Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
a. Independent: 1
b. Pending: 1-4
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement has been filed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12190934. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claim limitations of instant application is basically spread over claims 1-7 and 9 of USP’934.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/970,705 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set recite same claim limitations over the above mentioned ranges.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20220270669) in view of Morohashi et al. (US 11152050).
Regarding independent claim 1, Fan discloses a memory (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a memory core (Fig. 1 and [0019] describes memory array 16);
a list storage circuit suitable for storing a weak row list of rows that are vulnerable to a row hammer attack in the memory core (Fig. 1 and [0015] describes logical arithmetic unit 14, connected to an output terminal of seed arithmetic unit 13 and configured to obtain a row hammer refresh address 141 according to the seed address 132, the row hammer refresh address 141 is an adjacent physical address of the seed address 132. Each of the seed arithmetic unit and the logical arithmetic unit may include an arithmetic and logic unit, an accumulator and registers. Here registers are suitable for storing row hammered list);
a sampling circuit suitable for sampling and storing a portion of active addresses used for active operations of the memory core and increasing a sampling probability of an active address corresponding to the rows stored in the list storage circuit among the active addresses; and
a selection circuit suitable for selecting one among the sampled addresses stored in the sampling circuit as a hammered row address in a predetermined order whenever a smart refresh operation is performed (Fig. 1 and [0015] describes a refresh signal 131 as an excitation signal and a pre-decode unit 15, connected to an output terminal of the logical arithmetic unit 14 and configured to receive the row hammer refresh address 141, and convert the row hammer refresh address 141 into a physical address to be used by a memory array of a memory to perform a refresh operation. [0038] and [0042] describes that logical arithmetic unit 14 determines, by default, a +1 physical address and a −1 physical address that are adjacent to the seed address 132 as the row hammer refresh addresses 141, or defaults the +1 physical address, the −1 physical address, a +2 physical address, and a −2 physical address as the row hammer refresh addresses 141. Also, the preset number of times at least includes a first preset number of times and a second present number of times, when the cumulative number of accesses is greater than the first preset number of times but less than the second preset number of times, the row hammer refresh addresses are the +1 physical address and the −1 physical address adjacent to the seed address, when the cumulative number of accesses is greater than or equal to the second preset number of times, the row hammer refresh addresses are the +2 physical address, the +1 physical address, the −1 physical address, and the −2 physical address adjacent to the seed address. That is to say, compared with the seed address 132, an adjacent range of the row hammer refresh address 141 may be adjusted according to the cumulative number of accesses to ensure that the adjacent word line influenced by the row hammer effect may be refreshed timely. These are various predetermined schemes that ).
Fan does not explicitly show a sampling circuit suitable for sampling and storing a portion of active addresses used for active operations of the memory core and increasing a sampling probability of an active address corresponding to the rows stored in the list storage circuit among the active addresses;
However, Morohashi teaches a sampling circuit suitable for sampling and storing a portion of active addresses used for active operations of the memory core and increasing a sampling probability of an active address corresponding to the rows stored in the list storage circuit among the active addresses (Fig. 1 and (23) describes that refresh address control circuit may sample the current row address XADD to determine its characteristics over time. The sampling may occur intermittently, with each sample acquired based on a random or pseudo-random timing. The refresh address control circuit 40 may use different methods to calculate a hammer refresh address based on the sampled row address XADD. Fig. 3 and (31)-(32) elaborates the same concept of sample circuit 341);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Morohashi to Fan in order to provide methods to mitigate row hammer effects by refreshing victim rows which are adjacent or not to the aggressor row as taught by Morohashi (9).
