Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2025, 11/06/2025, 12/09/2025 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of (content coordination and information transmission) without significantly more. Claim 9 for example recites at a high level:
Sending a content identifier and a media source identifier from a second media application system to a server
The server sends push information to a first converged media application system
The first converged media application system integrates multiple media interfaces
The first converged media application system uses identifiers to map correct interfaces and retrieve correct content from media server
Conceptually, this is about coordinating content selection and delivering across systems using identifiers and servers.
Which is more or less a type of:
Information exchange
Content selection/routing
Using identifiers to retrieve content
These are a classic data processing and communication ideas.
So, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea, such as:
Organizing and transmitting information, or
Selecting and retrieving content based on identifiers, or
Coordinating media delivery using generic network communication
These fits within “certain methods of organizing human activity”/”data transmission”/”content delivery” line of cases.
Technically,
“sending” identifiers
a “Server end”
“Push information”
“Integrated interfaces of multiple media sources”
“Obtaining target content”
“Media server”
Are all purely functional and result oriented which can be done using generic computer components.
There is no new network protocol, or unconventional server behavior, or any specific interface architecture, or technical improvement to the media retrieval itself and there is no change to how the computer operates.
Courts have consistently held that :
Using a server to push information
Using identifiers to select content
Integrating multiple interfaces at the application level
Does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea of (content coordination and information transmission).
Similar rational applies to the other independent claims 1, 12 and 14 with 14 further reciting processor and memory which are generic computer components performing routine computer functions.
The dependent claims add detail to the independent claims in terms of particularity, however the limitations taken alone or in combination with the independent claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea of (content coordination and information transmission).
Therefore claims 1-20 are not statutory under 35. USC. 101 as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)and/or(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oliver, USPG_Pub. 20150046939.
Regarding claim 1, Oliver discloses a media control method, applied to a first converged media application system, comprising:
determining target content from a target media source, and obtaining a content identifier of the target content and a media source identifier of the target media source (fig. 4, 430 (subscription information which meets push information stored at TV everywhere servers and sent to content partner application 140 which is the first converged media application system-see Para. 9-10 of originally filed specification for definition of push information as it relates to user signing into account));
obtaining a target interface corresponding to the media source identifier, and obtaining a target media server of the target media source (fig. 8, 10; Para. 41, 43); and
obtaining the target content from the target media server based on the content identifier through the target interface (fig. 11; Para. 43).
Regarding claim 2, Oliver explicitly discloses the media control method, before the obtaining a content identifier of the target content and a media source identifier of the target media source, the method further comprising:
in response to a first input of a user, determining the target media source in multiple media sources (Oliver: fig. 10; Para. 43);
displaying a content list of the target media source (fig. 10; Para. 43 (HBO content list can be browsed)); and
in response to a second input of the user, determining the target content from the content list (fig. 11).
Regarding claim 5, Oliver discloses the media control method, wherein the obtaining a content identifier of the target content and a media source identifier of the target media source comprises: obtaining push information in a target account from a server end after the target account is logged in (fig. 4, 430 (subscription information which meets push information stored at TV everywhere servers and sent to content partner application 140 which is the first converged media application system-see Para. 9-10 of originally filed specification for definition of push information as it relates to user signing into account)); and obtaining the content identifier of the target content and the media source identifier of the target media source from the push information (fig. 8, 10; Para. 41, 43).
Regarding claims 9, 12 Oliver discloses a media control method, applied to a second media application system, the method comprising:
sending a content identifier of target content and a media source identifier of a target media source to a server end, for the server end to deliver push information to a first converged media application system (fig. 4, 430 (subscription information which meets push information stored at TV everywhere servers and sent to content partner application 140 which is the first converged media application system-see Para. 9-10 of originally filed specification for definition of push information as it relates to user signing into account)), wherein interfaces of multiple media sources are integrated in the first converged media application system (fig. 8; Para. 20 (content partner application 140 integrates interfaces of multiple media sources-see fig. 8)), and the push information comprises the content identifier of the target content and the media source identifier of the target media source (Abstract Para. 14 (subscription permits user access to content and channels-so subscription information includes channels identifiers and channel identifiers as well as authorization keys etc.)), the first converged media application system obtains the target content from a target media server based on the content identifier through a target interface of the first converged media application system (fig. 8; Para. 41), the target interface corresponds to the media source identifier, and the target media server is a media server of the target media source (fig. 7-8; Para. 25-26, 43 (see how content is retrieved from a specific or target source based on channel/content ID available in the user subscription information)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 11, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver, USPG_Pub. 20150046939, in view of Cansino, USPG_Pub. 20200142661.
