DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges the Terminal Disclaimer filed on 12 December 2025 and approved on the same day to overcome the Double Patenting rejection.
The Examiner also acknowledges the Terminal Disclaimer filed on 19 February 2026 and approved on the same day. However, this disclaimer is false. Pegasus Solar does not have any percent interest in US Patent #’s 11,848,636, 10,097,133 or 7,434,362.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections of Claims 1, 26 and 27 has been withdrawn.
Upon further review, the Examiner has found some new Prior Art and has made a new Non-Final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5-9 and 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent # 12,289,079 to Schuit et al [with an effective filing date of 03 August 2015].
Regarding claim 1, Schuit teaches a mounting system for solar modules (Column 29, Line 36), the system comprising: a pair of mounting rails attached to a roof surface and used to support a first solar module having a first edge and a second edge (Column 29, Lines 38-40) substantially parallel to [see Figure 6] and opposite the first edge (Column 29, Line 40), wherein the pair of mounting rails extends in parallel along an interior portion of the first solar module between the first edge and the second edge (Column 29, Lines 40-43), and wherein Figure 6 shows the pair of mounting rails extend substantially orthogonally past a third edge and a fourth edge of the first solar module, the third edge substantially parallel to and opposite the fourth edge; and an edge splice configured to connect the second edge of the first solar module to a first edge of a second solar module supported by a single additional mounting rail (Column 29, Lines 44-47), wherein Figure 44 shows the edge splice is placed between the third edge of the first solar module and the fourth edge of the first solar module, the edge splice further laterally displaced from the pair of mounting rails and from the single additional mounting rail (Column 29, Lines 47-49).
Regarding claim 2, Schuit teaches a second additional mounting rail attached to the roof surface, laterally displaced from the single [at least one] additional mounting rail, and parallel to the single [at least one] additional mounting rail, wherein the second additional mounting rail is positioned along an interior portion of a third solar module; and a second edge splice laterally displaced from the single [at least one] additional mounting rail and that connects a first edge of the third solar module to a second edge of the second solar module (Column 29, Lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 3, Schuit teaches the first edge of the first solar module and the first edge of the second solar module are parallel to the pair of mounting rails (Column 29, Lines 61-63).
Regarding claim 5, Schuit teaches in Figure 6, a first distance between the pair of mounting rails corresponds to a fraction of a length of the third edge of the first solar module, the third edge of the first solar module orthogonal to the first edge of the first solar module.
Regarding claim 6, Schuit teaches in Figure 6, a length of the first edge of the first solar module and a length of the first edge of the second solar module. Schuit also teaches mixing the orientation of the solar modules (Column 5, Lines 1-4) thus the lengths would be different.
Regarding claim 7, Schuit teaches a third solar module that has a first edge and a second edge, wherein the first edge of the third solar module is substantially aligned with the first edge of the first solar module; a fourth solar module with a first edge and a second edge, wherein the second edge of the fourth solar module is substantially aligned with the second edge of the second solar module; anda second edge splice that connects the second edge of the first solar module and the second edge of the third solar module to the first edge of the second solar module and the first edge of the fourth solar module (Column 30, Lines 17-28).
Regarding claim 8, Schuit teaches a third solar module with a first edge that is substantially aligned with the first edge of the first solar module (Column 30, Lines 17-20); and a second edge splice that connects the first edge of the second solar module to a second edge of the third solar module (Column 30, Lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 9, Schuit teaches the single [at least one] additional mounting rail is configured to support the second solar module along an interior portion of the second solar module between the first edge and a second edge of the second solar module (Column 30, Lines 29-33).
Regarding claim 29, Schuit teaches the single additional mounting rail configured to attach to the roof surface in parallel to and laterally displaced from the pair of mounting rails (Column 31, Lines 31-34).
Regarding claim 30, Schuit teaches in Figure 44, the second solar module has a first edge, a second edge opposite the first edge of the second solar module, and a third edge orthogonal to the first edge of the second solar module and the second edge of the second solar module, wherein the single additional mounting rail is further configured to support the second solar module such that third edge of the second solar module is aligned to the third edge of the first solar module.
Regarding claim 31, Schuit teaches in Figure 44, the second solar module has a first edge, a second edge opposite the first edge of the second solar module, and a third edge orthogonal to the first edge of the second solar module and the second edge of the second solar module, wherein the single additional mounting rail is further configured to support the second solar module such that third edge of the second solar module is offset [mixing the orientation of the solar modules (Column 5, Lines 1-4)] to the third edge of the first solar module.
