Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark Pub. No. US 2013/0090996 A1 [Stark] in view of Parshin et al. Patent No. US 10,762,411 B1 [Parshin] and further in view of Jenkins et al. Pub. No. US 2023/0410037 A1 [Jenkins].
1. Stark discloses an interactive object displaying apparatus [Fig. 1], the interactive object displaying apparatus comprising:
at least a structure comprising one or more shelves [¶ 9], wherein the one or more shelves are configured to receive at least an object [Fig. 2 by means of 26, for instance];
a display device coupled to the at least a structure [¶ 20 each compartment is a display screen 22a, 22b, 22c or 22d (individually and collectively display screen(s) 22)], wherein the display device is communicatively connected to at least a sensor [¶ 23], wherein the display device is configured to display a content [¶¶ 19-20 34b is associated with compartment 32b; sensor 34c is associated with compartment 32c, and so on. Display screens 22 and content sensors 34 are interconnected with one or more computing devices 30 operable to monitor the content of each compartment and thereby the "state" of shelf unit 12, and present video images on screens];
the at least a sensor coupled to the display device, wherein the at least a sensor is configured to detect sensor data [¶¶ 19-23]; and
a controller communicatively connected to the at least a sensor and the display device, wherein the controller is configured to transmit the content to the display device [Fig. 3, 30 & ¶ 27]. Stark does not explicitly disclose the added limitations: “wherein the at least a sensor is located on a flat surface of a housing of the display device.” However Parshin teaches a smart shelf apparatus with a sensor on a flat front surface of a housing [Fig. 2B, 112(2) for instance]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stark with Parshin, since such a modification optimizes sensing through location placement.
Stark in view of Parshin is silent on wherein the sensor data comprises a proximity signal based on a predetermined range from the at least a sensor. However, Jenkins teaches a smart shelf monitoring system [Figs. 7-8 & ¶ 70, for instance] wherein a user’s device within a range of sensor provides an alert [see ¶¶ 71-78, for instance]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stark in view of Parshin with Jenkins as required, since such a modification allows for optimized tracking and updating of devices.
2. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least a sensor comprises a motion detection sensor, wherein the motion detection sensor [Stark ¶ 36 sensor of machine vision] is configured to: detect a motion signal [id. presence vs. non-presence, for instance]; transmit the motion signal to the controller [¶ 37 using software]; and display, using the controller, the content [¶ 45].
3. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the display device comprises a structure display device, wherein the structure display device is configured to display the content as a function of the at least an object [Stark ¶ 32 use sensors 34 to sense the contents of each compartment 32. Under software control, computing device 30 may then control what is being displayed on each of screens 22 in dependence of the contents of compartments].
4. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein displaying the content as a function of the at least an object comprises: identifying, using an object unique identifier of the sensor data, object data [Stark ¶¶ 32-33]; transmitting the object data to the controller [¶ 32]; and generating, using the controller, the content [id. computing device 30 using conventional machine vision techniques may use sensors 34 to sense the contents of each compartment 32. Under software control, computing device 30 may then control what is being displayed on each of screens].
5. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least a structure comprises reconfigurable elements, wherein the reconfigurable elements are configured to accommodate at least an object of varying sizes [Stark ¶ 48 & Figs. 1 and 6A-6B, for instance].
6. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the sensor data comprises geolocation data [Parshin col. 4, ll. 24-42].
7. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the display device is configured to: receive user input processed by an event handler [Stark ¶ 33 user interaction]; and respond to the user input by executing at least an action [¶ 33 it may determine the proximity of another item, or a consumer's hand].
8. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least a user input comprises one or more of a touch input and an audio input [Stark ¶¶ 29-32 where user interacts with objects].
9. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least an action comprises one or more of changing the content on the display device and triggering a notification to a downstream device [Stark ¶ 36 interface component 84 may receive user commands by way of a network such as a wireless or inter network].
10. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches the at least a sensor comprises an optical sensor, wherein the optical sensor is configured to: capture visual data [Stark ¶ 55]; process the visual data to identify one or more characteristics of the object and environment [¶ 46 with respect to shelf environment]; and generate, using the controller, the content based on the identified characteristics of the object and environment [¶ 42].
