DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation that recites “Mapping sub-band differential CQI value to offset level in Release 17” recited in line 1-2 is vague and indefinite because the claim refers to 3GPP standard and not clear what is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by ABOTABL et al (US 2022/0416867 A1, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, ABOTABL et al (US 2022/0416867 A1) discloses a first node (fig. 6, UE 604 receives CSI-RSs from then bases station 602,, fig. 3, UE 350 that includes see, the receives reference signal in the set of DL resources and generates channel state feedback (CSF) report to the bases station in response, section 0013, see, the base station 102/180 transmits CSI reference signal (RS) in the set of DL resource to the UE, the UE determines a channel quality based on the receives CSI-RS, section 0057-0058) for wireless communications (see, the transmits the determined channel quality to the base station, section 0056-0059), comprising: a first receiver (fig. 1, fig. 6, UE 104 which receives CSI-RS from the base station 102/180, section 0051, 0053-0059, fig. 3, RF transceiver 354 with antennas 352 through which the UE receives signals, section 0068-0071), receiving a first reference signal (see, the UE receives CSI-RS from the base station, section 0057-0059); and a first transmitter (fig. 1, fig. 3, UE 350 310 that includes Rx/TX transceiver 354 with antennas 354, section 0069-0071), transmitting first channel information (see, CSI-RS in DL resources/, determined channel quality based on the CSI-RS, section 0057-0059, 0136-0137) and a first CQI set (see, CSI-RS /CSI associated with CQIs, section 0136-0137); wherein a measurement (section 0113-0114-measurments of the CSI-RS) of the first reference signal (see, the UE transmits CSF/channel quality based on the CSI-RS to the base station, section 0108-0111) is used to generate the first channel information and the first CQI set (see, the UE reports CSI values based on CSI-0RS received in the DL signal, section 0121); the first CQI set includes at least one CQI (section 0123-CQI offset tables, sub-band CQI reporting, the UE reports average quality value, section 0123-0124), each of the at least one CQI indicating one CQI index in a target CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, see, sub-band differential values and sub-band CQI offset values which may be determined on generation of new offset level table, section 0123-0124), the target CQI table being related to a type of the first channel information (see, CSI/Channel state feedback provide an indication of different RI or PMI for different subbands, section 0123-0124), the type of the first channel information being one of PMI (see, CSI/Channel state feedback provide an indication of different RI or PMI for different subbands, section 0123-0124) or a first type (see, CSI for a wideband bandwidth, the UE determines one or more of an RI, PMI for each sub-band of a plurality of sub-bands, section 0106-0108), the first type being non-codebook based (see, the CSF based on non-codebook, the CSF that relates CQI index, the CSF includes CSI for each of the plurality of sub-bands, section 0220-0221, 0231); when the type of the first channel information is PMI, the target CQI table is a first CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, Offset tables that includes new or modified offset level table with CQI values section 0123-0124) ; when the type of the first channel information is the first type (see, CQI, RI and PMI transmitted in CSF, section 0123-0124), the target CQI table is a second CQI table (see, in CSI offset tables, new offset level table associated with different CQI values/indexes, section 0123-0124).
Regarding claim 2, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in comprising: the first transmitter, transmitting a first wideband CQI (section 0108-the UE determines one or more of an RI, PMI , CQI and/or or other CSI for wideband bandwidth, section 0108-0109); wherein the first wideband CQI is for a first frequency-domain resource, the first frequency-domain resource including multiple sub-bands (see, CSI for each sub-band of a plurality of sub-bands of the DL resources, section 01085-0111, 0133, 0193-time domain), the at least one CQI being multiple CQIs, the multiple CQIs being respectively used to indicate differential values between indexes of CQIs of the multiple sub-bands (see, sub-bands for the wideband, section 0134-0135) and the first wideband CQI (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, differential values for each of the sub-band, section 0123-0124).
Regarding claim 3, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that a number of CQI values included in the second CQI table is greater than a number of CQI values included in the first CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B shows table 910 is greater than the values of the table 900, section 0123-0124, 0121-0122).
Regarding claim 4, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that a number of CQI values included in the second CQI table is equal to a number of CQI values included in the first CQI table (section 0123-0124-the CI tables cand be modified).
Regarding claim 5, ABOTABL ‘867discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the second CQI table includes a first CQI value; for any CQI in the first CQI set, when the any CQI is the first CQI value, the first channel information is unavailable for a sub-band that the any CQI corresponds to (fig. 9A to fig. 9B,CQI tables, CQIs in the channel state feedback, section 0121-0124, 0171-0172).