Regarding claim 2, Fan and Morohashi together disclose all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Morohashi further the sampling circuit (Figs. 4-5) includes:
a first random pulse generator suitable for generating a first random pulse; a second random pulse generator suitable for generating a second random pulse that is activated more frequently than the first random pulse (Fig. 5 and (57) describes second refresh cycle generator 500 may generate the second command signal RHRplusEn in response to a number of activations of the first command signal Rhr. The second command signal RHRplusEn in combination with the first command signal Rhr may indicate that a second refresh operation is to take place, different than the refresh operation which is indicated by the first command signal Rhr alone. The first and second command signals may be produced at different rates. The rates at which the first and second command signals are produced may be determined based on the row hammer refresh operation they indicate. As an example, the first command signal Rhr may refresh a row which is adjacent to an identified row hammer and the second command signal RHRplusEn may refresh a row which is non-adjacent to the identified row hammer. In this situation, the adjacent rows may be expected to be more affected by a row hammer effect than the non-adjacent rows, and so Rhr may be produced more frequently than RHRplusEn); and
a register circuit suitable for sampling and storing the row address when an active signal is activated in an activation period of the first random pulse and a row address does not correspond to one among the rows stored in the list storage circuit, and sampling and storing the row address when the active signal is activated in an activation period of the second random pulse and when the row address corresponds to one among the rows stored in the list storage circuit (Fig. 6 and (66)-(67) describes row hammer refresh address HitXADD2. The hammer refresh address HitXADD2 is calculated in response to the first and second command signals Rhr, RHRplusEn based on the currently provided row hammer address HitXADD1. As shown, a row hammer refresh address is calculated for row hammer address ‘A’ when the first command signal Rhr is activated. Since only the first but not second command signals are activated at this point, a first refresh operation is carried out in which adjacent rows to the row corresponding to address A are refreshed, and A+/−1 is output as the hammer refresh address HitXADD2. An address corresponding to A+1 may be output during the refresh signal AREF pulse labeled “1.sup.st RHR”, and an address corresponding to A−1 may be output during the refresh pulse labeled “2.sup.nd RHR”. When both the first and second command signals activate, the address C is the row hammer address HitXADD1, and a second refresh operation causes C+/−2 to be provided as the hammer refresh address HitXADD2. An address corresponding to C+2 may be output during the refresh signal AREF pulse labeled “1.sup.st RHR”, and an address corresponding to C−2 may be output during the pulse labeled “2.sup.nd RHR”. The irregular timing of the first sampling signal S1 means that addresses A and C each have different refresh operations calculated, and address B has none. Various patterns and sequences of address refreshes may be provided based on the operation of the address refresh circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Morohashi to modified Fan in order to provide methods to mitigate row hammer effects by refreshing victim rows which are adjacent or not to the aggressor row as taught by Morohashi (9).
Regarding claim 3, Fan and Morohashi together disclose all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Fan further rows positioned adjacent to the hammered row which is selected by the selection circuit are refreshed during a smart refresh operation of the memory (Fig. 2 and [0044] describes the refresh circuit may send the physical addresses corresponding to the base address N−1 and the base N+1 in the refresh phase to the memory array 16 for the memory array 16 to perform the refresh operation).
Regarding claim 4, Fan and Morohashi together disclose all the elements of claim 1 as above and through Morohashi further the sampling circuit (Fig. 3) includes:
a random pulse generator suitable for generating a random pulse signal (Fig. 3 and (44) describes cycle generator 348 periodically outputs a first command signal Rhr or a second command signal RHRplusEn); and
a register circuit suitable for sampling and storing a row address which is used for an active operation based on the random pulse signal (Fig. 3 and (45) describes refresh address generator 347 that updates the current automatic refresh address Pre_RXADD to a next address),
wherein the register circuit samples the row address once whenever the random pulse signal pulses X times, where X is an integer equal to or greater than 1, when the row address corresponds to one among the rows stored in the list storage circuit, and samples the row address once whenever the random pulse signal pulses Y times, where Y>X, and Y is an integer greater than X, when the row address does not correspond to one among the rows stored in the list storage circuit (Fig. 6 and (66)-(67)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to apply the teachings of Morohashi to modified Fan in order to provide methods to mitigate row hammer effects by refreshing victim rows which are adjacent or not to the aggressor row as taught by Morohashi (9).
Conclusion
/SULTANA BEGUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 8/13/2026