Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments filed on 02/02/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance. On page 2 of remarks, the applicant notes the teachings in ¶ 170 of Park regarding storing initialization voltage values that correspond to different panel regions. The applicant, then asserts that Park ‘436, which is a different reference than Park, fails to teach the amended limitations. The Office finds such arguments non-persuasive.
The amended independent claims include limitations from previously rejected claims 16 and 17. Claim 17 was rejected based on the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436. The office maintains that the combination of the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436 teaches all the limitations of the claims. No argument has been provided regarding such a combination; therefore, the arguments are not found persuasive. The following Action provides further details regarding the rejection of claims based on the combination of teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al., US 2023/0136391 A1, hereinafter “Hong”, in view of Park et al., US 2025/0218382 A1, hereinafter “Park”, and further in view of Park et al., US 2021/0407436 A1, hereinafter “Park ‘436”.
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches a display device (¶ 37, “display device”) comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, element 130, ¶ 37) comprising pixels (fig. 2, pixels SP, ¶ 50); and a panel driver comprising a controller (fig. 2, element 240) configured to drive the display panel at a variable frame frequency (fig. 9, ¶ 154), to sequentially apply data voltages to the pixels on a row basis in an active period of a frame period (¶ 58, 64, 67), and to perform a sensing operation on at least one pixel among the pixels in a blank period of the frame period (¶ 205), wherein, within the blank period, the panel driver is configured to change an initialization voltage applied to the at least one pixel according to the variable frame frequency (¶ 194), wherein the controller comprises an initialization voltage lookup table (fig. 15, LUT, ¶ 247) configured to store the initialization voltage in a rewrite period according to the variable frame frequency (¶ 247, note that the initialization voltage is provided and stored during the sensing period within the blanking period which is considered to be the rewrite period).
Hong does not specifically teach changing an initialization voltage applied to the at least one pixel according to a position of the at least one pixel, and storing initialization voltage values with respect to panel regions into which the display panel is divided along a vertical direction.
Park, however, teaches changing an initialization voltage (¶ 170, initialization voltage Vref/VSS) applied to the at least one pixel according to a position of the at least one pixel (¶ 170). Park further teaches storing initialization voltage values with respect to panel regions into which the display panel is divided along a vertical direction (¶ 170, display is divided into 16 regions (16 steps of voltage) according to the position or distance from the drive IC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong in view of Park. The references teach pixel circuits including initialization voltages for initializing the pixel circuit and Park further teaches adjusting such a reference voltage according to the distance of a pixel from the drive IC of the initialization voltage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Hong teaches changing the voltage of the initialization voltage based on a refresh rate of the display device in order to enhance the image quality and Park further teaches that adjusting the reference voltage according to the distance of the pixel from the drive IC would compensate for the voltage drop that occurs due to the distance, thus further improving the accuracy and quality of the display device by providing an accurate initialization voltage.
Hong and Park do not teach that the initialization voltage lookup table is configured to store a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency with respect to a first panel region of the panel regions, and another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions.
Park ‘436, however, teaches that the initialization voltage lookup table (¶ 122, LUT 580) is configured to store a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 30Hz is the maximum) and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 20Hz is the minimum).
Note that a combination of Hong, Park and Park ‘436 further teaches another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions. Specifically, Park teaches that the display may be divided into 16 regions according to which the Vref values are set in order to compensate for a voltage drop due to distance from the drive IC (see ¶ 170). Park ‘436 further teaches that such a Vref value is set according to max/min refresh values (see fig. 6, ¶ 122-123). Accordingly, by combining the teachings of Park in view of Park ‘436, the Vref values would have been modified according to both the refresh frequency values and the display region to which the pixels belong to. In other words, the combination of Hong, Park and Park ‘436 teaches storing a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency (as taught by Park ‘436) with respect to a first panel region of the panel regions (for pixels belonging to a first region as taught by Park), and another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency (as taught by Park ‘436) with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions (for pixels in another region different than the first region as taught by Park).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong and Park, as applied above, further in view of Park ‘436. Hong and Park ‘436 specifically teach providing a look up table for adjusting the initialization voltage and Park further teaches that the initialization value can further be adjusted according to a distance from the driver IC. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to adjust the initialization value according to changes in refresh rates and the location of pixels within the display device, thereby achieving more accurate and appropriate initialization values and providing a higher quality display device.
