DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 6425149).
Regarding claim 1, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “A directionally adjustable faucet, comprising:
a first base section (topmost 100’);
a second base section (middle 100’) coupled to the first base section (see FIG);
a base rotational interface (joint at the leftmost end of base section, rotatable in FIG) disposed between the first base section and the second base section along a first plane (plane between top/middle 100’), the base rotational interface configured to actuate the second base section relative to the first base section (allows relative rotation);
a plurality of conduit segments (lower 100’ and lower 120) operably coupled to the second base section (see FIG 10); and
at least one conduit rotational interface (joint between lower 100’ and lower 120) disposed between the plurality of conduit segments along a second plane, the at least one conduit rotational interface configured to actuate the plurality of conduit segments relative to each other (see rotation arrows in FIG 10), wherein the second plane is parallel with the first plane (FIG 10; all planes of rotation except the upper 120 about the static conduit are parallel planes of rotation at different heights).”
Regarding claim 2, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the plurality of conduit segments (lower 100’ and lower 120) comprises two conduit segments and the at least one conduit rotational interface comprises one conduit rotational interface disposed between the two conduit segments (as defined above), wherein one of the two conduit segments is directly coupled to the second base section (directly coupled at top end).”
Regarding claim 3, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein a conduit segment (lower 100’) of the plurality of conduit segments is coupled to the second base section (middle 100’) at a substantially right angle (coupling plane is perpendicular to the main longitudinal axes of 100’s).”
Regarding claim 4, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the first base section and the second base section (upper and middle 100’) have the same or substantially the same cross-sectional shape and area (see FIG 10).”
Regarding claim 6, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the first base section (topmost 100’) is coupled to a surface (120) and the first plane is parallel to the surface (plane is parallel to first horizontal longitudinal axis [it is an elbow] of 120).”
Regarding claim 7, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the first base section (topmost 100’) is coupled to a surface (120) and the first plane is perpendicular to the surface (plane is perpendicular to second vertical longitudinal axis [it is an elbow] of 120).”
Regarding claim 9, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “further comprising a pull-down sprayer (130, capable of being pulled down via joints at 100’s , 120s) coupled to a free end of the plurality of conduit segments (at bottom).”
Regarding claim 11, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “A directionally adjustable primary or beverage faucet, comprising:
a base section (segment above top 120);
an outlet portion (top 100’) coupled to the base section (via 120);
a plurality of conduit segments (lower 100’ and middle 100’) operably coupled to the outlet portion;
a first rotational interface (joint at the leftmost end of outlet portion, rotatable in embodiments) disposed between the outlet portion and the plurality of conduit segments along a first plane (between 100’s), the first rotational interface configured to actuate the plurality of conduit segments relative to the base section (via rotation); and
a second rotational interface (between middle 100’ and lower 100’) disposed between the plurality of conduit segments along a second plane, the second rotational interface configured to actuate the plurality of conduit segments relative to each other, wherein the second plane is parallel with the first plane (FIG 10; all planes of rotation except the upper 120 about the static conduit are parallel planes of rotation at different heights).”
Regarding claim 12, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the outlet portion is coupled to the base section at a substantially right angle (coupling plane is perpendicular to the main longitudinal axes of 100’s).”
Regarding claim 14, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the outlet portion (top 100’) and the plurality of conduit segments (middle and lower 100’) have the same or substantially the same cross-sectional shape and area (see FIG 10).”
Regarding claim 16, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the first base section (topmost 100’) is coupled to a surface (120) and the first plane is parallel to the surface (plane is parallel to first horizontal longitudinal axis [it is an elbow] of 120).”
Regarding claim 17, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “wherein the first base section (topmost 100’) is coupled to a surface (120) and the first plane is perpendicular to the surface (plane is perpendicular to second vertical longitudinal axis [it is an elbow] of 120).”
Regarding claim 19, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “further comprising a pull-down sprayer (130, capable of being pulled down via joints at 100’s , 120s) coupled to a free end of a conduit segment of the plurality of conduit segments (at bottom).”
Regarding claim 20, Wang (FIG 10) discloses “A directionally adjustable primary or beverage faucet, comprising:
a first base section (upper static segment above top 120) coupled to a second base section (top 100’); and
a plurality of conduit segments (middle and lower 100’s) operably coupled to the second base section,
wherein the second base section is configured to actuate relative to the first base section (about rotation joint at 120), and wherein the plurality of conduit segments are configured to actuate (relative rotation read on “actuate”) relative to each other (see FIG 10).”
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Mueller et al (US 8061386).
