CTNF 18/971,171 CTNF 80476 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto- processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 43, 44, 47-50, 53-56, 59 and 60 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12200071 Landais et al hereinafter Landais . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Referring to Claim 43. Landais discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor, and (refer to Claim 1) at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (refer to Claim 1), cause the apparatus to perform: sending, to a network repository function (NRF), a network function (NF) discovery request for identifications of all NF service producers which are registered in the NFR and satisfy a query condition (refer to Claim 1); receiving, based on the sending, from the NRF, a NF discovery response including the identifications of all of the NF service producers which are registered in the NRF and satisfy the query condition (refer to Claim 1); requesting, using the identifications that are received, each NF service producer of the NF service producers identified by the identifications received from the NRF, to provide a NF service (refer to Claim 1). Referring to Claim 44. The apparatus according to claim 43, Landais discloses wherein the NF discovery request includes a query parameter indication that the identifications of all of the NF service producers satisfying the query condition are requested to be returned to the apparatus (refer to claim 1). Referring to Claim 47. The apparatus according to claim 43, Landais discloses wherein the query conditions comprise that the NF service producer serves a tracking area and the NF service producer serves an emergency area (refer to Claim 1). Referring to Claim 48. The apparatus according to claim 43, Landais discloses wherein the wherein the instructions comprise instructions of a proxy function (refer to Claim 1). Referring to Claim 49, 50, 53-56, 59 and 60, Claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 43, 44, 47, and 48 . 08-34 AIA Claim s 45, 46, 51, 52, 57, and 58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12200071 Landais et al hereinafter Landais in view of Trivisonno hereinafter Trivisonno (WO 2020169174) . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Referring to Claim 45. The apparatus according to claim 43, Landais discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: determining reception of a fan-out request from a network function, wherein the fan-out request comprises the query condition, a query parameter, and an indication of the NF service requested (refer to Claim 1); and Trivisonno discloses wherein the sending, is based on the fan-out request and comprises sending, to each respective NRFs of a plurality of NRFs, a NF discovery request for identifications of all NF service producers which are registered in the respective NFR of the plurality of NRFs and satisfy the query condition (NRF in Trivisonno can have more than one unit/more than one NFRs, refer to pg 11, Lines 8-12 and pg 17, Lines 1-12, therefore, when proxy forward the request to NRF, it is to all NRFs, refer to pg 17, Lines 3-4); wherein the receiving comprises receiving, from each respective NFRs of the plurality of NRFs, a respective NF discovery response including identifications of all of the NF service producers which are registered in a respective one NRF of the plurality of NRFs and satisfy the query condition (refer to pg 17, Lines 1-20, NRF in Trivisonno can have more than one unit/more than one NFRs, refer to pg 11, Lines 8-12 and pg 17, Lines 1-12, therefore, when proxy forward the request to NRF, it is to all NRFs, refer to pg 17, Lines 3-4); and wherein the requesting comprises requesting, using the identifications that are received from the plurality of NRF, each NF service producer identified by the identifications that are received from the plurality of NRFs, to provide the NF service (refer to pg 17, Lines 14-19 and pg 19, Lines 20-30). Referring to Claim 46. The apparatus according to claim 45, Trivisonno further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform, for each NF service producer of the NF service producers identified by the identifications that are received from the plurality of NRFs: determining, after the sending, a respective response indication is received from a respective NF service producer of the NF service producers (refer to pg 17, Lines 1-20); forwarding the respective response indication to the network function from which the fan-out request was received (refer to pg 19, Lines 6-10). Referring to Claims 51, 52, 57 and 58, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 45 and 46 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 43-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trivisonno hereinafter Trivisonno (WO 2020169174) in view of Sennett et al hereinafter Sennett (US 20170127261) . Referring to Claim 43. Trivisonno discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor (pg 7, Lines 2), and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (pg 29, lines 20-25), cause the apparatus to perform: sending, to a network repository function (NRF), a network function (NF) discovery request for identifications of all NF service producers which are registered in the NFR and satisfy a query condition (refer to pg 15, Lines 15-16 and 25-26: SCP received the query information to discover all NF service producers via NRF, pg 16, Lines 29- pg 17, Lines 5); receiving, based on the sending, from the NRF, a NF discovery response including the identifications of all of the NF service producers which are registered in the NRF and satisfy the query condition (SCP received requested information, refer to pg 16, Lines 9-16 and Lines 29- pg 17, Lines 5); requesting, using the