DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process or calculation without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) that a controller signal is to be calculated by looking the values up on a table and interpreting a table. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it is claiming only looking up values on a table and calculating values. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because it only requires mental processes and not an actual coating step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. According to the In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988) factors for determining undue experimentation, A) The breadth of the claims is such that any table is claimed when clearly a specific one is used to make and use the invention (B) The nature of the invention is such that a specific speed and temperature is needed, and the claim includes an unknown table (C) The state of the prior art does not include any sort of standardized table (D) The level of one of ordinary skill would be able to set the temperature and speed but not at all of the breadth of every value claimed (E) The level of predictability in the art is such that one of ordinary skill would be able to set the temperature and speed but not at all of the breadth of every value claimed (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor and (G) The existence of working examples is little to none as no tables or examples are given; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure is thus unreasonable, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to formulate their own table that may or may not match the instant invention with undisclosed values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13, 15-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hein et al. (US 2010/0196591 A1, hereafter Hein) in view of Sauer et al. (US 2016/0340776 A1, hereafter Sauer)
As to claim 1, Hein teaches a method of depositing an evaporated material onto a substrate in a deposition apparatus (abstract, para 0065), the method comprising: guiding the substrate along a substrate transport path from a roller through a free-span area towards a processing drum at a substrate transportation speed in the deposition apparatus (para 0023), the deposition apparatus further comprising: a first heater assembly positioned to heat the substrate in the free-span area between the roller and the processing drum (154 in Fig 1, para 0023); measuring the substrate transportation speed with a substrate speed sensor, the substrate speed sensor generating a substrate speed signal correlated with the substrate transportation speed (para 0020, 0031- there must be a sensor for the speed to be set and known); receiving the substrate speed signal by a controller (para 0036, a controller controls all of the deposition functions), heating the substrate from a first substrate temperature to a second substrate temperature with the first heater assembly between the roller and the processing drum, to provide heating of the substrate in the free-span area before the substrate comes into contact with the processing drum (Figs 1, 8 paras 0052, 0074-0075); and depositing the evaporated material onto the substrate using at least one deposition source (162, para 0042, for example) as the substrate travels along the substrate transport path on the processing drum.
Though Hein sets the speed and the temperature of the substrate with a controller that necessarily uses a sensor (because Hein knows the speed), Hein does not teach that the temperature is set based upon the substrate speed.
Sauer teaches that the temperature depends on the speed in para 0044 to provide a suitable length of conduct of flexible substrates in processing areas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hein to include that the temperature is set based upon the substrate speed as taught by Sauer in order to provide a suitable length of conduct of flexible substrates in processing areas.
As to claim 2, Sauer teaches heating the drum depending on process requirements in para 0021.
As to claims 3-4 and 19, there must be at least two temperature sensors as the temperatures of the rollers and drums are known in Hein paras 0032-0035, 0045, 0075 etc. As to the location of the sensors, it has been held that to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structure limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure. Ex parte Pfeifer, 1962 C.D. 408 (1961).
As to claim 5, a second heater 154, along with others 152 may be added depending on the desired temperature (para 0040) in Hein.
As to claim 9, Sauer teaches that roller heaters may be used to heat the substrate as well in para 0060.
As to claims 10-11, the prior art discloses the claimed invention except for the claimed temperatures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed temperatures, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claim 12, Hein teaches a foil or web substrate in para 0019.
As to claim 13, Hein teaches a cooling drum in para 0027.
As to claim 15, Sauer provides deposition sources in para 0032 that would necessarily or commonly use nozzles.
As to claim 16, there are gas cushions provided in paras 0024-0025 of Hein.
As to claim 18, Sauer teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of using an infrared heating device in para 0049.
As to claim 20, Hein uses vacuum in para 0072, for example. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed vacuum range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-13, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hein in view of Pieralisi et al. (US 2020/0131627 A1, hereafter Pieralisi)
As to claim 1, Hein teaches a method of depositing an evaporated material onto a substrate in a deposition apparatus (abstract, para 0065), the method comprising: guiding the substrate along a substrate transport path from a roller through a free-span area towards a processing drum at a substrate transportation speed in the deposition apparatus (para 0023), the deposition apparatus further comprising: a first heater assembly positioned to heat the substrate in the free-span area between the roller and the processing drum (154 in Fig 1, para 0023); measuring the substrate transportation speed with a substrate speed sensor, the substrate speed sensor generating a substrate speed signal correlated with the substrate transportation speed (para 0020, 0031- there must be a sensor for the speed to be set and known); receiving the substrate speed signal by a controller (para 0036, a controller controls all of the deposition functions), heating the substrate from a first substrate temperature to a second substrate temperature with the first heater assembly between the roller and the processing drum, to provide heating of the substrate in the free-span area before the substrate comes into contact with the processing drum (Figs 1, 8 paras 0052, 0074-0075); and depositing the evaporated material onto the substrate using at least one deposition source (162, para 0042, for example) as the substrate travels along the substrate transport path on the processing drum.
