DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, Species A, readable on claims 1-5, 8-12 in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gerrans et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0259217, hereinafter Gerrans).
In regard to claim 1, Gerrans discloses a control device (40) for use with an endoscope comprising:
at least one processor (via electronics controlling the pump in the control device (40), Fig. 2, Pars. 34,70) configured to:
control a pump to feed a fluid through a flow passage of an endoscope (Pars. 34,70);
while the fluid is retained in a space, perform drive control of the pump to switch between applying pressurization and depressurization to the flow passage a plurality of times to repeatedly change a flow direction of the fluid retained in the space (Par. 34, via a pulsed mode), wherein the fluid is suctioned and supplied through the flow passage repeatedly without the fluid draining out from both of the flow passage and the space (the controller is capable of the claimed function using the pulsed mode, Par. 34); and
after performing the drive control, control the pump to discharge the fluid out of the space through the flow passage (via evacuating fluid from the balloon, Par. 34).
In regard to claim 2, Gerrans teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a number of times that the pressurization and the depressurization is performed (Par. 34).
In regard to claim 3, Gerrans teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a speed of the pressurization and the depressurization (via pulsing the fluid, thereby adjusting the speed of the fluid, Par. 34).
In regard to claim 4, Gerrans teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a time period during which the pressurization and the depressurization are performed (the pulsed mode would have preset timings between the pulses to repeatedly inflate/deflate the balloon, Par. 23,34).
In regard to claim 5, Gerrans teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a strength of a pressure applied during the pressurization or the depressurization (Par. 70, via bodily lumen measurements).
In regard to claim 8, Gerrans teaches wherein the space is formed in part by an outer surface of the endoscope (the space is formed by the balloon (24)).
In regard to claim 9, Gerrans teaches wherein the space is formed in part by a first balloon provided on the endoscope (the space is formed by the balloon (24)).
In regard to claim 10, Gerrans teaches wherein the endoscope is configured to be inserted into a tubular organ, and the space is formed in part by a wall of the tubular organ (the space is formed, in part, by the diameter of the tubular organ which limits expansion of the space within the balloon).
In regard to claim 11, Gerrans teaches wherein a cycle of the pressurization and the depressurization per is performed per predetermined period (Par. 34,70).
In regard to claim 12, Gerrans discloses an endoscope apparatus comprising: the control device according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1); and a pump configured to feed the fluid through the flow passage of the endoscope (via pump within the control device (40)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,185,919 (hereinafter ‘919). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the claim mapping below.
In regard to claim 1, ‘919 discloses a control device for use with an endoscope comprising:
at least one processor (see Claim 1) configured to:
control a pump to feed a fluid through a flow passage of an endoscope (see Claim 1);
while the fluid is retained in a space, perform drive control of the pump to switch between applying pressurization and depressurization to the flow passage a plurality of times to repeatedly change a flow direction of the fluid retained in the space, wherein the fluid is suctioned and supplied through the flow passage repeatedly without the fluid draining out from both of the flow passage and the space (see Claim 1); and
after performing the drive control, control the pump to discharge the fluid out of the space through the flow passage (see Claim 1).
In regard to claim 2, ‘919 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a number of times that the pressurization and the depressurization is performed (see Claim 9).
In regard to claim 3, ‘919 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a speed of the pressurization and the depressurization (see Claim 9).
In regard to claim 4, ‘919 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a time period during which the pressurization and the depressurization are performed (see Claim 9).
In regard to claim 5, ‘919 teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the drive control of the pump by adjusting a strength of a pressure applied during the pressurization or the depressurization (see Claim 9).
In regard to claim 8, ‘919 teaches wherein the space is formed in part by an outer surface of the endoscope (see Claim 16).
In regard to claim 9, ‘919 teaches wherein the space is formed in part by a first balloon provided on the endoscope (see Claim 16).
In regard to claim 10, ‘919 teaches wherein the endoscope is configured to be inserted into a tubular organ, and the space is formed in part by a wall of the tubular organ (see Claim 18).
In regard to claim 11, ‘919 teaches wherein a cycle of the pressurization and the depressurization per is performed per predetermined period (see Claim 9).
In regard to claim 12, ‘919 discloses an endoscope apparatus comprising: the control device according to claim 1 (see Claim 1); and a pump configured to feed the fluid through the flow passage of the endoscope (see Claim 1).
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 July 25, 2026