DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0147032 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Lee et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0182297 (hereinafter Lee).
Consider claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising: a display panel including a plurality of pixels (Figure 3, 30 and 40); and a panel driver connected to the display panel (Figure 3, 100, 200 and 50), the panel driver configured to generate stress data representing a degradation amount of the display panel ([0074], the first operator 110 may determine a degree of deterioration of the pixels 40 using the brightness characteristic stored in the third memory 150), to generate corrected image data by adjusting input image data based on the stress data ([0075] and figure 3, Data2), to determine a luminance of the display panel based on a display brightness value or the corrected image data ([0074], the third memory 150 may store a lookup table including values for a brightness characteristic and corresponding emission times), and to drive the display panel based on the corrected image data, a first power supply voltage and the second power supply voltage (Figure 3, Data2, ELVDD and ELVSS), wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a light emitting element (Figure 3 and [0064]), and wherein the panel driver is configured to determine a driving voltage increment for the light emitting element based on the stress data and the luminance of the display panel ([0085], e.g., increased, to compensate, e.g., substantially compensate and/or completely compensate, for a reduced brightness of the display as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel), and to increase the first power supply voltage by the driving voltage increment for the light emitting element [0085].
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose decrease the second power supply voltage.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Lee teaches decrease the second power supply voltage (Figure 27, EVDS fixed and EVSS changes. [0171-0172], the level of the low level voltage EVSS is maintained at 0V level, which decrease from 6V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decrease EVSS in order to increase the current (see I vs Vds in figures 26-27). In addition, the circuit for changing the low level voltage may be less burdensome than the circuit for changing the high level voltage, because of fewer components and less variability or instability when the voltage is changed as suggested in [0175].
Consider claim 2, Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the first power supply voltage is a high power supply voltage, wherein the second power supply voltage is a low power supply voltage (Figure 3, ELVDD and ELVSS), wherein the panel driver increases the high power supply voltage based on the stress data and the luminance of the display panel ([0085], compensate, for a reduced brightness of the display as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel; a value of the first power source ELVDD may be changed, e.g., increased, to compensate).
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose decreases the low power supply voltage.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Lee teaches an organic light-emitting display device (abstract), and further teaches decreases the low power supply voltage (Figure 27, EVDS fixed and EVSS changes. [0171-0172], the level of the low level voltage EVSS is maintained at 0V level, which decrease from 6V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decrease EVSS in order to increase the current (see I vs Vds in figures 26-27). In addition, the circuit for changing the low level voltage may be less burdensome than the circuit for changing the high level voltage, because of fewer components and less variability or instability when the voltage is changed as suggested in [0175].
Consider claim 4, Kim and Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the panel driver is configured to compensate for a luminance decrease of light emitting elements of the plurality of pixels by adjusting the input image data based on the stress data, or by adjusting the second power supply voltage ([0085], compensate, for a reduced brightness of the display as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel; a value of the first power source ELVDD may be changed, e.g., increased, to compensate).
Consider claim 5, Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the panel driver includes: a scan driver configured to provide scan signals to the plurality of pixels (Figure 3, 10); a data driver configured to provide data signals to the plurality of pixels based on the corrected image data (Figure 3, 20 based on Data2); a power management circuit configured to provide the first power supply voltage and the second power supply voltage to the plurality of pixels (Figure 3, 200, ELVDD and ELVSS); and a controller configured to control the scan driver, the data driver and the power management circuit (Figure 3, 100 and 50), and to provide a power control signal to the power management circuit to adjust the second power supply voltage (Figure 3 and [0080] power source unit 200, operator 110 and ELVDD).
Consider claim 19, it includes the limitations of claim 1 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 20, it includes the limitations of claim 1 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. WO2022234982A1 (See English Translation on U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0071300 (hereinafter Lee2)).
