DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 28, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,203,745. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated.
12,203,745 18/970,907
1. (Allowed) A 3D metrology system for determining a topography of a surface of a powder bed of a powder bed fusion type 3D printer, the system comprising:
a fringe projection system that projects a set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns on a surface of a powder bed simultaneously, each one of the fringe patterns in the set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns being generated by a different wavelength than each of the other fringe patterns in the set to provide a composite multi-fringe projection projected on the surface;
an imaging system that collects at least one of reflected and scattered light from the composite multi-fringe projection projected on the surface to provide imaging data;
and a processing system configured to: determine a phase map of the surface from the imaging data;
and determine a topography of the surface based on the phase map.
1. (New) A 3D printer system comprising:
a fringe projection system that includes an optical system configured to project a fringe pattern on a surface of an object at an oblique angle to the surface via the optical system;
an imaging system that includes at least one optical member configured to collect at least one of reflected and scattered light from the fringe projected on the surface via the at least one optical member to provide imaging data;
and a processing system configured to: determine a phase map of the surface from the imaging data;
and determine a topography of the surface based on the phase map.
2. (Allowed) The 3D metrology system of claim 1, wherein each fringe pattern in the set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns has a different fringe phase, and wherein a known phase difference exists between each of the fringe patterns in the set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns.
3. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein the fringe projection system is configured to project a set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns on the surface of the object.
4. (New) The system of claim 3, wherein the set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns have a known phase difference.
3. (Allowed) The 3D metrology system of claim 1, wherein the composite multi-fringe projection is generated by five different wavelengths.
5. (New) The system of claim 3, wherein the set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns are generated by at least five different wavelengths.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Optical system configured to (Claim 1, 9)
One optical member configured to (Claim 1, 7, 9)
Processing system configured to (Claim 1, 9)
A driver configured to (Claim 2, 11)
Fringe projection system configured to (Claim 3, 12)
Imaging system is configured to (Claim 6, 10)
A drive device configured to (Claim 8, 15)
A powder supply device configured to (Claim 8, 15)
An irradiation device configured to (Claim 8, 15)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2019513577 A.
Claim 1
JP 2019513577 A discloses a 3D printer system comprising (See Translation, Page 7): a fringe projection system (See Page 73) that includes an optical system configured to project a fringe pattern (Fig. 3, 4, Ref. 317, 417) on a surface of an object (Fig. 3, 4, Ref. 308, 408) at an oblique angle (See Figs. 3-4) to the surface via the optical system; an imaging system that includes at least one optical member (Fig. 3, 4, Ref. 318, 418) configured to collect at least one of reflected and scattered (See Page 39) light from the fringe (See Page 73) projected on the surface (Fig. 3, 4, Ref. 308, 408) via the at least one optical member to provide imaging data (See Page 46); and a processing system (See Page 24) configured to: determine a phase map of the surface from the imaging data (See Page 85); and determine a topography of the surface based on the phase map (See Page 40).
Claim 2
JP 2019513577 A discloses a driver (from controller) configured to move at least one of the object and the fringe projection system (See Pages 24, 80).
Claim 3
JP 2019513577 A discloses the fringe projection system is configured to project a set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns (overlapping tiles) on the surface of the object (See Page 24; overlapping tiles).
Claim 6
JP 2019513577 A discloses the imaging system (Fig. 3, Ref. 318) is configured to collect the at least one of reflected and scattered light from the surface (Fig. 3, Ref. 308) at an angle that is different from an angle of the projected fringe illuminated (Fig. 3, Ref. 317) on the surface (See the different angles in Fig. 3).
Claim 7
JP 2019513577 A discloses the at least one optical member of the imaging system includes an entrance optical member (Fig. 33, Ref. 3315; window), and wherein an optical axis of the entrance optical member (Fig. 33, Ref. 3315) is inclined at an angle (@ 180 degrees) that is different from an angle of the projected fringe (Fig. 33, Ref. 3321) illuminated on the surface (See Fig. 33, Light is projected on surface Ref. 3317 at @ 45 degrees).
