Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2025 and 04/02/2025 were being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yohei Matsuzawa (JP2009-268799A) in view of Takeshi Nagata et al. (JP2004-275362A), and further in view of Wang Yuxiong et al. (CN109975333A).
With regard to claim 1, Matsuzawa teaches an X-ray CT apparatus having an X-ray tube and detector, a patient or subject P supported on a tabletop, and a bed mechanism configured to move the tabletop in the longitudinal direction into the CT apparatus. Matsuzawa further teaches frame 3a, tabletop 3b, linear scale 3c extending along the frame, and detection head 3d for detecting the scale pattern and outputting movement data to a control unit. (Matsuzawa [0015]-[0025], Fig. 2.) Matsuzawa also teaches collecting actual movement data during movement of the tabletop and using that data for movement control. (Matsuzawa [0032]-[0041], Figs. 4-8.)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach that the movement amount information itself is distinguishably depicted in the radiographic image. Rather, Matsuzawa places the linear scale and detection head within a movement-control arrangement and specifically states that the detection head is positioned outside the imaging range so that it does not appear in the acquired image. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches acquiring radiographic image data in which a scale is imaged together with the subject and determining dimensional information from the scale visible within the radiographic image. Nagata further explains that the scale may be formed of a radiopaque material such as lead so that it appears as density information in the radiographic image. (Nagata [0010]-[0017], [0027]-[0033], Fig. 1; [0048], Fig. 2.)
Wang further teaches radiographic inspection positioning structures that improve positioning accuracy, increase one-shot imaging success, and improve image quality during radiographic inspection. (Wang [0004]-[0005], [0010], Figs. 1-3.)
In view of the utility of recovering movement or scale information directly from the radiographic image, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Matsuzawa with the teachings of Nagata so that the movement amount information is radiographically visible in the captured image, thereby allowing each radiographic image to carry its associated movement information while reducing manual association errors and improving reconstruction and measurement reliability. Wang's teachings further reinforce the known advantages of incorporating radiographic positioning structures to improve imaging accuracy and repeatability.
With regard to claim 2, claim 2 depends from claim 1 and further recites that the movement mechanism translationally or rotationally moves the imaging target. Matsuzawa teaches translational movement because tabletop 3b is held by frame 3a so that it moves in the longitudinal direction, and subject P on the tabletop is moved into the X-ray CT apparatus. (Matsuzawa [0016], [0022]-[0023], Fig. 2.) Matsuzawa also describes pre-scan full-stroke reciprocating movement from OUT-Limit to IN-Limit and back to OUT-Limit. (Matsuzawa [0032].)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach the radiographically depicted movement amount information required by claim 1. The rotational alternative need not be separately shown because claim 2 is written in the alternative and Matsuzawa expressly teaches translational movement.
Nagata teaches the radiographically depicted scale or mark for the reasons stated with regard to claim 1. (Nagata [0010]-[0017], [0027]-[0033], Figs. 1-2.)
In view of the utility of making the displacement of a translationally moved imaging target recoverable from the captured image itself, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Matsuzawa's translational moving-table CT mechanism with Nagata's radiographically visible scale or mark, thereby allowing the radiographic image to identify the movement amount associated with the translational position.
With regard to claim 3, claim 3 depends from claim 1 and further recites that display of the movement amount information changes in conjunction with operation of the movement mechanism. Matsuzawa teaches that the detection head reads a pattern of linear scale 3c and outputs movement data corresponding to movement of tabletop 3b. The control unit collects actual movement data from movement of the table and analyzes deviation from theoretical values. (Matsuzawa [0024]-[0025], [0027]-[0039], Figs. 2-6.)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach making the movement amount display radiographically visible. Matsuzawa uses the scale and detector for control and places the detection head outside the imaging range. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches making a scale radiographically visible in the image and recognizing the scale from image data. (Nagata [0010]-[0017], [0027]-[0033], Figs. 1-2.)
Wang further teaches radiographic inspection devices having scales and movable radiation-source positioning structures for accurate positioning. (Wang [0004]-[0005], [0010].)
