from the input handle 302, to which in turn causes the controller 200 to transmit signals to the tower 116, and in turn effect the motion of the robotic arms 102 such to reposition the robotic arms 102 to avoid the potential collision (e.g. corrective action)…”).
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out … (b) position the at least one surveillance arm to orient the camera to optically observe a position of the patient and/or surgical personnel during the procedure, …
Daon teaches … (b) position the at least one surveillance arm to orient the camera to optically observe a position of the patient and/or surgical personnel during the procedure (See at least Para [0004] “The system uses a particularly configured fiducial reference, to orient the monitoring system with regard to the critical area. The fiducial reference is attached to a location near the intended surgical area. For example, in the example of a dental surgery, a splint may be used to securely locate the fiducial reference near the surgical area. The fiducial reference may then be used as a point of reference, or a fiducial, for the further image processing of the surgical site. The fiducial reference may be identified relative to other portions of the surgical area by having a recognizable fiducial marker apparent in the scan.”), …
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Daon with Meglan and include the feature of orienting the camera to optically observe a position of the patient and/or surgical personnel during the procedure, thereby prevent possible boundary violation and improve surgical precision (See at least Para [0003] “The present invention is a surgical hardware and software monitoring system and method which allows for surgical planning while the patient is available for surgery, for example while the patient is being prepared for surgery so that the system may model the surgical site. In one embodiment, the model may be used to track contemplated surgical procedures and warn the physician regarding possible boundary violations that would indicate an inappropriate location in a surgical procedure. In another embodiment, the hardware may track the movement of instruments during the procedure and in reference to the model to enhance observation of the procedure. In this way, physicians are provided an additional tool to improve surgical planning and performance.”).
Meglan in view of Doan does not teach kinematically positioning surgical arms within the surgical workspace.
Polchin teaches kinematically positioning surgical arms within the surgical workspace (See at least Para [0449] “The robotic arm controller 4106 receives movement instructions from the processor 4102 and determines, through Jacobian, forward, and/or inverse kinematics, which motors and joints should be activated, how fast and how far, and in what direction…”, Para [0013] “…the stereoscopic robotic system is configured with one or more boundaries that prevent the stereoscopic visualization camera and/or the robotic arm from contacting a patient, surgical staff, and/or surgical instruments. Altogether, the stereoscopic robotic system operates as an extension of a surgeon's eyes while giving the surgeon the freedom to conduct a microsurgery procedure generally without restrictions or impediments.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan in view of Daon and include the feature of kinematically positioning the surgical arms within the surgical workspace, thereby ensure precise movement by the robotic arm to perform improving surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “… The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics.”).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Meglan teaches elements of claim 1.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the system of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to orient the camera to optically observe one or more anatomical markers on the patient anatomy, whereby the controller can calculate changes in patient position in real time.
Daon teaches , wherein the controller is further configured to orient the camera to optically observe one or more anatomical markers on the patient anatomy, whereby the controller can calculate changes in patient position in real time (See at least Para [0004] “The system uses a particularly configured fiducial reference, to orient the monitoring system with regard to the critical area. The fiducial reference is attached to a location near the intended surgical area. For example, in the example of a dental surgery, a splint may be used to securely locate the fiducial reference near the surgical area. The fiducial reference may then be used as a point of reference, or a fiducial, for the further image processing of the surgical site. The fiducial reference may be identified relative to other portions of the surgical area by having a recognizable fiducial marker apparent in the scan.”, Para [00011] “In another aspect of the invention there is provided a method for relating in real time the three-dimensional location and orientation of a surgical site on a patient to the location and orientation of the surgical site in a scan of the surgical site, the method comprising removably attaching a fiducial reference to a fiducial location on the patient proximate the surgical site; performing the scan with the fiducial reference attached to the fiducial location to obtain scan data; determining the three-dimensional location and orientation of the fiducial reference from the scan data; obtaining real time image information of the surgical site;…”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Daon with Meglan and include the controller being configured to orient the camera to optically observe one or more anatomical markers on the patient anatomy, whereby the controller can calculate changes in patient position in real time, thereby prevent possible boundary violation and improve surgical precision (See at least Para [0003] “The present invention is a surgical hardware and software monitoring system and method which allows for surgical planning while the patient is available for surgery, for example while the patient is being prepared for surgery so that the system may model the surgical site. In one embodiment, the model may be used to track contemplated surgical procedures and warn the physician regarding possible boundary violations that would indicate an inappropriate location in a surgical procedure. In another embodiment, the hardware may track the movement of instruments during the procedure and in reference to the model to enhance observation of the procedure. In this way, physicians are provided an additional tool to improve surgical planning and performance.”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 2.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the system of claim 2, wherein the anatomical markers are fiducials affixed to the patient, preferably affixed to a bone of the patient.
