DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/6/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, cited term of “CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe,…, CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe” (line 4-6) is vague and renders the claims indefinite. Claim 8 depends on claim 7 then claim 1. Claim 1 cites limitation term of “CdxA11-x B1; x is greater than 0 and less than or equal to about 0.12 ( -- 0 < x ≤ 0.12))” (line 7-11). So compounds of “CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe,…, CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe” are out of limitation range of 0 < x ≤ 0.12.
Therefore proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan et al (CN 114507525, English translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Fan teaches a quantum dot (abstract; fig. 1) comprising:
a core comprising a first semiconductor compound represented by Formula 1 (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots); and
a first shell around the core and comprising A1 (abstract, line 1-15, the structure further comprises a shell layer , the shell layer is a ZnSeyS1-y shell),
wherein a radius of the core of the quantum dot is 5 nm or more (¶[0028], line 1-5: the particle size of the Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots is preferably 10 nm to 16 nm, more preferably 12 nm to 15 nm, …; the ZnSeyS1-y shell serves as the outer shell layer, and the thickness of the ZnSeyS1-y shell is preferably 0 nm to 5 nm).
Formula 1
CdxA11-x B1
wherein, in Formula 1, A1 comprises a Group II element other than cadmium (Cd),
B1 comprises a Group VI element, and
x is greater than 0 and less than or equal to about 0.12 (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots; and m is more than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 1 (---Zn-- A1, Se-- B1; 0 < m ≤ 1)).
Regarding Claim 2, Fan teaches the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein x is in a range of about 0.07 to about 0.11 (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots; and m is more than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 1 (---0 < m ≤ 1)).
Regarding Claim 3, Fan teaches the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein A1 comprises Zn, Mg, Ca, Hg, or a combination thereof (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots; and m is more than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 1 (---Zn-- A1, Se-- B1; 0 < m ≤ 1)).
Regarding Claim 7, Fan teaches the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein the core and the first shell each comprise a Group II-VI semiconductor compound (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots; the structure further comprises a shell layer , the shell layer is a ZnSeyS1-y shell).
.
Regarding Claim 8, Fan teaches the quantum dot of claim 7, wherein the Group II-VI semiconductor compound comprises CdS, CdSe, CdTe, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, MgSe, MgS, CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS, HgZnSe, HgZnTe, MgZnSe, MgZnS, CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe, HgZnSTe, or a combination thereof (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots; the structure further comprises a shell layer, the shell layer is a ZnSeyS1-y shell).
Regarding Claim 9, Fan teaches the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein the first shell comprises a second semiconductor compound represented by Formula 2:
Formula 2
A1B2yB31-y
wherein, in Formula 2, A1 is a Group II element, B2 and B3 are each independently a Group VI element, and y is greater than 0 but less than 1 (abstract, line 1-15; the structure further comprises a shell layer, the shell layer is a ZnSeyS1-y shell; y is more than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 1).
.
Regarding Claim 10, Fan teaches the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first shell is in a range of about 1 nm to about 5 nm (¶[0028], line 1-5: the particle size of the Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots is preferably 10 nm to 16 nm, more preferably 12 nm to 15 nm, …; the ZnSeyS1-y shell serves as the outer shell layer, and the thickness of the ZnSeyS1-y shell is preferably 0 nm to 5 nm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 20220228055) in a view of by Fan et al (CN 114507525, English translation attached)
Regarding Claim 1, Yu teaches a quantum dot (abstract; fig. 1) comprising:
a core comprising a first semiconductor compound (fig. 1, 11; ¶[0008], line 1-7, a quantum dot includes a core comprising crystals of a first semiconductor), ;
a first shell around the core (fig. 1, 12/13/14; ¶[0008], line 1-7, a shell located on the core and comprising crystals of at least one second semiconductor);
wherein a radius of the core of the quantum dot is 5 nm or more (¶[0090], line 1-4, the quantum dots may have an average diameter of 1 nm to 15 nm. For example, the quantum dots may have an average diameter of 2 nm to 13 nm or 2 nm to 10 nm).