Regarding claim 2, Hong teaches that the panel driver is configured to increase the initialization voltage within the blank period as the variable frame frequency decreases (¶ 194 and 207, note that when the length of the blank period is long, the frame rate is lower).
Regarding claim 3, Hong does not specifically teach that the panel driver is configured to increase the initialization voltage within the blank period as a distance of the at least one pixel from an edge of the display panel increases.
Park, however, teaches that the panel driver is configured to increase the initialization voltage within the blank period as a distance of the at least one pixel from an edge of the display panel increases (¶ 170).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong in view of Park. The references teach pixel circuits including initialization voltages for initializing the pixel circuit and Park further teaches adjusting such a reference voltage according to the distance of a pixel from the drive IC of the initialization voltage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Hong teaches changing the voltage of the initialization voltage based on a refresh rate of the display device in order to enhance the image quality and Park further teaches that adjusting the reference voltage according to the distance of the pixel from the drive IC would compensate for the voltage drop that occurs due to the distance, thus further improving the accuracy and quality of the display device by providing an accurate initialization voltage.
Regarding claim 4, Hong teaches that the at least one pixel comprises: a driving transistor (fig. 3, DRT) comprising a gate connected to a gate node (N1), a first terminal connected to a first power supply voltage line (EVDD), and a second terminal connected to a source node (N2); a scan transistor (SCT) comprising a gate that receives a scan signal (SCAN), a first terminal connected to a data line (Vdata), and a second terminal connected to the gate node (see connection to N1); a sensing transistor (SENT) comprising a gate that receives a sensing signal (SENSE), a first terminal connected to a sensing line (RVL, ¶ 94), and a second terminal connected to the source node (N2); a storage capacitor (Cst) comprising a first electrode connected to the gate node, and a second electrode connected to the source node (see Cst); and a light-emitting element (ED) comprising an anode connected to the source node, and a cathode connected to a second power supply voltage line (EVSS).
Regarding claim 14, Hong teaches that the panel driver comprises: a data driver (fig. 2, element 220, ¶ 51) connected to the pixels through data lines (¶ 64); a power management circuit (fig. 13, element 250, ¶ 202; and the circuit which provides EVDD and EVSS) configured to provide a first power supply voltage (EVDD), a second power supply voltage (EVSS), and the initialization voltage to the display panel (VpreR, ¶ 202); a sensing circuit connected to the pixels through sensing lines (fig. 3, SDIC elements except for DAC are considered to be the sensing circuit, ¶ 113); and the controller (fig. 2, element 240) connected to control the data driver, the sensing circuit, and the power management circuit (see fig. 2 and fig. 13).
Regarding claim 16, Hong teaches that the controller is configured to control the power management circuit to change the initialization voltage within the blank period (¶ 205, 246-247 and 249 disclose changing the initialization voltage is performed during the blank period).
Regarding claim 17, Hong does not teach that the controller is configured to read, from the initialization voltage lookup table, the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage for one of the panel regions to which the at least one pixel belongs, and to determine the initialization voltage corresponding to the variable frame frequency in the rewrite period by interpolating the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage.
Park teaches providing the initialization voltage values with respect to the panel regions and reading the initialization voltage value for one of the panel regions to which the at least one pixel belongs (¶ 170, such as providing 16 steps of different initialization values according to the panel region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong in view of Park. The references teach pixel circuits including initialization voltages for initializing the pixel circuit and Park further teaches adjusting such a reference voltage according to the distance of a pixel from the drive IC of the initialization voltage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Hong teaches changing the voltage of the initialization voltage based on a refresh rate of the display device in order to enhance the image quality and Park further teaches that adjusting the reference voltage according to the distance of the pixel from the drive IC would compensate for the voltage drop that occurs due to the distance, thus further improving the accuracy and quality of the display device by providing an accurate initialization voltage.
Park ‘436, further, teaches that the initialization voltage lookup table (¶ 122, LUT 580) is configured to store a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 30Hz is the maximum) and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 20Hz is the minimum), and wherein the controller is configured to read, from the initialization voltage lookup table, the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage, and to determine the initialization voltage corresponding to the variable frame frequency in the rewrite period by interpolating the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage (¶ 122-123, see interpolation of a value not included in the LUT which occurs during the blanking period or “rewrite period”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong and Park, as applied above, further in view of Park ‘436. Hong and Park ‘436 specifically teach providing a look up table for adjusting the initialization voltage and Park ‘436 further teaches that the initialization value can further be calculated according to an interpolation of the values in the LUT. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Park ‘436 clearly teaches that such a technique results in a reduction of the size of the look up table.
