DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, 12, 16-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 7, 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,671,613 B2 (“Pat 613”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of Pat 613 discloses a video decoding method, comprising: receiving a bitstream associated with a set of pictures; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, determining that wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a virtual boundary is signaled at a sequence level for the set of pictures; and controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the virtual boundary is signaled at the sequence level; wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the virtual boundary being signaled at the sequence level, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the set of pictures, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream; and disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary, wherein the range by which the position is bounded comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum width being signaled in the received bitstream, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum height being signaled in the received bitstream.
Claim 7 of Pat 613 discloses a flag indicating whether the resolution of the first picture is allowed to be changed; and wherein the method further comprises: in response to the flag indicating the resolution of the first picture being allowed to be changed, determining that the virtual boundary is not signaled at the sequence level.
Claims 1 and 7 of Pat 613 disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 1 of Pat 613 discloses a video decoding method, comprising: receiving a bitstream associated with a set of pictures; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, determining that wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a virtual boundary is signaled at a sequence level for the set of pictures; and controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the virtual boundary is signaled at the sequence level; wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the virtual boundary being signaled at the sequence level, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the set of pictures, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream; and disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary, wherein the range by which the position is bounded comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum width being signaled in the received bitstream, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum height being signaled in the received bitstream.
Claim 1 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 1 of Pat 613 discloses a video decoding method, comprising: receiving a bitstream associated with a set of pictures; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, determining that wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a virtual boundary is signaled at a sequence level for the set of pictures; and controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the virtual boundary is signaled at the sequence level; wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the virtual boundary being signaled at the sequence level, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the set of pictures, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream; and disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary, wherein the range by which the position is bounded comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum width being signaled in the received bitstream, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum height being signaled in the received bitstream.
Claim 1 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 12, claim 10 of Pat 613 discloses a video encoding method, comprising: setting a virtual boundary for a set of pictures; disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary; determining whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, disabling wrap-around motion compensation for the first picture; and signaling, in a bitstream, a maximum value indicative of a range by which a position of the virtual boundary is bounded, wherein the range comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, and the maximum value comprises at least one of a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures or a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, wherein: the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with the maximum width, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with the maximum height.
Claim 7 of Pat 613 discloses a flag indicating whether the resolution of the first picture is allowed to be changed; and wherein the method further comprises: in response to the flag indicating the resolution of the first picture being allowed to be changed, determining that the virtual boundary is not signaled at the sequence level.
Claims 12 and 7 of Pat 613 disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 16, claim 10 of Pat 613 discloses a video encoding method, comprising: setting a virtual boundary for a set of pictures; disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary; determining whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, disabling wrap-around motion compensation for the first picture; and signaling, in a bitstream, a maximum value indicative of a range by which a position of the virtual boundary is bounded, wherein the range comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, and the maximum value comprises at least one of a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures or a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, wherein: the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with the maximum width, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with the maximum height.
Claim 10 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 17, claim 10 of Pat 613 discloses a video encoding method, comprising: setting a virtual boundary for a set of pictures; disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary; determining whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, disabling wrap-around motion compensation for the first picture; and signaling, in a bitstream, a maximum value indicative of a range by which a position of the virtual boundary is bounded, wherein the range comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, and the maximum value comprises at least one of a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures or a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, wherein: the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with the maximum width, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with the maximum height.
Claim 10 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 18, claim 11 of Pat 613 discloses the first value is equal to Ceil(pic_width_max_in_luma_samples÷8)−1 and the second value is equal to Ceil(pic_height_max_in_luma_samples÷8)−1, and wherein pic_width_max_in_luma_samples represents the maximum width, in units of luma samples, of each picture of the set of pictures, and pic_height_max_in_luma_samples represents the maximum height, in units of luma samples, of each picture of the set of pictures.
Claim 11 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 20, claim 5 of Pat 613 discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a bitstream of a set of pictures for processing according to a method comprising: determining, according to the bitstream, whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, determining that wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; determining whether the bitstream signals a virtual boundary at a sequence level for the set of pictures; in response to the bitstream signaling the virtual boundary at the sequence level, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the set of pictures, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the bitstream; and disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary, wherein the range signaled in the bitstream comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum width being signaled in the bitstream, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum height being signaled in the bitstream.
