DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/5/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10, it’s not clear as to if the limitation “a battery” is the same or different from the “battery” limitation mentioned in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Odaohara (US 2007/0262651). Regarding claim 1, Odaohara discloses (see fig. 2) a regulation circuit applicable to a battery, comprising: a battery side (side comprising battery 15), configured to be connected to the battery (15); a bus side (side connected to 10), configured to be connected to an external power supply (10); a power module (17/FET2/FET3/inductor/capacitor), configured to regulate a voltage (operation of 17/FET2/FET3/inductor/capacitor) and connected between the battery side and the bus side (connection between 15 and 10); and a control switch group (FET1/FET20/FET4-7), wherein the control switch group comprises: a first control switch (FET1), connected between the bus side and the power module (FET1 connection to 10 and FET2); a second control switch (FET20), connected between the first control switch and the battery side (FET20 connection between FET1 and 15/16); and a third control switch (FET4-5), connected between the power module and the battery side (FET4-5 between 17/FET2/FET3/inductor/capacitor and 15). Regarding claim 2, Odaohara discloses (see fig. 2) that the power module comprises at least one bridge arm (arm comprising FET2/FET3) and at least one inductance element (inductor), and a first end of each inductance element among the at least one inductance element is connected to a corresponding one bridge arm among the at least one bridge arm (connection of inductor to node between FET2/FET3). Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Odaohara discloses (see fig. 2) a regulation system, comprising: a battery (16); and the regulation circuit according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odaohara (US 2007/0262651) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2023/0395890). Regarding claim 8, Odaohara does not disclose a first safety device, connected between the first control switch and the bus side; and/or a second safety device, connected between the second control switch and the battery side, and between the third control switch and the battery side. Zhao et al. discloses (see fig. 3) a first safety device, connected between the first control switch and the bus side (14 connection between 21 and bus comprising the B+ terminal); and/or a second safety device, connected between the second control switch and the battery side, and between the third control switch and the battery side. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Odaohara to include the features of Zhao et al. because it’s used as means to reduce unwanted operations due to transient events, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 9, Odaohara does not disclose a first lightning protection device, wherein an input side of the first lightning protection device is connected to the bus side; and/or a second lightning protection device, wherein an input side of the second lightning protection device is connected to the battery side. Zhao et al. discloses (see fig. 3) a first lightning protection device (14), wherein an input side of the first lightning protection device is connected to the bus side (14 connection B+ terminal of bus); and/or a second lightning protection device, wherein an input side of the second lightning protection device is connected to the battery side. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the circuit of Odaohara to include the features of Zhao et al. because it’s used as means to reduce unwanted operations due to transient events, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lipcsei (US 2008/0100143) discloses a power management system with a charger/boost controller. Greening et al. (US 2009/0325056) discloses a parallel battery architecture with a shared bidirectional converter. Lee et al. (US Patent 7889524) discloses an integrated bi-directional converter for plug-in hybrid electric vehicles.
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838