DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12191852.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for claim 1 of the current application, they merely omit features that is recited in the claim 1 of US Patent No. 12191852 such as “gate terminal of the first type transistor free from receiving a clock signal; the first type transistor is different from the second type transistor and wherein the impedance circuit is free from connecting to the gate terminal of the second type transistor”; for claim 8 of the current application, they merely omit features that is recited in the claim 7 of US Patent No. 12191852 such as “wherein the first type transistor is different from the second type transistor and an impedance between a gate terminal of the first type transistor” and for claim 19 of the current application, they merely omit features that is recited in the claim 18 of US Patent No. 12191852 such as “wherein the first type transistor is different from the second type transistor and an impedance between a gate terminal of the first type transistor”. The omission of the features results in claims that are broader in scope than claims of the Patent. It would have been an obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to remove or not include limitation particularly where the remaining elements of the claimed invention are otherwise identical or substantially similar (see table below).
Instant application 18/97,786
US Patent No.12191852
1. A multiplexing circuit, comprising: a first type transistor, wherein a gate terminal of the first type transistor is configured to receive a control signal and free from receiving a clock signal;
a second type transistor, coupled to the first type transistor, wherein a gate terminal of the second type transistor is configured to receive the clock signal;
and an impedance circuit arranged to provide an impedance between the first type transistor and the second type transistor.
1. A multiplexing circuit, comprising: a first type transistor, wherein a gate terminal of the first type transistor is configured to receive a control signal and free from receiving a clock signal;
a second type transistor, coupled to the first type transistor, wherein a gate terminal of the second type transistor is configured to receive the clock signal, and the first type transistor is different from the second type transistor; and an impedance circuit arranged to provide an impedance between the gate terminal of the first type transistor and the second type transistor, wherein the impedance circuit is free from connecting to the gate terminal of the second type transistor.
8. An output stage of a semiconductor device, coupled to an output port of the semiconductor device for receiving a transmission line and comprising: a multiplexing circuit, comprising: a first type transistor; a second type transistor, coupled to the first type transistor; and an impedance circuit, arranged to provide an impedance between the first type transistor and the second type transistor; an input circuit arranged to receive a first clock signal and a second clock signal, including a sub-output terminal, and the sub-output terminal is connected to a gate terminal of the second type transistor; and a driving circuit, coupled between the multiplexing circuit and the output port.
7. An output stage of a semiconductor device, coupled to an output port of the semiconductor device for receiving a transmission line and comprising: a multiplexing circuit, comprising: a first type transistor; a second type transistor, coupled to the first type transistor, wherein the first type transistor is different from the second type transistor; and an impedance circuit, arranged to provide an impedance between a gate terminal of the first type transistor and the second type transistor; an input circuit arranged to receive a first clock signal and a second clock signal, including a sub-output terminal, and the sub-output terminal is connected to a gate terminal of the second type transistor; and a driving circuit, coupled between the multiplexing circuit and the output port.
19. A semiconductor device, comprising: an output stage, including: a multiplexing circuit, including: a first type transistor; a second type transistor, coupled to the first type transistor; and an impedance circuit, arranged to provide an impedance between the first type transistor and the second type transistor; an input circuit arranged to receive a first clock signal and a second clock signal, including a sub-output terminal, and the sub-output terminal is connected to a gate terminal of the second type transistor; and a driving circuit, coupled to the multiplexing circuit; and an output port, coupled to the driving circuit and configured to receive a transmission line.
18. A semiconductor device, comprising: an output stage, including: a multiplexing circuit, including: a first type transistor; a second type transistor, coupled to the first type transistor, wherein the first type transistor is different from the second type transistor; and an impedance circuit, arranged to provide an impedance between a gate terminal of the first type transistor and the second type transistor; an input circuit arranged to receive a first clock signal and a second clock signal, including a sub-output terminal, and the sub-output terminal is connected to a gate terminal of the second type transistor; and a driving circuit, coupled to the multiplexing circuit; and an output port, coupled to the driving circuit and configured to receive a transmission line.
Claims 2-6, 9-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6, 8-17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12191852.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forbes (US 6597203) in view of in view of Raman et al. (US 6424170 and Raman hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Forbes discloses a multiplexing circuit [figs. 6, 7 and 15], comprising: a first type transistor [604, fig. 6], wherein a gate terminal [gate 604, fig. 6] of the first type transistor is configured to receive a control signal [signal A] and free from receiving a clock signal [CLK]; a second type transistor [610, fig. 6], coupled to the first type transistor, wherein a gate terminal [gate 610] of the second type transistor is configured to receive the clock signal [CLK]. Forbes does not disclose an impedance circuit arranged to provide an impedance between the first type transistor and the second type transistor.
However, Raman discloses [figs. 1 and 3] an impedance circuit [LRB, fig. 3] arranged to provide an impedance between a first type transistor [30, fig. 3] and a second type transistor [20, fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Forbes by incorporating the impedance circuit as taught in Raman in order to provides matching termination that suppresses overshoots and residual noises, and also improves signal quality, timing, and device reliability [cl. 3~cl. 4].
Regarding claim 2, Forbes in view of Raman discloses [fig. 6]: an output terminal [612], coupled between the first type transistor and the second type transistor, wherein the impedance circuit is connected to the output terminal.
Regarding claim 7, Forbes in view of Raman discloses [fig. 6] wherein the impedance circuit is free from connecting to the gate terminal of the second type transistor.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forbes in view of in view of Raman et al.
Regarding claim 5, Forbes in view of Raman discloses all the features with respect to claim 2 as indicated above. Forbes in view of Raman further discloses [fig. 6] wherein the first type transistor is a N-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor [604], a drain terminal of the NMOS is coupled to a first reference voltage [ground], and a source terminal of the NMOS is coupled to the output terminal. Forbes in view of Raman does not explicitly disclose the first type transistor is a P-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor. Although Forbes in view of Raman discloses uses N-type MOSFETs instead of P-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor for the first transistor, the transistor is just different type of transistor and thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one type of transistor for the other in the absence of unexpected results in order to have an optimum working condition for the circuit since this practice is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Forbes in view of Raman discloses all the features with respect to claim 2 as indicated above. Forbes in view of Raman further discloses [fig. 6] wherein the second type transistor is P-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor (PMOS) [610], a drain terminal of the NMOS is coupled to the output terminal, and a source terminal of the NMOS is coupled to a second reference voltage [VDD]. Forbes in view of Raman does not explicitly disclose the second type transistor is N-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor. Although Forbes in view of Raman discloses uses P-type MOSFETs instead of N-type Metal Oxide Semiconductor for the second transistor, the transistor is just different type of transistor and thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one type of transistor for the other in the absence of unexpected results in order to have an optimum working condition for the circuit since this practice is well known in the art.
Conclusion
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842