DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 05/11/2026 has been entered and considered. Upon entering claims 1-10 were pending; and claims 1, 8, and 10 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/05/2026 the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as further noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2017/0117746) in view of Nakabayashi et al. (US 2020/0384872).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches An auxiliary-power-supply unit (see figs. 1, 5, 6C), comprising: a plug connector (300, 810; 811) configured to be plugged into, and to be unplugged from, one of multiple outlets (outlets 350, 850, 851) of a microgrid, each outlet configured to provide power from a grid to a load (see figure 6C and par. [0101]); and a controller (see fig. 5@ 870) configured to provide power to the plug connector if and only if the controller determines that the plug connector is plugged into one of the outlets of the microgrid, and the microgrid is uncoupled from the grid (see par. [0064-0070]).
However, Kang does not explicitly teach a controller configured to withhold power from the plug connector before the plug connector is plugged into one of the outlets of the microgrid.
Nakabayashi teaches a controller configured to withhold power from the plug connector before the plug connector is plugged into one of the outlets of the microgrid (see figures 1 and 4-5; and par. [0028-0030], a controller 15, a connector 13, a plug 22; the controller 15 controls the operation of the charging device 1. The controller 15 has a function of starting the communication between the charging device 1 and the electric vehicle 2 by controlling the first relay 11 on the basis of the output of the current detection circuit 62. The controller 15 detects a connection state between the charging device 1 and the electric vehicle 2 by starting the communication; and After starting the communication, the controller 15 causes charging of the storage battery 21 of the electric vehicle 2 to be started and controls the operation related to charging by the charging device 1. The controller 15 communicates with the controller 23 of the electric vehicle 2 via the communication line 16 and inputs/outputs signals using a signal line other than the communication line 16, thereby managing the operation related to charging by the charging device 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang with the teachings of Nakabayashi having a controller configured to withhold power from the plug connector before the plug connector is plugged into one of the outlets of the microgrid in order to ensure that the plug is live when connected, this way serious danger of electrical shock can be prevented also ensuring that the plug is used only with approve sockets.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches in (see fig. 1) wherein the plug connector has at least two prongs (see plugs, shown in fig. 1; Kang).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the controller is further configured to provide power to the plug connector if and only if the controller determines that power from the grid is unavailable to power the microgrid (see par. [0064-0070] and [0076]; Kang).
Regarding claim 4, further teaches an inverter; and wherein the controller is configured to provide power to the plug connector by causing the inverter to generate an auxiliary power signal from a battery voltage, and by coupling the auxiliary-power signal to the plug connector (see par. [0036, 0046]; Kang). Note that power from the solar panel or battery can be converted into ac and used to power the load coupled to connector (851).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine that the connector is plugged into the outlet (851) in response to detecting a signal generated by a microgrid interface plugged into another outlet (850) of the microgrid (see par. [0064-0070] and 0076]; Kang). Note that the controller determines the status of the grid and then makes a decision to power load(s) based on availability of the grid.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine that the connector is plugged into the outlet (851) in response to detecting a signal generated by a microgrid interface disposed in another outlet (850) of the microgrid (see par. [0064-0070] and [0076]; Kang). Note that the controller determines the status of the grid and then makes a decision to power load(s) based on availability of the grid.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine that the microgrid is uncoupled from the grid in response to detecting that a breaker (fig. 4@835) that couples the microgrid to the grid is open (see par. [0074-0076]; Kang).
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches An auxiliary power supply (see figs. 1, 5, 6C), comprising: a plug connector (300, 810; 811) configured to engage and disengage an outlet (outlets 350, 850, 851) of a microgrid; a battery (1000); and a controller (870) configured to energize the plug connector with power from the battery if and only if the controller determines that the plug connector is engaged with an outlet of the microgrid, and the microgrid is uncoupled from a grid (see par. [0064-0070]).
However, Kang does not explicitly teach and a controller configured to de-energize the plug connector while the plug connector is disengaged from an outlet of the microgrid.
Nakabayashi teaches a controller configured to de-energize the plug connector while the plug connector is disengaged from an outlet of the microgrid (see figures 1 and 4-5; and par. [0028-0030], a controller 15, a connector 13, a plug 22; the controller 15 controls the operation of the charging device 1. The controller 15 has a function of starting the communication between the charging device 1 and the electric vehicle 2 by controlling the first relay 11 on the basis of the output of the current detection circuit 62. The controller 15 detects a connection state between the charging device 1 and the electric vehicle 2 by starting the communication; and After starting the communication, the controller 15 causes charging of the storage battery 21 of the electric vehicle 2 to be started and controls the operation related to charging by the charging device 1. The controller 15 communicates with the controller 23 of the electric vehicle 2 via the communication line 16 and inputs/outputs signals using a signal line other than the communication line 16, thereby managing the operation related to charging by the charging device 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang with the teachings of Nakabayashi having a controller configured to de-energize the plug connector while the plug connector is disengaged from an outlet of the microgrid in order to ensure that the plug is live when connected, this way serious danger of electrical shock can be prevented also ensuring that the plug is used only with approve sockets.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the controller is further configured to charge the battery from the microgrid in response to determining that the grid is powering the microgrid (see par. [0082]; Kang).
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches A subgrid assembly (see figs. 1, 4 and 5), comprising: a microgrid (outlets) having an outlet (350, 851, 850); a breaker (fig. 4@ 835) configured to couple the microgrid to a grid while closed, and to uncouple the microgrid from the grid while open (par. [0074-0076]); and an auxiliary power supply (see figs. 1, 4 and 5) including a plug connector (300, 810; 811) configured for being plugged into, and for being unplugged from, an outlet (outlets 350, 850, 851) of a microgrid, including a battery (1000), and configured to provide auxiliary power from the battery to the microgrid via the plug connector if and only if the auxiliary power supply determines that the plug connector is plugged into the outlet of the microgrid, the breaker is open, and power from the grid to the breaker is interrupted (par. [0064-0070] and [0074-0076]).
However, Kang does not explicitly teach configured to disconnect the plug connector from the battery while the plug connector is unplugged from the outlet of the microgrid.
Nakabayashi teaches configured to disconnect the plug connector from the battery while the plug connector is unplugged from the outlet of the microgrid (see figures 1 and 4-5; and par. [0028-0030], a controller 15, a connector 13, a plug 22; the controller 15 controls the operation of the charging device 1. The controller 15 has a function of starting the communication between the charging device 1 and the electric vehicle 2 by controlling the first relay 11 on the basis of the output of the current detection circuit 62. The controller 15 detects a connection state between the charging device 1 and the electric vehicle 2 by starting the communication; and After starting the communication, the controller 15 causes charging of the storage battery 21 of the electric vehicle 2 to be started and controls the operation related to charging by the charging device 1. The controller 15 communicates with the controller 23 of the electric vehicle 2 via the communication line 16 and inputs/outputs signals using a signal line other than the communication line 16, thereby managing the operation related to charging by the charging device 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang with the teachings of Nakabayashi having configured to disconnect the plug connector from the battery while the plug connector is unplugged from the outlet of the microgrid in order to ensure that the plug is live when connected, this way serious danger of electrical shock can be prevented also ensuring that the plug is used only with approve sockets.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836