Doan teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the anatomical markers are fiducials affixed to the patient, preferably affixed to a bone of the patient (See at least Para [0004] “The system uses a particularly configured fiducial reference, to orient the monitoring system with regard to the critical area. The fiducial reference is attached to a location near the intended surgical area. For example, in the example of a dental surgery, a splint may be used to securely locate the fiducial reference near the surgical area. The fiducial reference may then be used as a point of reference, or a fiducial, for the further image processing of the surgical site. The fiducial reference may be identified relative to other portions of the surgical area by having a recognizable fiducial marker apparent in the scan.”, Para [00060] “In addition, the computer software may create a coordinate system for organizing objects in the scan, such as teeth, jaw bone, skin and gum tissue, other surgical instruments, etc.…”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Daon with Meglan and include the feature of using fiducials as anatomical markers which are affixed to the patient and preferably affixed to a bone of the patient, thereby prevent possible boundary violation and improve surgical precision (See at least Para [0003] “The present invention is a surgical hardware and software monitoring system and method which allows for surgical planning while the patient is available for surgery, for example while the patient is being prepared for surgery so that the system may model the surgical site. In one embodiment, the model may be used to track contemplated surgical procedures and warn the physician regarding possible boundary violations that would indicate an inappropriate location in a surgical procedure. In another embodiment, the hardware may track the movement of instruments during the procedure and in reference to the model to enhance observation of the procedure. In this way, physicians are provided an additional tool to improve surgical planning and performance.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 1. Meglan further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to scan the patient with the camera prior to the surgical procedure to provide an anatomical model of the patient (See at least Para [0088] “In one method, the objects (e.g., robotic arms 102, clinician “C” and/or “patient “P”) represented by one or more spatial point subsets are extracted from the three-dimensional point cloud such to generate a three-dimensional model (block 518). The three-dimensional model represents the objects in a fixed location within the surgical environment captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 (FIG. 1) at the varying time point. The three-dimensional model may include the geometrical shape, pose and location at a fixed location (hereinafter “geometric orientation”) of the objects (e.g., the robotic arms 102, clinician, patient, and other physical devices) representing the images captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 at the varying time point…”).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 1. Meglan further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to kinematically reposition either or both of the at least two surgical arms within the surgical workspace to avoid collisions with each other based on kinematically tracked positions of the at least two surgical arms within the surgical workspace (See at least Para [0090] “… Additionally, the controller 200 may use the positional direction of the linkages 112 in connection with the geometric orientation of each of the objects contained within the generated three-dimensional model to determine the spatial trajectory of the linkages 112 within the surgical environment. “, Para [0091] “The controller 200 detects any potential collisions between objects represented within the three-dimensional model (block 604). The controller 200 may utilize the three-dimensional model to analyze the spatial trajectory (e.g., space covered) of the objects based on the objects geometric orientation within the three-dimensional model to determine any potential collisions between objects. In various embodiments, the processor 206 may utilize swept volume assessments to analyze the spatial trajectory of each of the objects contained within the three-dimensional model. Any potential collisions between the objects may be detected by assessing whether an object's swept volume overlaps with another object's swept volume.”, Para [0088] “In one method, the objects (e.g., robotic arms 102, clinician “C” and/or “patient “P”) represented by one or more spatial point subsets are extracted from the three-dimensional point cloud such to generate a three-dimensional model (block 518). The three-dimensional model represents the objects in a fixed location within the surgical environment captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 (FIG. 1) at the varying time point. The three-dimensional model may include the geometrical shape, pose and location at a fixed location (hereinafter “geometric orientation”) of the objects (e.g., the robotic arms 102, clinician, patient, and other physical devices) representing the images captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 at the varying time point. For instance, in various embodiments, the first three-dimensional model is a representation of the geometric orientation of the objects extracted from the first three-dimensional point cloud at the first time point.”).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 1. Meglan further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the chassis comprises a mobile chassis configured to be deployed adjacent a patient during surgery (See at least Para [0050] “The tower 116 may be fixed within the surgical environment as shown in FIG. 1, or may be a movable cart repositionable within the surgical environment as shown in FIG. 2…”, Fig. 1 shows the chassis is deployed adjacent a patient during surgery).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 7. Meglan further teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the chassis consists essentially of a single structure (See at least Fig. 2 shows the chassis consists of a single structure).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 7. Meglan further teaches the system of claim 7 wherein the chassis comprises two or more component structures that may be fixedly joined (See at least Fig. 1 shows the chassis comprises two or more component structures that is fixedly joined).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is
further configured to position and reposition a third surgical robotic arm automatically to orient and reorient the camera.
