DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/5/24 has been considered. The Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority in PCT/US23/86449 (May 1, 2024), submitted with the statement, has been reviewed. The Authority found claim 1 of the international application obvious over Neumann (US 2010/0103592 A1) in view of Burch (US 2020/0358266 A1) and Gerber (US 2010/0123997 A1), and found claim 2 to involve an inventive step because no cited art taught a collapsible dolly, a cord spindle, a crank, and a catch. The references applied below, in particular Shabtai et al. (US 2023/0238755 A1) and Magno (US 2019/0115742 A1), were not before the Authority and teach each of those four features; see the rejection of claim 2 below.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claims 1, 2, and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 recite a box “that is capable powering more than five (5) and at least eight (8) items.” The phrase is grammatically incomplete (“capable powering”), and the two numerical limits are inconsistent with one another: a box powering six items satisfies “more than five” but not “at least eight,” so the metes and bounds of the recited capability cannot be determined. For purposes of examination the clause is read as “capable of powering at least eight items.” Claims 4–14 inherit the defect from claim 2.
Claims 1 and 2 further recite that the box operates “while complying with UL and OSHA safety regulations.” The claims do not identify which regulations or which edition, and the specification identifies no standard by number; whether a given box falls within the claim would depend on unstated external documents that change over time. For purposes of examination the limitation is treated as a recitation of capability met by the recited structure (see Claim Interpretation below). Applicant should identify the structure intended or delete the clause.
Claim 12 recites “one of the four sides of the box.” Claim 2, from which claim 12 depends, recites no sides; there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the four sides” in the claim. For purposes of examination the limitation is read as “a side of the box.”
Claim Interpretation
The claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (MPEP 2111). The following constructions are applied in the rejections below.
“Includes … two legs” (claim 1). “Includes” is open-ended (MPEP 2111.03). In light of applicant’s specification, which describes the legs as elevating the box above the ground and keeping the outlets and connected devices away from pooled water (applicant’s specification, ¶015), the legs have a purpose but no function is assigned to the number two; the dolly embodiment itself is described as having two legs on its base beside wheels (applicant’s specification, ¶038). A box standing on four legs, two to a panel, includes two legs and performs the recited elevation.
Capability clause (claims 1–3). “Capable [of] powering more than five (5) and at least eight (8) items while complying with UL and OSHA safety regulations” is a recitation of capability (MPEP 2114); “more than five” and “at least eight” are read together as at least eight (see the rejection under 112(b) above). Compliance with unidentified external regulations is given patentable weight only to the extent the specification ties it to structure, and the specification ties it to the GFCI, the outlet covers, and the outlet count, all of which are claimed separately and addressed below.
“Eaves” (claims 1–3, 14). In light of applicant’s specification, which describes the eaves as a portion of the top extending outward over the sides to shed water from the outlets (applicant’s specification, ¶028), any overhang of the top beyond the side walls meets the term. Where a reference drawing clearly shows such an overhang, the drawing is relied on for what it shows (MPEP 2125).
“Attached” (claim 3). Claim 3 recites a dolly “attached to the bottom of the housing” and a spindle “attached to the collapsible dolly.” Applicant’s specification never uses “directly” and uses attachment language inclusively: the handle is attached to the top by hinges or other suitable means, the outlet covers are attached to the sides by hinges or other suitable means, and the cord spindle is described as secured to the box by way of a collapsible dolly on which the box is mounted (applicant’s specification, ¶016). “Attached” is therefore construed to include attachment through intervening structure; a spindle carried on a wheeled base through an intervening housing is attached to that base.
“Foldable handle” (claims 1–3, 17). The claims recite a handle that folds; they do not recite a carrying function. A handle that folds flush into the top of the housing meets the recitation whether its primary use is carrying or winding. The term is a structural noun without “means” and is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (MPEP 2181).
“Collapsible dolly” (claims 2–3, 20). In light of applicant’s specification, which describes the dolly as collapsible by folding of its handle (applicant’s specification, FIG. 18 and FIG. 20 descriptions; ¶038), the term is construed accordingly and does not require the wheeled base itself to fold.
