DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis-Step 1
Claims 1, 7,8 are directed to a system, process, and product. Therefore, claims 1, 7, 8 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis-Step2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
1. A remote operation system of remote operation of a plurality of types of mobilities, the remote operation system comprising one or more processors configured to:
acquire operator license information indicating a license each of a plurality of remote operators has for operation of the plurality of types of mobilities;
acquire required capability information indicating at least a required license required for the remote operation of a target mobility; and
assign a first remote operator who has the required license out of the remote operators to the remote operation of the target mobility, based on the operator license information and the required license.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “assign a first remote operator…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
1. A remote operation system of remote operation of a plurality of types of mobilities, the remote operation system comprising one or more processors configured to:
acquire operator license information indicating a license each of a plurality of remote operators has for operation of the plurality of types of mobilities;
acquire required capability information indicating at least a required license required for the remote operation of a target mobility; and
assign a first remote operator who has the required license out of the remote operators to the remote operation of the target mobility, based on the operator license information and the required license.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “acquire operator license information…, acquire required capability information…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (controller) to perform the process. In particular, the acquiring steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering vehicle and road condition data for use in the evaluating step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The remote operation system is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the evaluating step.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a controller to perform the assigning… amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “acquire operator license information…, acquire required capability information…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-6 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-6 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-8 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Igarashi (US 2022/0317683)
As to claim 1 Igarashi discloses a remote operation system of remote operation of a plurality of types of mobilities, the remote operation system comprising one or more processors configured to:
acquire operator license information indicating a license each of a plurality of remote operators has for operation of the plurality of types of mobilities (Paragraph 28 “The operator database 32 is a database in which operator attributes are registered for each operator. The operator attributes include, for example, the age and sex of the operator, and types of licenses the operator has. The types of licenses include, for example, a standard-sized license, a medium-sized license, a large-sized licenses, a large-sized special license, a traction vehicle license, and the like.”);
acquire required capability information indicating at least a required license required for the remote operation of a target mobility(Paragraph 28 “The operator database 32 is a database in which operator attributes are registered for each operator. The operator attributes include, for example, the age and sex of the operator, and types of licenses the operator has. The types of licenses include, for example, a standard-sized license, a medium-sized license, a large-sized licenses, a large-sized special license, a traction vehicle license, and the like.”); and
assign a first remote operator who has the required license out of the remote operators to the remote operation of the target mobility, based on the operator license information and the required license(Paragraph 28-29 “The operator database 32 is a database in which operator attributes are registered for each operator. The operator attributes include, for example, the age and sex of the operator, and types of licenses the operator has. The types of licenses include, for example, a standard-sized license, a medium-sized license, a large-sized licenses, a large-sized special license, a traction vehicle license, and the like.” he matching model 33 is a regression model using evaluation results of operators by users as objective functions and is created based on co-occurrence of user attributes and operator attributes as feature quantities. In the matching model 33, a relationship between user attributes and operator attributes satisfied by a large number of users is statistically modeled. The matching model 33 is updated on the basis of evaluation results of operators by users every time an evaluation result is newly obtained or when predetermined amounts of evaluation results are accumulated.).
As to claim 2 Igarashi discloses a remote operation wherein the one or more processors are configured to
receive a remote operation request indicating a type of the target mobility (Paragraph 30), and
recognize the required license required for the remote operation of the target mobility, based on the type of the target mobility(Paragraph 30).
As to claim 7 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 1.
As to claim 8 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igarashi (US 2022/0317683) in view of Magzimof (US 2020/0062267).
As to claim 3 Magzimof teaches a remote operation system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
acquire operator state information indicating a state of a remote operator (Paragraph 70),
calculate an operator score indicating suitability of the remote operator for the remote operation, based on the operator state information (Paragraph 65), and
select the first remote operator based on the operator score (Paragraph 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Igarashi to include the teachings of calculating an operator score for the purpose of selecting the best operator for remote operation of the vehicle.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igarashi (US 2022/0317683) in view of Hirai (US 2024/0391112)
As to claim 4 Hirai teaches a remote operation system wherein:
the required capability information further indicates a required terminal specification that is a specification required for the remote operation of the target mobility (Paragraph 129, 210); and
the one or more processors are further configured to
acquire terminal specification information indicating specifications of each of a plurality of remote operator terminals(Paragraph 129, 210), and
assign a first remote operator terminal that meets the required terminal specification out of the remote operator terminals to the remote operation of the target mobility, based on the terminal specification information and the required terminal specification(Paragraph 129, 210). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Igrashi to include the teachings of determining terminal specification for the purpose of selecting the appropriate terminal.
As to claim 5 Hirai teaches a remote operation system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive a remote operation request indicating either or both of a type of the target mobility and content of the remote operation of the target mobility (Paragraph 129, 210), and
recognize the required terminal specification required for the remote operation of the target mobility, based on the remote operation request (Paragraph 129, 210).
As to claim 6 Hirai teaches a remote operation system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
acquire terminal state information indicating a state of a remote operator terminal (Paragraph 129, 210).
calculate a terminal score indicating suitability of the remote operator terminal for the remote operation, based on the terminal state information(Paragraph 116), and
select the first remote operator terminal based on the terminal score (Paragraph 116).
Conclusion
IMRAN K. MUSTAFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668
1/23/2026