Polchin teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to position
and reposition a third surgical robotic arm automatically to orient and reorient the camera (See at least Para [0249] “…The information processor module 1408 may also provide an interface for manual calibration and/or manage automatic calibration of the optical elements 1402 .”, Para [0528] “It should be appreciated that the extension of focus causes an automated movement of the robotic arm 506 . In other words, the robotic arm 506 can continue motion of the camera 300 through the point of best focus. In addition, the movement of the robotic arm 506 occurs without inputs from an operator to move the robotic arm, but rather, operator images regarding the changing of a focus. In some instances, the processor 4102 and/or the robotic arm controller 4106 may adjust the focus automatically to maintain a clear image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan and include the feature of controller being configured to position and reposition a third surgical robotic arm automatically to orient and reorient the camera, thereby enhance visualization and improve surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “The example stereoscopic robotic platform 516 is configured to provide the following benefits. 1. Enhanced visualization. Communication between the robotic arm 506 and the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 enables the platform 516 to point and steer the camera 300 to quickly and more accurately visualize surgical sites. For example, the robotic arm 506 can move the camera 300 along its optical axis to extend the range of focusing and zooming beyond that contained in just the camera. The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics. 2. Enhanced dimensional performance. The example stereoscopic visualization camera 300 , with its accurate measurement capability of all points within the stereoscopic image, is configured to communicate the measurement information to the robotic arm 506 . The robotic arm 506 , in turn, comprises accurate position, direction, and/or orientation determination capability and is registered to the camera 300 such that the dimensions within and between images can be accurately transformed respective to a coordinate system common to the stereoscopic robotic platform 516 and an anatomy of a patient…”).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 10.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the system of claim 10 wherein the controller is
further configured to allow a user to manually position and reposition the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera.
Polchin teaches the system of claim 10 wherein the controller is further configured to allow a
user to manually position and reposition the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera (See at least Para [0020] “In accordance with a seventh aspect of the present disclosure, which may be used in combination with any other aspect listed herein unless stated otherwise, the coupling plate includes a second joint that enables the stereoscopic camera to be manually rotated by an operator between a horizontal orientation and a vertical orientation…”, Para [0249] “…The information processor module 1408 may also provide an interface for manual calibration and/or manage automatic calibration of the optical elements 1402 .”, Para [0388] “… In some embodiments, the coupling plate 3304 has to be manually moved or rotated by an operator. For example, the coupling plate 3304 may have a joint that enables the camera 300 to be positioned quickly between having an optical axis along a z-axis (i.e., pointing downward toward a patient) and an optical axis along an x-axis or y-axis (i.e., pointing sideward toward a patient)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan and include
the feature of controller being configured to allow a user to manually position and reposition the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera, thereby enhance visualization and improve surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “The example stereoscopic robotic platform 516 is configured to provide the following benefits. 1. Enhanced visualization. Communication between the robotic arm 506 and the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 enables the platform 516 to point and steer the camera 300 to quickly and more accurately visualize surgical sites. For example, the robotic arm 506 can move the camera 300 along its optical axis to extend the range of focusing and zooming beyond that contained in just the camera. The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics. 2. Enhanced dimensional performance. The example stereoscopic visualization camera 300 , with its accurate measurement capability of all points within the stereoscopic image, is configured to communicate the measurement information to the robotic arm 506 . The robotic arm 506 , in turn, comprises accurate position, direction, and/or orientation determination capability and is registered to the camera 300 such that the dimensions within and between images can be accurately transformed respective to a coordinate system common to the stereoscopic robotic platform 516 and an anatomy of a patient…”).