Regarding claim 6, ABOTABL ‘867discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is PMI, CQIs in the first CQI set are calculated conditioned on a precoding matrix indicated by the first channel information (see, PMI for different sub-bands included in the channel state feedback (CSF), then UE reports PMIs, section 0121-0124); when the type of the first channel information is the first type, a measurement of the first reference signal is used to generate a first channel matrix, the first channel matrix being used to generate the first CQI set, the first channel matrix being available only for the first node (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, the reports CQI values and modified for the sub-band CQI offset values determined based on the generation of new offset level table, section 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 8, ABOTABL ‘867discloses the first node according to claim 6, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type, the first channel matrix is used together with a first amount of adjustment to calculate CQIs included in the first CQI set (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, the reports CQI values and modified for the sub-band CQI offset values determined based on the generation of new offset level table, section 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 9, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first CQI table corresponds to Mapping sub-band differential CQI value to offset level in Release 17, while the second CQI table corresponds to Mapping sub-band differential CQI value to offset level in versions after Release 17(fig. 9A to fig. 9B, multiple CQI tables with differential CQI values, section 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 10, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the second CQI table includes index(es) corresponding to indication(s) for one or more sub-bands not applicable to the first CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, see, CQI values associated with a plurality of sub-bands, section 0121-0124, the UE generates CSF to indicate a number of Ris, PMIs, number of CQIs for different sub-bands, section 0171-0172).
Regarding claim 11, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that any CQI in the first CQI set is a sub-band CQI (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, see, CQI values associated with a plurality of sub-bands, section 0121-0124, the UE generates CSF to indicate a number of Ris, PMIs, number of CQIs for different sub-bands, section 0171-0172).
Regarding claim 12, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the second CQI table is related to a Category of the first node, or the second CQI table is related to a type of the first node (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, section 0121-0124, the UE generates CSFs that include CQIs for different sub-bands, section 0121-0124, 0169-0172).
Regarding claim 13, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 2, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the PMI (see, CSI/Channel state feedback provide an indication of different RI or PMI for different subbands, section 0123-0124), the first channel information is used to indicate a target offset value in the first CQI table (see, the new offset table that includes differential CQI values for each of the subband, section 0123-0124, 0221-0122, 0171-00172), each one of multiple CQI indexes corresponding to the multiple CQIs being equal to a sum of the target offset value and a CQI index corresponding to the first wideband CQI (see, wideband CQI indicative of an average quality over the entire DL bands, level of variation among the CQI values, section 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 15, ABOTBL ‘867 discloses first node according to claim 5, characterized in that the first channel information is unavailable for a sub-band that the any CQI corresponds to, meaning that the any CQI is not used to represent a sub-band CQI of the sub-band that the any CQI corresponds to (see, the interference threshold decreases, the wideband and sub-band CQI values are identified and reported differently, section 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 16, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses, the first node according to claim 5, characterized in that the first channel information is unavailable for a sub-band that the any CQI corresponds to, meaning that when the first channel information is used to indicate the first CQI value in the second CQI table, the first CQI set is not used to represent a sub-band CQI of the sub-band that the any CQI corresponds to (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, section 0121-0124, the UE generates CSFs that include CQIs for different sub-bands, modified of the CQI table section 0121-0124, 0169-0172).
Regarding claim 18, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses the first node according to claim 8, characterized in that an application of the first amount of adjustment causes the CQIs included in the first CQI set to be reduced or unchanged (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, the reports CQI values and modified for the sub-band CQI offset values determined based on the generation of new offset level table, section 0121-0124, 0125-reducing signal overhead).