Claim 7 of Pat 613 discloses a flag indicating whether the resolution of the first picture is allowed to be changed; and wherein the method further comprises: in response to the flag indicating the resolution of the first picture being allowed to be changed, determining that the virtual boundary is not signaled at the sequence level.
Claims 5 and 7 of Pat 613 disclose all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Claims 2-4, 7-11, 13-15, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 7, 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,671,613 B2 (“Pat 613”) in view of Chen et al. (US 12,192,504 B2).
Consider application claim 2, claims of Pat 613 disclose all the limitations in application claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose when the value of the first flag is equal to 1, the value of the second flag is equal to 0.
Chen teaches when the value of the first flag is equal to 1, the value of the second flag is equal to 0 (claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 3, Chen teaches the first flag and second flag are signaled in the SPS (claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 4, claim 1 of Pat 613 discloses a video decoding method, comprising: receiving a bitstream associated with a set of pictures; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a resolution of a first picture in the set of pictures is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, determining that wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; determining, according to the received bitstream, whether a virtual boundary is signaled at a sequence level for the set of pictures; and controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the virtual boundary is signaled at the sequence level; wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the virtual boundary being signaled at the sequence level, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the set of pictures, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream; and disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary, wherein the range by which the position is bounded comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, the vertical range is less than or equal to a first value associated with a maximum width of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum width being signaled in the received bitstream, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a second value associated with a maximum height of each picture of the set of pictures, the maximum height being signaled in the received bitstream.
Claim 1 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, Chen teaches determining the range based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream; and determining the position of the virtual boundary based on a second parameter signaled in the bitstream (claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 8, claim 2 of Pat 613 discloses the first value is equal to Ceil(pic_width_max_in_luma_samples÷8)−1 and the second value is equal to Ceil(pic_height_max_in_luma_samples÷8)−1, and wherein pic_width_max_in_luma_samples represents the maximum width, in units of luma samples, of each picture of the set of pictures, and pic_height_max_in_luma_samples represents the maximum height, in units of luma samples, of each picture of the set of pictures.
Claim 2 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, claim 2 of Pat 613 discloses the first value is equal to Ceil(pic_width_max_in_luma_samples÷8)−1 and the second value is equal to Ceil(pic_height_max_in_luma_samples÷8)−1, and wherein pic_width_max_in_luma_samples represents the maximum width, in units of luma samples, of each picture of the set of pictures, and pic_height_max_in_luma_samples represents the maximum height, in units of luma samples, of each picture of the set of pictures.
Claim 2 of Pat 613 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 10, Chen teaches the first parameter and second parameter are signaled in the SPS (claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 11, Chen teaches determining, based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream, a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence; determining, based on a second parameter signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS) of the bitstream, a width or height of a decoded picture referring to the PPS, wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is not allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second parameter has a value equal to a value of the first parameter (claim 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 13, Chen teaches when the value of the first flag is equal to 1, the value of the second flag is equal to 0 (claim 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 14, Chen teaches encoding the first flag and second flag into the SPS (claim 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 15, Chen teaches the encoded second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundary is signaled in the bitstream, and the encoding comprises: encoding the information of virtual boundary into the SPS (claim 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 19, Chen teaches determining, based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream, a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence; determining, based on a second parameter signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS) of the bitstream, a width or height of a decoded picture referring to the PPS, wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is not allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second parameter has a value equal to a value of the first parameter (claim 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 613 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,192,504 B2 (“Pat 504”) in view of Chen et al. (US 11,671,613 B2).
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of Pat 504 discloses a method of decoding a bitstream to output one or more pictures for a video stream, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream associated with a video sequence; and decoding, using coded information of the bitstream, the video sequence, wherein the decoding comprises: determining, according to the bitstream, whether a resolution of a first picture in the video sequence is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, determining that wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; determining, based on a first flag signaled in the bitstream, whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence; and determining, based on a second flag signaled in the bitstream, whether information of virtual boundaries is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundaries is not signaled in the SPS.
However, claims of Pat 504 do not explicitly disclose controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the information of the virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS, wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the information of the virtual boundary being signaled in the SPS, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the video sequence, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream, and disabling the in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary.