Regarding Claim 12, Meglan teaches a method of collision avoidance during a robotic surgical procedure, said method comprising:
… controlling the movement of a first robotic surgical arm in a surgical space (See at
least Para [0090] “ FIG. 6 is a flowchart showing an illustrative method for detecting potential collisions between objects in a surgical environment based upon generated three-dimensional models (see FIG. 5, process 500), the method referred to generally as process 600 with reference to the robotic surgical system 10 of FIGS. 1 and 2. As described in connection with FIG. 5, the depth maps or point clouds captured and generated based on the image data from the one or more imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 include spatial points which may be segmented into subsets of spatial points corresponding to the position of an object within a surgical environment. Initially, the controller 200 calculates movement trajectories of each of the objects identified during segmentation (see FIG. 5, block 510) based on each of the position and orientation of the objects across multiple depth maps or point clouds. For example, the controller 200 may a first and second robotic arms 102 may have a first and second potential trajectory which, if each of the first and second robotic arms 102 continued to move along, would lead to a collision between various components of the first and second robotic arms 102. Additionally, the controller 200 may use the positional direction of the linkages 112 in connection with the geometric orientation of each of the objects contained within the generated three-dimensional model to determine the spatial trajectory of the linkages 112 within the surgical environment. “, Para [0091] “The controller 200 detects any potential collisions between objects represented within the three-dimensional model (block 604). The controller 200 may utilize the three-dimensional model to analyze the spatial trajectory (e.g., space covered) of the objects based on the objects geometric orientation within the three-dimensional model to determine any potential collisions between objects. In various embodiments, the processor 206 may utilize swept volume assessments to analyze the spatial trajectory of each of the objects contained within the three-dimensional model. Any potential collisions between the objects may be detected by assessing whether an object's swept volume overlaps with another object's swept volume.”, Para [0088] “In one method, the objects (e.g., robotic arms 102, clinician “C” and/or “patient “P”) represented by one or more spatial point subsets are extracted from the three-dimensional point cloud such to generate a three-dimensional model (block 518). The three-dimensional model represents the objects in a fixed location within the surgical environment captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 (FIG. 1) at the varying time point. The three-dimensional model may include the geometrical shape, pose and location at a fixed location (hereinafter “geometric orientation”) of the objects (e.g., the robotic arms 102, clinician, patient, and other physical devices) representing the images captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 at the varying time point. For instance, in various embodiments, the first three-dimensional model is a representation of the geometric orientation of the objects extracted from the first three-dimensional point cloud at the first time point.”);
… controlling the movement of a second robotic surgical arm in the surgical space (See at least Para [0090] “ FIG. 6 is a flowchart showing an illustrative method for detecting potential collisions between objects in a surgical environment based upon generated three-dimensional models (see FIG. 5, process 500), the method referred to generally as process 600 with reference to the robotic surgical system 10 of FIGS. 1 and 2. As described in connection with FIG. 5, the depth maps or point clouds captured and generated based on the image data from the one or more imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 include spatial points which may be segmented into subsets of spatial points corresponding to the position of an object within a surgical environment. Initially, the controller 200 calculates movement trajectories of each of the objects identified during segmentation (see FIG. 5, block 510) based on each of the position and orientation of the objects across multiple depth maps or point clouds. For example, the controller 200 may a first and second robotic arms 102 may have a first and second potential trajectory which, if each of the first and second robotic arms 102 continued to move along, would lead to a collision between various components of the first and second robotic arms 102. Additionally, the controller 200 may use the positional direction of the linkages 112 in connection with the geometric orientation of each of the objects contained within the generated three-dimensional model to determine the spatial trajectory of the linkages 112 within the surgical environment. “, Para [0091] “The controller 200 detects any potential collisions between objects represented within the three-dimensional model (block 604). The controller 200 may utilize the three-dimensional model to analyze the spatial trajectory (e.g., space covered) of the objects based on the objects geometric orientation within the three-dimensional model to determine any potential collisions between objects. In various embodiments, the processor 206 may utilize swept volume assessments to analyze the spatial trajectory of each of the objects contained within the three-dimensional model. Any potential collisions between the objects may be detected by assessing whether an object's swept volume overlaps with another object's swept volume.”, Para [0088] “In one method, the objects (e.g., robotic arms 102, clinician “C” and/or “patient “P”) represented by one or more spatial point subsets are extracted from the three-dimensional point cloud such to generate a three-dimensional model (block 518). The three-dimensional model represents the objects in a fixed location within the surgical environment captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 (FIG. 1) at the varying time point. The three-dimensional model may include the geometrical shape, pose and location at a fixed location (hereinafter “geometric orientation”) of the objects (e.g., the robotic arms 102, clinician, patient, and other physical devices) representing the images captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 at the varying time point. For instance, in various embodiments, the first three-dimensional model is a representation of the geometric orientation of the objects extracted from the first three-dimensional point cloud at the first time point.”, discloses geometric orientation of the robotic arms which is construed as kinematically moving surgical arm);
optically tracking the position(s) of a patient anatomy and/or surgical personnel in the surgical space with a camera held by a third robotic surgical arm (See at least Fig 1 item 102, 114, Para [0056] “With continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the linkages 112 further include imaging devices 106, 114, 414 supported or disposed thereon and that are configured to capture images of the surgical environment. Specifically, the imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 may be disposed in spaced relation to, positioned in, or along the various components of the surgical robot 100. The imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 are configured to capture image data of the surgical environment or the surgical space “S” (e.g., linkages 112, surgical tables, individuals, other objects, organs, etc.) and the surgical robot 100. Once captured, the imaging devices 106, 114, 414, 416 transmit the image data to the controller 200 for analysis…”);