In view of the utility of causing the image-visible movement indication to track actual operation of the movement mechanism, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use Nagata's image-visible scale or mark with Matsuzawa's movement-responsive scale arrangement so that the displayed value or position in the radiographic image changes as the mechanism operates. The changing indication is the predictable result of relative motion between a scale and a corresponding pointer or mark.
With regard to claim 4, claim 4 depends from claim 1 and further recites that the movement amount information is displayed by a mark made of material having lower transmittance to radiation than a material of the movement mechanism. Matsuzawa teaches the movement mechanism and movement-measuring scale but does not specify a radiopaque material for a mark visible in the radiographic image. (Matsuzawa [0022]-[0025].)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach the lower-transmittance radiographic mark because Matsuzawa is concerned with a control scale and detection head rather than an image-visible marker. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches that a radiographable scale can be made of metal such as lead and that the scale image appears in the radiographic image as density information. (Nagata [0012], [0027]-[0033], Fig. 1; [0048], Fig. 2.) Such lead or metal provides lower X-ray transmittance than ordinary table or support materials selected not to obscure the image.
In view of the utility of making the movement mark readily distinguishable in the radiographic image, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the mark from a lower-transmittance material such as Nagata's lead or metal, thereby producing a reliably visible density contrast in the acquired image. This is a routine material selection for radiographic visibility.
With regard to claim 5, claim 5 depends from claim 1 and further recites that the movement mechanism includes a fixed unit, a moving unit movable with respect to the fixed unit, and that the imaging target moves along with the moving unit. Matsuzawa teaches frame 3a and tabletop 3b. Frame 3a holds tabletop 3b so that the tabletop moves in the longitudinal direction; subject P is placed on the tabletop and moves into the CT apparatus. (Matsuzawa [0016], [0022]-[0023], Fig. 2.) Frame 3a corresponds to the fixed unit of the bed assembly relative to the CT apparatus and source path during table motion, while tabletop 3b corresponds to the moving unit.
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach the radiographically depicted movement amount information required by parent claim 1. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches the radiographically visible scale or mark and image-recognition arrangement discussed with regard to claim 1. (Nagata [0010]-[0017], [0027]-[0033], Figs. 1-2.)
In view of the utility of recovering from the image the movement of a target carried by a moving unit relative to a fixed unit, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use Nagata's radiographic scale or mark with Matsuzawa's fixed-frame and moving-table arrangement, thereby preserving the known functions of the fixed and moving units while making their relative displacement recoverable from the radiographic image.
With regard to claim 12, notice that claim 12 depends from claim 1 and further recites that a value of the movement amount indicated by the movement amount information changes in conjunction with operation of the movement mechanism.
Matsuzawa teaches that the detection head detects the linear-scale pattern and outputs digital data according to movement of tabletop 3b, and that actual movement data is collected during tabletop movement. (Matsuzawa [0024]-[0025], [0027]-[0039], Figs. 2, 4-6.)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach that the changing value is radiographically depicted in the captured image. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches a scale visible in the radiographic image and recognized from image data. (Nagata [0010]-[0017], [0027]-[0033], Figs. 1-2.)
In view of the utility of enabling each radiographic frame to self-identify the target displacement existing when that frame was acquired, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make Matsuzawa's changing movement value visible in the image using Nagata's radiopaque scale or mark. The predictable result is that operation of the table changes the indicated scale value captured in the radiographic image.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yohei Matsuzawa (JP2009-268799A) in view of Takeshi Nagata et al. (JP2004-275362A), and further in view of Wang Yuxiong et al. (CN109975333A), and further in view of Hiroshi Kanda (JP2022-038048A).
With regard to claim 6, notice that claim 6 depends from claim 5 and further recites a first mark on the fixed unit and a second mark on the moving unit, with movement amount information displayed based on the relative positional relationship between the marks.