Regarding claim 32, Schuit teaches the single additional mounting rail is further configured to support the second solar module in a different orientation than the first solar module [mixing the orientation of the solar modules (Column 5, Lines 1-4)].
Regarding claim 33, Schuit teaches in Figure 44, the first edge of the first solar module has a first length that is parallel with the pair of mounting rails, and wherein the second solar module has a first edge, a second edge opposite the first edge of the second solar module, and a third edge orthogonal to the first edge of the second solar module and to the second edge of the second solar module and parallel with the pair of mounting rails, the third edge of the second solar module having a different length [mixing the orientation of the solar modules (Column 5, Lines 1-4)] than the first edge of the first solar module.
Regarding claim 34, Schuit teaches the first solar module is part of a first row, and wherein the second solar module is part of a second row (Column 30, Lines 37-44).
Regarding claim 27, Schuit teaches mounting system for solar modules, the system comprising: a pair of mounting rails attached to a roof surface and used to support a first solar module having a first edge and a second edge (Column 29, Lines 36-40) substantially parallel to [see Figure 6] and opposite the first edge (Column 29, Line 40), wherein the pair of mounting rails extends in parallel along an interior portion of the first solar module between the first edge and the second edge (Column 29, Lines 40-43); a first single [at least one] additional mounting rail (Column 29, Lines 46-47) configured to attach to the roof surface in parallel to and laterally displaced from the pair of mounting rails (Column 29, Lines 51-53), wherein the single additional mounting rail is further configured to support a second solar module along an interior portion of the second solar module (Column 30, Lines 29-33); an edge splice configured to connect the second edge of the first solar module to a first edge of the second solar module supported by the first single additional mounting rail, wherein the edge splice is laterally displaced from the pair of mounting rails and from the single additional mounting rail (Column 29, Lines 44-49); a second single additional mounting rail attached to the roof surface, laterally displaced from and parallel to the first single additional mounting rail, wherein the second single additional mounting rail is positioned along an interior portion of a third solar module (Column 29, Lines 51-56); and a second edge splice laterally displaced from the first single additional mounting rail and that connects a first edge of the third solar module to a second edge of the second solar module (Column 29, Lines 57-60).
Regarding claim 28, Schuit teaches the first solar module is part of a first row, and wherein the second solar module is part of a second row (Column 30, Lines 37-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 12,289,079 to Schuit et al in view of US Patent # 10,037,133 to Aliabadi et al.
Regarding claim 4, Schuit teaches in Figure 6, a first mounting rail of the pair of mounting rails is positioned within a first half portion of the first solar module, wherein a second mounting rail of the pair of mounting rails is positioned within a second half portion of the first solar module. Schuit does not teach the single additional mounting rail is positioned within a half portion of the second solar module that is farthest from the first solar module. However, Aliabadi teaches in Figure 1, a single additional mounting rail (14) is positioned within a half portion of a second solar module that is farthest from the first solar module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Schuit with Aliabadi and have a reasonable expectation of success because Aliabadi teaches the single additional mounting rail is placed within a half portion of the second solar module that is farthest from the first solar module in order to provide the necessary balance for mounting the solar module.
Regarding claim 26, Schuit teaches a mounting system for solar modules (Column 29, Line 36), the system comprising: a pair of mounting rails attached to a roof surface and used to support a first solar module having a first edge and a second edge (Column 29, Lines 38-40) substantially parallel to [see Figure 6] and opposite the first edge (Column 29, Line 40), wherein the pair of mounting rails extends in parallel along an interior portion of the first solar module between the first edge and the second edge (Column 29, Lines 40-43), and wherein Figure 6 shows the pair of mounting rails extend substantially orthogonally past a third edge and a fourth edge of the first solar module, the third edge substantially parallel to and opposite the fourth edge; and Figure 6 shows an edge splice configured to connect the second edge of the first solar module to a first edge of a second solar module supported by a single additional mounting rail (Column 29, Lines 44-47), wherein Figure 44 shows the edge splice is placed between the third edge of the first solar module and the fourth edge of the first solar module, the edge splice further laterally displaced from the pair of mounting rails and from the single additional mounting rail (Column 29, Lines 47-49). Schuit does not teach the single additional mounting rail is positioned within a half portion of the second solar module that is farthest from the first solar module. However, Aliabadi teaches in Figure 1, a single additional mounting rail (14) extending parallel to a pair of mounting rails and attached within a half portion of a second solar module that is farthest from the first solar module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Schuit with Aliabadi and have a reasonable expectation of success because Aliabadi teaches the single additional mounting rail is placed within a half portion of the second solar module that is farthest from the first solar module in order to provide the necessary balance for attaching the solar module.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635