…
wherein … controlling the movements of the robotic surgical arms in the surgical space comprises adjusting said movements to avoid collisions between said arms and the patient and/or the surgical personnel based on (a) the optically observed position(s) of the patient anatomy and/or the surgical personnel (See at least Para [0019] “In a further aspect of the present disclosure, the memory further includes instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the processor, causes the controller to: transmit a control signal to the robotic cart or the robotic arm to cause the robotic arm to reposition to avoid the possible collision.”, Para [0044] “…These collisions may be detected based on sensor data received by one or more imaging devices positioned about the surgical environment…”, Para [0047] “…The controller may also transmit modified control signals to adjust movement or positioning of the objected identified as potentially subject to a collision.”, Para [0093] “Corrective action may be taken to avoid the indicated potential collision (block 610). Specifically, the clinician may take corrective action to avoid the potential collision displayed on the display 308. By way of example, the clinician may manipulate the robotic arms 102 of the surgical robot 100 by providing input from the input handle 302, to which in turn causes the controller 200 to transmit signals to the tower 116, and in turn effect the motion of the robotic arms 102 such to reposition the robotic arms 102 to avoid the potential collision (e.g. corrective action)…”)and (b) the kinematically tracked positions of the robotic surgical arms (See at least Para [0050] “… The links 112a, 112b include motors 122 associated with respective joints “J” connecting the links 112a, 112b of the linkages 112. The motors 122 are configured to receive electrical power and/or control signals from the controller 200 and, in response, manipulate the position of the linkage 112 and/or the tool 108 within the surgical environment and/or the surgical space “S”…”, Para [0088] “In one method, the objects (e.g., robotic arms 102, clinician “C” and/or “patient “P”) represented by one or more spatial point subsets are extracted from the three-dimensional point cloud such to generate a three-dimensional model (block 518). The three-dimensional model represents the objects in a fixed location within the surgical environment captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 (FIG. 1) at the varying time point. The three-dimensional model may include the geometrical shape, pose and location at a fixed location (hereinafter “geometric orientation”) of the objects (e.g., the robotic arms 102, clinician, patient, and other physical devices) representing the images captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 at the varying time point. For instance, in various embodiments, the first three-dimensional model is a representation of the geometric orientation of the objects extracted from the first three-dimensional point cloud at the first time point.”).
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out …
positioning and repositioning the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera to observe the position(s) of the patient anatomy and/or the surgical personnel as said positions may change in the surgical space over time; …
Daon teaches …
positioning and repositioning the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera to observe the position(s) of the patient anatomy and/or the surgical personnel as said positions may change in the surgical space over time (See at least Para [0004] “The system uses a particularly configured fiducial reference, to orient the monitoring system with regard to the critical area. The fiducial reference is attached to a location near the intended surgical area. For example, in the example of a dental surgery, a splint may be used to securely locate the fiducial reference near the surgical area. The fiducial reference may then be used as a point of reference, or a fiducial, for the further image processing of the surgical site. The fiducial reference may be identified relative to other portions of the surgical area by having a recognizable fiducial marker apparent in the scan.”); …
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Daon with Meglan and include the feature of orienting the camera to optically observe a position of the patient and/or surgical personnel during the procedure as said positions may change in the surgical space over time, thereby prevent possible boundary violation and improve surgical precision (See at least Para [0003] “The present invention is a surgical hardware and software monitoring system and method which allows for surgical planning while the patient is available for surgery, for example while the patient is being prepared for surgery so that the system may model the surgical site. In one embodiment, the model may be used to track contemplated surgical procedures and warn the physician regarding possible boundary violations that would indicate an inappropriate location in a surgical procedure. In another embodiment, the hardware may track the movement of instruments during the procedure and in reference to the model to enhance observation of the procedure. In this way, physicians are provided an additional tool to improve surgical planning and performance.”).
Meglan in view of Doan does not teach kinematically positioning surgical arms within the surgical workspace.
Polchin teaches kinematically positioning surgical arms within the surgical workspace (See at least Para [0449] “The robotic arm controller 4106 receives movement instructions from the processor 4102 and determines, through Jacobian, forward, and/or inverse kinematics, which motors and joints should be activated, how fast and how far, and in what direction…”, Para [0013] “…the stereoscopic robotic system is configured with one or more boundaries that prevent the stereoscopic visualization camera and/or the robotic arm from contacting a patient, surgical staff, and/or surgical instruments. Altogether, the stereoscopic robotic system operates as an extension of a surgeon's eyes while giving the surgeon the freedom to conduct a microsurgery procedure generally without restrictions or impediments.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan and include the feature of kinematically positioning the surgical arms within the surgical workspace, thereby ensure precise movement by the robotic arm to perform improving surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “… The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics.”).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 13, wherein kinematically
controlling the movements of the first and/or robotic surgical arms in the surgical space further comprises adjusting said movements to avoid collisions among said arms based solely on the kinematically tracked positions of said arms.