But Yu does not specifically disclose that wherein a core comprising a first semiconductor compound represented by Formula 1, a first shell around the core and comprising A1; Formula 1: CdxA11-x B1; wherein, in Formula 1, A1 comprises a Group II element other than cadmium (Cd), B1 comprises a Group VI element, and x is greater than 0 and less than or equal to about 0.12.
However, Fan teaches a quantum dot (abstract; fig. 1), wherein
a core comprising a first semiconductor compound represented by Formula 1 (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots); and
a first shell around the core and comprising A1 (abstract, line 1-15, the structure further comprises a shell layer , the shell layer is a ZnSeyS1-y shell),
wherein a radius of the core of the quantum dot is 5 nm or more (¶[0028], line 1-5: the particle size of the Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots is preferably 10 nm to 16 nm, more preferably 12 nm to 15 nm, …; the ZnSeyS1-y shell serves as the outer shell layer, and the thickness of the ZnSeyS1-y shell is preferably 0 nm to 5 nm).
Formula 1
CdxA11-x B1
wherein, in Formula 1, A1 comprises a Group II element other than cadmium (Cd),
B1 comprises a Group VI element, and
x is greater than 0 and less than or equal to about 0.12 (abstract, line 1-15, quantum dot; the core quantum dots are Cd1-mZnmSe quantum dots; and m is more than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 1 (---Zn-- A1, Se-- B1; 0 < m ≤ 1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the quantum dot of Yu by the quantum dot of Fan for a purpose of a quantum dot which have a uniform particle size distribution, high quantum yield, and good stability (¶[0038], line 1-2).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein
the first shell further comprises B2 and B3, and
B2 and B3 each independently comprise a Group VI element.
(¶[0071], line 1-7, the first semiconductor and the second semiconductor may each independently include: a Group II-VI semiconductor compound; ¶[0072], line 1-11, Examples of the Group II-VI semiconductor compound may include: a binary compound such as CdS, CdSe, CdTe, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, MgSe, and MgS; a ternary compound such as CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS, HgZnSe, HgZnTe, MgZnSe, and MgZnS; a quaternary compound such as CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe, and HgZnSTe; or any combination thereof, as disclosed in Yu; --- CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe).
Regarding Claim 5, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the quantum dot of claim 4, wherein B1, B2, and B3 each independently comprise O, S, Se, Te, or a combination thereof (¶[0071], line 1-7, the first semiconductor and the second semiconductor may each independently include: a Group II-VI semiconductor compound; ¶[0072], line 1-11, Examples of the Group II-VI semiconductor compound may include: a binary compound such as CdS, CdSe, CdTe, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, MgSe, and MgS; a ternary compound such as CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS, HgZnSe, HgZnTe, MgZnSe, and MgZnS; a quaternary compound such as CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe, and HgZnSTe; or any combination thereof, as disclosed in Yu; --- CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe).
Regarding Claim 6, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the quantum dot of claim 4, wherein B1 and B2 are substantially identical to each other (¶[0071], line 1-7, the first semiconductor and the second semiconductor may each independently include: a Group II-VI semiconductor compound; ¶[0072], line 1-11, Examples of the Group II-VI semiconductor compound may include: a binary compound such as CdS, CdSe, CdTe, ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnO, HgS, HgSe, HgTe, MgSe, and MgS; a ternary compound such as CdSeS, CdSeTe, CdSTe, ZnSeS, ZnSeTe, ZnSTe, HgSeS, HgSeTe, HgSTe, CdZnS, CdZnSe, CdZnTe, CdHgS, CdHgSe, CdHgTe, HgZnS, HgZnSe, HgZnTe, MgZnSe, and MgZnS; a quaternary compound such as CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, HgZnSeS, HgZnSeTe, and HgZnSTe; or any combination thereof, as disclosed in Yu; --- CdZnSeS, CdZnSeTe, CdZnSTe, CdHgSeS, CdHgSeTe, CdHgSTe, elements of S, Se, Te are all Group VI elements).