Chen teaches controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the information of the virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS, wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the information of the virtual boundary being signaled in the SPS, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the video sequence, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream, and disabling the in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary (claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 504 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 2, claim 2 of Pat 504 discloses when the value of the first flag is equal to 1, the value of the second flag is equal to 0.
Claim 2 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 3 of Pat 504 discloses the first flag and second flag are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 3 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 4 of Pat 504 discloses determining, based on the second flag, whether the information of virtual boundaries is signaled in the SPS. Claim 4 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 1 of Pat 504 discloses a method of decoding a bitstream to output one or more pictures for a video stream, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream associated with a video sequence; and decoding, using coded information of the bitstream, the video sequence, wherein the decoding comprises: determining, according to the bitstream, whether a resolution of a first picture in the video sequence is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, determining that wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; determining, based on a first flag signaled in the bitstream, whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence; and determining, based on a second flag signaled in the bitstream, whether information of virtual boundaries is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundaries is not signaled in the SPS.
Claim 1 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, Chen teaches the range by which the position is bounded comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range, the vertical range is less than or equal to a maximum width allowed for the set of pictures, the maximum width being signaled in the received stream, and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a maximum height allowed for the set of pictures, the maximum height being signaled in the received bitstream (claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 504 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 7, claim 5 of Pat 504 discloses the decoding comprises: determining, based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream, a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence; and determining, based on a second parameter signaled in the bitstream, a location of a virtual boundary for the video sequence, wherein a value of the second parameter is bounded by a range determined by a value of the first parameter.
Claim 5 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 8, claim 6 of Pat 504 discloses the range is determined by a smallest integer that is greater than or equal to a quotient of the value of the first parameter divided by 8.
Claim 6 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, claim 7 of Pat 504 discloses the value of the first parameter is in units of luma samples.
Claim 7 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 10, claim 8 of Pat 504 discloses the first parameter and third second parameter are signaled in the SPS.
Claim 8 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 11, claim 9 of Pat 504 discloses determining, based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream, a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence; determining, based on a second parameter signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS) of the bitstream, a width or height of a decoded picture referring to the PPS, wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is not allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second parameter has a value equal to a value of the first parameter.
Claim 9 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 12, claim 10 of Pat 504 discloses a method of encoding a video sequence into a bitstream, the method comprising: receiving a video sequence; encoding one or more pictures of the video sequence; and generating a bitstream, wherein the encoding comprises: determining whether a resolution of a first picture in the video sequence is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, disabling wrap-around motion compensation for the first picture; encoding a first flag indicating whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence; encoding, based on a value of the first flag, a second flag indicating whether information of virtual boundaries is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein when the value of the first flag indicating that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the encoded second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundaries is not signaled in the SPS.
However, claims of Pat 504 do not explicitly disclose controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the information of the virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS, wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the information of the virtual boundary being signaled in the SPS, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the video sequence, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream, and disabling the in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary.
Chen teaches controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the information of the virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS, wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the information of the virtual boundary being signaled in the SPS, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the video sequence, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream, and disabling the in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary (claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 504 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Consider application claim 13, claim 11 of Pat 504 discloses when the value of the first flag is equal to 1, the value of the second flag is equal to 0.
Claim 11 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 14, claim 12 of Pat 504 discloses the encoding comprises: encoding the first flag and second flag into the SPS.
Claim 12 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 15, claim 13 of Pat 504 discloses the encoded second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundaries is signaled in the bitstream, and the encoding comprises: encoding the information of virtual boundaries into the SPS.
Claim 13 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 16, claim 10 of Pat 504 discloses A method of encoding a video sequence into a bitstream, the method comprising: receiving a video sequence; encoding one or more pictures of the video sequence; and generating a bitstream, wherein the encoding comprises: determining whether a resolution of a first picture in the video sequence is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; in response to the resolution of the first picture being different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, disabling wrap-around motion compensation for the first picture; encoding a first flag indicating whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence; encoding, based on a value of the first flag, a second flag indicating whether information of virtual boundaries is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein when the value of the first flag indicating that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the encoded second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundaries is not signaled in the SPS.
Claim 10 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 17, claim 14 of Pat 504 discloses the encoding comprises: encoding a first parameter indicating a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence; and encoding a second parameter indicating a location of a virtual boundary for the video sequence, wherein a value of the second parameter is bounded by a range determined by a value of the first parameter.
