DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Preliminary amendment submitted on 8/01/2016. By this amendment, original claims 1-40 are cancelled and therefore, new claims 41-60 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2025 and 02/06/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41-60 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Any claim not specifically mentioned, is rejected due to its dependency on a rejected claim.
Claims 41 and 51 recite such as “in a predetermined state”
The recited limitation such as “in a predetermined state” renders this limitation indefinite because Applicant fails to define what “in a predetermined state” is in the recited claim and in the specification.
Claims 43, 44, 53 and 54 recite such as “a state discrimination protocol” and/or the “discrimination protocol”
The recited limitation such as “a state discrimination protocol” and/or the “discrimination protocol” renders this limitation indefinite because Applicant fails to define what “a state discrimination protocol” and/or the “discrimination protocol” is in the recited claim and in the specification.
Claims 44 and 54 recites the limitation “the discrimination protocol”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that the discrimination protocol does not mean the same as “the state discrimination protocol”
Claims 45, 46, 47, 55, 56 and 57 recite such as “state discrimination parameter”.
The recited limitation such as “state discrimination parameter” renders this limitation indefinite because Applicant fails to define what “state discrimination parameter” is in the recited claim and in the specification.
Claims 46 and 56 recite such as “state discrimination threshold”.
The recited limitation such as “state discrimination” renders this limitation indefinite because Applicant fails to define what “state discrimination parameter” is in the recited claim and in the specification.
Claims 48 and 58 recite such as “state discrimination”.
The recited limitation such as “state discrimination” renders this limitation indefinite because Applicant fails to define what “state discrimination parameter” is in the recited claim and in the specification.
Claims 50 and 60 recite such as “a non-conditional quantum operation”.
The recited limitation such as “a non-conditional quantum operation” renders this limitation indefinite because Applicant fails to define what “a non-conditional quantum operation” is in the recited claim and in the specification.
The recited limitation such as “a non-conditional quantum operation” renders this limitation indefinite. It is unclear the reason for generate a non-conditional quantum operation” because the recited claim does not even use or operate “in a non-conditional quantum operation” at all.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfosse (US 2021/0,194,507), in view of Shen et al. (US 2019/0,266,512), in view of Liao et al. (US 2014/0,292,367)
As per claim 1-40: (canceled)
As per claim 41:
Delfosse discloses:
A system, comprising:
(Delfosse, Fig. 1 Controller 102, Syndrome Measurement Circuit 114, Decoder Unit 116, Feedback 118/122)
a controller configured to generate a quantum feedback operation
(Delfosse, Fig. 1 Controller 102, Syndrome Measurement Circuit 114, Decoder Unit 116, Feedback 118/122)
according to one or more ancilla qubits in a quantum error correcting code,
(Delfosse, Fig. 1 Controller 102, Syndrome Measurement Circuit 114, Decoder Unit 116, Feedback 118/122)
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop increasing the physical qubit clock cycle…)
wherein the quantum feedback operation is configured to increase a likelihood that the one or more ancilla qubits will
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
Delfosse does not disclose:
ancilla qubits will … be measured in a predetermined state.
Shen discloses:
ancilla qubits will …be measured in a predetermined state.
(Shen [0089] The qubit state detector 130 measures the state of the ancilla qubit 120. … The qubit state detector 130 transmits a detection result to the controller 140)
(Shen [0119] the qubit state detector 130 may measure whether the ancilla qubit 120 is in the ground state or the excited state. In other embodiments, the qubit state detector 130 may generate a detection result by measuring the ancilla qubit 120 in a basis that includes superpositions of the ground state and the excited state)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Shen’s method of measuring the ancilla qubit in different states into the system in order to improve detection of ancilla qubit.
(Shen [0089] The qubit state detector 130 measures the state of the ancilla qubit 120. … The qubit state detector 130 transmits a detection result to the controller 140)
(Shen [0119] the qubit state detector 130 may measure whether the ancilla qubit 120 is in the ground state or the excited state. In other embodiments, the qubit state detector 130 may generate a detection result by measuring the ancilla qubit 120 in a basis that includes superpositions of the ground state and the excited state)
Delfosse-Shen does not clearly disclose:
subsequently be measured
Liao discloses:
subsequently be measured
(Liao, [0037]…state of ancilla qubits is measured at detector…after the first iteration…another iteration is performed…repeating this procedure in successive iterations increases the probability to recover the quantum state…)
(Liao, [0052]…If the ancilla qubits 203A and 203B are measured to be |00 at detectors 204A and 204B, the preparation is successful, and recovery can commence; otherwise the result is discarded, and preparation is repeated…)
(Liao [0069]…To prove the result, the same procedure can be repeated simply by changing the polarizations of polarizers 516A and 516B)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Liao’s method of performing another iteration into the system in order to increase the probability to recover the quantum state.
