DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The instant application claims priority to Chinese Application 202310047127.8, filed January 31, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statements dated December 6, 2024 and July 16, 2025 is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. Copies of the PTOL-1449s initialed and dated by the Examiner are attached to the instant office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities.
The sheet numbering is improperly formatted. The figures therefore fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(t), which states, “The drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. The number of each sheet should be shown by two Arabic numerals placed on either side of an oblique line, with the first being the sheet number and the second being the total number of sheets of drawings, with no other marking.” The sheet numbering is too small and includes extraneous text.
Figures 1-4 include text that is too small. The figures therefore fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3), which states, “Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height.”
In Figures 2 and 4, the shaded arrows obscure text. The figures therefore fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3), which states, “Numbers, letters, and reference characters …should not cross or mingle with the lines.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the Applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites, at line 2, “the reconfigurable processor chip.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as, “[[the]]a reconfigurable processor chip of the plurality of reconfigurable processor chips.”
Claim 7 recites, at line 2, “the reconfigurable processing element among the plurality of reconfigurable processor chips.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as, “[[the]]a the reconfigurable processing element among the plurality of reconfigurable processor chips.”
Claims 7-15 are rejected as depending from rejected base claims and failing to cure the indefiniteness of those base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2023/0281156 by Zhang et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses:
a reconfigurable processor chip, comprising: a plurality of reconfigurable processing elements based on distributed storage, components of the reconfigurable processing elements being logically interconnected, wherein the components comprise (Zhang discloses, at Figure 1C and related description, a reconfigurable data processor that includes an array of configurable units. As disclosed at ¶ [0049], the processor uses distributed memory. As shown at Figure 3A, components of the configurable units are logically interconnected.):
a reconfigurable computing component configured to calculate data (Zhang discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, a pattern compute unit, which discloses a reconfigurable computing component configured to calculate data.);
a data flow controller using a data flow driving mode, the data flow driving mode is configured to control start and end of a computing task and a data transmission task based on data flow information about the computing task and message transferring of upstream and downstream reconfigurable processing elements (Zhang discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, a control block that controls starting and ending processing. See, e.g., ¶ [0085]. Zhang also discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, transmitting data. The starting, ending, and data transmission with adjacent units are understood to be based on data flow information about computing tasks. See, e.g., ¶ [0102].);
a distributed memory configured to implement data storage of a corresponding reconfigurable processing element (Zhang discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, pattern memory units, which discloses a distributed memory configured to implement data storage of a corresponding reconfigurable processing element.); and
a programmable data routing element configured to implement communication between the plurality of reconfigurable processing elements to control a direction of a data packet, and implement flexible transmission of the data packet (Zhang discloses, at Figure 3B and related description, switches that link the configurable units, which discloses a programmable data routing element configured to implement communication between the plurality of reconfigurable processing elements to control a direction of a data packet, and implement flexible transmission of the data packet.).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the programmable data routing element is configured to change a routing direction and a routing destination of the data packet in real time by software configuration using a software programmable routing policy (Zhang discloses, at Figure 3B and related description, switches that link the configurable units and can transmit data during operation, which discloses the programmable data routing element is configured to change a routing direction and a routing destination of the data packet in real time by software configuration using a software programmable routing policy.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the reconfigurable processing element is configured to exchange data over a network-on-chip, an inter-chip interface and a network cable within a storage capacity range of a storage space (Zhang discloses, at ¶ [0047] et seq., an array level network (ALN), which discloses exchanging data over a network on chip. Zhang also discloses, at ¶ [0083], sending requests off-chip, which discloses an inter-chip interface as off-chip memory is understood to be implemented using chips. Zhang also discloses, at ¶ [0048], the ALN uses wires to transmit information, which discloses a network cable within a storage capacity range of a storage space.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the plurality of reconfigurable processing elements are divided into a plurality of computing areas based on algorithmic mapping requirements (Zhang discloses, at Figure 1A and related description, dividing the processing elements based on the algorithm to be performed. See also Figure 7 and related description, which discloses partitioning code and corresponding assignment of resources.),