Regarding claims 6, 19 Oliver discloses the media control method, wherein the push information is generated by the server end based on the content identifier of the target content and the media source identifier of the target media source that are submitted by a second media application system, and the target account is logged in on the second media application system (fig. 4, 430 (subscription information which meets push information stored at TV everywhere servers and sent to content partner application 140 which is the first converged media application system-see Para. 9-10 of originally filed specification for definition of push information as it relates to user signing into account)), and the second media application system is installed on a mobile terminal (fig. 1, 105 (see application 140)).
Oliver does not explicitly disclose first converged media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal.
Cansino discloses first converged media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal (Cansino: Para. 163-164; fig. 18B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Oliver to include first converged media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal as disclosed by Cansino in order to allow driver to monitor content watched by passengers on their mobile phones.
Regarding claims 7, 20 Oliver in view of Cansino discloses the media control method, wherein the first converged media application system is installed on the vehicle-mounted terminal (Cansino: Para. 163-164; fig. 18B) or on the mobile terminal (Cansino: fig. 18B).
Regarding claim 11, Oliver does not explicitly disclose the media control method, wherein the first converged media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal and the second media application system is installed on a mobile terminal, or the first converged media application system is installed on a mobile terminal and the second media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal.
Cansino discloses the media control method, wherein the first converged media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal and the second media application system is installed on a mobile terminal, or the first converged media application system is installed on a mobile terminal and the second media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal (Cansino: Para. 163-164; fig. 18B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Oliver to include the media control method, wherein the first converged media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal and the second media application system is installed on a mobile terminal, or the first converged media application system is installed on a mobile terminal and the second media application system is installed on a vehicle-mounted terminal as disclosed by Cansino in order to allow driver to monitor content watched by passengers on their mobile phones.
Regarding claim 14, Oliver discloses the method of claim 1, however, Oliver does not explicitly disclose a vehicle-mounted terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing computer instructions, wherein the processor executes the computer instructions to perform the media control method according to claim 1.
Cansino discloses a display mounted in a vehicle including processor and memory with instructions when executed can perform a method (Para. 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Oliver to include a vehicle-mounted terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing computer instructions, wherein the processor executes the computer instructions to perform the media control method as disclosed by Cansino in order to support seamless multichannel television everywhere sign in for automobiles.
Regarding claims 15, Oliver in view of Cansino discloses vehicle-mounted terminal (Cansino: fig. 18A-B), before the obtaining a content identifier of the target content and a media source identifier of the target media source, the method further comprising: in response to a first input of a user, determining the target media source in multiple media sources (Oliver: fig. 10; Para. 43); displaying a content list of the target media source (Oliver: fig. 10; Para. 43 (list of content available at HBO can be browsed and selected)); and in response to a second input of the user, determining the target content from the content list(Oliver: fig. 11).
Regarding claim 18, Oliver in vie of Cansino discloses the media control method, wherein the obtaining a content identifier of the target content and a media source identifier of the target media source comprises: obtaining push information in a target account from a server end after the target account is logged in (Oliver: fig. 4, 430 (subscription information which meets push information stored at TV everywhere servers and sent to content partner application 140 which is the first converged media application system-see Para. 9-10 of originally filed specification for definition of push information as it relates to user signing into account)); and obtaining the content identifier of the target content and the media source identifier of the target media source from the push information (Oliver: fig. 8, 10; Para. 41, 43).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver, USPG_Pub. 20150046939, in view of Jannard, USPG_Pub. 20140196079.
Regarding claim 8, Oliver does not explicitly disclose the media control method, wherein an interface of each of multiple media sources comprises a Software Development Kit (SDK) interface or an Application Programming Interface (API).
Jannard discloses the media control method, wherein an interface of each of multiple media sources comprises a Software Development Kit (SDK) interface or an Application Programming Interface (API) (Para. 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Oliver to include the media control method, wherein an interface of each of multiple media sources comprises a Software Development Kit (SDK) interface or an Application Programming Interface (API) as disclosed by Jannard in order to manage restrictions for any asset encoded and encrypted with the content distributor's identification, thereby enabling digital rights management of assets from distributors.