Polchin teaches the method of claim 13, wherein kinematically controlling the movements of
the first and/or robotic surgical arms in the surgical space further comprises adjusting said movements to avoid collisions among said arms based solely on the kinematically tracked positions of said arms (See at least Para [0448] “In some embodiments, the robotic arm controller 4106 in combination with the motor controller 4124 is configured to receive or read joint sensor position information and determine, through kinematics, the location and orientation of the robotic joints and camera 300.”, Para [0449] “The robotic arm controller 4106 receives movement instructions from the processor 4102 and determines, through Jacobian, forward, and/or inverse kinematics, which motors and joints should be activated, how fast and how far, and in what direction.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan and include
the feature of kinematically controlling the movements of the first and/or robotic surgical arms in the surgical space further comprising adjusting said movements to avoid collisions among said arms based solely on the kinematically tracked positions of said arms, thereby enhance visualization and improve surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “The example stereoscopic robotic platform 516 is configured to provide the following benefits. 1. Enhanced visualization. Communication between the robotic arm 506 and the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 enables the platform 516 to point and steer the camera 300 to quickly and more accurately visualize surgical sites. For example, the robotic arm 506 can move the camera 300 along its optical axis to extend the range of focusing and zooming beyond that contained in just the camera. The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics. 2. Enhanced dimensional performance. The example stereoscopic visualization camera 300 , with its accurate measurement capability of all points within the stereoscopic image, is configured to communicate the measurement information to the robotic arm 506 . The robotic arm 506 , in turn, comprises accurate position, direction, and/or orientation determination capability and is registered to the camera 300 such that the dimensions within and between images can be accurately transformed respective to a coordinate system common to the stereoscopic robotic platform 516 and an anatomy of a patient…”).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 14, wherein optically tracking the position(s) of a patient anatomy and/or surgical personnel in the surgical space with a camera held by a third robotic surgical arm comprises observing a marker affixed to the patient anatomy.
Daon teaches the method of claim 12, wherein optically tracking the position(s) of a patient anatomy and/or surgical personnel in the surgical space with a camera held by a third robotic surgical arm comprises observing a marker affixed to the patient anatomy. (See at least Para [0004] “The system uses a particularly configured fiducial reference, to orient the monitoring system with regard to the critical area. The fiducial reference is attached to a location near the intended surgical area. For example, in the example of a dental surgery, a splint may be used to securely locate the fiducial reference near the surgical area. The fiducial reference may then be used as a point of reference, or a fiducial, for the further image processing of the surgical site. The fiducial reference may be identified relative to other portions of the surgical area by having a recognizable fiducial marker apparent in the scan.”, Para [00011] “In another aspect of the invention there is provided a method for relating in real time the three-dimensional location and orientation of a surgical site on a patient to the location and orientation of the surgical site in a scan of the surgical site, the method comprising removably attaching a fiducial reference to a fiducial location on the patient proximate the surgical site; performing the scan with the fiducial reference attached to the fiducial location to obtain scan data; determining the three-dimensional location and orientation of the fiducial reference from the scan data; obtaining real time image information of the surgical site;…”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Daon with Meglan and include the controller being configured to orient the camera to optically observe one or more anatomical markers on the patient anatomy, whereby the controller can calculate changes in patient position in real time, thereby prevent possible boundary violation and improve surgical precision (See at least Para [0003] “The present invention is a surgical hardware and software monitoring system and method which allows for surgical planning while the patient is available for surgery, for example while the patient is being prepared for surgery so that the system may model the surgical site. In one embodiment, the model may be used to track contemplated surgical procedures and warn the physician regarding possible boundary violations that would indicate an inappropriate location in a surgical procedure. In another embodiment, the hardware may track the movement of instruments during the procedure and in reference to the model to enhance observation of the procedure. In this way, physicians are provided an additional tool to improve surgical planning and performance.”).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 12. Meglan further teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising using the third surgical robot arm to scan the patient anatomy with the camera to generate a model of the patient anatomy prior to the surgical procedure, wherein the optically observed positions of the patient anatomy are based upon the model of the patient anatomy. (See at least Para [0088] “In one method, the objects (e.g., robotic arms 102, clinician “C” and/or “patient “P”) represented by one or more spatial point subsets are extracted from the three-dimensional point cloud such to generate a three-dimensional model (block 518). The three-dimensional model represents the objects in a fixed location within the surgical environment captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 (FIG. 1) at the varying time point. The three-dimensional model may include the geometrical shape, pose and location at a fixed location (hereinafter “geometric orientation”) of the objects (e.g., the robotic arms 102, clinician, patient, and other physical devices) representing the images captured by the imaging devices 414, 416 at the varying time point…”).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 16, wherein positioning and
repositioning the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera is automatically performed by the system.