“Socket” (claim 7). In light of applicant’s specification, which refers to the power socket at the end of the input cord (applicant’s specification, FIG. 35 description), the term refers to the cord’s end connector, whether male or female.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 103
The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: determining the scope and contents of the prior art; ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue; resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann et al. (US 2010/0103592 A1, “Neumann”) in view of Burch (US 2014/0240902 A1, “Burch”) and Shabtai et al. (US 2023/0238755 A1, “Shabtai”).
Regarding claim 1, Neumann discloses a portable power distribution box (portable electrical distribution enclosure 10, FIGS. 1–2, ¶0014) that is capable powering more than five (5) and at least eight (8) items (nine outlet receptacles 12a, 12b, 14a–14i on front panel 30 and rear panel 40, FIGS. 1–2, ¶0016) while complying with UL and OSHA safety regulations in part (“UL equipment can also be used”; enclosure for construction sites and workplaces, ¶0015; see Claim Interpretation, capability clause), where the portable power distribution box includes two legs (front panel 30 with a pair of legs 36a, 36b and rear panel 40 with a pair of legs 43a, 43b, FIGS. 1–4, ¶0020, the legs keeping chassis 50 “off the ground and away from moisture,” ¶0021; see Claim Interpretation, “includes”), a plurality of power outlets (receptacles 12a–14i, ¶0016), a power switch (switch 16 in switch cutout 35a of front panel 30, FIG. 1, ¶0019), a power connection (electrical components 15a, 15b in cutouts 32a, 32b of front panel 30, and the rectangular inputs in cutouts 34a, 34b, FIGS. 1 and 3, ¶0016, ¶0019), and eaves (rectangular top 20 overhanging front panel 30, rear panel 40, and both side panels of chassis 50, FIG. 2, ¶0017). Neumann further discloses a pair of handles 22, 24 securely mounted to top 20 (¶0017), but does not expressly disclose that the handle is a foldable handle, nor at least one USB port, a GFCI, or outlet covers. Burch discloses a worksite power distribution box of the same type (housing 127 on legs 129, ¶0021) having two 5 VDC USB outlets 146 beside the 120 VAC receptacles (FIG. 2, ¶0019, ¶0023), each output receptacle 142 being “a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) circuit for further safety” with a test and reset button (¶0023), and receptacles that are “recessed and include water-tight, hinged covers to prevent water ingress near the conductive elements” (¶0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Neumann’s enclosure with a USB port, GFCI protection, and outlet covers as taught by Burch, because Burch supplies the USB outlets so that the box can charge a smart phone alongside tools (¶0019), the GFCI “for further safety” at a worksite (¶0023), and the covers to keep water off the conductors (¶0057), the same moisture hazard Neumann addresses with its legs and vents (¶0021, ¶0023). Shabtai discloses a portable outlet box whose top-mounted handle 30 pivots on rod 33(a) between a raised position and a position lying in a channel below the upper surface (FIGS. 7A–7C, ¶0037–0038), and a pivotable side carry handle 7 (¶0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Neumann’s top handles 22, 24 foldable in this manner because Shabtai folds the handle below the uppermost surface so that boxes can be stacked and carried without the handle obstructing (¶0037), and Neumann’s enclosure is likewise carried between sites by its top handles (¶0017). Substituting one known handle form for another yields no more than the predictable result of a stowable grip (MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtai in view of Neumann, Burch, and Magno (US 2019/0115742 A1, “Magno”).Regarding claim 2, Shabtai discloses a portable power distribution box (power outlet box 1, FIGS. 1–4, ¶0033) that is capable powering more than five (5) items (four AC outlets 9 and USB ports 17 supplying tools and devices in parallel, ¶0038–0039) where the portable power distribution box includes a foldable handle (handle 30 pivoting on rod 33(a) between a raised position and a position in a channel below the upper surface, FIGS. 7A–7C, ¶0037–0038; pivotable carry handle 7, ¶0033), a collapsible dolly in part (wheeled container 60(a) with wheels 66 and upright pull handle 64, or “a wheeled carriage having an upright pull handle,” on which box 1 is secured, FIGS. 9A–9B, ¶0047), a plurality of power outlets (outlets 9 