Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 12/11/2004. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the German application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by DE 10 2019 134 558.8.
Regarding claim 1, ‘558.8 discloses an annular apparatus, Fig. 1, comprising an annular housing 101 defining an annular evacuable space 102 having an annular electron exit window 104. Working gas is admitted by an inlet not shown (Paragraph 16) which inherently includes a reservoir for containing a working gas. The apparatus also includes a first cathode and anode 105a, 111 for generating a glow discharge from which electrons are accelerated by a second cathode 105b and second anode 108. Towards an annular electron window, the first anode 111 extending through an annular evacuable space Fig. 1, and teaches that a supply of gas including hydrocarbons is provided for the apparatus to work upon to clean the hydrocarbon gas (Paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 2, ‘558.8 teaches the wire electrodes are arranged in a ring shape about a ring axis of an annular housing, running parallel thereto (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, ‘558.8 shows the ring axis perpendicular to the apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, ‘558.8 teaches a protective screen 112 in front of an electron exit window.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the apparatus of claim 4, further comprising a protective screen which, at least in the region in front of the electron exit window, comprises only vertically running first wires.
Regarding claim 7 the prior art fails to teach or suggest the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising a first device with which a flow of a gaseous medium directed from below to above may be generated within the annular opening of the annular housing.
Regarding claim 10 the prior art fails to teach or suggest the apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a power supply device having four independently controllable channels for providing the anode potential for the first anode, wherein each of the four channels of the power supply device is assigned to a different 90° annular sector of the annular space 102a and wherein all wire-like electrodes of a 90° annular sector are electrically conductively connected to the associated channel of the power supply device, so that all wire-like electrodes of a 90° annular sector have one and the same anode potential.
Conclusion
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878