Claim 8
JP 2019513577 A discloses a support device including a support surface (Fig. 3, Ref. 309); a drive device configured to move the support device such that a specific position on the support surface is moved along a moving direction (See Page 69; target surface may be translated vert, horizon, or angularly); a powder supply device configured to supply a powder to the moving support device to form a powder layer (See Page 5; Pages 72-73; layer dispensing mechanism); and an irradiation device (Fig. 3, Ref. 325) configured to irradiate at least a portion of the powder layer (Fig. 3, Ref. 308) with an energy beam to form at least a portion of a build object from the powder layer (See Page 37), wherein the fringe projection system projects (Fig. 3, Ref. 317) the fringe pattern on a surface of the powder layer (Fig. 3, Ref. 308).
Claim 9
JP 2019513577 A discloses a 3D printer system (See Translation, Page 7) comprising: a fringe projection system (See Page 73) that includes an optical system configured to project a fringe pattern (Fig. 3, 4, Ref. 317, 417) on a surface of an object (Fig. 3, 4, Ref. 308, 408); an imaging system that includes at least one optical member (Fig. 3, 4, Ref. 318, 418) configured to collect at least one of reflected and scattered (See Page 39) light from the fringe projected (See Page 73) on the surface to provide imaging data (See Page 46), the at least one optical member of the imaging system including an entrance optical member (Fig. 33, Ref. 3315; window), and an optical axis of the entrance optical member (Fig. 33, Ref. 3315) inclined at an angle (@ 180 degrees) that is different from an angle of the projected fringe (Fig. 33, Ref. 3321) illuminated on the surface (See Fig. 33, Light is projected on surface Ref. 3317 at @ 45 degrees); and a processing system (See Page 24) configured to: determine a phase map of the surface from the imaging data (See Page 85); and determine a topography of the surface based on the phase map (See Page 40).
Claim 10
JP 2019513577 A discloses the imaging system (Fig. 3, Ref. 318) is configured to collect the at least one of reflected and scattered light from the surface (Fig. 3, Ref. 308) at an angle that is different from an angle of the projected fringe illuminated (Fig. 3, Ref. 317) on the surface (See the different angles in Fig. 3).
Claim 11
JP 2019513577 A discloses a driver (from controller) configured to move at least one of the object and the fringe projection system (See Pages 24, 80).
Claim 12
JP 2019513577 A discloses the fringe projection system is configured to project a set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns (overlapping tiles) on the surface of the object (See Page 24; overlapping tiles).
Claim 15
JP 2019513577 A discloses a support device including a support surface (Fig. 3, Ref. 309); a drive device configured to move the support device such that a specific position on the support surface is moved along a moving direction (See Page 69; target surface may be translated vert, horizon, or angularly); a powder supply device configured to supply a powder to the moving support device to form a powder layer (See Page 5; Pages 72-73; layer dispensing mechanism); and an irradiation device (Fig. 3, Ref. 325) configured to irradiate at least a portion of the powder layer (Fig. 3, Ref. 308) with an energy beam to form at least a portion of a build object from the powder layer (See Page 37), wherein the fringe projection system projects (Fig. 3, Ref. 317) the fringe pattern on a surface of the powder layer (Fig. 3, Ref. 308).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019513577 A.
Claim 4, 13
JP 2019513577 A discloses the claimed invention except for the set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns have a known phase difference. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify JP 2019513577 A with known phase differences since it was well known in the art that overlapping fringe patterns with a known phase difference allows the system to accurately measure surface height, therefore improving clarity of the measured image. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 5, 14
JP 2019513577 A discloses the claimed invention except for the set of spatially overlapping fringe patterns are generated by at least five different wavelengths. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify JP 2019513577 A with a least five different wavelengths for overlapping patterns since it was well known in the art that using different wavelengths gives the computer much more data to build a highly accurate 3D height map, ensuring the part is perfectly flat and dense. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 July 22, 2026