and USB ports 17, “jointly considered as power outlets,” ¶0033), a power switch (on/off switch 13, ¶0033), a power connection (AC cord 2 with plug 2(a), FIG. 3, ¶0036), at least one USB port (USB charging ports 17, ¶0033), outlet covers (USB port cover 11 over ports 17, ¶0033), a cord spindle (drum 36 on which cord 2 is wound, FIGS. 5A–5C, ¶0035), a crank (handle 30 with knob 34 rotating winding body 32 and drum 36, ¶0038), and a catch (recess 5(a) in wall 8(a) “into which the trailing end of AC cord 2 and AC plug 2(a) may be secured,” FIG. 3, ¶0036). Shabtai does not expressly disclose that the box is capable of powering at least eight (8) items while complying with UL and OSHA safety regulations, a GFCI, eaves, or that the dolly is collapsible. Neumann discloses a portable power distribution enclosure for construction sites with nine outlet receptacles 12a–14i on its front and rear panels (FIGS. 1–2, ¶0016) under a top 20 that overhangs every side (FIG. 2, ¶0017), the enclosure usable with UL equipment (¶0015). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shabtai’s box with eight or more outlets and an overhanging top as taught by Neumann, because Neumann’s outlet count serves the stated purpose of powering many different types of electrical equipment at one location (¶0016), and Neumann’s high-density polyethylene top shields the panel-mounted receptacles from weather and impacts (¶0017) in the same outdoor setting Shabtai contemplates (¶0038). Burch discloses a worksite power box whose output receptacles 142 are each “a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) circuit for further safety” with a test and reset button (¶0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Shabtai’s outlets GFCI-protected for the safety reason Burch states (¶0023). Magno discloses a wheeled cord-reel cart whose frame handle 126 has a telescoping mechanism 128 configured to be collapsed or extended and folds relative to the frame (FIGS. 1 and 3, ¶0042, ¶0049, ¶0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Shabtai’s pull handle 64 collapsible in this manner because Magno’s collapsible handle lets the user tilt the frame onto the wheels to move the load and then stow the handle (¶0041–0043), a convenience equally applicable to Shabtai’s wheeled base.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtai in view of Neumann, Burch, and Magno.Regarding claim 3, Shabtai discloses a portable power distribution system comprising: a housing with a top, bottom, and four sides (power outlet box 1, upper housing 3 on lower housing 5, long sides 8(b) and short sides 8(a), FIGS. 1–4, ¶0033); a foldable handle attached to the top of the housing (handle 30 pivoting on rod 33(a) between a position lying in a channel in the upper surface and a raised position, FIGS. 7A–7C, ¶0037–0038; alternatively handle 52 pivoting to a position above the open top with box 1 secured therein, FIG. 8C, ¶0043); a plurality of power outlets (AC outlets 9 and USB ports 17, FIG. 1, ¶0033); a power switch (on/off switch 13, ¶0033); a power connection (AC cord 2 with plug 2(a), ¶0036); at least one USB port (USB charging ports 17, ¶0033); outlet covers for the power outlets (USB port cover 11 over ports 17, ¶0033); a collapsible dolly attached to the bottom of the housing in part (wheeled container 60(a) with wheels 66 and upright pull handle 64, or a wheeled carriage having an upright pull handle, on which box 1 is secured, FIGS. 9A–9B, ¶0047; see Claim Interpretation, “attached”); a cord spindle attached to the collapsible dolly (drum 36 in box 1, FIGS. 5A–5C, ¶0035, carried on the wheeled base through the stack, ¶0047; see Claim Interpretation, “attached”); a crank connected to the cord spindle (handle 30 with knob 34 rotating winding body 32 and drum 36, ¶0038); and a catch for securing a power cord (recess 5(a) in wall 8(a) into which the trailing end of AC cord 2 and AC plug 2(a) may be secured, FIG. 3, ¶0036); and wherein the portable power distribution system is capable of powering at least eight items while complying with UL and OSHA safety regulations in part (four AC outlets and USB ports powering tools and devices in parallel, ¶0038–0039; see Claim Interpretation, capability clause). Shabtai does not expressly disclose a plurality of power outlets disposed on at least two sides of the housing; a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter (GFCI); eaves extending from the top of the housing over the sides; that the dolly is collapsible; or at least eight outlets. Neumann discloses a plurality of power outlets disposed on at least two sides of the housing (receptacles 12a, 12b on front panel 30 and receptacles 14a–14i on rear panel 40, FIGS. 1–2, ¶0016, ¶0019), nine outlets in all, and eaves extending from the top over the sides (top 20 overhanging front panel 30, rear panel 40, and the side panels of chassis 50, FIG. 2, ¶0017). