DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 2/27/26 is acknowledged. Since the election is made without traverse, the restriction is deemed as proper and therefore made FINAL. Claims 10 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko US 2021/0305048.
Per claim 1, Ko teaches a substrate processing method comprising forming a metal oxide resist film on a substrate including an underlayer (abstract, [0014], [0016]), forming a pattern in the metal oxide resist film (abstract), modifying the metal oxide resist film in which the pattern has been formed [0016]-[0017]; and etching the underlayer by using the metal oxide resist film as a mask [0015].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko US 2021/0305048.
Per claim 2, Ko is silent regarding oxidizing the metal oxide layer. However, it is noted that Ko teaches a metal oxide (a metal that has been oxidized) and also teaches, for example, materials such as SnOx, or other suitable materials that can be chemical amplified resist materials (CAR). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have oxidized the metal resist layer with a reasonable expectation for success and predictable results.
Claim(s) 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko US 2021/0305048 in view of Kuo et al US 2022/0100088.
Per claim 3, Ko is silent regarding the use of hydrogen peroxide or ozone. Kuo teaches a similar process of forming and using metal oxide resist layers comprising using chemical reaction treatments on the resist material [0028], wherein the reaction gas includes ozone or hydrogen peroxide [0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized a hydrogen peroxide or ozone gas to treat the metal resist layer which would result in oxidization as this is the same material and resist layer as claimed, because Kuo teaches that such a process would result in beneficial densification of the layer [0030].
Per claim 4, Kuo teaches a soft bake process (annealing process) [0031].
Per claims 5, 7, Kuo teaches a metal containing precursor and supplying said oxidizing gas to modify the metal oxide resist film [0030], wherein the portion is non-recessed (see Fig. 1-3).
Per claims 6, 8, Ko teaches AlO or SiO [0033].
Per claim 9, the step of shaping the protective film would have been inherent and necessary in order to form the film itself, as this is the intended purpose of the prior art (see Fig. 1-3).
Conclusion
/NATHAN T LEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718