Regarding Claim 11, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein a maximum emission wavelength of the quantum dot is in a range of about 410 nm to about 480 nm (¶[0089], line 1-8, the quantum dot may emit light having a maximum emission wavelength of 430 nm to 800 nm; ¶[0129], line 1-9, The quantum dot may emit visible light by absorbing blue light; Accordingly, the light-emitting device 320 may emit blue light, e.g., blue light having a maximum emission wavelength of 400 nm to 490 nm, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 12, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the an ink composition comprising the quantum dot of claim 1 and a solvent (¶[0092], line 1-2, an ink composition including the above-described quantum dot; ¶[0105], line 1-2, the ink composition may optionally further include a solvent, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 13, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the ink composition of claim 12, wherein a boiling point of the solvent is 120 °C or more (¶[0105], line 1-2, the ink composition may optionally further include a solvent; ¶[0108], line 1-15, For example, the solvent may include dichloromethane, 1,2-dichloroethane, 1,1,2-trichloroethane, chlorobenzene, o-dichlorobenzene, and/or cyclohexylbenzene; tetrahydrofuran, dioxane, anisole, 4-methylanisole, butyl phenylether; toluene, xylene, mesitylene, ethylbenzene, n-hexylbenzene, cyclohexylbenzene, trimethylbenzene, and/or tetrahydronaphthalene; cyclohexane, methylcyclohexane, n-pentane, n-hexane,…, as disclosed in Yu; --- The boiling point of chlorobenzene (C₆H₅Cl) is approximately 131.7 °C; The boiling point of tetrahydronaphthalene (also known as tetralin) is approximately 207-208 °C, at standard atmospheric pressure).
Regarding Claim 14, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the ink composition of claim 12, wherein the solvent is a single solvent or a mixed solvent of at least two types of solvent (¶[0092], line 1-2, an ink composition including the above-described quantum dot; ¶[0105], line 1-2, the ink composition may optionally further include a solvent, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 15, Yu – Fan combination teaches that an optical member comprising the quantum dot of claim 1 (¶[0113], line 1-4, the electronic device may include a liquid crystal display, an organic light emitting display device, or an inorganic light emitting display device, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 16, Yu – Fan combination teaches that an electronic apparatus comprising the quantum dot of claim 1 (¶[0113], line 1-4, the electronic device may include a liquid crystal display, an organic light emitting display device, or an inorganic light emitting display device, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 17, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the electronic apparatus of claim 16, further comprising: a light source; and a color conversion member located on a pathway of light emitted from the light source, wherein the color conversion member comprises the quantum dot (¶[0114], line 1-6, the light-emitting device may serve as a light source, and the quantum dot may serve as a color conversion member in a state of being included in the exterior of the light-emitting device and the liquid crystals, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 18, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the electronic apparatus of claim 16, further comprising a light-emitting device comprising: a first electrode; a second electrode facing the first electrode; and an interlayer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer, wherein the light-emitting device comprises the quantum dot (¶[0114], line 1-6, the light-emitting device may serve as a light source, and the quantum dot may serve as a color conversion member in a state of being included in the exterior of the light-emitting device and the liquid crystals; ¶[0116], line 1-5, the intermediate layer of the light-emitting device includes a light-emitting layer and the light-emitting layer includes an inorganic material, for example, the quantum dot; fig. 2, 321, 323, 322, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 19, Yu – Fan combination teaches that an electronic device comprising the quantum dot of claim 1 (¶[0113], line 1-4, the electronic device may include a liquid crystal display, an organic light emitting display device, or an inorganic light emitting display device, as disclosed in Yu).
Regarding Claim 20, Yu – Fan combination teaches that the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the electronic device is at least one of a flat panel display, a curved display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television, a billboard, an indoor or outdoor light and/or light for signal, a head-up display, a fully or partially transparent display, a flexible display, a rollable display, a foldable display, a stretchable display, a laser printer, a telephone, a portable phone, a tablet personal computer, a phablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wearable device, a laptop computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a viewfinder, a micro display, a three-dimensional (3D) display, a virtual reality or augmented reality display, a vehicle, a video wall with multiple displays tiled together, a theater or stadium screen, a phototherapy device, or a signboard (¶[0113], line 1-4, the electronic device may include a liquid crystal display, an organic light emitting display device, or an inorganic light emitting display device, as disclosed in Yu).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872