Matsuzawa teaches a fixed frame 3a, moving tabletop 3b, and a relative scale and detection relationship between linear scale 3c and detection head 3d for detecting movement amount. (Matsuzawa [0022]-[0025], Fig. 2.)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach a first radiographic mark on the fixed unit and a second radiographic mark on the moving unit that together display the movement amount in the radiographic image. Matsuzawa also does not teach recognizing a relative-position mark pair from a radiographic image. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches radiographically visible scales or marks and image recognition of those scales or marks. (Nagata [0012], [0027]-[0033], Figs. 1-2.)
Wang further teaches the use of scales and positioning structures in radiographic inspection equipment to obtain accurate and repeatable positioning. (Wang [0004]-[0005], [0010], Figs. 1-3.)
Kanda teaches image-based mark detection in which a camera captures an image including substrate mark 104 and mask mark 224, compares the image with a model image, and uses detected mark positions for alignment. (Kanda [0013]-[0015], [0033]-[0036], Fig. 3.)
Kanda further teaches moving a stage in X, Y, and theta based on detected mark-position differences. (Kanda [0039]-[0042], [0048]-[0055], Figs. 5-8.)
In view of the utility of determining displacement directly from the relative positions of a fixed mark and a moving mark, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace or supplement Matsuzawa's hidden scale and detector with image-visible fixed and moving marks as taught by Kanda, while using Nagata's radiographic visibility teaching. Wang further confirms the known utility of precise radiographic positioning structures. The combination predictably makes displacement of the moving unit readable from the relative mark positions captured in the radiographic image.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yohei Matsuzawa (JP2009-268799A) in view of Takeshi Nagata et al. (JP2004-275362A), and further in view of Wang Yuxiong et al. (CN109975333A), and further in view of Hiroshi Kanda (JP2022-038048A).
With regard to claim 7, claim 7 recites an information processing apparatus having a processor that processes a radiographic image captured using the claim 1 imaging jig, acquires the radiographic image, and recognizes the movement amount information depicted in the image. Matsuzawa teaches the underlying moving imaging target and movement data for the claim 1 jig. Matsuzawa also teaches a control unit implemented by a computer with CPU, ROM, RAM, and HDD that controls the X-ray CT apparatus and generates captured images from detected signals. (Matsuzawa [0018]-[0020], [0026]-[0030], Fig. 3.)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach recognizing movement amount information depicted in the radiographic image because Matsuzawa's scale and detection head are not depicted in the image. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches image-data acquisition means that acquires radiographic image data including a subject and a scale, pixel-counting means that recognizes or extracts the scale in the radiographic image, and scale-information generation means. (Nagata [0027]-[0034], Fig. 1.) Nagata further teaches that image recognition may be performed by registering the scale shape as a template and using template matching. (Nagata [0032].)
In view of the utility of automatically recovering the movement amount carried in the acquired radiographic image, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use Nagata's known image-processing apparatus with the Matsuzawa moving imaging jig after adding the Nagata radiographic scale or mark, thereby acquiring the image and recognizing the movement amount information for subsequent measurement or reconstruction.
With regard to claim 8, claim 8 depends from claim 7 and further recites recognizing the movement amount information in the radiographic image by matching it against a template pattern corresponding to the movement amount information. Matsuzawa supplies the moving target and table arrangement and processor or control context discussed with regard to claims 1 and 7. (Matsuzawa [0018]-[0025], [0026]-[0030].)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach template matching of movement amount information depicted in the radiographic image. (Matsuzawa [0025].)
Nagata teaches recognizing the imaged scale using image-recognition processing in which the shape of scale 82 is registered as a template and template matching is used. (Nagata [0032].)
Kanda further teaches comparing a captured mark image with a model image to detect mark position. (Kanda [0035]-[0036], [0048]-[0050].)
In view of the utility of reliably recognizing a known radiographic scale or mark pattern despite ordinary image variation, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use Nagata's template-matching technique, as confirmed by Kanda's model-image comparison, to recognize the movement amount information. This is a routine and predictable software implementation for identifying a known pattern.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yohei Matsuzawa (JP2009-268799A) in view of Takeshi Nagata et al. (JP2004-275362A), and further in view of Wang Yuxiong et al. (CN109975333A), and further in view of Frank Herold et al. (WO2017/133845A1) and Hiroshi Kanda (JP2022-038048A).
