DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… a storage protocol of the storage device …” because Stark’s data mode and command mode of an SDN switch refer to operational states, and not protocols; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, Stark’s data mode would have a corresponding protocol for processing received data with payload and Stark’s command mode would have a corresponding protocol for processing received data as command, and as Stark’s data mode and command mode operate in associated with a storage device/data center, Stark’s data mode and command mode are equivocated to applicant’s claimed “storage protocols”.
Additionally, please note that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a set of rules and standards that define how data is stored, accessed, managed within a computer system or network) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As applicant appears to be applying the above arguments for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 11 and 15, the examiner will also apply the above response for independent claim 1 towards independent claims 11 and 15.
I. REJECTIONS BASED DOUBLE PATENTING
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,067. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the storage system described in claim 1 of the instant application (18/973,890) are taught/suggested in claim 1 of the patented application (US Patent 12,229,067). (Please note that as both the instant and patented applications claimed similar subject matters, the examiner is selecting one of the independent claims from the instant and patented applications for the instant double patenting rejection)
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,649,940 in view of Stark et al. (US Patent 9,503,372). (Please note that as both the instant and patented applications claimed similar subject matters, the examiner is selecting one of the independent claims from the instant and patented applications for the instant double patenting rejection)
As per claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 10,649,940 teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: a connector; and a storage device communicatively coupled to the connector, the storage device being configured according to a first protocol based on a first signal received by the connector, the first signal causing a network port of the storage device and a storage protocol of the storage device to operate accordingly (Claim 1).
U.S. Patent No. 10,649,940 does not teach the storage system comprising: change from a first status to a second status.
Stark teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: change from a first status to a second status (e.g. associated with changing between command mode and data mode: col. 3, ll. 39-46) (Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; and col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Stark’s modes into U.S. Patent No. 10,649,940’s system to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,119,963 in view of Stark et al. (US Patent 9,503,372). (Please note that as both the instant and patented applications claimed similar subject matters, the examiner is selecting one of the independent claims from the instant and patented applications for the instant double patenting rejection)
As per claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,119,963 teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: a connector; and a storage device communicatively coupled to the connector, the storage device being configured according to a first protocol based on a first signal received by the connector, the first signal causing the storage device and a storage protocol of the storage device to operate accordingly (Claim 1).
U.S. Patent No. 11,119,963 does not teach the storage system comprising: a network port to change from a first status to a second status.
Stark teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: network port to change from a first status to a second status (e.g. associated with changing between command mode and data mode: col. 3, ll. 39-46) (Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; and col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Stark’s modes into U.S. Patent No. 11,119,963’s system to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
II. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valavi et al. (US Pub.: 2004/0066790) in view of Stark et al. (US Patent 9,503,372).
As per claim 1, Valavi teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: a connector (e.g. associated with connector for single-port, multiple protocol output: [0033]); and a storage device (e.g. associated with server: [0019]) communicatively coupled to the connector, the storage device being configured according to a first protocol based on a first signal received by the connector, the first signal causing a network port of the storage device to operate accordingly (e.g. associated with detecting protocol and operating accordingly: [0004]; [0015]) ([0004]; and [0015]-[0032]).
Valavi does not teach the system comprising: a storage protocol of the storage device to change from a first status to a second status.
Stark teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: a storage protocol of the storage device to change from a first status to a second status (e.g. associated with protocol for data center to change between command mode and data mode, wherein the command mode would have corresponding protocol for processing data as command and data mode would have corresponding protocol for processing received data with payload: col. 3, ll. 39-46) (Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; and col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Stark’s modes into Valavi’s system for the benefit of implementing a less expensive architecture that efficiently detect and handle data flow (Stark, col. 1, ll. 8-10; col. 2, ll. 36-37; col. 14, ll. 39-43; col. 15, ll. 53-56) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the storage device is reconfigurable according to a second protocol based on a second signal received by the connector, the second signal causing the network port of the storage device to change from the second status to the first status (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
As per claim 3, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the network port comprises an Ethernet port (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
As per claim 4, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the second status corresponds to a network engine of the storage device being enabled (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
As per claim 5, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 4 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the network port is configured as a data plane in the second status (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 6, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 4 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the second status corresponds to an interconnect lane of the storage device being configured to operate as a control plane (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 7, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the first status corresponds to an interconnect engine of the storage device being enabled (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 8, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the connector is capable of supporting a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) protocol (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 9, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system further comprising a midplane communicatively coupled to the connector, the midplane comprising a drive bay to insert the storage device and to insert a second storage device (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 1-3; Fig. 5; col. 1, ll. 15-62; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 10, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the midplane configures the storage device to operate in a high-availability (HA) mode (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 11, Valavi teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: a logic device configured as an interface to a storage device (e.g. associated with interfacing with server: [0033]), the logic device being configured according to a first protocol based on a first signal causing a network port of the storage device to operate accordingly (e.g. associated with detecting protocol and operating accordingly: [0004]; [0015]) ([0004]; and [0015]-[0032])
Valavi does not teach the system comprising: a storage protocol of the storage device to change from a first status to a second status.