Consider claim 16, Kim and Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose a photo sensor configured to detect external ultraviolet light, wherein the panel driver accumulates an exposure time during which the display panel is exposed to the external ultraviolet light by using the photo sensor, and further adjusts the second power supply voltage based on the exposure time.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Lee2 teaches a display with a plurality of pixels (abstract) and further teaches a photo sensor configured to detect external ultraviolet light ([0142], UV…sensors), wherein the panel driver accumulates an exposure time during which the display panel is exposed to the external ultraviolet light by using the photo sensor [0143] and [0081], and further adjusts the second power supply voltage based on the exposure time ([0138-0139], compensate for data in each pixels and thus related voltage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect UV light as taught by Lee2 with the benefit that when the OLED display 600 is exposed to external light, the plurality of LTCFs in the LTCF layer 640 may be deteriorated by ultraviolet rays UV as suggested in [0138].
Consider claim 17, Kim, Lee and Lee2 teach all the limitations of claim 16. In addition Lee2 teaches compensation as the exposure time increases [0138-1039] and [0207].
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the panel driver decreases the second power supply voltage.
However, Lee teaches wherein the panel driver decreases the second power supply voltage (Figure 27, EVDS fixed and EVSS changes. [0171-0172], the level of the low level voltage EVSS is maintained at 0V level, which decrease from 6V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to decrease EVSS in order to increase the current (see I vs Vds in figures 26-27). In addition, the circuit for changing the low level voltage may be less burdensome than the circuit for changing the high level voltage, because of fewer components and less variability or instability when the voltage is changed as suggested in [0175].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pyo et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0124958 (hereinafter Pyo).
Consider claim 18, Kim and Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches adjust based on stress data [0064].
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the plurality of pixels includes red pixels, green pixels and blue pixels, wherein the second power supply voltage includes a second red power supply voltage to be applied to the red pixels, a second green power supply voltage to be applied to the green pixels, and a second blue power supply voltage to be applied to the blue pixels, and wherein the panel driver adjusts the second red power supply voltage based on data for the red pixels and a luminance of the red pixels, adjusts the second green power supply voltage based on stress data for the green pixels and a luminance of the green pixels, and adjusts the second blue power supply voltage based on stress data for the blue pixels and a luminance of the blue pixels.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Pyo teaches a display pane in figure 1 and further teaches wherein the plurality of pixels includes red pixels, green pixels and blue pixels ([0123], red, green and blue), wherein the second power supply voltage includes a second red power supply voltage to be applied to the red pixels ([0123], power provided to red), a second green power supply voltage to be applied to the green pixels([0123], power provided to green), and a second blue power supply voltage to be applied to the blue pixels ([0123], power provided to blue), and wherein the panel driver adjusts the second red power supply voltage based on stress data for the red pixels and a luminance of the red pixels, adjusts the second green power supply voltage based on stress data for the green pixels and a luminance of the green pixels, and adjusts the second blue power supply voltage based on data for the blue pixels and a luminance of the blue pixels ([0120-0121], figures 6a-b and figure 7, the power supply 160 may generate and change the power voltage based on the power control signal. A first waveform 621 of the power voltage illustrated in FIG. 6B may correspond to the first luminance profile 611. Similarly, second through fourth waveforms 622 through 624 of the power voltage illustrated in FIG. 6B may respectively correspond to the second through fourth luminance profiles 622 through 624; and further refers to red, green and blue).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide power supply for red, green and blue as taught by Pyo with the benefit that because material efficiencies (or, material characteristics) of sub-pixels are different from each other, data signals/data voltages provided to the sub-pixels may be different from each other, and threshold voltage mobility of the sub-pixels (e.g., of the driving transistors included in the sub-pixels) may be different from each other. Therefore, chromaticity coordinates (of an input image) represented by the sub-pixels may be changed when the data signals are changed. The display device 100 according to example embodiments may compensate a change of the chromaticity coordinates by differently changing the power voltages for each of the sub-pixels as suggested in [0124].
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0257748 (hereinafter Kim2).
