DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: release mechanism in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Beutin (WIPO Publication WO 2024/110717).
As per claim 1, Beutin discloses a propulsion assembly for an aircraft, the propulsion assembly comprising: an engine (10; figure 1); two half-shells (24) arranged one on each side of a longitudinal median plane of the engine, wherein each half-shell comprises an upper bifurcation (22) continued by a semi-cylindrical part (as shown; figure 1), each half-shell being configured to be articulated to a pylon at said upper bifurcation and configured to move between a closed position (as shown; figure 1, 3), in which the half-shell is closely fitted around the engine by way of said semi-cylindrical part that partially surrounds the engine, and an open position, in which the half-shell is away from the engine (as shown; figure 1); and, a fluid circuit (18; figure 3); wherein at least one half-shell is equipped with a cooling circuit (26) connected to the fluid circuit (18), wherein said at least one half-shell comprises a detachable hydraulic interface (30) between the fluid circuit and the cooling circuit (as shown; figures 3-5), the detachable hydraulic interface comprising at least two quick-fit couplings, wherein each of the quick-fit couplings comprises a pair of elements configured for axial fitting of one element of the pair into the other element of the pair (two male-type push-fit fittings 30 intended to fit with a complementary fittings 30’ carried by mast 17; paragraph [0089]), with one element of each pair being fixed on the semi-cylindrical part of the half-shell (as shown; figure 3) and the other element of said pair being integral with the engine (complementary fittings 30’ carried by mast 17; paragraph [0089]), wherein one of the elements of each pair comprises a male element and the other element comprises a female element (as shown; figures 4, 5).
As per claim 2, Beutin discloses the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein each male element and each female element comprises a hollow elongate body (as shown; figure 6), wherein the hollow elongate body of each male element comprises a relief (annular groove 30d; figure 6), wherein the hollow elongate body of each female element comprises an opening made for fitting a male element into the female element (fitting 30’ forming an opening to receive the male fitting 30; figures 14, 15) and comprises locking means configured to be released by an operator and configured to engage with a relief of the male element to keep a male element fitted in the female element after the male element has been inserted in the female element further than a predetermined travel when the half-shell is being moved towards the closed position (by engaging O-ring; figures 14, 15; paragraph [0094]; also via locking means 40 engaging finger 46; paragraph [0114]).
As per claim 3, Beutin discloses the propulsion assembly according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the female elements are all arranged in a fluid distributor/collector, referred to as central distributor/collector, which is hydraulically connected to the fluid circuit and fixed to the engine, and wherein the male elements are all arranged in a fluid distributor/collector, referred to as satellite distributor/collector, which is hydraulically connected to the cooling circuit and fixed to a circular part of the half-shell (at least two male fittings 30 are grouped together on a panel which would form the claimed satellite distributor/collector and female fittings 30’ are also grouped together on a panel which would form the claimed central distributor/collector; figures 22-23).
As per claim 4, Beutin discloses the propulsion assembly according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the central distributor/collector comprises a parallelepipedal machined block having a face, referred to as contact face, on which the openings of the female elements of the quick-fit couplings are arranged, the female elements being integrally arranged in the block and having fitting axes are orthogonal to said contact face (see annotated figures 22-23 below)
As per claim 5, Beutin discloses the propulsion assembly according to claim 4, and further discloses wherein the central distributor/collector comprises a release mechanism configured to be manipulated by an operator to release the locking means of the female elements (via locking device 40).
As per claim 6, Beutin discloses the propulsion assembly according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the satellite distributor/collector comprises a parallelepipedal machined block having a face, referred to as contact face, from which the male elements of the quick-fit couplings project (see annotated figures 22-23 below).
As per claim 8, Beutin discloses the propulsion assembly according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the satellite distributor/collector comprises first centering means and the central distributor/collector comprises second centering means, the first and the second centering means configured to engage with one another on passage of the half-shell from the open position to the closed position (fittings 30 and 30’ are cylindrical connectors of mating sizes, i.e., the cylindrical surfaces are inherently self-centering; figures 22, 23).
As per claim 9, Beutin discloses an aircraft comprising: a wing; a pylon fixed to the wing (mast 12 (pylon) attached to a wing; paragraph [0009]), the propulsion assembly according to claim 1 mounted to the pylon, each half-shell being articulated to the pylon at said upper bifurcation so as to pivot between the open position and the closed position (as shown; figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter wherein the satellite distributor/collector is fixed, with play, on the half-shell.
In the closest prior art, Beutin discloses the propulsion assembly according to claim 3. However, Beutin teaches the fitting is connected to the half-shell via a rigid pipe (paragraph [0090]). No relevant prior art of record sufficiently teaches the allowable subject matter in such a way that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior arts to create the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (Korean Patent Document KR 20190071093A) teaches a quick-fit fluid connector that couples a plurality of fluid passages.
Rust (U.S. Patent No. 12,281,587) teaches a cowl having a fluid passage.
Toubiana (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2025/0067216) teaches a cooling circuit in the nacelle.
Venkataramani (U.S. Patent No. 7,845,159) teaches a nacelle having a plurality of heat pipes connected to a connector.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745