wherein a communication connection relationship of the programmable data routing element is changed in real time by changing configuration of an execution graph in the reconfigurable processing elements in the data flow driving mode of the data flow controller, and a division of the computing areas is changed based on the communication connection relationship (Zhang discloses, at Figure 7 and related description, runtime determination of placement and routing for assigning a physical dataflow graph to processing and memory resources, which discloses a communication connection relationship of the programmable data routing element is changed in real time by changing configuration of an execution graph in the reconfigurable processing elements in the data flow driving mode of the data flow controller, and a division of the computing areas is changed based on the communication connection relationship.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the elements of claim 4, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the plurality of computing areas perform pipeline computing or perform different assigned computing tasks (Zhang discloses, at ¶ [0035], performing pipelined processing.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of US Publication No. 2010/0158023 by Mukhopadhyay et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Mukhopadhyay”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses:
a reconfigurable processor cluster, comprising: a plurality of reconfigurable processor…[tiles], wherein the reconfigurable processor chip is composed of a plurality of reconfigurable processing elements based on distributed storage, and components of the reconfigurable processing elements are logically interconnected and comprise (Zhang discloses at Figure 2, a plurality of tiles each having an array of configurable units. Zhang discloses, at Figure 1C and related description, a reconfigurable data processor that includes an array of configurable units. As disclosed at ¶ [0049], the processor uses distributed memory. As shown at Figure 3A, components of the configurable units are logically interconnected.):
a reconfigurable computing component configured to calculate data (Zhang discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, a pattern compute unit, which discloses a reconfigurable computing component configured to calculate data.);
a data flow controller using a data flow driving mode, the data flow driving mode is configured to control start and end of a computing task and a data transmission task based on data flow information about the computing task and message transferring of upstream and downstream reconfigurable processing elements (Zhang discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, a control block that controls starting and ending processing. See, e.g., ¶ [0085]. Zhang also discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, transmitting data. The starting, ending, and data transmission with adjacent units are understood to be based on data flow information about computing tasks. See, e.g., ¶ [0102].);
a distributed memory configured to implement data storage of a corresponding reconfigurable processing element; (Zhang discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, pattern memory units, which discloses a distributed memory configured to implement data storage of a corresponding reconfigurable processing element.); and
a programmable data routing element configured to implement communication between the plurality of reconfigurable processing elements to control a direction of a data packet, and implement flexible transmission of the data packet (Zhang discloses, at Figure 3B and related description, switches that link the configurable units, which discloses a programmable data routing element configured to implement communication between the plurality of reconfigurable processing elements to control a direction of a data packet, and implement flexible transmission of the data packet.).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned tiles are implemented using a plurality of chips.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., parallel processing) Mukhopadhyay discloses:
multi-chip modules (Mukhopadhyay discloses, at the Abstract, multi-chip modules.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to implement the plurality of tiles using a plurality of chips, as disclosed by Mukhopadhyay, because whether to implement a plurality of components on one chip or on separate chips is an obvious design choice that would be determined based on circumstances, each option having well-known benefits and drawbacks.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
a routing control module is configured to implement data communication among the plurality of reconfigurable processor…[tiles] (Zhang discloses, at Figure 2, the tiles are communicatively coupled via top level switches, which discloses a routing control module.),
wherein the reconfigurable processing element among the plurality of reconfigurable processor …[tiles] is configured to perform the data communication via a network by the programmable data routing element and the routing control module, and the programmable data routing element and the routing control module on the reconfigurable processor chip are connected by the network on the reconfigurable processor chip (Zhang discloses, at ¶ [0047] et seq., an array level network (ALN), which discloses the reconfigurable processing element among the plurality of reconfigurable processor …[tiles] is configured to perform the data communication via a network by the programmable data routing element and the routing control module, and the programmable data routing element and the routing control module on the reconfigurable processor chip are connected by the network on the reconfigurable processor chip.); and
the routing control module is configured to receive or send a network data packet among the reconfigurable processor …[tiles] (Zhang discloses.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned tiles are implemented using a plurality of chips.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., parallel processing) Mukhopadhyay discloses:
