Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12192552. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader in scope than the claims in conflicting U.S. Patent No. 12192552.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, of the instant application corresponds to 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, respectively of conflicting U.S. Patent No. 12192552.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4, change “the visited” to –the second--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacella (2011/0078287) in view of Gosalia (2017/0262837).
As for claims 1, 14, and 18, Pacella discloses a method for controlling media-content presentation, the method comprising:
detecting, by a computing system (provider device 120 + content provider device 140), that a media-player device (user device 110: STB, laptop, smartphone; [0023]) is connected with a media-presentation device (television) at the visited location (Referring to Fig. 4, in response to connection 410, provider device 120 retrieves geographic location of user device 110 ([0051]).); and
responsive to the detecting, causing, by the computing system (provider device 120 + content provider device 140), the media-player device to output, for presentation by the media-presentation device at the second location (current location), media content selected (custom content) by the computing system based on the media-player device having moved from the first location to the second location (Based on the geographic location, advertisements and content localized for user device 110 is provided ([0029]). Custom content is provided based on the user device’s location ([0055], [0083], [0086]).).
However, Pacella fails to disclose:
Detecting that a media player device has moved from a first location to a second location;
In an analogous art, Gosalia discloses detecting that a media player device has moved from a first location to a second location (The user device detects based on GPS that the user has moved to a second location; [0037]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pacella’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Gosalia, for the advantage of refreshing the token accordingly based on the new location being a trusted or unfamiliar location.
As for claim 2, Pacella discloses wherein the media-presentation device comprises a display device, and wherein the media content comprises video content ([0023], [0051], [0111]).
As for claim 3, the modified Pacella discloses wherein detecting that the media-player device has moved from the first location to the second location and that the media-player device is connected with a media-presentation device at the second location comprises:
determining a current location of the media-player device when the media-player device is connected with the media-presentation device (Pacella: Based on the geographic location, advertisements and content localized for user device 110 is provided ([0029]). Custom content is provided based on the user device’s location ([0055], [0083], [0086]).);
comparing the determined current location of the media-player device with the first location (Gosalia: The user device detects based on GPS that the user has moved to a second location; [0037]); and
determining, based on the comparing, that the media-player device has moved from the first location to the current location, wherein the current location defines the second location (Gosalia: The user device detects based on GPS that the user has moved to a second location; [0037]).
As for claim 4, the modified Pacella wherein detecting that the media-player device has moved from the first location to the second location and that the media-player device is connected with a media-presentation device at the second location comprises:
detecting a local connection of the media-player device with the media-presentation device (Pacella: Referring to Fig. 4, in response to connection 410, provider device 120 retrieves geographic location of user device 110 ([0051]).)
detecting media player device at the second location (Gosalia: The user device detects based on GPS that the user has moved to a second location; [0037]);
As for claim 5, Pacella discloses wherein the computing system comprises the media-player device and a server platform in network communication with the media-player device ([0051]).
As for claim 8, Pacella discloses wherein causing the media-player device to output, for presentation by the media-presentation device, media content selected by the computing system based on the media-player device having moved from the first location to the second location comprises causing the media-player device to output, for presentation by the media-presentation device, a message that prompts a user of the media-player device to direct the media-player device to output, for presentation by the media-presentation device, information about the second location ([0055], [0029]).
As for claims 9, 16, and 20, Pacella discloses further comprising selecting by the computing system, based on the media-player device having moved from the first location to the second location, the media content to be output by the media-player device for presentation by the media-presentation device at the second location ([0055], [0029]).
As for claim 10, Pacella discloses wherein the selecting is based on a comparison of the second location with the first location ([0055], [0029]).
As for claim 11, Pacella discloses wherein the selecting comprises selecting content that describes an activity at the second location ([0055], [0029]).
As for claims 12 and 17, Pacella discloses wherein selecting the media content is based on data indicating content preference by one or more users who traveled from the first location to the second location ([0031]).
As for claim 13, Pacella discloses wherein the media-player device comprises an over-the-top (OTT) streaming-media-player device ([0023]).
Claim(s) 6-7, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacella and Gosalia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogle (2016/0142765).
As for claims 6, 15, and 19, Pacella discloses wherein causing the media-player device to output, for presentation by the media-presentation device, media content selected by the computing system based on the media-player device having moved from the first location to the second location comprises causing the media-player device to output, for presentation by the media-presentation device (Content localized to current location; [0055]),
In an analogous art, Ogle discloses a welcome message welcoming a user to the second location (Fig. 1, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pacella and Gosalia’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Ogle, for the advantage of generating a guest specific message to enhance the user’s stay.
As for claim 7, Ogle discloses further comprising:
determining that the media-player device has previously been at the second location (“Welcome Back John!” - Fig. 1, [0021]); and
based on the determining that the media-player device has previously been at the second location, making the welcome message a welcome-back message (“Welcome Back John!” - Fig. 1, [0021]).
Conclusion
SUMAIYA A. CHOWDHURY
Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/SUMAIYA A CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421