Claim 14 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 18, claim 15 of Pat 504 discloses determining the range based on a smallest integer that is greater than or equal to a quotient of the value of the first parameter divided by 8.
Claim 15 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 19, claim 18 of Pat 504 discloses encoding a first parameter indicating a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence; encoding a second parameter signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS) of the bitstream, the second parameter indicating a width or height of an encoded picture referring to the PPS, wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is not allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second parameter has a value equal to a value of the first parameter.
Claim 18 of Pat 504 discloses all the limitations in the application claim. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 20, claim 19 of Pat 504 discloses a method of storing a bitstream associated with a video sequence, the method comprising: determining whether a resolution of a first picture in the video sequence is different from a resolution of a reference picture associated with the first picture; generating the bitstream based on the determining, wherein when the resolution of the first picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture associated with the first picture, wrap-around motion compensation is disabled for the first picture; encoding, into the bitstream, a first flag indicating whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence; encoding, into the bitstream, a second flag indicating whether information of virtual boundaries is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS) that the video sequence refers to, wherein when a value of the first flag indicates that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundaries is not signaled in the SPS; and storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium.
However, claims of Pat 504 do not explicitly disclose controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the information of the virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS, wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the information of the virtual boundary being signaled in the SPS, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the video sequence, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream, and disabling the in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary.
Chen teaches controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the information of the virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS, wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the information of the virtual boundary being signaled in the SPS, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the video sequence, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream, and disabling the in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary (claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the method in Pat 504 because such incorporation would improve the visual quality of 360-video coded in the ERP projection format.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hendry et al. (US 2023/0023712 A1).
Consider claim 1, Hendry teaches a video decoding method, comprising: receiving a bitstream associated with a video sequence (the decoding apparatus receives a bitstream including video/image information. [0072], [0191], Fig. 3, and Fig. 9); determining, based on a first flag signaled in the bitstream, whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence (reference picture resampling (RPR) (also referred to as adaptive resolution change (ARC)) is performed for a normal coding operation of pictures having different resolutions (spatial resolutions). For example, the RPR may include up-sampling and down-sampling. High coding efficiency for adaptation of a bitrate and spatial resolution may be achieved through the RPR. [0148]; the image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0182] – [0184]; The image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0202]. See also [0156] – [0157]; [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9); determining, based on a second flag signaled in the bitstream, whether information of a virtual boundary is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS) (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9); and controlling in-loop filtering operations based on whether the information of the virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS (In the step S620, the decoding apparatus may determine whether in-loop filtering is applied (across a virtual boundary) based on the in-loop filtering-related information. [0129]; Regarding whether the in-loop filtering process is performed across the virtual boundary, the in-loop filtering-related information may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag. [0136]. the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0183], [0203]. See also Table 1 & Table 2), wherein the controlling of the in-loop filtering operations comprises: in response to the information of the virtual boundary being signaled in the SPS, determining a position of the virtual boundary for the video sequence, the position being bounded by a range signaled in the received bitstream (sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] and sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ]. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Table 1 & Table 2. see also [0136] – [0137]; [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9), and disabling the in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary (sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag. sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag equal to 1 specifies that the in-loop filtering operations are disabled across the virtual boundaries in pictures referring to the SPS. sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag equal to 0 specifies that no such disabling of in-loop filtering operations is applied in pictures referring to the SPS. Table 1 & Table 2); and wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second flag has a value indicating that the information of the virtual boundary is not signaled in the SPS (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9).
Consider claim 2, Hendry teaches when the value of the first flag is equal to 1, the value of the second flag is equal to 0 (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9).
Consider claim 3, Hendry teaches the first flag and second flag are signaled in the SPS (the image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0182] – [0184]; The image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0202]. the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204], Fig. 9, Table 11).
Consider claim 4, Hendry teaches determining, based on the second flag, whether the information of virtual boundary is signaled in the SPS (the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204], Fig. 9).
