DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 09, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application is currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert Jose et al. (US 2022/0301561 A1) in view of Gorzela et al. (US 20180137472 A1).
As to claim 1, Robert Jose discloses a method [§ 0001] comprising:
receiving, from a remote server, a local model for speech recognition, wherein the local model comprises a copy of a centralized model [“Enabling, on a local device, a voice processing system that limits the amount of data needed to be transmitted to a remote server in translating a voice input into executable data.” § 0003].
performing, by the first client device, speech recognition using the local model on at least one audio stream of the one or more audio streams, wherein performing speech recognition comprises [“The local speech-to-text model is a neural network model or machine learning model supplied to the local device by a remote server which is pre-trained to recognize a limited set of words corresponding to actions that the local device can perform.” § 0023]:
identifying, based on a vocabulary database for a user [A transcription of the query], user-specific vocabulary within the at least one audio stream [“Server processing circuitry is in generating a transcription of the query, identify a plurality of phonemes corresponding to the individual sounds of the query.” § 0026-0027]; and
generating, based on the user-specific vocabulary, a private transcription of the one or more audio streams, wherein the private transcription comprises the user-specific vocabulary [“Local device processing circuitry processes the voice query received by the local device via input circuitry using a local speech-to-text model to generate a transcription of the voice query.” § 0028].
Robert Jose fails to disclose joining a virtual meeting, by a first client device.
However, Gorzela teaches joining, by a first client device, a virtual meeting having a plurality of participants, the virtual meeting involving exchanging one or more audio streams between the participants [§ 0023].
Robert Jose and Gorzela are analogous because they are all directed at participant speech recognition management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Robert Jose reference with the teaching of Gorzela, so that the local device would include the joining of the meeting option in the system of Robert Jose, would have been combined into a joining of a virtual meeting, for the obvious purpose of providing the user the time for the meeting communications, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 2, Robert Jose discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising generating a neutralized transcription based on the private transcription and a modification of the user-specific vocabulary within the private transcription [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027].
As to claim 3, Robert Jose discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a transcript of the one or more audio streams [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027]; and
generating the private transcription is based on the transcript [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027].
As to claim 6, Robert Jose discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining the vocabulary database from a user profile associated with the user [“The transcription is received from the remote server, it is stored in a data structure, such as a table or database at the local device.” § 0003].
As to claim 8, Robert Jose discloses a system [FIG. 1] comprising:
a communications interface [106 on FIG. 1];
a non-transitory computer-readable medium [§ 0128]; and
one or more processors [310 on FIG. 3] configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium [§ 0128] to:
receive, from a remote server, a local model for speech recognition, wherein the local model comprises a copy of a centralized model [“Enabling, on a local device, a voice processing system that limits the amount of data needed to be transmitted to a remote server in translating a voice input into executable data.” § 0003];
perform, by the first client device, speech recognition using the local model on at least one audio stream of the one or more audio streams [“The local speech-to-text model is a neural network model or machine learning model supplied to the local device by a remote server which is pre-trained to recognize a limited set of words corresponding to actions that the local device can perform.” § 0023];
identify, based on a vocabulary database for a user, user-specific vocabulary within the at least one audio stream [“Server processing circuitry is in generating a transcription of the query, identify a plurality of phonemes corresponding to the individual sounds of the query.” § 0026-0027]; and
generate, based on the user-specific vocabulary, a private transcription of the one or more audio streams, wherein the private transcription comprises the user-specific vocabulary [“Local device processing circuitry processes the voice query received by the local device via input circuitry using a local speech-to-text model to generate a transcription of the voice query.” § 0028].
Robert Jose fails to disclose join a virtual meeting, by a first client device.
However, Gorzela teaches join, by a first client device, a virtual meeting having a plurality of participants, the virtual meeting involving exchanging one or more audio streams between the participants [§ 0023].
Robert Jose and Gorzela are analogous because they are all directed at participant speech recognition management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Robert Jose reference with the teaching of Gorzela, so that the local device would include the joining of the meeting option in the system of Robert Jose, would have been combined into a joining of a virtual meeting, for the obvious purpose of providing the user the time for the meeting communications, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 9, Robert Jose discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to generate a neutralized transcription based on the private transcription and a modification of the user-specific vocabulary within the private transcription [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027].
As to claim 10, Robert Jose discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: receive a transcript of the one or more audio streams [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027]; and
generate the private transcription is based on the transcript [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027].