multi-chip modules (Mukhopadhyay discloses, at the Abstract, multi-chip modules.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to implement the plurality of tiles using a plurality of chips, as disclosed by Mukhopadhyay, because whether to implement a plurality of components on one chip or on separate chips is an obvious design choice that would be determined based on circumstances, each option having well-known benefits and drawbacks.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 7, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the routing control module has a bidirectional …function to send read request, write request, read response and write response control information (Zhang discloses, at Figure 2 and related description, sending data between the tiles, which discloses bidirectional functionality. Zhang also discloses, at ¶ [0047] et seq., an array level network (ALN), which discloses send read request, write request, read response and write response control information.).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose Ethernet data transceiving and a flow control mechanism, and has functions of sending buffer back pressure and receiving buffer back pressure to control data transmission at a receiving end and a sending end.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., parallel processing) Mukhopadhyay discloses:
bidirectional Ethernet ports (Mukhopadhyay discloses, at ¶ [0049], bidirectional Ethernet ports.); and
back pressure flow control messages (Mukhopadhyay discloses, at ¶ [0087], back-pressure flow control messages.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include Ethernet and back-pressure flow control, as disclosed by Mukhopadhyay in order to improve performance by providing stable communication capabilities.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the plurality of reconfigurable processing elements on the reconfigurable processor chip are divided into a plurality of computing areas based on algorithm mapping requirements (Zhang discloses, at Figure 1A and related description, dividing the processing elements based on the algorithm to be performed. See also Figure 7 and related description, which discloses partitioning code and corresponding assignment of resources.); and
the reconfigurable processor cluster is configured to support flexible division of the computing areas, and support asynchronous parallel computing on the computing areas (Zhang discloses, at ¶ [0034], reconfigurable units, which discloses flexible division of the computing areas, that support dataflow computing, which discloses asynchronous parallel computing.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the reconfigurable processor cluster is configured to support a plurality of computing modes, a data parallel computing mode, a pipeline parallel computing mode or a model parallel computing mode (Zhang disclsoses, at ¶ [0035], supporting both parallel and pipelined modes.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
resources of the reconfigurable processor cluster are allocated to a plurality of tasks for parallel computing (Zhang discloses, at Figure 1A and related description, dividing the processing elements based on the algorithm to be performed. See also Figure 7 and related description, which discloses partitioning code and corresponding assignment of resources.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the programmable data routing element is configured to change a routing direction and a routing destination of the data packet in real time by software configuration using a software programmable routing policy (Zhang discloses, at Figure 3B and related description, switches that link the configurable units and can transmit data during operation, which discloses the programmable data routing element is configured to change a routing direction and a routing destination of the data packet in real time by software configuration using a software programmable routing policy.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the reconfigurable processing element is configured to exchange data over a network-on-chip, an inter-chip interface and a network cable within a storage capacity range of a storage space (Zhang discloses, at ¶ [0047] et seq., an array level network (ALN), which discloses exchanging data over a network on chip. Zhang also discloses, at ¶ [0083], sending requests off-chip, which discloses an inter-chip interface as off-chip memory is understood to be implemented using chips. Zhang also discloses, at ¶ [0048], the ALN uses wires to transmit information, which discloses a network cable within a storage capacity range of a storage space.).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 6, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the plurality of reconfigurable processing elements are divided into a plurality of computing areas based on algorithmic mapping requirements (Zhang discloses, at Figure 1A and related description, dividing the processing elements based on the algorithm to be performed. See also Figure 7 and related description, which discloses partitioning code and corresponding assignment of resources.),
wherein a communication connection relationship of the programmable data routing element is changed in real time by changing configuration of an execution graph in the reconfigurable processing elements in the data flow driving mode of the data flow controller, and a division of the computing areas is changed based on the communication connection relationship (Zhang discloses, at Figure 7 and related description, runtime determination of placement and routing for assigning a physical dataflow graph to processing and memory resources, which discloses a communication connection relationship of the programmable data routing element is changed in real time by changing configuration of an execution graph in the reconfigurable processing elements in the data flow driving mode of the data flow controller, and a division of the computing areas is changed based on the communication connection relationship.).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 14, as discussed above. Zhang also discloses:
the plurality of computing areas perform pipeline computing or perform different assigned computing tasks (Zhang discloses, at ¶ [0035], performing pipelined processing.).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
US 20230229612 by Luttrell discloses multiple chips and an inter-chip link.
US 20230237013 by Dykema discloses data parallel, pipelines, partitioning into sub-arrays, ethernet.
US 20220198117 by Rauman discloses backpressure, ethernet.
US 9607355 by Zou discloses model parallel.
/SHAWN DOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183