Regarding claim 19, ABOTABL ‘867 discloses a second node (fig. 3, base station 310 coupled to a UE 350, see, the base station 102/180 transmits CSI reference signal (RS) in the set of DL resource to the UE, the UE determines a channel quality based on the receives CSI_RS, section 0057-0058) for wireless communications (see, the base station receives CSF that include CQI values based on reference signal on the DL resources transmitted to the UE, section 0054-0058), comprising: a second transmitter (fig. 1, fig. 3, base station 310 that includes transmitter 318 with antennas 320/318,. Section 0069-0071),, transmitting a first reference signal (see, the base station transmits CSI reference signal in the set of DL resources to the UE, the then determines channel state feedback (CSF) based on the channel quality associated with the set of the DL resources, section 0054-0059); and a second receiver (fig. 1, fig. 3, base station 310 that includes RX 356/RF transceiver with antenna 356, coupled to controller/processor 359 with antennas 320/318, Section 0069-0071), receiving first channel information (see, the base station 102/180 receives the information indicated CSF that is based on the channel quality associated with set of DL resources0054-0059) and a first CQI set (see, CSI-RS /CSI associated with CQIs, section 0136-0137); wherein a measurement (section 0113-0114-measurments of the CSI-RS) of the first reference signal (see, the UE transmits CSF/channel quality based on the CSI-RS to the base station, section 0108-0111) is used to generate the first channel information and the first CQI set (see, the UE reports CSI values based on CSI-0RS received in the DL signal, section 0121); the first CQI set includes at least one CQI (section 0123-CQI offset tables, sub-band CQI reporting, the UE reports average quality value, section 0123-0124), each of the at least one CQI indicating one CQI index in a target CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, see, sub-band differential values and sub-band CQI offset values which may be determined on generation of new offset level table, section 0123-0124), the target CQI table being related to a type of the first channel information (see, CSI/Channel state feedback provide an indication of different RI or PMI for different subbands, section 0123-0124), the type of the first channel information being one of PMI (see, CSI/Channel state feedback provide an indication of different RI or PMI for different subbands, section 0123-0124) or a first type (see, CSI for a wideband bandwidth, the UE determines one or more of an RI, PMI for each sub-band of a plurality of sub-bands, section 0106-0108), the first type being non-codebook based (see, the CSF based on non-codebook, the CSF that relates CQI index, the CSF includes CSI for each of the plurality of sub-bands, section 0220-0221, 0231); when the type of the first channel information is PMI, the target CQI table is a first CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, Offset tables that includes new or modified offset level table with CQI values section 0123-0124) ; when the type of the first channel information is the first type (see, CQI, RI and PMI transmitted in CSF, section 0123-0124), the target CQI table is a second CQI table (see, in CSI offset tables, new offset level table associated with different CQI values/indexes, section 0123-0124).
Regarding claim 20, a method (fig. 6, UE 604 receives CSI-RSs from then bases station 602,, fig. 3, UE 350 that includes see, the receives reference signal in the set of DL resources and generates channel state feedback (CSF) report to the bases station in response, section 0013, see, the base station 102/180 transmits CSI reference signal (RS) in the set of DL resource to the UE, the UE determines a channel quality based on the receives CSI-RS, section 0057-0058) in a first node (fig. 3 UE 350 coupled to bases station 310, fig. 6, the UE receives CSI-RSs from the base station to the UE, 0100-0114) for wireless communications (fig. 6, UE 604 receives CSI-RSs from then bases station 602,, fig. 3, UE 350 that includes see, the receives reference signal in the set of DL resources and generates channel state feedback (CSF) report to the bases station in response, section 0013, see, the base station 102/180 transmits CSI reference signal (RS) in the set of DL resource to the UE, the UE determines a channel quality based on the receives CSI-RS, section 0057-0058, comprising: receiving (fig. 1, fig. 6, UE 104 which receives CSI-RS from the base station 102/180, section 0051, 0053-0059, fig. 3, RF transceiver 354 with antennas 352 through which the UE receives signals, section 0068-0071) a first reference signal (see, the UE receives CSI-RS from the base station, the UE generates CSF report and transmits it to the base station,, section 0057-0059, 0101-0114); and transmitting first channel information (see, CSI-RS in DL resources/, determined channel quality based on the CSI-RS, section 0057-0059, 0136-0137) and a first CQI set (see, CSI-RS /CSI associated with CQIs, section 0136-0137); wherein a measurement (section 0113-0114-measurments of the CSI-RS) of the first reference signal (see, the UE transmits CSF/channel quality based on the CSI-RS to the base station, section 0108-0111) is used to generate the first channel information and the first CQI set (see, the UE reports CSI values based on CSI-0RS received in the DL signal, section 0121); the first CQI set includes at least one CQI (section 0123-CQI offset tables, sub-band CQI reporting, the UE reports average quality value, section 0123-0124), each of the at least one CQI indicating one CQI index in a target CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, see, sub-band differential values and sub-band CQI offset values which may be determined on generation of new offset level table, section 0123-0124), the target CQI table being related to a type of the first channel information (see, CSI/Channel state feedback provide an indication of different RI or PMI for different subbands, section 0123-0124), the type of the first channel information being one of PMI (see, CSI/Channel state feedback provide an indication of different RI or PMI for different subbands, section 0123-0124) or a first type (see, CSI for a wideband bandwidth, the UE determines one or more of an RI, PMI for each sub-band of a plurality of sub-bands, section 0106-0108), the first type being non-codebook based (see, the CSF based on non-codebook, the CSF that relates CQI index, the CSF includes CSI for each of the plurality of sub-bands, section 0220-0221, 0231); when the type of the first channel information is PMI, the target CQI table is a first CQI table (fig. 9A to fig. 9B, Offset tables that includes new or modified offset level table with CQI values section 0123-0124) ; when the type of the first channel information is the first type (see, CQI, RI and PMI transmitted in CSF, section 0123-0124), the target CQI table is a second CQI table (see, in CSI offset tables, new offset level table associated with different CQI values/indexes, section 0123-0124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABOTABL et al (US 2022/0416867 A1) in view of Beluri et al (US 2025/0038816 A1, Provisional application No. 63/284,404, filed on November 30, 2021).