Regarding claim 18, Hong teaches an electronic device (fig. 1, 100, ¶ 37) comprising: a processor configured to provide input image data (fig. 1, element 110, ¶ 38); and a display device (fig. 2, elements 120-130, ¶ 49) configured to receive the input image data from the processor (¶ 45-47), and to display an image based on the input image data (¶ 42-45), the display device comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, element 130, ¶ 37) comprising pixels (fig. 2, pixels SP, ¶ 50); and a panel driver comprising a controller (fig. 2, element 240), and configured to drive the display panel at a fixed frame frequency in a normal mode (fig. 10, ¶ 162, mode 1), to drive the display panel at a variable frame frequency in a variable frame mode (fig. 10, ¶ 162, mode 2), to sequentially apply data voltages to the pixels on a row basis in an active period of a frame period (¶ 58, 64, 67), and to perform a sensing operation on at least one pixel among the pixels in a blank period of the frame period (¶ 205), wherein, in the normal mode, the panel driver is configured to apply an initialization voltage that is constant to the display panel (in mode 1 the refresh rate is fixed therefore the initialization voltage is fixed or constant), and wherein, in the variable frame mode, the panel driver is configured to change the initialization voltage applied to the at least one pixel within the blank period (¶ 194), wherein the controller comprises an initialization voltage lookup table (fig. 15, LUT, ¶ 247) configured to store the initialization voltage in a rewrite period according to the variable frame frequency (¶ 247, note that the initialization voltage is provided and stored during the sensing period within the blanking period which is considered to be the rewrite period).
Hong does not specifically teach changing an initialization voltage applied to the at least one pixel according to a position of the at least one pixel, and storing initialization voltage values with respect to panel regions into which the display panel is divided along a vertical direction.
Park, however, teaches changing an initialization voltage (¶ 170, initialization voltage Vref/VSS) applied to the at least one pixel according to a position of the at least one pixel (¶ 170). Park further teaches storing initialization voltage values with respect to panel regions into which the display panel is divided along a vertical direction (¶ 170, display is divided into 16 regions (16 steps of voltage) according to the position or distance from the drive IC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong in view of Park. The references teach pixel circuits including initialization voltages for initializing the pixel circuit and Park further teaches adjusting such a reference voltage according to the distance of a pixel from the drive IC of the initialization voltage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Hong teaches changing the voltage of the initialization voltage based on a refresh rate of the display device in order to enhance the image quality and Park further teaches that adjusting the reference voltage according to the distance of the pixel from the drive IC would compensate for the voltage drop that occurs due to the distance, thus further improving the accuracy and quality of the display device by providing an accurate initialization voltage.
Hong and Park do not teach that the initialization voltage lookup table is configured to store a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency with respect to a first panel region of the panel regions, and another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions.
Park ‘436, however, teaches that the initialization voltage lookup table (¶ 122, LUT 580) is configured to store a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 30Hz is the maximum) and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 20Hz is the minimum).
Note that a combination of Hong, Park and Park ‘436 further teaches another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions. Specifically, Park teaches that the display may be divided into 16 regions according to which the Vref values are set in order to compensate for a voltage drop due to distance from the drive IC (see ¶ 170). Park ‘436 further teaches that such a Vref value is set according to max/min refresh values (see fig. 6, ¶ 122-123). Accordingly, by combining the teachings of Park in view of Park ‘436, the Vref values would have been modified according to both the refresh frequency values and the display region to which the pixels belong to. In other words, the combination of Hong, Park and Park ‘436 teaches storing a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency (as taught by Park ‘436) with respect to a first panel region of the panel regions (for pixels belonging to a first region as taught by Park), and another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency (as taught by Park ‘436) with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions (for pixels in another region different than the first region as taught by Park).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong and Park, as applied above, further in view of Park ‘436. Hong and Park ‘436 specifically teach providing a look up table for adjusting the initialization voltage and Park further teaches that the initialization value can further be adjusted according to a distance from the driver IC. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to adjust the initialization value according to changes in refresh rates and the location of pixels within the display device, thereby achieving more accurate and appropriate initialization values and providing a higher quality display device.