As to claim 13, Robert Jose discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to obtain the vocabulary database from a user profile associated with the user [“The transcription is received from the remote server, it is stored in a data structure, such as a table or database at the local device.” § 0003].
As to claim 15, Robert Jose discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions [§ 0128] configured to cause one or more processors to:
receive, from a remote server, a local model for speech recognition, wherein the local model comprises a copy of a centralized model [“Enabling, on a local device, a voice processing system that limits the amount of data needed to be transmitted to a remote server in translating a voice input into executable data.” § 0003];
perform, by the first client device, speech recognition using the local model on at least one audio stream of the one or more audio streams [“The local speech-to-text model is a neural network model or machine learning model supplied to the local device by a remote server which is pre-trained to recognize a limited set of words corresponding to actions that the local device can perform.” § 0023];
identify, based on a vocabulary database for a user, user-specific vocabulary within the at least one audio stream [“Server processing circuitry is in generating a transcription of the query, identify a plurality of phonemes corresponding to the individual sounds of the query.” § 0026-0027]; and
generate, based on the user-specific vocabulary, a private transcription of the one or more audio streams, wherein the private transcription comprises the user-specific vocabulary [“Local device processing circuitry processes the voice query received by the local device via input circuitry using a local speech-to-text model to generate a transcription of the voice query.” § 0028].
Robert Jose fails to disclose join a virtual meeting, by a first client device.
However, Gorzela teaches join, by a first client device, a virtual meeting having a plurality of participants, the virtual meeting involving exchanging one or more audio streams between the participants [§ 0023].
Robert Jose and Gorzela are analogous because they are all directed at participant speech recognition management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Robert Jose reference with the teaching of Gorzela, so that the local device would include the joining of the meeting option in the system of Robert Jose, would have been combined into a joining of a virtual meeting, for the obvious purpose of providing the user the time for the meeting communications, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 16, Robert Jose discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, further comprising processor-executable instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to generate a neutralized transcription based on the private transcription and a modification of the user-specific vocabulary within the private transcription [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027].
As to claim 17, Robert Jose discloses he non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, further comprising processor-executable instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to: receive a transcript of the one or more audio streams [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027]; and
generate the private transcription is based on the transcript [“Local device processing circuitry uses the metadata to further train the local or private speech-to-text model to recognize future instances of the query.” § 0026-0027].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7, 11-12, 14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,646 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one claim of the instant application is being taught by the claims of the U.S. Patent.
Patented claim 8 recites a method which perform the feature of the generating, based on the user-specific vocabulary, a private transcription of the one or more audio streams, wherein the private transcription comprises the user-specific vocabulary.
The pending claim 1 recites a method which perform the similar feature of generating, based on the user-specific vocabulary, a private transcription of the one or more audio streams, wherein the private transcription comprises the user-specific vocabulary.
Therefore, the patented claim 8 anticipates the pending 1.
Pending claims
Patented claims
1. A method comprising: joining, by a first client device, a virtual meeting having a plurality of participants, the virtual meeting involving exchanging one or more audio streams between the participants; receiving, from a remote server, a local model for speech recognition, wherein the local model comprises a copy of a centralized model; performing, by the first client device, speech recognition using the local model on at least one audio stream of the one or more audio streams, wherein performing speech recognition comprises: identifying, based on a vocabulary database for a user, user-specific vocabulary within the at least one audio stream; and generating, based on the user-specific vocabulary, a private transcription of the one or more audio streams, wherein the private transcription comprises the user-specific vocabulary.
8. A method comprising: joining, by a first client device, a virtual meeting having a plurality of participants, each participant of the plurality of participants exchanging one or more audio streams via the virtual meeting; receiving, from a video conference provider, a local model for speech recognition, wherein the local model comprises a copy of a centralized model; storing, by the first client device, the copy of the centralized model as a local recognizer; performing, by the first client device, speech recognition using the local model on the one or more audio streams, wherein performing speech recognition comprises: identifying, by the local recognizer, audio feature data within the one or more audio streams; identifying, based on a vocabulary database, user-specific vocabulary within the audio feature data; and generating, based on the user-specific vocabulary, a private transcription of the one or more audio streams, wherein the private transcription comprises the user-specific vocabulary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Dines et al. (US 2014/0244252 A1) discloses method for providing participants to a multiparty meeting with a transcript of the meeting, comprising the steps of: establishing an meeting among two or more participants; exchanging during said meeting voice data as well as documents; uploading at least a part of said voice data and at least a part of said documents to a remote speech recognition server.
/GERALD GAUTHIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
September 4, 2026