With regard to claim 9, claim 9 depends from claim 7 and further recites a position detection mark, distinguishably depicted in the radiographic image, used by the processor to detect the display position of the movement amount information. Matsuzawa supplies the moving target and table arrangement and processor or control context, while Nagata supplies the image-visible scale or mark and recognition of the scale in the radiographic image. (Matsuzawa [0018]-[0025]; Nagata [0027]-[0033].)
Matsuzawa and Nagata, however, do not expressly teach a separate position-detection mark for finding the display position of the movement amount information in the radiographic image.
Herold teaches markers fixed relative to an object or vessel and visible in X-ray projection images, where the marker projections are found, identified, extracted from the projection image, and used to determine projection geometry. (Herold [0028]-[0031], [0046]-[0049], [0054]-[0064], claim 1.)
Kanda further teaches using image and model comparison to detect mark positions. (Kanda [0035]-[0036], [0048]-[0050].)
In view of the utility of quickly and reliably locating the region in which movement information is displayed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add Herold's radiographic fiducial or position-detection mark near the imaged movement scale and to locate that mark using Kanda's model-matching technique. The predictable result is more reliable identification of the movement-information display region in the radiographic image.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yohei Matsuzawa (JP2009-268799A) in view of Takeshi Nagata et al. (JP2004-275362A), and further in view of Wang Yuxiong et al. (CN109975333A), and further in view of Frank Herold et al. (WO2017/133845A1) and Hiroshi Kanda (JP2022-038048A).
With regard to claim 10, claim 10 depends from claim 7 and further recites recording movement-amount-information-associated image data by associating the movement amount information and the radiographic image with each other. Matsuzawa teaches acquiring and processing movement data for a moving table, and Nagata teaches acquiring radiographic image data and recognizing scale information in that image. (Matsuzawa [0027]-[0039]; Nagata [0027]-[0034].)
Matsuzawa and Nagata, however, do not expressly teach the claimed data record as movement-amount-information-associated image data stored in a recording medium.
Herold teaches creating radiographic recordings during object movement, calculating projection geometry from marker positions for each recording, and assigning the individual recordings to their respective projection geometries for CT reconstruction. (Herold [0028]-[0031], [0052]-[0066], claim 1.) Herold also describes extracting marker projections from the image and obtaining image-coordinate information for the marker projections. (Herold [0054]-[0064].)
In view of the utility of preserving the target position or movement state corresponding to each acquired radiographic image, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to record the movement amount recognized from the image together with that radiographic image, as Herold teaches assigning marker-derived position or geometry information to each radiographic recording. The claimed association is the predictable data structure needed to use movement information after image acquisition.
With regard to claim 11, claim 11 depends from claim 10 and further recites generating a tomographic image using a plurality of associated radiographic images having different relative source-target positional relationships. Matsuzawa teaches an X-ray CT apparatus that generates captured images, and Matsuzawa's moving tabletop changes the subject position relative to the CT imaging system. (Matsuzawa [0015]-[0020], [0022]-[0023].)
Matsuzawa, however, does not expressly teach using radiographically depicted movement amount information associated with each image to reconstruct a tomographic image. Nagata teaches scale recognition but not CT reconstruction from plural associated movement-information images.
Herold teaches a method for reconstructing a test object in an X-ray CT system without a manipulator, where radiographic images are created during movement, projection geometry for each image is calculated from marker positions, and a CT reconstruction is performed using the assigned projection geometries. (Herold [0015]-[0022], [0028]-[0031], [0064]-[0066], claim 1.)
In view of the utility of reconstructing a tomographic image from radiographs acquired at different relative geometries, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the movement or marker information recorded with each image to generate a tomographic reconstruction, as taught by Herold. Applying that known reconstruction workflow to the Matsuzawa and Nagata image-visible movement information is a predictable use of known CT reconstruction inputs.
Conclusion
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884