identifications that are received, each NF service producer of the NF service producers identified by the identifications received from the NRF, to provide a NF service (requesting for the NF subscription status, and requesting different type of information, pg 16, Lines 18 – 28 and pg 17, Lines 30-35). Although Trivisonno disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, Trivisonno did not explicitly disclosing request each of NF service producer to provide a NF service. Sennett, in analogous art, discloses requesting, using the identifications that are received, each NF service producer of the NF service producers identified by the identifications received from the NRF, to provide a NF service (relay service center forward identify the appropriate emergency call center and from emergency call center/PSAP, will determine how to route and to establish the communication from wireless device to the appropriate emergency call center, and to request information, refer to par 0020, 0022, 0029). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Trivisonno with Sennett because Sennett’s teaching allows the quick response with any type of emergency form of communication formats. Referring to Claim 44. Trivisonno with Sennett disclosed the apparatus according to claim 43, Trivisonno discloses wherein the NF discovery request includes a query parameter indication that the identifications of all of the NF service producers satisfying the query condition are requested to be returned to the apparatus (discovery request includes the parameters which capable to identify all the NF service producers - refer to pg 16 Lines 28 – pg 17, Lines 12). Referring to Claim 45. Trivisonno with Sennett disclosed the apparatus according to claim 43, Trivisonno discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: determining reception of a fan-out request from a network function, wherein the fan-out request comprises the query condition, a query parameter, and an indication of the NF service requested (refer to pg 15, Lines 24- pg 16, Lines 2 and to discover all NF service producers, refer to pg 17. Lines 1-3); and wherein the sending, is based on the fan-out request and comprises sending, to each respective NRFs of a plurality of NRFs, a NF discovery request for identifications of all NF service producers which are registered in the respective NFR of the plurality of NRFs and satisfy the query condition (NRF in Trivisonno can have more than one unit/more than one NFRs, refer to pg 11, Lines 8-12 and pg 17, Lines 1-12, therefore, when proxy forward the request to NRF, it is to all NRFs, refer to pg 17, Lines 3-4); wherein the receiving comprises receiving, from each respective NFRs of the plurality of NRFs, a respective NF discovery response including identifications of all of the NF service producers which are registered in a respective one NRF of the plurality of NRFs and satisfy the query condition (pg 17, Lines 14-19 and pg 19, Lines 20-30); and wherein the requesting comprises requesting, using the identifications that are received from the plurality of NRF, each NF service producer identified by the identifications that are received from the plurality of NRFs, to provide the NF service (refer to refer to pg 16, lines 18-27, pg 17, Lines 14-19 and pg 19, Lines 20-3). Referring to Claim 46. Trivisonno with Sennett disclosed the apparatus according to claim 45, Trivisonno discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform, for each NF service producer of the NF service producers identified by the identifications that are received from the plurality of NRFs: determining, after the sending, a respective response indication is received from a respective NF service producer of the NF service producers (refer to pg 17, Lines 1-17); forwarding the respective response indication to the network function from which the fan-out request was received (refer to pg 17, Lines 1-10). Referring to Claim 47. Trivisonno with Sennett disclosed the apparatus according to claim 43, Trivisonno discloses wherein the query conditions comprise that the NF service producer serves a tracking area and the NF service producer serves an emergency area (tracking and serving area of interest, refer to pg 3, Lines 1-5). Sennett discloses the NF service producer serves an emergency area (refer to par 0037: call center for that particular emergency area). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Trivisonno with Sennett because Sennett’s teaching allows the quick response with any type of emergency form of communication formats. Referring to Claim 48. Trivisonno with Sennett disclosed the apparatus according to claim 43, Trivisonno discloses wherein the wherein the instructions comprise instructions of a proxy function (instruction for SCP/proxy to execute, refer to pg 17, lines 1-12). Referring to Claims 49-60, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 43-48. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAREN C TANG whose telephone number is (571)272-3116. The examiner can normally be reached on 7am - 4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joon H Hwang can be reached on (571) 272-4036. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 2 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 3 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 4 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 5 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 6 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 7 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 8 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 9 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 10 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 11 Art Unit: 2447 Application/Control Number: 18/971,171 Page 12 Art Unit: 2447