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place Shabtai’s outlets on two walls, to provide eight or more of them, and to extend the top over the sides as Neumann teaches, because Neumann’s outlet count and placement serve the stated purpose of powering many different types of electrical equipment at one location (¶0016), and Neumann’s overhanging top shields the panel-mounted receptacles from weather and impacts (¶0017) in the same outdoor setting Shabtai contemplates (¶0038). Burch discloses a worksite power box whose output receptacles 142 are each a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) circuit with a test and reset button (¶0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the outlets of the combination GFCI-protected because Burch provides GFCI “for further safety” at a worksite (¶0023). Magno discloses a wheeled cord-reel cart whose frame handle 126 has a telescoping mechanism 128 configured to be collapsed or extended and folds relative to the frame (FIGS. 1 and 3, ¶0042, ¶0049, ¶0057), with a crank 130 on the spool axle 132 (¶0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Shabtai’s wheeled base and pull handle collapsible in this manner because Magno provides the collapsible handle so the user can tilt the frame onto the wheels and push or pull the cart while unwinding cord, then stow the handle (¶0041–0043).
Claims 4–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtai in view of Neumann, Burch, and Magno, as applied to claim 2 above.Regarding claim 4, Shabtai discloses the collapsible dolly including wheels (wheels 66, FIGS. 9A–9B, ¶0047; see also Magno, wheels 122, ¶0041).Regarding claim 5, Shabtai discloses the cord spindle capable of storing and managing a power cord (cord 2 wound on drum 36 within box 1, ¶0035–0036).Regarding claim 6, Shabtai discloses the crank used to wind and unwind a power cord on the cord spindle (rotation of handle 30 winds cord 2 onto drum 36; the cord is withdrawn by pulling, ¶0038).Regarding claim 7, Shabtai discloses the catch configured to secure a power socket of an input power line (recess 5(a) receiving the trailing end of cord 2 and its plug 2(a), ¶0036; see Claim Interpretation, “socket”).Regarding claim 8, Burch discloses a power connection compatible with a 110–125 VAC input (120 VAC supply received at input receptacle 130, ¶0019, ¶0022), and Shabtai’s cord 2 connects to an AC wall outlet (¶0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply the combination from 120 VAC, the ordinary building supply at the worksites both references describe (Burch ¶0019; Shabtai ¶0038).Regarding claim 9, Burch discloses the power switch including a built-in resettable circuit breaker for overload protection (main breaker 136 manually reset by flipping a toggle switch, ¶0022). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the switching and overload-reset functions in one toggle as Burch does, so that power is restored at a single point after a trip (¶0022).Regarding claim 10, Neumann discloses at least eight power outlets (nine receptacles 12a–14i, ¶0016); see the rejection of claim 2.Regarding claim 11, Shabtai discloses the USB port capable of charging portable electronic devices (charging ports 17 for phones and like devices, ¶0038).Regarding claim 12, Burch discloses the GFCI including test and reset buttons accessible on one of the sides of the box (test and reset buttons on each receptacle 142, which is mounted in a side of housing 127, ¶0023); see the rejection under 112(b) above as to “the four sides.”Regarding claim 13, Burch discloses outlet covers configured to protect the power outlets from moisture and dust (water-tight hinged covers to prevent water ingress near the conductive elements, ¶0057), and Shabtai’s cover 11 closes ports 17 (¶0033).Regarding claim 14, Neumann’s overhanging top 20 provides additional protection to the power outlets, power switch, power connection, and GFCI from moisture and dust, those components being mounted in panels 30 and 40 beneath top 20 (switch 16, components 15a, 15b, and receptacles 12a–14i, FIGS. 1–2, ¶0017, ¶0019); the recited protection follows from the structure (MPEP 2111.04).
