DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 1 is objected to because it shows block but does not indicate what is each block and this does not help to understand what the figure is intended to; it is suggested to indicate what each block is.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “601” (see figure 6).
Specification
The disclosure filed on 12/05/2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dvir (US 20080124092 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dvir discloses an optical receiver, configured to receive optical burst signals in a passive optical network, PON (abstract "BCDR" “Burst mode clock and data recovery (BCDR) circuit and method capable of fast data recovery of passive optical network (PON) traffic. An over-sampled data stream is generated from an input burst data signal and a phase interpolator generates sampling clock signals using a reference clock and phase information”, paragraphs [0002]-[0007], figures 3-4) the optical receiver comprises a clock-and-data-recovery, CDR, circuitry configured to synchronise a reference clock signal (Figure 3 block 302) with a received optical burst signal starting from a configurable initial clock phase, to obtain a synchronised data signal and a synchronised clock phase, the optical receiver further comprises a phase estimation circuitry (Figure 3 block 330) configured to estimate a phase of a received optical burst signal with respect to the reference clock signal, the optical receiver is further configured to (abstract figure 3-4 paragraphs [0035]-[0039]); during receiving of a first optical burst signal, estimate, by the phase estimation circuitry, at least a first phase estimate, and synchronise, by the CDR circuitry, the reference clock signal with the first optical burst signal, thereby obtaining a first synchronised clock phase ("BCDR", ,[0040]- [0042] “the acquisition of the phase information for each ONU is performed during the set-up mode of operation, which takes place during the activation procedures of an ONU” … “The digital filter 340 compares the extracted phase information to the phase of the respective current transmitting ONU as stored in the memory 352. If the comparison results in inequality, the extracted phase information is saved in the memory 352 and sent to the phase interpolator 320 for future sampling of the input data signal 301 to recover the data in that signal; otherwise, data is sampled using the previous generated sampling signals”); determine a phase estimate correction based on a difference between the first synchronised clock phase and the first phase estimate (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0037] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350”); and during receiving of a second optical burst signal, estimate, by the phase estimation circuitry, a second phase estimate correct the second phase estimate with the phase estimate correction, to obtain a corrected phase estimate and, by the CDR circuitry, synchronise the reference clock signal with the corrected phase estimate as the configurable initial clock phase (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350The memory 352 is a read/write programmable memory. The phase retrieval unit 350 further includes a phase selector 354 that selects the source of the phase information to be provided to the phase interpolator 320.”)
Regarding claim 15, Dvir discloses during receiving of a first optical burst signal, estimate, by the phase estimation circuitry, at least a first phase estimate, and synchronise, by the CDR circuitry, the reference clock signal with the first optical burst signal, thereby obtaining a first synchronised clock phase (abstract "BCDR" “Burst mode clock and data recovery (BCDR) circuit and method capable of fast data recovery of passive optical network (PON) traffic. An over-sampled data stream is generated from an input burst data signal and a phase interpolator generates sampling clock signals using a reference clock and phase information”, paragraphs [0040]- [0042] “the acquisition of the phase information for each ONU is performed during the set-up mode of operation, which takes place during the activation procedures of an ONU” … “The digital filter 340 compares the extracted phase information to the phase of the respective current transmitting ONU as stored in the memory 352. If the comparison results in inequality, the extracted phase information is saved in the memory 352 and sent to the phase interpolator 320 for future sampling of the input data signal 301 to recover the data in that signal; otherwise, data is sampled using the previous generated sampling signals”); determine a phase estimate correction based on a difference between the first synchronised clock phase and the first phase estimate (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0037] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350”); and during receiving of a second optical burst signal, estimate, by the phase estimation circuitry, a second phase estimate correct the second phase estimate with the phase estimate correction, to obtain a corrected phase estimate and, by the CDR circuitry, synchronise the reference clock signal with the corrected phase estimate as the configurable initial clock phase (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350. The memory 352 is a read/write programmable memory. The phase retrieval unit 350 further includes a phase selector 354 that selects the source of the phase information to be provided to the phase interpolator 320.”)
Regarding claim 2, Amir discloses claim 1, Amir also discloses equalisation circuitry configured to perform equalisation by applying equalisation coefficients on received optical burst signals (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] block 340 "The digital filter 340 compares the extracted phase information to the phase of the respective current transmitting ONU as stored in the memory 352. If the comparison results in inequality, the extracted phase information is saved in the memory 352 and sent to the phase interpolator 320 for future sampling of the input data signal 301 to recover the data in that signal; otherwise, data is sampled using the previous generated sampling signals” … “the digital filter 340 instructs the phase interpolator 320 to shift the clock signals 301 by b/k, where b represents the number of phase errors detected by the PEU 330 at the sampling point and k is the maximum number of possible phase error that can be detected in a single clock cycle.”)
Regarding claim 3, Amir discloses claim 1, Amir also discloses during the receiving of the first optical burst signal, the first phase estimate is used for determining the configurable initial clock phase of the CDR for the synchronizing (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350. The memory 352 is a read/write programmable memory. The phase retrieval unit 350 further includes a phase selector 354 that selects the source of the phase information to be provided to the phase interpolator 320.”)