Consider claim 21, Kim and Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim and Lee do not appear to specifically disclose wherein, when the stress data indicates a first degradation amount for a first pixel among the plurality of pixels, and indicates a second degradation amount, which is greater than the first degradation amount, for a second pixel among the plurality of pixels, the panel driver is configured to generate the corrected image data by increasing a gray level of the input image data for the second pixel.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Kim2 teaches a display panel with a plurality of pixels (abstract) and further teaches wherein, when the stress data indicates a first degradation amount for a first pixel among the plurality of pixels (Figure 1 and [0048], degree of deterioration is measured differently depending on the color, driving time, and gray level of an OLED), and indicates a second degradation amount, which is greater than the first degradation amount (Figure 1 and [0048]), for a second pixel among the plurality of pixels, the panel driver is configured to generate the corrected image data by increasing a gray level of the input image data for the second pixel (Figure 1 and [0047-0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase a gray level as taught by Kim2 in order to emit light with first luminance, a deterioration compensation device may compensate for the input gray level to the second gray level as suggested in [0047].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0062118 (hereinafter Park).
Consider claim 22, Kim and Lee teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim and Lee teaches wherein: the panel driver is configured to decrease the second power supply voltage based on an increase of a driving voltage of a light emitting element (Kim: [0085], e.g., increased, to compensate, e.g., substantially compensate and/or completely compensate, for a reduced brightness of the display as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel. Lee: Figure 27, EVDS fixed and EVSS changes. [0171-0172], the level of the low level voltage EVSS is maintained at 0V level, which decrease from 6V); and to decrease the second power supply voltage by the driving voltage increment for the light emitting element (Kim: [0085], e.g., increased, to compensate, e.g., substantially compensate and/or completely compensate, for a reduced brightness of the display as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel. Lee: Figure 27, EVDS fixed and EVSS changes. [0171-0172], the level of the low level voltage EVSS is maintained at 0V level, which decrease from 6V).
Kim and Park do not appear to specifically disclose the panel driver is configured to determine a driving voltage increment for the light emitting element based on the stress data and the luminance of the plurality of pixels.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Park teaches the panel driver is configured to determine a driving voltage increment for the light emitting element based on the stress data and the luminance of the plurality of pixels ([0051-0052], the light source controller 240 controls the power supplying part 220 based on the optical characteristics, i.e., luminance for each color. Light emitting diodes 211 deteriorates over time, which results in reduced luminance for a given drive level of power. [0049], The optical sensor unit 230, which includes sensors 230R, 230G and 230B which are associated with the red, green and blue LEDs respectively, measures an optical characteristic of each of the light emitting diodes 211R, 211G and 211B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine driving voltage based on stress and luminance with the benefit that the RG and B LEDs, 211R, 211G and 211B, in the light source part 210 are appropriately driven to emit white light having desired luminance as suggested in [0051].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: See the reasons mentioned on page 11 of Office Action mailed on 02/09/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11 and 14, Applicant argues that “Applicant submits that in Kim, the change in ELVDD does not consider stress data or corrected image data.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Kim teaches in [0085], e.g., increased, to compensate, e.g., substantially compensate and/or completely compensate, for a reduced brightness of the display as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel. Thus, Kim does considered deterioration in order to change the power supply. Furthermore, Lee teaches decrease EVSS in order to increase the current in figures 26-27. Consequently, the combination disclosed the argued limitations.
On page 14, Applicant argues that “Nowhere does Kim disclose or teach ELVDD being adjusted by a change in driving voltage of a light emitting element as claimed by Applicant.”
Kim teaches in [0085], power source…e.g., increased, to compensate…as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel (and corresponding driving voltage). Thus, power is adjusted by a change in driving voltage of LED (see also, ELVDD, ELVSS and OLED in figure 8).
On page 16, Applicant argues that “Applicant submits that neither paragraph 0080 of Kim nor any other portion of Kim discloses or teaches adjustment of ELVDD based on stress data of a display panel.”
As mentioned above, Kim teaches in [0085], e.g., increased, to compensate, e.g., substantially compensate and/or completely compensate, for a reduced brightness of the display as a result of the deterioration of the most deteriorated pixel.
On page 16, Applicant argues that “Applicant claims that the voltage of the second power supply is adjusted according to the luminance of the display panel”.
Kim teaches in [0085], a reduced brightness of the display. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621