Claims 3, 4, 10, 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver, USPG_Pub. 20150046939, in view of Curtis, USPG_Pub. 20120278844.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 10, 13, Oliver discloses the media control method, wherein the interfaces of multiple media sources are integrated in the second media application system (fig. 8; Para. 41).
Oliver does not explicitly disclose before the sending a content identifier of target content and a media source identifier of a target media source to a server end, the method further comprises: receiving a search keyword entered by a user in a converged search window of the second media application system; submitting, to a media server of each of the multiple media sources of the second media application system through an interface of each of the multiple media sources, a search request comprising the search keyword, and receiving a search result corresponding to the search keyword from the media server of each of the multiple media sources; and in response to a third input of the user, determining the target content in the search results.
Curtis discloses before the sending a content identifier of target content and a media source identifier of a target media source to a server end, the method further comprises:
receiving a search keyword entered by a user in a converged search window of the second media application system (fig. 4, 404; Para. 49);
submitting, to a media server of each of the multiple media sources of the second media application system through an interface of each of the multiple media sources, a search request comprising the search keyword (fig. 4, 410; Para. 51), and
receiving a search result corresponding to the search keyword from the media server of each of the multiple media sources (fig. 4, 412; Para. 53-see fig. 5 for search results with aggregated interface for each service provider carrying the content associated with the search)); and
in response to a third input of the user, determining the target content in the search results (Para. 54 (user can select to play content form the contents associated source from the result)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Oliver to include before the sending a content identifier of target content and a media source identifier of a target media source to a server end, the method further comprises: receiving a search keyword entered by a user in a converged search window of the second media application system; submitting, to a media server of each of the multiple media sources of the second media application system through an interface of each of the multiple media sources, a search request comprising the search keyword, and receiving a search result corresponding to the search keyword from the media server of each of the multiple media sources; and in response to a third input of the user, determining the target content in the search results as disclosed by Curtis in order to support content discovery by identifying instances of con that are available from different sources thereby increasing user convenience in making content selections.
Claims 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliver, USPG_Pub. 20150046939, Cansino, USPG_Pub. 20200142661 and further in view of Curtis, USPG_Pub. 20120278844.
Regarding claims 16, 17 Oliver discloses the media control method, wherein the interfaces of multiple media sources are integrated in the second media application system (fig. 8; Para. 41).
Oliver in view of Cansino do not explicitly disclose before the sending a content identifier of target content and a media source identifier of a target media source to a server end, the method further comprises: receiving a search keyword entered by a user in a converged search window of the second media application system; submitting, to a media server of each of the multiple media sources of the second media application system through an interface of each of the multiple media sources, a search request comprising the search keyword, and receiving a search result corresponding to the search keyword from the media server of each of the multiple media sources; and in response to a third input of the user, determining the target content in the search results.
Curtis discloses before the sending a content identifier of target content and a media source identifier of a target media source to a server end, the method further comprises:
receiving a search keyword entered by a user in a converged search window of the second media application system (fig. 4, 404; Para. 49);
submitting, to a media server of each of the multiple media sources of the second media application system through an interface of each of the multiple media sources, a search request comprising the search keyword (fig. 4, 410; Para. 51), and
receiving a search result corresponding to the search keyword from the media server of each of the multiple media sources (fig. 4, 412; Para. 53-see fig. 5 for search results with aggregated interface for each service provider carrying the content associated with the search)); and
in response to a third input of the user, determining the target content in the search results (Para. 54 (user can select to play content form the contents associated source from the result)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Oliver in view of Cansino to include before the sending a content identifier of target content and a media source identifier of a target media source to a server end, the method further comprises: receiving a search keyword entered by a user in a converged search window of the second media application system; submitting, to a media server of each of the multiple media sources of the second media application system through an interface of each of the multiple media sources, a search request comprising the search keyword, and receiving a search result corresponding to the search keyword from the media server of each of the multiple media sources; and in response to a third input of the user, determining the target content in the search results as disclosed by Curtis in order to support content discovery by identifying instances of con that are available from different sources thereby increasing user convenience in making content selections.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY BANTAMOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2422