(Liao, [0037]…state of ancilla qubits is measured at detector…after the first iteration…another iteration is performed…repeating this procedure in successive iterations increases the probability to recover the quantum state…)
(Liao, [0052]…If the ancilla qubits 203A and 203B are measured to be |00 at detectors 204A and 204B, the preparation is successful, and recovery can commence; otherwise the result is discarded, and preparation is repeated…)
(Liao [0069]…To prove the result, the same procedure can be repeated simply by changing the polarizations of polarizers 516A and 516B)
As per claim 51:
Delfosse discloses:
A method, comprising: via a quantum controller:
(Delfosse, Fig. 1 Controller 102, Syndrome Measurement Circuit 114, Decoder Unit 116, Feedback 118/122)
measuring one or more ancilla qubits in a quantum error correcting code;
(Delfosse, Fig. 1 Controller 102, Syndrome Measurement Circuit 114, Decoder Unit 116, Feedback 118/122)
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
generating a quantum feedback operation according to the one or more ancilla qubits,
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller )
wherein the quantum feedback operation is configured to increase a likelihood that the one or more ancilla qubits will
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller )
applying the quantum feedback operation; and
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller )
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
Delfosse does not disclose:
ancilla qubits will …be measured in a predetermined state.
Shen discloses:
ancilla qubits will …be measured in a predetermined state.
(Shen [0089] The qubit state detector 130 measures the state of the ancilla qubit 120. … The qubit state detector 130 transmits a detection result to the controller 140)
(Shen [0119] the qubit state detector 130 may measure whether the ancilla qubit 120 is in the ground state or the excited state. In other embodiments, the qubit state detector 130 may generate a detection result by measuring the ancilla qubit 120 in a basis that includes superpositions of the ground state and the excited state)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Shen’s method of measuring the ancilla qubit in different states into the system in order to improve detection of ancilla qubit.
(Shen [0089] The qubit state detector 130 measures the state of the ancilla qubit 120. … The qubit state detector 130 transmits a detection result to the controller 140)
(Shen [0119] the qubit state detector 130 may measure whether the ancilla qubit 120 is in the ground state or the excited state. In other embodiments, the qubit state detector 130 may generate a detection result by measuring the ancilla qubit 120 in a basis that includes superpositions of the ground state and the excited state)
Delfosse-Shen does not clearly disclose:
subsequently be measured
Liao discloses:
subsequently be measured
(Liao, [0037]…state of ancilla qubits is measured at detector…after the first iteration…another iteration is performed…repeating this procedure in successive iterations increases the probability to recover the quantum state…)
(Liao, [0052]…If the ancilla qubits 203A and 203B are measured to be |00 at detectors 204A and 204B, the preparation is successful, and recovery can commence; otherwise the result is discarded, and preparation is repeated…)
(Liao [0069]…To prove the result, the same procedure can be repeated simply by changing the polarizations of polarizers 516A and 516B)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Liao’s method of performing another iteration into the system in order to increase the probability to recover the quantum state.
(Liao, [0037]…state of ancilla qubits is measured at detector…after the first iteration…another iteration is performed…repeating this procedure in successive iterations increases the probability to recover the quantum state…)
(Liao, [0052]…If the ancilla qubits 203A and 203B are measured to be |00 at detectors 204A and 204B, the preparation is successful, and recovery can commence; otherwise the result is discarded, and preparation is repeated…)
(Liao [0069]…To prove the result, the same procedure can be repeated simply by changing the polarizations of polarizers 516A and 516B)
As per claim 42:
As per claim 52:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
generate an error detection event according to measurements of the one or more ancilla qubits.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 43:
As per claim 53:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the quantum feedback operation is determined according to a state discrimination protocol.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 44:
As per claim 54:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the controller is configured to dynamically adjust the discrimination protocol according to previous measurements of the one or more ancilla qubits.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 45:
As per claim 55:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the quantum feedback operation is determined according to a state discrimination parameter.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 46:
As per claim 56:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the state discrimination parameter is a state discrimination threshold.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 47:
As per claim 57:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the controller is configured to dynamically adjust the state discrimination parameter according to previous measurements of the one or more ancilla qubits.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 48:
As per claim 58:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the controller is configured to adjust, in real-time, a state discrimination according to the one or more ancilla qubits.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 49:
As per claim 59:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the quantum feedback operation is configured to decrease a likelihood that measurements of the one or more ancilla qubits will decay.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
As per claim 50:
As per claim 60:
Delfosse-Shen-Liao further discloses:
the quantum feedback operation is a conditioned operation, and the controller is configured to generate a non-conditional quantum operation.
(Delfosse [0022] To enable fault tolerant quantum computation in the quantum computing system 100, a readout device 112 includes a syndrome measurement circuit 114 that applies QECCs to the qubits … syndrome measurement circuit 114 uses redundant qubits—known as “ancilla data bits” to perform computations. … The ancilla qubits are positioned to interact with data qubits such that it is possible to detect errors by measuring the ancilla qubits and to correct such errors using a decoding unit 116 that includes one or more decoders…)
(Delfosse, [0025] If the isolated fault decoder 104 can identify such a solution with 100% confidence, the isolated fault decoder 104 outputs error solution information 118 that is usable by the controller 102 to correct all faults in the associated round of measurement. For example, the output error solution information 118 may identify fault locations and fault types (e.g., bit flip or phase flip) within the qubit register 108 that explain the observed syndromes, and the controller 102 may utilize such information to correct the data measured from the qubit register 108)
(Delfosse, [0026] The primary decoder 120 outputs error solution information 122 that allows the controller 102 to correct more complex faults that cannot be explained or corrected for by a minimum fault correction)
(Delfosse [0028] … isolated fault decoder 104 into a hardware unit placed as close as possible to … feedback loop…)
(Delfosse in figure 1 shows a feedback 118 and 122 to the controller in order for the controller)
Conclusion
/Thien Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111