Claims 5-13, 15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, Park, and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim et al., US 2022/0013072 A1, hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 5, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not teach that the blank period comprises: an initialization period in which a sensing data voltage is to be applied to the gate node and the initialization voltage is to be applied to the source node; a sensing period in which the sensing operation is to be performed; and the rewrite period in which a previous data voltage is to be applied to the gate node and the initialization voltage is to be applied to the source node.
Kim, however, teaches that the blank period (fig. 6, VBP) comprises: an initialization period (between TS and T1) in which a sensing data voltage (VSD) is to be applied to the gate node (SC is turned on) and the initialization voltage (Vs) is to be applied to the source node (SS is turned on); a sensing period in which the sensing operation is to be performed (between T1 and TE, ¶ 73); and a rewrite period (PDWT) in which a previous data voltage (PVDAT) is to be applied to the gate node and the initialization voltage is to be applied to the source node (SS and SC are on; see ¶ 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the initialization voltage to the pixels and perform the sensing operation as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 6, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not teach that the initialization voltage is to be changed after the initialization period and before the rewrite period.
Kim teaches that the initialization voltage is to be changed after the initialization period and before the rewrite period (see fig. 6 wherein between T1 to TE the initialization voltage is changed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels. Note that Hong discloses that VpreR (initialization voltage) “may be increased or decreased in real time by reflecting the refresh rate of the previous frame” (¶ 206) and that VpreR compensation due to a change in refresh rate is performed during the blanking period (¶ 205). As such, one would have been motivated to change the initialization voltage during the sensing period which is the period wherein the initialization voltage is being applied to the circuit, in order to achieve the desired effects of changing the initialization voltage as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 7, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not specifically teach that the initialization voltage is to be changed within the sensing period.
Kim teaches that the initialization voltage is to be changed within the sensing period (see fig. 6 wherein between T1 to TE the initialization voltage is changed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels. Note that Hong discloses that VpreR (initialization voltage) “may be increased or decreased in real time by reflecting the refresh rate of the previous frame” (¶ 206) and that VpreR compensation due to a change in refresh rate is performed during the blanking period (¶ 205). As such, one would have been motivated to change the initialization voltage during the sensing period which is the period wherein the initialization voltage is being applied to the circuit, in order to achieve the desired effects of changing the initialization voltage as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 8, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not teach that the previous data voltage comprises a data voltage applied to the at least one pixel in the active period.
Kim teaches that the previous data voltage comprises a data voltage applied to the at least one pixel in the active period (¶ 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels in addition to the application of a previous data voltage. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the required voltages to the pixels and perform the sensing and light emitting operations as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 9, Hong teaches that the panel driver comprises: a sensing channel configured to perform the sensing operation (fig. 3, ADC); an initialization switch (RPRE, ¶ 95) configured to apply the initialization voltage to the sensing line in response to an initialization switching signal (¶ 95); and a sampling switch (SAM) configured to connect the sensing line to the sensing channel in response to a sampling switching signal (¶ 116).
Regarding claim 10, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not specifically teach that in the initialization period: the initialization switching signal, the scan signal, and the sensing signal have an on-level, and the sampling switching signal has an off-level; the initialization switch is configured to apply the initialization voltage to the sensing line in response to the initialization switching signal having the on-level; the scan transistor is configured to turned on in response to the scan signal having the on-level, and to transfer the sensing data voltage of the data line to the gate node; the sensing transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the sensing signal having the on-level, and to transfer the initialization voltage of the sensing line to the source node; and the storage capacitor is configured to store a voltage difference between the sensing data voltage and the initialization voltage.
Kim, however, teaches that in the initialization period (fig. 6, TS-T1): the initialization switching signal (SREF), the scan signal (SC), and the sensing signal (SS) have an on-level, and the sampling switching signal has an off-level (see SSAM); the initialization switch is configured to apply the initialization voltage to the sensing line in response to the initialization switching signal having the on-level; the scan transistor is configured to [be] turned on in response to the scan signal having the on-level, and to transfer the sensing data voltage of the data line to the gate node; the sensing transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the sensing signal having the on-level, and to transfer the initialization voltage of the sensing line to the source node; and the storage capacitor is configured to store a voltage difference between the sensing data voltage and the initialization voltage (¶ 74-76 and figs. 1-2 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels in addition to other voltages. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the required voltages to the pixels and perform the sensing and light emitting operations as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 11, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not teach that the initialization switching signal is configured to be changed from an on-level to an off-level between the initialization period and the sensing period, and wherein the initialization voltage begins to be increased when the initialization switching signal is changed from the on-level to the off-level.
