DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
At least claims 1, 9, 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 15 of U.S. Pat. No. 11821678, claim 8 of U.S. Pat. No. 10337788, claim 13 of U.S. Pat. No. 9651292 and claim 3 of U.S. Pat. No. 8899068. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 9, 20 are anticipated by said claims.
Alternatively, at least claims 1, 9, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 15 of U.S. Pat. No. 11821678, claim 8 of U.S. Pat. No. 10337788, claim 13 of U.S. Pat. No. 9651292 and claim 3 of U.S. Pat. No. 8899068 in view of Comstock as modified by Walker.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Comstock (US 2000882) in view of Walker (US 1984261).
Regarding claim 1,
Comstock teaches an appliance (see col 1, line 2) comprising: an inner case 2; an outer case 3 spaced apart from the inner case, wherein a vacuum space is disposed between the inner case and outer case (see col 3, lines 26-32) and configured to insulate the outer case from the inner case, the vacuum space having a thickness in a first direction (e.g. a direction from inner case 2 to outer case 3, perpendicular to said casing walls); a supporting portion 171 disposed between a surface of the inner case and a surface of the outer case, and to provide a gap between the inner case and the outer case.
Comstock does not teach at least one of a reinforcing member, a reinforcing frame, or a forming portion, wherein the reinforcing member is mounted to at least one of the surface of the inner case or the surface of the outer case for reinforcing strength of the inner case or the outer case, the reinforcing member being a reinforcing rib projected from at least one of the surface of the inner case or the surface of the outer case, wherein the reinforcing frame is provided to at least one of the surface of the inner case or the surface of the outer case, wherein the forming portion is provided for reinforcing strength of the inner case or the outer case, and wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion extending in a different direction from a direction in which the supporting portion extends.
Walker, directed to an appliance comprising a vacuum space, teaches at least one of a reinforcing member 8, a reinforcing frame, or a forming portion (e.g. wherein reinforcing member[s] 8 reinforce the structural integrity of the casing), wherein the reinforcing member is mounted to at least one of the surface of the inner case or the surface of the outer case for reinforcing strength of the inner case or the outer case (see col 1, lines 41-47), the reinforcing member being a reinforcing rib projected from at least one of the surface of the inner case or the surface of the outer case (see Figs. 1-2), wherein the reinforcing frame is provided to at least one of the surface of the inner case or the surface of the outer case (e.g. wherein said recitation is given no patentable weight as only one of reinforcing members etc.… are required in claim 1), wherein the forming portion is provided for reinforcing strength of the inner case or the outer case (e.g. wherein said recitation is given no patentable weight as only one of reinforcing members etc.… are required in claim 1).
Walker teaches wherein said members 8 structurally strengthen the casing, prevent collapse of the casing, and maintain the insulating casing in proper position, and constitute heat absorbing mediums to maintain the vacuum space cool (see col 1, lines 33-47, col 3, lines 19-29).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Comstock by Walker with the motivation of structurally strengthening the casing, preventing collapse of the casing, and maintaining the insulating casing in proper position, and constituting heat absorbing mediums to maintain the vacuum space cool (see col 1, lines 33-47, col 3, lines 19-29).
Please note that Comstock as modified above comprises wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member 8, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion extending in a different direction (e.g. a direction parallel to the walls of the casing) from a direction in which the supporting portion extends.
Regarding claim 2,
Comstock teaches wherein the supporting portion is formed in a shape of boss or a column.
Regarding claim 3,
Comstock as modified above teaches wherein the supporting portion has a portion extending in the first direction, and the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion has a portion extending in a second direction.
Regarding claim 4,
Comstock teaches wherein the supporting portion comprises: a base portion 172 provided between the surface of the inner case and the surface of the outer case, and a supporting member 171 projecting from the base portion.
Regarding claim 5,
Comstock as modified above teaches wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion extending in a different direction from a direction in which the supporting member extends.
Regarding claim 6,
Comstock as modified above teaches wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion extending in a different direction from a direction in which the base portion extends.
Regarding claim 7,
Comstock teaches wherein the supporting member includes a first supporting member and a second supporting member, and the first supporting member and the second supporting member are arranged spaced apart from each other on the base portion.
Regarding claim 8,
Comstock teaches wherein the base portion includes a portion which surrounds the inner case (e.g. surrounds a portion of the inner case).
Regarding claims 9-11, 18-20,
The subject matter of claims 9-11, 18-20 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 1-4, 7 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 1-4, 7.
Regarding claim 12,
Comstock as modified above teaches wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion having less height than the thickness of the vacuum space (see Walker, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13,
Comstock as modified above teaches wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion having more length than the thickness of the vacuum space (see Walker, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14,
Comstock as modified above teaches wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion has a band shape (e.g. the shape of a flat band) having at least one corner, and is arranged along a surface of the appliance.
Regarding claim 15,
Comstock as modified above does not teach wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion provided at a corner of the appliance, the corner being defined by a first surface of the appliance and a second surface of the appliance, the first surface and the second surface extending in a different direction each other.
It is noted that it has been held that claims which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of a particular element were unpatentable because shifting the position of the particular element would not have modified the operation of the device. It has been further held that particular placement of an element was an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Regarding claim 16,
Comstock as modified above teaches wherein the at least one of the reinforcing member, the reinforcing frame, or the forming portion includes a portion extending toward a corner of the appliance, the corner being defined by a first surface of the appliance and a second surface of the appliance, the first surface and the second surface extending in a different direction each other (see Walker, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17,
The subject matter of claim 17 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 15 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Olson, Wynne, Benson, and Rowe, teach appliances with vacuum spaces.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763