11. Stark discloses an interactive object displaying apparatus [Fig. 1], the interactive object displaying apparatus comprising: at least a structure comprising one or more shelves [¶ 9], wherein the one or more shelves are configured to receive at least an object [Fig. 2 by means of 26, for instance]; a display device coupled to the at least a structure [¶ 20 each compartment is a display screen 22a, 22b, 22c or 22d (individually and collectively display screen(s) 22)], wherein the display device is communicatively connected to at least a sensor [¶ 23], wherein the display device is configured to display a content [¶¶ 19-20 34b is associated with compartment 32b; sensor 34c is associated with compartment 32c, and so on. Display screens 22 and content sensors 34 are interconnected with one or more computing devices 30 operable to monitor the content of each compartment and thereby the "state" of shelf unit 12, and present video images on screens]; the at least a sensor coupled to the display device, wherein the at least a sensor is configured to detect sensor data [¶¶ 19-23]; and a controller communicatively connected to the at least a sensor and the display device, wherein the controller is configured to transmit the content to the display device [Fig. 3, 30 & ¶ 27]. Stark does not explicitly disclose the added limitations: “wherein the at least a sensor is located on a flat surface of a housing of the display device.” However Parshin teaches a smart shelf apparatus with a sensor on a flat front surface of a housing [Fig. 2B, 112(2) for instance]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stark with Parshin, since such a modification optimizes sensing through location placement.
Stark in view of Parshin is silent on wherein the sensor data comprises a proximity signal based on a predetermined range from the at least a sensor. However, Jenkins teaches a smart shelf monitoring system [Figs. 7-8 & ¶ 70, for instance] wherein a user’s device within a range of sensor provides an alert [see ¶¶ 71-78, for instance]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stark in view of Parshin with Jenkins as required, since such a modification allows for optimized tracking and updating of devices.
12. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least a sensor comprises a motion detection sensor, wherein the motion detection sensor [Stark ¶ 36 sensor of machine vision] is configured to: detect a motion signal [id. presence vs. non-presence, for instance]; transmit the motion signal to the controller and display, using the controller, the content [¶ 45].
13. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the display device comprises a structure display device, wherein the structure display device is configured to display the content as a function of the at least an object [Stark ¶ 32 use sensors 34 to sense the contents of each compartment 32. Under software control, computing device 30 may then control what is being displayed on each of screens 22 in dependence of the contents of compartments].
14. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein displaying the content as a function of the at least an object comprises: identifying, using an object unique identifier of the sensor data, object data [Stark ¶¶ 32-33]; transmitting the object data to the controller [¶ 32]; and generating, using the controller, the content [id. computing device 30 using conventional machine vision techniques may use sensors 34 to sense the contents of each compartment 32. Under software control, computing device 30 may then control what is being displayed on each of screens].
15. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least a structure comprises reconfigurable elements, wherein the reconfigurable elements are configured to accommodate at least an object of varying sizes [Stark ¶ 48 & Figs. 1 and 6A-6B, for instance].
16. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the sensor data comprises geolocation data [Parshin col. 4, ll. 24-42].
17. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the display device is configured to: receive user input processed by an event handler [Stark ¶ 33 user interaction]; and respond to the user input by executing at least an action [¶ 33 it may determine the proximity of another item, or a consumer's hand].
18. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least a user input comprises one or more of a touch input and an audio input [Stark ¶¶ 29-32 where user interacts with objects].
19. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches wherein the at least an action comprises one or more of changing the content on the display device and triggering a notification to a downstream device [Stark ¶ 36 interface component 84 may receive user commands by way of a network such as a wireless or inter network].
20. Stark in view of Parshin and further in view of Jenkins teaches the at least a sensor comprises an optical sensor, wherein the optical sensor is configured to: capture visual data [Stark ¶ 55]; process the visual data to identify one or more characteristics of the object and environment [¶ 46 with respect to shelf environment]; and generate, using the controller, the content based on the identified characteristics of the object and environment [¶ 42].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03 December 2025 are fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On p. 7 of 9, Applicant argues that Stark in view of Parshin does not teach or suggest the “wherein the at least a sensor is located on a flat surface of a housing of the display device” limitation. The examiner disagrees. Stark [Fig. 1, for instance] teaches some ports for sensors [34]. Parshin teaches a smart shelve apparatus [Fig. 2A, for instance] with sensors on flat surfaces [108]. When modified [for motivations detailed above], the shelf of Stark which is prepped for sensor that include the feature of those sensors being on a flat surface.
As per the housing, the shelving itself is the housing for the display and thereby carry the sensor on its flat surface when modified.
The rejection is maintained and made final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gustavo Polo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622