Kim, however, clearly teaches that the initialization switching signal (fig. 6, SREF) is configured to be changed from an on-level to an off-level between the initialization period and the sensing period (see T3), and wherein the initialization voltage begins to be increased when the initialization switching signal is changed from the on-level to the off-level (see Vs at T3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels in addition to other voltages. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the required voltages to the pixels and perform the sensing and light emitting operations as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 12, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not teach that in the sensing period: the sensing signal and the sampling switching signal have an on-level, and the initialization switching signal and the scan signal have an off-level; the sensing transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the sensing signal having the on-level, and to connect the source node to the sensing line; the driving transistor is configured to generate a sensing current based on a voltage difference between the sensing data voltage and the initialization voltage; the sampling switch is configured to connect the sensing line to the sensing channel in response to the sampling switching signal having the on-level; and the sensing channel is configured to sense the sensing current through the sensing line.
Kim, however, teaches that in the sensing period: the sensing signal and the sampling switching signal have an on-level (see levels of SS and SSAM during T1-TE), and the initialization switching signal and the scan signal have an off-level (see levels of SC and SREF during T1-TE); the sensing transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the sensing signal having the on-level, and to connect the source node to the sensing line; the driving transistor is configured to generate a sensing current based on a voltage difference between the sensing data voltage and the initialization voltage; the sampling switch is configured to connect the sensing line to the sensing channel in response to the sampling switching signal having the on-level; and the sensing channel is configured to sense the sensing current through the sensing line (¶ 77-78)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels in addition to other voltages. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the required voltages to the pixels and perform the sensing and light emitting operations as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 13, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not teach that in the rewrite period: the scan signal, the sensing signal, and the initialization switching signal have an on-level, and the sampling switching signal has an off-level; the initialization switch is configured to apply the initialization voltage to the sensing line in response to the initialization switching signal having the on-level; the scan transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the scan signal having the on-level, and to transfer the previous data voltage of the data line to the gate node; the sensing transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the sensing signal having the on-level, and to transfer the initialization voltage of the sensing line to the source node; and the storage capacitor is configured to store a voltage difference between the previous data voltage and the initialization voltage.
Kim, however, teaches that in the rewrite period: the scan signal, the sensing signal, and the initialization switching signal have an on-level (fig. 6, see SC, SREF and SS on levels during PDWT), and the sampling switching signal has an off-level (SSAM is low); the initialization switch is configured to apply the initialization voltage to the sensing line in response to the initialization switching signal having the on-level; the scan transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the scan signal having the on-level, and to transfer the previous data voltage of the data line to the gate node; the sensing transistor is configured to be turned on in response to the sensing signal having the on-level, and to transfer the initialization voltage of the sensing line to the source node; and the storage capacitor is configured to store a voltage difference between the previous data voltage and the initialization voltage (¶ 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels in addition to other voltages. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the required voltages to the pixels and perform the sensing and light emitting operations as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 15, Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not specifically teach that in the frame period, the controller is configured to select one pixel row on which the sensing operation is performed within the blank period among pixel rows of the display panel.
Kim, however, teaches that in the frame period, the controller is configured to select one pixel row on which the sensing operation is performed within the blank period among pixel rows of the display panel (fig. 5, ¶ 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels in addition to details regarding a sensing operation related to the initialization voltage. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the required voltages to the pixels and perform the sensing and light emitting operations as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 19, Hong teaches a method of operating a display device (¶ 37, “display device”) configured to drive a display panel (fig. 1, element 130, ¶ 37) at a variable frame frequency (fig. 9, ¶ 154), the method comprising: sequentially applying data voltages on a row basis to pixels in an active period of a frame period (¶ 58, 64, 67); performing a sensing operation on at least one pixel among the pixels within a blank period of the frame period (¶ 205); changing an initialization voltage applied to the at least one pixel according to the variable frame frequency (¶ 194) and applying the changed initialization voltage to the at least one pixel within the blank period (¶ 194 and ¶ 205); storing the initialization voltage in a rewrite period according to the variable frame frequency (¶ 247, note that the initialization voltage is provided and stored during the sensing period within the blanking period which is considered to be the rewrite period).