ABOTABL ‘867 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7, the first node according to claim 6, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type, the first channel matrix is an output obtained after inputting the first channel information to a first reference decoder, the first reference decoder being available only for the first node.
Regarding claim 17, first node according to claim 7, characterized in that the first reference decoder is AI (i.e., artificial intelligence)-based.
However, Beluri et al (US 2025/0038816 A1, Provisional application No. 63/284,404, filed on November 30, 2021) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 7, the first node according to claim 6, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type, the first channel matrix (fig. 3, Precoding Matrix, section )is an output obtained after inputting the first channel information to a first reference decoder (see, the WTRU that is configured to AI/ML-based CSI compression, the WTRU selects to process CSI measurements submitted to AI encoder, section 0088, the gNB performs inverse operation using AI decode to reconstruct the original CSI from the receives compressed CSI, the AI NN encoder and decode of an autoencoder may be jointly trained, section 0111), the first reference decoder being available only for the first node (section 0134-0135-the WTRU AI/ML autoencoder-based CSI feedback, the AI/decoder, AI NN, section 0141-0143, 0249).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify channel measurement based on CSI-RS where the CQI tables are modified to obtains a new offset level table as ABOTABKL ‘867 by incorporating the AI-based encoder and decoder into the UE/first node to compress the CSI feedback using model for CSI compression as taught by Beluri ‘816. The motivation would have been to reduce the CSI overhead and improve CSI quality as suggested in section 0085.
Regarding claim 17, first node according to claim 7, characterized in that the first reference decoder is AI (i.e., artificial intelligence)-based (section 0111, 0134-0135, 0141-0143, 0249-discloses AI-based decoder, the WTRU processing first pre-processing type, section 0249-0251).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify channel measurement based on CSI-RS where the CQI tables are modified to obtains a new offset level table as ABOTABKL ‘867 by incorporating the AI-based encoder and decoder into the UE/first node to compress the CSI feedback using model for CSI compression as taught by Beluri ‘816. The motivation would have been to reduce the CSI overhead and improve CSI quality as suggested in section 0085.
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fails to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type, the first channel information is used to indicate a target offset value in the second CQI table, each one of multiple CQI indexes corresponding to the multiple CQIs being equal to a sum of the target offset value and a CQI index corresponding to the first wideband CQI: or, when the type of the first channel information is the first type, the first channel information is used to indicate that a target offset value indicated in the second CQI table is not applicable to a sub-band within the first frequency-domain bandwidth and outside of the multiple sub-bands.”
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Froberg Olsson et al (US 2024/0291587 A1) discloses CQIs reporting for different sub-bands relating to differential CQI table (section 0046, 0124, 0143).
LOGOTHETIS et al (US 2023/0388994 A1) discloses wideband CQIs reporting using CSI reporting Table listing of CQIs relating to each sub-band (section 0099-0129) and lookup tables arranged as an offset table (section 0132-0139).
Levitsky et al (US 2021/0385818 A1) discloses generating channel state feedback 9CSF) report based on receives CSI-RS resources by a UE, the UE determines a value for a PMI, RI, CQI, differential CQI value relative to an offset to the wideband CQI, the offset levels are in a table (section 0111-0152+).
Khan Beigi et al (US 2026/0019124 A1) discloses CSI reporting , beam prediction based on Ai/ML models, reporting of CSI parameters (e.g., PMI, CQI) for channel resource indicators, reporting, WTRU reports include an indication that an AI/ML encoding or decoding (section 0075-0221)
ZHANG et al (US 2026/0031879 A1, PCT/CN2023/086724, filed on April 6, 2023) discloses AI/LM-based CSI reconstruction model of AIML-based CSI reconstruction with respect to AI/ML-based CSI generation, the AI/ML-based CSI generation/CQI is composed of precoding matrix information, rank indicator, layer indicator, and channel resource indicator (section 0009-0010, 0053-0600+).
Park et al (US 2024/0340677 A1, Foreign Priority: April 5, 2023 discloses CSI reporting based on CSI-reportconfig associated with a CQI-Table (section 0182-0189).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473