DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 08/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search for the subject matter of any one species would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining species. This is not found persuasive because, as set forth in the requirement for restriction, serious search and/or examination burden is established when, as in the instant case, different search strategies or queries are required in examination. See MPEP 808.02 The different types of filters use substantially different internal structures and achieve substantially different results and thus are not prima facie obvious variants of one another. Any search for one of them would require the use of search queries and careful consideration of search results which would not be applicable to the others.
Of course, upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant is entitled to consideration of claims to non-elected species which depend therefrom.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/11/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/31/2025 and 11/03/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MEISSNER - DE 202015106371.
Regarding claim 1, MEISSNER discloses a drive device 13 to be provided to a moving object 2, which is configured to move by rotation of a rotary body 5 [0041], and to be driven by electric power to rotate the rotary body 5 [0039], the drive device further comprising:
a motor 13 configured to be supplied with electric power [0006];
an inverter (not shown, connected to heat sink 15; see [0020, 0046]) configured to convert the electric power supplied to the motor 13;
an accommodating housing 1 (fuselage 1 is a housing as broadly claimed) accommodating at least one of the motor 13 and the inverter (Fig. 1);
a housing inlet port 4 provided in the accommodating housing 1 and configured to allow cooling air, which is to cool an inside of the accommodating housing 1 [0015, 0020], to flow from an outside of the accommodating housing 1 to the inside;
a housing outlet port 22 provided in the accommodating housing 1 and configured to allow the cooling air to flow out to the outside of the accommodating housing 1 (Fig. 1); and
a foreign matter restriction portion 18 including a restriction inlet port 6, which is in communication with the housing inlet port 4, and configured to restrict foreign matter, which enters the restriction inlet port 6, from passing therethrough, and
the restriction inlet port 6 is open to a downwind side of rotation wind generated by rotating the rotary body 5 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 1, wherein
the housing inlet port 4 and the housing outlet port 22 are provided to allow the cooling air, which flows from the housing inlet port 4 to the inside of the accommodating housing 1, to pass through a space accommodating the motor 13, then pass through a space accommodating the inverter, and flow out from the housing outlet port 22 (Fig. 1; i.e. by the cooling air flow being divided).
Regarding claim 8, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 1, wherein
the housing inlet port 4 and the housing outlet port 22 are provided to allow the cooling air, which flows from the housing inlet port 4 to the inside of the accommodating housing 1, to pass through a space accommodating the inverter, then pass through a space accommodating the motor 13, and flow out from the housing outlet port 22 (Fig. 1; i.e. by the cooling air flow being divided).
Regarding claim 9, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 1, wherein the housing inlet port 4 and the housing outlet port 22 are provided to allow the cooling air, which flows from the housing inlet port 4 to the inside of the accommodating housing 1, to pass through only one of a space accommodating the motor 13 and a space accommodating the inverter and flow out from the housing outlet port 22 (Fig. 1; i.e. after the cooling air flow being divided).
Regarding claim 10, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 1, further comprising: a cooling air fan configured to cause the cooling air, which flows into the housing inlet port 4, to flow out from the housing outlet port 22 [0048].
Regarding claim 11, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 1, wherein the foreign matter restriction portion 18 includes a labyrinth structure portion having a labyrinth passage 18 that is in communication with the housing inlet port 4 and is bent to restrict entry of the foreign matter [0049].
Regarding claim 12, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 11, wherein
the labyrinth structure portion includes a labyrinth passage inlet port 12 configured to allow the cooling air to flow into the labyrinth passage 18, and
the labyrinth passage inlet port 12 is provided to face a downwind side of rotation wind generated by rotation of a rotary body 5 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 1, wherein the drive device is to be provided to a flight vehicle and to be driven by electric power to cause the flight vehicle to fly [0013].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MEISSNER in view of YABE – JP 2020102979 (previously disclosed; full translation in IDS filed 1/31/2025).
Regarding claim 2, MEISSNER discloses the drive device according to claim 1, further comprising:
an inverter device including the inverter and an inverter housing 14 included in the accommodating housing 1 and accommodating the inverter.
However, MEISSNER does not teach the inverter device includes a switch component configured to convert the electric power, and a capacitor component electrically connected to the switch component, and the switch component and the capacitor component are provided, such that the cooling air cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component.