Hong does not specifically teach changing an initialization voltage applied to the at least one pixel according to a position of the at least one pixel, and storing initialization voltage values with respect to panel regions into which the display panel is divided along a vertical direction.
Park, however, teaches changing an initialization voltage (¶ 170, initialization voltage Vref/VSS) applied to the at least one pixel according to a position of the at least one pixel (¶ 170). Park further teaches storing initialization voltage values with respect to panel regions into which the display panel is divided along a vertical direction (¶ 170, display is divided into 16 regions (16 steps of voltage) according to the position or distance from the drive IC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong in view of Park. The references teach pixel circuits including initialization voltages for initializing the pixel circuit and Park further teaches adjusting such a reference voltage according to the distance of a pixel from the drive IC of the initialization voltage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Hong teaches changing the voltage of the initialization voltage based on a refresh rate of the display device in order to enhance the image quality and Park further teaches that adjusting the reference voltage according to the distance of the pixel from the drive IC would compensate for the voltage drop that occurs due to the distance, thus further improving the accuracy and quality of the display device by providing an accurate initialization voltage.
Hong and Park do not teach storing a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency with respect to a first panel region of the panel regions, and another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions.
Park ‘436, however, teaches that the initialization voltage lookup table (¶ 122, LUT 580) is configured to store a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 30Hz is the maximum) and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency (¶ 123, for example FF of 20Hz is the minimum).
Note that a combination of Hong, Park and Park ‘436 further teaches another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions. Specifically, Park teaches that the display may be divided into 16 regions according to which the Vref values are set in order to compensate for a voltage drop due to distance from the drive IC (see ¶ 170). Park ‘436 further teaches that such a Vref value is set according to max/min refresh values (see fig. 6, ¶ 122-123). Accordingly, by combining the teachings of Park in view of Park ‘436, the Vref values would have been modified according to both the refresh frequency values and the display region to which the pixels belong to. In other words, the combination of Hong, Park and Park ‘436 teaches storing a first initialization voltage at a maximum frame frequency and a second initialization voltage at a minimum frame frequency (as taught by Park ‘436) with respect to a first panel region of the panel regions (for pixels belonging to a first region as taught by Park), and another first initialization voltage at another maximum frame frequency and another second initialization voltage at another minimum frame frequency (as taught by Park ‘436) with respect to a second panel region of the panel regions (for pixels in another region different than the first region as taught by Park).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong and Park, as applied above, further in view of Park ‘436. Hong and Park ‘436 specifically teach providing a look up table for adjusting the initialization voltage and Park further teaches that the initialization value can further be adjusted according to a distance from the driver IC. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to adjust the initialization value according to changes in refresh rates and the location of pixels within the display device, thereby achieving more accurate and appropriate initialization values and providing a higher quality display device.
Hong, Park and Park ‘436 do not specifically teach applying a previous data voltage to the at least one pixel within the blank period.
Kim, however, teaches applying a previous data voltage (fig. 6, PVDAT) to the at least one pixel within the blank period (see PDWT within VBP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong, Park and Park ‘436, as applied above, further in view of Kim. The references teach display devices wherein an initialization voltage is applied to the pixels and Kim further teaches the details regarding the application of such a voltage to the pixels in addition to the application of a previous data voltage. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to properly apply the required voltages to the pixels and perform the sensing and light emitting operations as required by both Hong and Park.
Regarding claim 20, Hong teaches that the initialization voltage within the blank period is configured to increase as the variable frame frequency decreases (¶ 194 and 207, note that when the length of the blank period is long, the frame rate is lower).
Hong does not teach that the initialization voltage increases as a distance of the at least one pixel from an edge of the display panel increases.
Park, however, teaches that the panel driver is configured to increase the initialization voltage within the blank period as a distance of the at least one pixel from an edge of the display panel increases (¶ 170).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hong in view of Park. The references teach pixel circuits including initialization voltages for initializing the pixel circuit and Park further teaches adjusting such a reference voltage according to the distance of a pixel from the drive IC of the initialization voltage. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Hong teaches changing the voltage of the initialization voltage based on a refresh rate of the display device in order to enhance the image quality and Park further teaches that adjusting the reference voltage according to the distance of the pixel from the drive IC would compensate for the voltage drop that occurs due to the distance, thus further improving the accuracy and quality of the display device by providing an accurate initialization voltage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621