Regarding claim 1, Mueller (FIG 1-3) discloses “A directionally adjustable faucet, comprising:
a first base section (42, 48);
a second base section (56, 68, 22, 76) coupled to the first base section;
a base rotational interface (interaction between 56 and 48/42; Column 3 lines 5-12) disposed between the first base section and the second base section along a first plane (plane defined by top surface of 48), the base rotational interface configured to actuate the second base section relative to the first base section (ensures relative rotation of 56 relative to 42/48);
a plurality of conduit segments (78, 82) operably coupled to the second base section (see FIG 2); and
at least one conduit rotational interface (80) disposed between the plurality of conduit segments along a second plane (plane perpendicular to longitudinal axis of 80), the at least one conduit rotational interface configured to actuate the plurality of conduit segments relative to each other, wherein the second plane is parallel with the first plane (see FIGs 1-2, plane rotations for 56 and 80 are parallel with height offset).”
Regarding claim 2, Mueller (FIG 1-3) discloses “wherein the plurality of conduit segments comprises two conduit segments (78, 82) and the at least one conduit rotational interface (80) comprises one conduit rotational interface disposed between the two conduit segments, wherein one of the two conduit segments (78) is directly coupled to the second base section.”
Regarding claim 3, Mueller (FIG 1-3) discloses “wherein a conduit segment (82) of the plurality of conduit segments is coupled to the second base section (76) (82 and 76 are connected via 78, 80) at a substantially right angle (perpendicular oriented via 78 elbow).”
Regarding claim 5, Mueller (FIG 1-3) discloses “wherein the second base section (56, 68, 22, 76) further comprises a fluid control knob (22) configured to control fluid flow from the faucet.”
Regarding claim 6, Mueller (FIG 1-3) discloses “wherein the first base section (42, 48) is coupled to a surface (38) and the first plane is parallel to the surface (see FIG 2).”
Regarding claim 8, Mueller (FIG 1-3) discloses “wherein the plurality of conduit segments comprises a first conduit segment (78) and a second conduit segment (82), wherein the first conduit segment is coupled to a first fluid control knob (22, via 76) and the second conduit segment is coupled to a second fluid control knob (24, via 84), the first fluid control knob and the second fluid control knob each configured to control fluid flow from the faucet.”
Regarding claim 10, Mueller (FIG 1-3) discloses “wherein the first base section (42, 48) is coupled to a mounting plate (38).”
Regarding claim 11, Mueller (FIG 5) discloses “A directionally adjustable primary or beverage faucet, comprising:
a base section (160);
an outlet portion (180) coupled to the base section;
a plurality of conduit segments (76, 84) operably coupled to the outlet portion;
a first rotational interface (80) disposed between the outlet portion and the plurality of conduit segments along a first plane (plane that 80 extends along), the first rotational interface configured to actuate the plurality of conduit segments relative to the base section (Column 5 lines 26-33); and
a second rotational interface (182) disposed between the plurality of conduit segments (between 76 and 84) along a second plane (plane that bisects 186), the second rotational interface configured to actuate the plurality of conduit segments relative to each other (Column 5 lines 26-33), wherein the second plane is parallel with the first plane (see FIG 5).”
Regarding claim 12, Mueller (FIG 5) discloses “wherein the outlet portion is coupled to the base section at a substantially right angle (see FIG 5).”
Regarding claim 13, Mueller (FIG 5) discloses “wherein the base section is coupled to a mounting plate (164).”
Regarding claim 15, Mueller (FIG 5) discloses “wherein the base section further comprises a first fluid control knob (174) configured to control fluid flow from the faucet.”
Regarding claim 16, Mueller (FIG 5) discloses “wherein the first base section (42, 48) is coupled to a surface (38) and the first plane is parallel to the surface (see FIG 2).”
Regarding claim 18, Mueller (FIG 5) discloses “further comprising a second fluid control knob (178) coupled to a conduit segment of the plurality of conduit segments (via 88), the second control knob being configured to control fluid flow through the conduit segment.”
Regarding claim 20, Mueller (FIGs 1-3) discloses “A directionally adjustable primary or beverage faucet, comprising:
a first base section (42, 48) coupled to a second base section (56, 68, 22, 76); and
a plurality of conduit segments (78, 82) operably coupled to the second base section,
wherein the second base section is configured to actuate relative to the first base section (Column 3 lines 5-12), and wherein the plurality of conduit segments are configured to actuate relative to each other (via 80).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Devices similar to the application are disclosed by Erickson et al (US 20100176328), Zeng (US D954199), Chung (US 20190264849), Eads et al (US D853528), and de Swarte (US 20160145840).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753