Consider claim 6, Hendry teaches the range by which the position is bounded comprises at least one of a vertical range or a horizontal range ( the information on the virtual boundaries position may include information on an x-coordinate of a vertical virtual boundary and/or information on a y-coordinate of a horizontal virtual boundary. Specifically, the information on the virtual boundaries position may include the information on the x-coordinate of the vertical virtual boundary and/or the information on the y-axis of the horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. In addition, the information on the virtual boundaries position may include information on the number of pieces of information (syntax elements) on the x-coordinate of the vertical virtual boundary which is present in the SPS. In addition, the information on the virtual boundaries position may include information on the number of pieces of information (syntax elements) on the y-coordinate of the horizontal virtual boundary which is present in the SPS. [0137]), the vertical range is less than or equal to a maximum width allowed for the set of pictures, the maximum width being signaled in the received stream (sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Table 11, Table 12), and the horizontal range is less than or equal to a maximum height allowed for the set of pictures, the maximum height being signaled in the received bitstream (sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Table 11, Table 12).
Consider claim 7, Hendry teaches determining the range based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream (Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11 and Table 12); and determining the position of the virtual boundary based on a second parameter signaled in the bitstream (sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Table 11, Table 12).
Consider claim 8, Hendry teaches the range is determined by a smallest integer that is greater than or equal to a quotient of the value of the first parameter divided by 8 (Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11 and Table 12).
Consider claim 9, Hendry teaches the value of the first parameter is in units of luma samples (Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11 and Table 12).
Consider claim 10, Hendry teaches the first parameter and second parameter are signaled in the SPS (Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Table 11 and Table 12).
Consider claim 11, Hendry teaches determining, based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream, a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12); determining, based on a second parameter signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS) of the bitstream, a width or height of a decoded picture referring to the PPS (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12), wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is not allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second parameter has a value equal to a value of the first parameter (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12).
Consider claim 12, Hendry teaches a video encoding method, comprising: receiving a video sequence (Fig. 2: encoding apparatus receives input image); setting a virtual boundary for the video sequence (encoding apparatus encode video/image information that may include virtual boundaries-related information. [0177]. Virtual boundaries-related information may include the number of virtual boundaries, positions of the virtual boundaries, information on the number of vertical virtual boundaries, information on positions of the vertical virtual boundaries, information on the number of horizontal virtual boundaries, and information on positions of the horizontal virtual boundaries. [0180] – [0181]); disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary (sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag. sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag equal to 1 specifies that the in-loop filtering operations are disabled across the virtual boundaries in pictures referring to the SPS. sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag equal to 0 specifies that no such disabling of in-loop filtering operations is applied in pictures referring to the SPS. Table 1 & Table 2); encoding, into a bitstream, a first parameter indicative of a range by which a position of the virtual boundary is bounded (entropy encoder encodes video/image information that includes SPS. [0064]. The encoding apparatus may encode video/image information that includes virtual boundaries-related information and additional virtual boundaries-related information. [0177]. Table 11 and Table contains sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] that is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples..); encoding, into the bitstream, a first flag indicating whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence (ref_pic-resampling_enabled_flag. Table 11 and Table 12; reference picture resampling (RPR) (also referred to as adaptive resolution change (ARC)) is performed for a normal coding operation of pictures having different resolutions (spatial resolutions). For example, the RPR may include up-sampling and down-sampling. High coding efficiency for adaptation of a bitrate and spatial resolution may be achieved through the RPR. [0148]; the image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0182] – [0184]; The image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0202]. See also [0156] – [0157]; [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9); and encoding, into the bitstream, a second flag indicating whether information of the virtual boundary is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS) (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9), wherein when the first flag has a value indicates that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the encoded second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundary is not signaled in the SPS (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9).
Consider claim 13, Hendry teaches when the value of the first flag is equal to 1, the value of the second flag is equal to 0 (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9).
Consider claim 14, Hendry teaches encoding the first flag and second flag into the SPS (ref_pic-resampling_enabled_flag. Table 11 and Table 12; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9).
Consider claim 15, Hendry teaches the encoded second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundary is signaled in the bitstream (the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9), and the encoding comprises: encoding the information of virtual boundary into the SPS (the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9).
Consider claim 17, Hendry teaches encoding, in the bitstream, a second parameter indicating a position of the virtual boundary, wherein a value of the second parameter is bounded by the range (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12).
Consider claim 18, Hendry teaches determining the range based on a smallest integer that is greater than or equal to a quotient of the value of the first parameter divided by 8 (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12).