Though Hein sets the speed and the temperature of the substrate with a controller that necessarily uses a sensor (because Hein knows the speed), Hein does not teach that the temperature is set based upon the substrate speed.
Pieralisi sets a speed then sets a temperature dependent on the speed in paras 0042-0043 and 0052-0053 where the transportation conditions such as speed and temperature are set to stabilize the flexible substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hein to include that the temperature is set based upon the substrate speed as taught by Pierlaisi in order to stabilize the flexible substrate.
As to claim 2, Pieralisi teaches heating the drum depending on process requirements in the abstract.
As to claims 3-4 and 19, there must be at least two temperature sensors as the temperatures of the rollers and drums are known in Hein paras 0032-0035, 0045, 0075 etc. As to the location of the sensors, it has been held that to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structure limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure. Ex parte Pfeifer, 1962 C.D. 408 (1961).
As to claim 5, a second heater 154, along with others 152 may be added depending on the desired temperature (para 0040) in Hein.
As to claim 12, Hein teaches a foil or web substrate in para 0019.
As to claim 13, Hein teaches a cooling drum in para 0027.
As to claim 16, there are gas cushions provided in paras 0024-0025 of Hein.
As to claim 20, Hein uses vacuum in para 0072, for example. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed vacuum range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 12-13, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hein in view of Lotz (US 2014/0216924 A1)
As to claim 1, Hein teaches a method of depositing an evaporated material onto a substrate in a deposition apparatus (abstract, para 0065), the method comprising: guiding the substrate along a substrate transport path from a roller through a free-span area towards a processing drum at a substrate transportation speed in the deposition apparatus (para 0023), the deposition apparatus further comprising: a first heater assembly positioned to heat the substrate in the free-span area between the roller and the processing drum (154 in Fig 1, para 0023); measuring the substrate transportation speed with a substrate speed sensor, the substrate speed sensor generating a substrate speed signal correlated with the substrate transportation speed (para 0020, 0031- there must be a sensor for the speed to be set and known); receiving the substrate speed signal by a controller (para 0036, a controller controls all of the deposition functions), heating the substrate from a first substrate temperature to a second substrate temperature with the first heater assembly between the roller and the processing drum, to provide heating of the substrate in the free-span area before the substrate comes into contact with the processing drum (Figs 1, 8 paras 0052, 0074-0075); and depositing the evaporated material onto the substrate using at least one deposition source (162, para 0042, for example) as the substrate travels along the substrate transport path on the processing drum.
Though Hein sets the speed and the temperature of the substrate with a controller that necessarily uses a sensor (because Hein knows the speed), Hein does not teach that the temperature is set based upon the substrate speed.
Lotz teaches that the heating is dependent on substrate speed in para 0087 to provide exemplary processes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hein to include that the temperature is set based upon the substrate speed as taught by Lotz in order to provide exemplary processes.
As to claims 3-4 and 19, there must be at least two temperature sensors as the temperatures of the rollers and drums are known in Hein paras 0032-0035, 0045, 0075 etc. As to the location of the sensors, it has been held that to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structure limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure. Ex parte Pfeifer, 1962 C.D. 408 (1961).
As to claim 5, a second heater 154, along with others 152 may be added depending on the desired temperature (para 0040) in Hein.
As to claim 12, Hein teaches a foil or web substrate in para 0019.
As to claim 13, Hein teaches a cooling drum in para 0027.
As to claim 16, there are gas cushions provided in paras 0024-0025 of Hein.
As to claim 20, Hein uses vacuum in para 0072, for example. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed vacuum range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hein in view of Pieralisi or Sauer or Lotz in further view of Lopatin et al. (US 2010/0261071 A1, hereafter Lopatin)
Hein in view of Pieralisi, Sauer or Lotz does not teach wherein the evaporated material is magnesium, ytterbium, or lithium fluoride or wherein the substrate comprises graphite and the evaporated material is lithium. Lopatin teaches a flexible substrate (para 0008) with roller and drum supports during coating (para 0134) that may coat the claimed materials and has a substrate including graphite (para 0052-0053, 0058, 0044, 0061). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hein to include the materials used by Loptain in order to expand the applications and materials usable by its apparatus.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718