Stark teaches/suggests a storage system comprising: a storage protocol of the storage device to change from a first status to a second status (e.g. associated with protocol for data center to change between command mode and data mode, wherein the command mode would have corresponding protocol for processing data as command and data mode would have corresponding protocol for processing received data with payload: col. 3, ll. 39-46) (Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; and col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Stark’s modes into Valavi’s system for the benefit of implementing a less expensive architecture that efficiently detect and handle data flow (Stark, col. 1, ll. 8-10; col. 2, ll. 36-37; col. 14, ll. 39-43; col. 15, ll. 53-56) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
As per claim 12, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the logic device is capable of reconfiguring the storage device according to a second protocol based on a second signal (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 13, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein the logic device is a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) or an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious and/or well-known to one of ordinary skilled in the art to use ASIC or FPGA for implementing the integrated circuit architecture.
As per claim 14, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 11 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the storage system comprising wherein: the first status comprises being enabled for a data transfer; and the second status comprises being disabled for the data transfer (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 15, Valavi teaches/suggests a method for storage, the method comprising receiving, by a connector (e.g. associated with connector for single-port, multiple protocol output: [0033]) communicatively coupled to a storage device (e.g. associated with server: [0019]), a first signal, the first signal causing a network port of the storage device to operate accordingly (e.g. associated with detecting the protocol and operating accordingly: [0004]; [0015]) ([0004]; and [0015]-[0032]).
Valavi does not teach the method comprising: a storage protocol of the storage device to change from a first status to a second status.
Stark teaches/suggests a method comprising: a storage protocol of the storage device to change from a first status to a second status (e.g. associated with protocol for data center to change between command mode and data mode, wherein the command mode would have corresponding protocol for processing data as command and data mode would have corresponding protocol for processing received data with payload: col. 3, ll. 39-46) (Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; and col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Stark’s modes into Valavi’s system for the benefit of implementing a less expensive architecture that efficiently detect and handle data flow (Stark, col. 1, ll. 8-10; col. 2, ll. 36-37; col. 14, ll. 39-43; col. 15, ll. 53-56) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
As per claim 16, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the method further comprising receiving, by the connector, a second signal, the second signal causing the network port of the storage device to change from the second status to the first status (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
As per claim 17 , Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the method comprising wherein the network port comprises an Ethernet port (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
As per claim 18, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the method comprising wherein the second status corresponds to a network engine of the storage device being enabled (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57).
As per claim 19, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 18 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the method comprising wherein the network port is configured as a data plane in the second status (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
As per claim 20, Valavi and Stark teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 18 above, where Valavi and Stark further teach/suggest the method comprising wherein the second status corresponds to an interconnect lane of the storage device being configured to operate as a control plane (Valavi, [0004]; [0015]-[0032]; and Stark, Fig. 3; Fig. 5; col. 3, l. 37 to col. 4, l. 7; col. 5, l. 43 to col. 7, l. 18; col. 10, l. 64 to col. 11, l. 57), wherein it would have been obvious that the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
III. PERTINENT RELATED PRIOR ART
Venkatesan et al. (US Pub.: 2015/0256400): discloses self-configuring port system that is configured to couple to a network switch port that is configured to operate in a plurality of different modes, and selecting a first mode of the plurality of different modes for use in transmitting data between the network switch port and the respective peer device
IV. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 August 24, 2026