YABE teaches a drive device comprising an inverter device including a switch component 17b configured to convert the electric power [0033], and a capacitor component electrically connected to the switch component 17b [0015], and the switch component 17b and the capacitor component are provided, such that the cooling air cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component 17b [0016-0017].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the drive device of MEISSNER with the inverter device including a switch component configured to convert the electric power, and a capacitor component electrically connected to the switch component, and the switch component and the capacitor component are provided, such that the cooling air cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component, similar to YABE.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve the cooling efficiency of the inverter by putting the cooling medium in contact with the surface portion of the power circuit unit in the inverter, as taught by YABE [0007.]
Regarding claim 3, MEISSNER in view of YABE teaches the drive device according to claim 2, wherein
YABE teaches the inverter device includes a wiring board 20 having an outer peripheral end extending along an inner wall surface 26 of an inverter housing 21 and mounted with the capacitor component [0015], and
the switch component 17b is provided between the capacitor component and the inner wall surface 26, such that the cooling air flowing toward the inner wall surface 26 along the wiring board 20 cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component 17b (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, MEISSNER in view of YABE teaches the drive device according to claim 3, wherein
YABE teaches the outer peripheral end and the inner wall surface 26 define a board gap therebetween to allow the cooling air to flow therethrough, and
the switch component 17b is provided, such that the cooling air flows through the board gap after cooling the switch component 17b (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, MEISSNER in view of YABE teaches the drive device according to claim 3, wherein
YABE teaches the switch component 17b is provided on the inner wall surface 26, such that heat of the switch component is transferred to the inner wall surface (i.e. via plastic material 25).
Regarding claim 4, MEISSNER discloses a drive device to be driven by electric power, the drive device comprising:
a motor 13 configured to be supplied with electric power [0006];
an inverter (not shown, connected to heat sink 15; see [0020, 0046]) configured to convert the electric power supplied to the motor 13;
an accommodating housing 1 (fuselage 1 is a housing as broadly claimed) accommodating at least one of the motor 13 and the inverter;
a housing inlet port 4 provided in the accommodating housing 1 and configured to allow cooling air, which is to cool an inside of the accommodating housing 1 [0015, 0020], to flow from an outside of the accommodating housing 1 to the inside;
a housing outlet port 22 provided in the accommodating housing 1 and configured to allow the cooling air to flow out to the outside of the accommodating housing 1 (Fig. 1);
a foreign matter restriction portion 18 configured to restrict foreign matter from entering the inside of the accommodating housing 1 from the housing inlet port 4; and
an inverter device including the inverter and an inverter housing 14 included in the accommodating housing 1 and accommodating the inverter, wherein
However, MEISSNER does not teach the inverter device including a switch component configured to convert the electric power, a capacitor component electrically connected to the switch component, and a wiring board having an outer peripheral end extending along an inner wall surface of the inverter housing and mounted with the capacitor component, the capacitor component is provided, such that the cooling air cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component, and the switch component is provided between the capacitor component and the inner wall surface, such that the cooling air flowing toward the inner wall surface along the wiring board cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component.
YABE teaches a drive device comprising an inverter device including a switch component 17b configured to convert the electric power [0033], a capacitor component electrically connected to the switch component 17b [0015], and a wiring board 20 having an outer peripheral end extending along an inner wall surface 26 of an inverter housing 21 and mounted with the capacitor component [0015], and the switch component 17b and the capacitor component are provided, such that the cooling air cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component 17b [0016-0017], and the switch component 17b is provided between the capacitor component and the inner wall surface 26, such that the cooling air flowing toward the inner wall surface 26 along the wiring board 20 cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component 17b (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the drive device of MEISSNER with the inverter device including a switch component configured to convert the electric power, a capacitor component electrically connected to the switch component, and a wiring board having an outer peripheral end extending along an inner wall surface of the inverter housing and mounted with the capacitor component, the capacitor component is provided, such that the cooling air cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component, and the switch component is provided between the capacitor component and the inner wall surface, such that the cooling air flowing toward the inner wall surface along the wiring board cools the capacitor component, and then cools the switch component, similar to YABE.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve the cooling efficiency of the inverter by putting the cooling medium in contact with the surface portion of the power circuit unit in the inverter, as taught by YABE [0007.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20070222223-A1 Bagepalli discloses an air-cooled motor with labyrinth air flow path (Fig. 9); US-20090206709-A1 Kakuda discloses an inverter breather with labyrinth air flow path 83e; US-20230192310-A1 Fukazu discloses a motor inverter air cooling system with air flow W driven by propeller 36 and a downstream inlet 74i.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834