Polchin teaches the method of claim 16, wherein positioning and repositioning the third surgical
robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera is automatically performed by the system (See at least Para [0249] “…The information processor module 1408 may also provide an interface for manual calibration and/or manage automatic calibration of the optical elements 1402 .”, Para [0528] “It should be appreciated that the extension of focus causes an automated movement of the robotic arm 506 . In other words, the robotic arm 506 can continue motion of the camera 300 through the point of best focus. In addition, the movement of the robotic arm 506 occurs without inputs from an operator to move the robotic arm, but rather, operator images regarding the changing of a focus. In some instances, the processor 4102 and/or the robotic arm controller 4106 may adjust the focus automatically to maintain a clear image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan and include the feature of positioning and repositioning a third surgical robotic arm automatically to orient and reorient the camera, thereby enhance visualization and improve surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “The example stereoscopic robotic platform 516 is configured to provide the following benefits. 1. Enhanced visualization. Communication between the robotic arm 506 and the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 enables the platform 516 to point and steer the camera 300 to quickly and more accurately visualize surgical sites. For example, the robotic arm 506 can move the camera 300 along its optical axis to extend the range of focusing and zooming beyond that contained in just the camera. The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics. 2. Enhanced dimensional performance. The example stereoscopic visualization camera 300 , with its accurate measurement capability of all points within the stereoscopic image, is configured to communicate the measurement information to the robotic arm 506 . The robotic arm 506 , in turn, comprises accurate position, direction, and/or orientation determination capability and is registered to the camera 300 such that the dimensions within and between images can be accurately transformed respective to a coordinate system common to the stereoscopic robotic platform 516 and an anatomy of a patient…”).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 17, wherein positioning and
repositioning the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera is selectively performed by a user.
Polchin teaches the method of claim 17, wherein positioning and repositioning the third
surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera is selectively performed by a user (See at least Para [0020] “In accordance with a seventh aspect of the present disclosure, which may be used in combination with any other aspect listed herein unless stated otherwise, the coupling plate includes a second joint that enables the stereoscopic camera to be manually rotated by an operator between a horizontal orientation and a vertical orientation…”, Para [0249] “…The information processor module 1408 may also provide an interface for manual calibration and/or manage automatic calibration of the optical elements 1402 .”, Para [0388] “… In some embodiments, the coupling plate 3304 has to be manually moved or rotated by an operator. For example, the coupling plate 3304 may have a joint that enables the camera 300 to be positioned quickly between having an optical axis along a z-axis (i.e., pointing downward toward a patient) and an optical axis along an x-axis or y-axis (i.e., pointing sideward toward a patient)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan and include
the feature of allowing a user to manually position and reposition the third surgical robotic arm to orient and reorient the camera, thereby enhance visualization and improve surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “The example stereoscopic robotic platform 516 is configured to provide the following benefits. 1. Enhanced visualization. Communication between the robotic arm 506 and the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 enables the platform 516 to point and steer the camera 300 to quickly and more accurately visualize surgical sites. For example, the robotic arm 506 can move the camera 300 along its optical axis to extend the range of focusing and zooming beyond that contained in just the camera. The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics. 2. Enhanced dimensional performance. The example stereoscopic visualization camera 300 , with its accurate measurement capability of all points within the stereoscopic image, is configured to communicate the measurement information to the robotic arm 506 . The robotic arm 506 , in turn, comprises accurate position, direction, and/or orientation determination capability and is registered to the camera 300 such that the dimensions within and between images can be accurately transformed respective to a coordinate system common to the stereoscopic robotic platform 516 and an anatomy of a patient…”).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 18, wherein the third surgical robotic arm is kinematically positioned and repositioned to orient and reorient the camera.