Regarding claim 4, Amir discloses claim 1, Amir also discloses estimate, by the phase estimation circuitry, an initial phase estimate performed after starting the synchronising and used for determining the configurable initial clock phase of the CDR for the synchronising (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350. The memory 352 is a read/write programmable memory. The phase retrieval unit 350 further includes a phase selector 354 that selects the source of the phase information to be provided to the phase interpolator 320.”)
Regarding claim 5, Amir discloses claim 4, Amir also discloses estimating the first phase estimate is performed while performing the synchronising (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350. The memory 352 is a read/write programmable memory. The phase retrieval unit 350 further includes a phase selector 354 that selects the source of the phase information to be provided to the phase interpolator 320.”)
Regarding claim 8, Amir discloses claim 4, Amir also discloses locking the reference clock signal to the received optical burst signal, to establish the synchronised clock phase and tracking the received optical burst signal, to adjust the synchronised clock phase, the estimating of the first phase estimate is performed after the locking (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350. The memory 352 is a read/write programmable memory. The phase retrieval unit 350 further includes a phase selector 354 that selects the source of the phase information to be provided to the phase interpolator 320.”)
Regarding claim 9, Amir discloses claim 4, Amir also discloses the phase estimate correction is further based on phase estimate corrections determined for one or more further previously received optical burst signals (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350”)
Regarding claim 10, Amir discloses claim 1, Amir also discloses estimate, by the phase estimation circuitry, an initial phase estimate performed after starting the synchronising and used for determining the configurable initial clock phase of the CDR for the synchronising (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350. The memory 352 is a read/write programmable memory. The phase retrieval unit 350 further includes a phase selector 354 that selects the source of the phase information to be provided to the phase interpolator 320.”)
Regarding claim 11, Amir discloses claim 1, Amir also discloses received optical burst signals comprise a preamble pattern, a delimiter and payload symbols, and wherein the CDR circuitry and phase estimation circuitry are configured to operate at least on the preamble pattern, wherein the preamble pattern comprises a first pattern and a second pattern, and wherein the CDR circuitry is configured to operate on the first pattern and the phase estimation circuitry is configured to operate on the second pattern (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] " The burst detector 370 detects, with high accuracy, an incoming burst data during the set-up mode. A burst data is received in a form of a cell, which includes a preamble and data portions. The preamble has a predefined pattern of bits (e.g., [0101010101]) and its length is greater than `m` bytes (m>2). The burst detector 370 processes sampled data streams 304 and tries to detect two types of events: a) a preamble pattern, and b) number of transitions. The burst detector 370 searches for a preamble pattern in each of the data streams. If a pattern is detected in any of the streams and within a predefined limit of length, then a preamble detected signal is asserted. The burst detector 370 further counts the number of transitions from `1` to `0` and from `0` to `1` in all sampling streams 304 during a predefined time interval. If the total count is within a predefined threshold a burst detection signal is asserted. The burst detector 370 can further assert a detection signal based on any combination of the two detection signals”)
Regarding claim 12, Amir discloses claim 4, Amir also discloses estimating the first phase estimate is performed by executing a first estimation algorithm selected such that a variance error of the first estimation algorithm is smaller than a variance error of the initial estimation algorithm, and estimating the initial phase estimate is performed by executing an initial estimation algorithm (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "the digital filter 340 instructs the phase interpolator 320 to shift the clock signals 301 by b/k, where b represents the number of phase errors detected by the PEU 330 at the sampling point and k is the maximum number of possible phase error that can be detected in a single clock cycle.”)
Regarding claim 13, Amir discloses claim 1, Amir also discloses on optical line terminal, OLT, comprising the optical receiver according to claim 1; wherein the optical receiver is configured to receive optical burst signals from a plurality of optical network units, ONUs (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] "FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a burst mode clock and data recovery (BCDR) circuit 300 implemented in accordance with one non-limiting embodiment of the present invention. The BCDR circuit 300 includes an over-sampler 310, a phase interpolator 320, a phase estimation unit (PEU) 330, a digital filter 340, a phase retrieval unit 350, and a pipeline 360. In one embodiment, the BCDR circuit 300 is installed in an OLT (e.g., OLT 130) and adapted to receive burst data sent from ONUs (e.g., ONUs 120) over the common channel”)
Regarding claim 14, Amir discloses claim 13, Amir also discloses perform the determining of the phase estimate correction and the correcting of the second phase estimate based on optical burst signals obtained from a same ONU (abstract figure 3 paragraphs [0035]-[0047] " The BCDR circuit 300 acquires the phase information on each ONU during setup mode and updates this information during the normal mode of operation. The phase information is saved in a memory 352 of the phase retrieval unit 350”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Amendments received before examination dated 12/15/2025 for EP 23218047.
Amended claims with annotations dated 12/15/2025 for EP 23218047.
European search report dated 06/14/2024 for EP 23218047.
European search opinion dated 06/14/2024 for EP 23218047.
Suvakovic (US 20090279886 A1) discloses burst-mode data recovery for multi-gigabit passive optical networks.
Kaneda (US 20190334627 A1) discloses clock recovery for band-limited optical channels.
Wu (US 11509395 B2) discloses data transmission method, related apparatus, and system.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634