DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sherrit (US 2021/0300358)
As to claim 1 Sherrit discloses an apparatus for controlling a vehicle exit alarm, the apparatus comprising:
a sensor device including a plurality of sensors configured to detect state information of a vehicle and information about a line and at least one moving object around the vehicle (Paragraph 69 “For example, the one or more environment sensors 122 can be configured to detect and/or sense obstacles in at least a portion of the external environment of the vehicle 100 and/or information/data about such obstacles. Such obstacles may be stationary objects and/or dynamic objects. The one or more environment sensors 122 can be configured to detect, and/or sense other things in the external environment of the vehicle 100, such as, for example, lane markers, signs, traffic lights, traffic signs, lane lines, crosswalks, curbs proximate the vehicle 100, off-road objects, etc.”); and
a controller configured to detect an alarm target moving object within a preset alarm area based on sensor data collected from the plurality of sensors to output an exit alarm when a safety exit warning function is activated when a stopping event occurs while the vehicle is driven (Paragraph 49 “Thus, in one embodiment, when the warning system 160 detects that the vehicle 100 stops, and that a seat belt is unbuckled and/or a door handle is activated, the alert module 224 then generates an alert for a corresponding side/door of the vehicle 100, if conditions for providing an alert are met (e.g., a target is within the activation threshold). In a further aspect, the alert module 224 may provide an alert whenever a hazard is present, and the vehicle 100 is stopped without consideration to aspects relating specifically to the occupant (e.g., seat belt sensor, etc.). It should be appreciated that such an alert is generally not delivered when the vehicle 100 is in motion, although, in various embodiments, a similar mechanism may be employed for collision avoidance detection.”), and
change the alarm area based on location information of the line, the vehicle, and the moving object when the moving object is out of the alarm area(Paragraph 19 “The processor(s) also receives information from sensors regarding other moving objects, referred to as targets. The processor can receive information from the sensors, determine the general widths of the targets, and compare this to the width of the free space. In situations where the width of the target is greater than the width of the free space, the processor(s) may determine that the target will not enter the free space and adjust an activation threshold. The activation threshold indicates a likelihood that the target will enter the free space and present a possible hazard to an exiting occupant. Based on this adjustable threshold, the system may determine that the moving target poses no threat to an occupant exiting the vehicle and therefore does not provide any alert to the occupant on or before exiting the vehicle.”).
As to claim 2 Sherrit discloses an apparatus wherein the controller is configured to define a direction in which the moving object is detected from the vehicle as one side and an opposite direction of the one side as another side, based on lateral positions of the vehicle and the moving object when the stopping event occurs; and
identify, from the sensor data, a first value representing a width of a side lane located in the one side of the vehicle(Fig 3A-3C), a second value representing a width of a stopping lane of the vehicle (Paragraph 29 “304”), a third value representing a distance from a side end of one side of the vehicle to a line located in the one side of the vehicle(Fig 3A-3C), a fourth value representing a width of the moving object (Paragraph 39 “306”), and a fifth value representing a distance from the side end of the one side of the vehicle to a side end of the other side of the moving object based on the lateral positions of the vehicle and the moving object (Paragraph 39), and detect the alarm target moving object based on the identified first to fifth values (Paragraph 46).
As to claim 3 Sherrit discloses an apparatus wherein the controller is configured to determine that the fifth value is a positive number (+) when the fifth value is a lateral distance value in one side direction based on the side end of the one side of the vehicle, and a negative number (−) when the fifth value is a lateral distance value in another side direction (Paragraph 29).
As to claim 4 Sherrit discloses an apparatus wherein the controller is configured to determine that the moving object is located in a side lane area of the vehicle when the fifth value is the positive number (+), a sum of the fourth value and the fifth value exceeds the third value, and the sum of the fourth value and the fifth value is less than a sum of the first value and the third value (Paragraph 40).
As to claim 5 Sherrit discloses an apparatus wherein the controller is configured to change the alarm area based on the sum of the first value and the third value when the moving object, located in the side lane area of the vehicle, is out of the alarm area, and to detect the moving object in a changed area as the alarm target moving object (Paragraph 40).
As to claim 9 Sherrit discloses an apparatus wherein a plurality of sensors includes at least one of a camera that obtains images around the vehicle, a radar, and a lidar (Paragraph 28).
As to claim 10 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherrit (US 2021/0300358) in view of Hoh (US 2021/0225168)
As to claim 6 Hoh teaches an apparatus wherein the controller is configured to determine that the moving object is located in a lane area other than a side lane area of the vehicle and to refrain from outputting the vehicle exit alarm when the fifth value is the positive number (+), a sum of the fourth value and the fifth value exceeds the third value, the sum of the fourth value and the fifth value is equal to or greater than a sum of the first value and the third value (Paragraph 39) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Sherri to include the teachings of refraining from outputting an exit alarm when the object is out of the zone for the purpose of improving safety.
As to claim 7 Hoh teaches an apparatus wherein the controller is configured to calculate a risk level for a corresponding moving object based on the sensor data when the fifth value is the positive number (+) and a sum of the fourth value and the fifth value is less than or equal to the third value, and change the alarm area in order to detect the moving object as the alarm target moving object when the calculated risk level exceeds a preset reference value (Paragraph 33).
As to claim 8 Hoh teaches an apparatus wherein the controller is configured to calculate a risk level for a corresponding moving object based on the sensor data when the fifth value is the negative number (−), and change the alarm area in order to detect the moving object as the alarm target moving object when the calculated risk level exceeds a preset reference value (Paragraph 22).
Conclusion
IMRAN K. MUSTAFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668
1/16/2026