Claims 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtai in view of Neumann, Burch, and Magno, as applied to claim 3 above.Regarding claim 16, Neumann discloses the housing made of a durable and weather-resistant material (high density polyethylene panels and top that withstand high impacts and any collateral damage from surrounding environment, weather, or marine applications, ¶0017); Burch likewise discloses a ruggedized housing (¶0021).Regarding claim 19, Burch discloses a separate resettable circuit breaker for overload protection (main breaker 136 and individual sub-breakers 138 with manual reset, ¶0022–0023), and Shabtai’s reset button 15 is separate from switch 13 (¶0033).Regarding claim 20, Shabtai discloses the collapsible dolly including a handle that can be extended for moving the power distribution system (upright pull handle 64, ¶0047), and Magno’s telescoping handle 126, 128 extends and retracts (¶0042, ¶0049).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtai in view of Neumann, Burch, and Magno, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ortega (US 8,128,421 B2, “Ortega”).Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses a grounded three-prong plug 2(a) on cord 2 for a standard AC wall outlet (Shabtai, FIG. 3, ¶0036) and common U.S.-style outlets at 120 VAC (Burch, ¶0020), but does not name the configuration. Ortega discloses that the standard North American grounded plug and receptacle, having two flat parallel blades and a grounding pin and rated about 15 A and 125 V, is the NEMA 5-15 configuration, “the most common electrical receptacle in the United States and Canada” (col. 3, ll. 41–47; see also col. 1, Background, “e.g. NEMA 5-15P”; claim 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the power connection of the combination in the NEMA 5-15P configuration because, as Ortega states, it is the most common receptacle in the United States, ensuring the box can be plugged into ordinary building power.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtai in view of Neumann, Burch, and Magno, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kurek III et al. (US 5,887,927, “Kurek”).Regarding claim 17, Shabtai’s handle 30 is retained in its channel when lowered (¶0037), but Shabtai does not expressly disclose the foldable handle locked in a folded or an erect position. Kurek discloses a folding equipment handle “held securely in either an opened or closed position” (col. 1, ll. 2–4), securely held open or securely stored folded (col. 1, ll. 9–17), such that the handle “stays in position despite vibrations or minor jarring” (col. 1, ll. 20–25), by a spring that is under compressive load in both the upright and folded positions and under greater load only during the transition (col. 2, ll. 1–8; claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to retain Shabtai’s handle with Kurek’s over-center spring so that the handle cannot swing free in either position during transport (col. 1, ll. 20–25).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shabtai in view of Neumann, Burch, and Magno, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Rossman et al. (US 6,179,665 B1, “Rossman”).Regarding claim 18, the combination does not expressly disclose the power outlets spaced apart to accommodate oversized transformer plugs. Rossman discloses an outlet strip in which “at least some of electrical plug receptacles 20 are sufficiently spaced apart to permit transformer blocks (e.g., a/c adapters) to be plugged into an electrical plug receptacle 20 without interfering with access to an adjacent receptacle” (col. 3, ll. 1–8; claim 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space the outlets of the combination as Rossman teaches so that adapter-type plugs do not block adjacent outlets (col. 3, ll. 1–8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0060403 – portable solar usb charger storage locker
US 2015/0283694 – power tool and sales system
US 2008/0035507 – power tool case
/ZHENGFU J FENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
October 3, 2026