Polchin teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the third surgical robotic arm is kinematically positioned and repositioned to orient and reorient the camera (See at least Para [0448] “In some embodiments, the robotic arm controller 4106 in combination with the motor controller 4124 is configured to receive or read joint sensor position information and determine, through kinematics, the location and orientation of the robotic joints and camera 300.”, Para [0449] “The robotic arm controller 4106 receives movement instructions from the processor 4102 and determines, through Jacobian, forward, and/or inverse kinematics, which motors and joints should be activated, how fast and how far, and in what direction.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Polchin with Meglan and include
the feature of the third surgical robotic arm being kinematically positioned and repositioned to orient and reorient the camera, thereby enhance visualization and improve surgical efficiency (See at least Para [0395] “The example stereoscopic robotic platform 516 is configured to provide the following benefits. 1. Enhanced visualization. Communication between the robotic arm 506 and the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 enables the platform 516 to point and steer the camera 300 to quickly and more accurately visualize surgical sites. For example, the robotic arm 506 can move the camera 300 along its optical axis to extend the range of focusing and zooming beyond that contained in just the camera. The relatively small size of the platform 516 provides for Heads-Up Surgery® in a wider variety of surgical procedures and orientations, thereby improving surgical efficiency and surgeon ergonomics. 2. Enhanced dimensional performance. The example stereoscopic visualization camera 300 , with its accurate measurement capability of all points within the stereoscopic image, is configured to communicate the measurement information to the robotic arm 506 . The robotic arm 506 , in turn, comprises accurate position, direction, and/or orientation determination capability and is registered to the camera 300 such that the dimensions within and between images can be accurately transformed respective to a coordinate system common to the stereoscopic robotic platform 516 and an anatomy of a patient…”).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Meglan does not explicitly spell out the method of claim 19, wherein the third surgical
robotic arm is positioned and repositioned to orient and reorient the camera based upon the image generated by the camera.
Daon teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the third surgical robotic arm is positioned and
repositioned to orient and reorient the camera based upon the image generated by the camera (See at least Para [0004] “The system uses a particularly configured fiducial reference, to orient the monitoring system with regard to the critical area. The fiducial reference is attached to a location near the intended surgical area. For example, in the example of a dental surgery, a splint may be used to securely locate the fiducial reference near the surgical area. The fiducial reference may then be used as a point of reference, or a fiducial, for the further image processing of the surgical site. The fiducial reference may be identified relative to other portions of the surgical area by having a recognizable fiducial marker apparent in the scan.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Daon with Meglan and include the feature of the third surgical robotic arm being positioned and repositioned to orient and reorient the camera based upon the image generated by the camera, thereby prevent possible boundary violation and improve surgical precision (See at least Para [0003] “The present invention is a surgical hardware and software monitoring system and method which allows for surgical planning while the patient is available for surgery, for example while the patient is being prepared for surgery so that the system may model the surgical site. In one embodiment, the model may be used to track contemplated surgical procedures and warn the physician regarding possible boundary violations that would indicate an inappropriate location in a surgical procedure. In another embodiment, the hardware may track the movement of instruments during the procedure and in reference to the model to enhance observation of the procedure. In this way, physicians are provided an additional tool to improve surgical planning and performance.”).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meglan et al. (US 20220160445 A1) (Hereinafter Meglan) in view of Daon et al. (WO2016139149A1) (Hereinafter Daon), Polchin et al. (US 20190327394 A1) (Hereinafter Polchin), and further in view of Nikou et al. (US-20230301732-A1) (Hereinafter Nikou).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Meglan teaches all the elements of claim 5.
However, Meglan does not teach the system of claim 5, wherein the controller is further configured to reposition either or both of the at least two surgical arms within the surgical workspace without reference to optical information from the camera.
Nikou teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the controller is further configured to reposition either or both of the at least two surgical arms within the surgical workspace without reference to optical information from the camera (See at least Para [0065] “…Alternatively, the CASS 100 can construct a 3D model of the bone or joint without pre-operative image data by using location data of bony landmarks and the bone surface that are collected by the surgeon using a CASS probe or other means. The registration process can also include determining various axes of a joint. For example, for a TKA the surgeon can use the CASS 100 to determine the anatomical and mechanical axes of the femur and tibia. The surgeon and the CASS 100 can identify the center of the hip joint by moving the patient’s leg in a spiral direction (i.e., circumduction) so the CASS can determine where the center of the hip joint is located.”, Para [0006] “In some embodiments, there is provided a method for positioning a robotic arm in association with a surgical procedure and a patient. The method may include: determining, by a computer system, a location of a surgical site associated with the patient; receiving, by the computer system, surgical plan data associated with the surgical procedure; determining, by the computer system, a robotic arm workspace associated with the robotic arm based on the received surgical plan data; determining, by the computer system, a recommended position for the robotic arm based on the determined location of the surgical site and the determined robotic arm workspace; and providing, by the computer system, instructions for positioning the robotic arm in the recommended position.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nikou with Meglan and include the feature of the controller being configured to reposition either or both of the at least two surgical arms within the surgical workspace without reference to optical information from the camera, thereby provide flexibility by having other options to reposition surgical arms for surgery (See at least Para [0070] “Part of the flexibility of the CASS design described above with respect to FIG. 1 is that additional or alternative devices can be added to the CASS 100 as necessary to support particular surgical procedures.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Crawford et al. (US 20190000569 A1) teaches performing a remedial action responsive to determination of the robotic arm collided with a patient or predicted to collide with the patient based on the proximity signal.
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658