Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salamon (2019/0250111) in view of Bavendick (2003/0039332).
Regarding claim 1, Salamon teaches a multi-rotational fixture for a radiography system, the fixture comprising: a plurality of fixture assemblies, each of the fixture assemblies configured to hold an object for inspection in a radiography system; a driving rotation stage; one or more driven rotation stages coupled to the driving rotation stage, such that rotation of the driving rotation stage causes the driven rotation stages to rotate simultaneously, wherein the driving rotation stage and the one or more driven rotation stages supports and simultaneously rotates a corresponding one of the fixture assemblies. (Salamon, Figs. 1a, 1b)
Salamon does not disclose each of the fixture assemblies is configured to hold a plurality of objects for inspection and a plurality of follower assemblies configured to support the plurality of fixture assemblies on an opposite end of the fixture assemblies from the driving rotation stage and the driven rotation stages.
Bavendick teaches each of the fixture assemblies is configured to hold a plurality of objects for inspection and a plurality of follower assemblies configured to support the plurality of fixture assemblies on an opposite end of the fixture assemblies from the driving rotation stage and the driven rotation stages. (Bavendick, Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to hold more than one object for inspection as taught by Bavendick in the fixture of Salamon in order to improve throughput.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick further teaches each of the plurality of fixture assemblies is configured to make a toolless connection to a corresponding one of the follower assemblies and a corresponding one of the rotation stages. (Bavendick, Fig. 2, no tool use described)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick further teaches the driving rotation stage is coupled to a driving shaft configured to receive motive power from an external actuator. (Salamon, [0033])
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick further teaches each of the follower assemblies comprises a bearing and a seat coupled to the bearing, wherein each of the fixture assemblies is configured to couple to the seat for support by the bearing. (Bavendick Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick lacks explicit teaching of each of the fixture assemblies comprises a tapered connector configured to sit within the seat for support by the ball bearing, however tapered roller bearings are a well-known mechanical part, and their use for their ordinary purpose of facilitating rotary motion would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick further teaches a stage frame, the follower assemblies and the rotation stages coupled to the stage frame. (Bavendick, item 16)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick further teaches each of the fixture assemblies comprises: a fixture frame configured to be removably coupled to one of the follower assemblies and one of the rotation stages (Bavendick, item 15); and a plurality of supports coupled to the fixture frame and configured to securely hold corresponding ones of the objects under inspection. (Bavendick, item 36)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick further teaches a capacity of the fixture is a product of the number of rotation stages and a number of the plurality of supports on each of the fixture assemblies. (This is true if Bavendick item 36 is considered collective on a per item basis)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Salamon and Bavendick further teaches each of the follower assemblies has an axis of rotation that aligns with an axis of rotation of a corresponding one of the rotation stages. (Bavendick, Fig. 2)
Regarding claims 10-19, claims 10-19 are rejected on the same grounds as claims 1-9, as they have the same substantive limitations, aside from claim 11 which is found in Salamon at [0046]-[0047].
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884