Consider claim 19, Hendry teaches determining, based on a first parameter signaled in the bitstream, a maximum width or height of each picture of the video sequence (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12); determining, based on a second parameter signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS) of the bitstream, a width or height of a decoded picture referring to the PPS (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12), wherein when the first flag has a value indicating that the picture resolution is not allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the second parameter has a value equal to a value of the first parameter (sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_width_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicWidthInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_width_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_ver_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicWidthInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries specifies the number of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] syntax elements that are present in the SPS. When sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries is not present, it is inferred to be equal to 0. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples. The value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] shall be in the range of 1 to Ceil( pic_height_max_in_luma_samples ÷ 8 ) − 1, inclusive. Let minPicHeightInCL VS be the smallest value of pic_height_in_luma_samples in PPSs referring to the SPS, it is a bistream conformance constraint that the value of sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] for i in the range from 0 to sps_num_hor_virtual_boundaries − 1, inclusive, is less than or equal to Ceil( minPicHeightInCL VS ÷ 8 ) − 1. Table 11, Table 12).
Consider claim 20, Hendry teaches a method of storing a bitstream with a video sequence (A transmitter transmitting a signal output from the entropy encoder 240 and/or a storage unit storing the signal may be configured as an internal/external element of the encoding apparatus 200. [0064]), the method comprising: setting a virtual boundary for the video sequence (encoding apparatus encode video/image information that may include virtual boundaries-related information. [0177]. Virtual boundaries-related information may include the number of virtual boundaries, positions of the virtual boundaries, information on the number of vertical virtual boundaries, information on positions of the vertical virtual boundaries, information on the number of horizontal virtual boundaries, and information on positions of the horizontal virtual boundaries. [0180] – [0181]); disabling in-loop filtering operations across the virtual boundary (sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag. sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag equal to 1 specifies that the in-loop filtering operations are disabled across the virtual boundaries in pictures referring to the SPS. sps_loop_filter_across_virtual_boundaries_disabled_present_flag equal to 0 specifies that no such disabling of in-loop filtering operations is applied in pictures referring to the SPS. Table 1 & Table 2); encoding, into a bitstream, a first parameter indicative of a range by which a position of the virtual boundary is bounded (entropy encoder encodes video/image information that includes SPS. [0064]. The encoding apparatus may encode video/image information that includes virtual boundaries-related information and additional virtual boundaries-related information. [0177]. Table 11 and Table contains sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_x[ i ] that is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosX[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th vertical virtual boundary in units of luma samples. sps_virtual_boundaries_pos_y[ i ] is used to compute the value of VirtualBoundariesPosY[ i ], which specifies the location of the i-th horizontal virtual boundary in units of luma samples..); encoding, into the bitstream, a first flag indicating whether a picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence (ref_pic-resampling_enabled_flag. Table 11 and Table 12; reference picture resampling (RPR) (also referred to as adaptive resolution change (ARC)) is performed for a normal coding operation of pictures having different resolutions (spatial resolutions). For example, the RPR may include up-sampling and down-sampling. High coding efficiency for adaptation of a bitrate and spatial resolution may be achieved through the RPR. [0148]; the image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0182] – [0184]; The image information may include a reference picture resampling enabled flag. For example, whether resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled may be determined based on the reference picture resampling enabled flag. [0202]. See also [0156] – [0157]; [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9); and encoding, into the bitstream, a second flag indicating whether information of the virtual boundary is signaled in a sequence parameter set (SPS) (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9), storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (A transmitter transmitting a signal output from the entropy encoder 240 and/or a storage unit storing the signal may be configured as an internal/external element of the encoding apparatus 200. [0064]), wherein when the first flag has a value indicates that the picture resolution is allowed to be changed within the video sequence, the encoded second flag has a value indicating that the information of virtual boundary is not signaled in the SPS (when the RPR is enabled, the virtual boundary signaling may not be included in the SPS. [0156] – [0157]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0182] – [0184]; the SPS may include an SPS virtual boundaries present flag related to whether the SPS includes the additional virtual boundaries-related information. A value of the SPS virtual boundaries present flag may be determined to be 0, based on that resampling for the at least one reference picture is enabled. [0203]. See also [0191] – [0204] and Fig. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and the double patenting rejections are overcome.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486