DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202210730848.4, filed on 06/24/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025 was received and reviewed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number 18/974,862 filed on 12/10/2024, in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 12-14, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Preston et al. US 20020154605 A1 (hereinafter Preston).
Claim 1: Preston discloses A vehicle control method, comprising: obtaining running states of a plurality of control chips [[0021]; FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing in more detail the Dynamic Control (DC) system 10 located in a processor 40 that makes up part of the multiprocessor system 8 in car 12 (FIG. 1). The DC system 10 includes a device manager 46 that establishes communications with new devices that are to be incorporated into the multiprocessor system 8. A configuration manager 44 in the processor 40 dynamically moves applications between different processors according to user inputs and other monitored conditions in the multiprocessor system 8]; a running state of a first control chip in the plurality of control chips indicating that any of set events occurs in the first control chip; and sending a configuration instruction of running first application software to a second control chip in the plurality of control chips wherein the first application software is application software currently run by the first control chip [[0016]; For example, the processor 20 may currently be running a high priority brake control application. If the processor 20 fails, the DC system 10 can automatically download the braking application to another processor in car 12. The DC system 10 automatically identifies another processor with capacity to run the braking control application currently running in processor 20. The DC system 10 then automatically downloads a copy of the braking control application to the identified processor].
Claim 2: Preston teaches the method of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Preston discloses the vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein the set event comprises at least one of a running fault and resource usage exceeding a first threshold [[0041]; When reconfiguration is required, one of the reconfiguration managers 44 first tries to identify a processor that has extra processing capacity to run the failed application in block 136. For example, there may be a backup processor in the multiprocessor system where the ABS application 114 can be downloaded. If extra processing resources are available, the ABS application 114 is downloaded from the memory 128 (FIG. 7) to the backup processor in block 142].
Claim 3: Preston teaches the method of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Preston discloses the vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein the set event comprises the running fault, and the a running state of a first control chip in the plurality of control chips indicating that any of set events occurs in the first control chip; and sending a configuration instruction of running first application software to a second control chip in the plurality of control chips comprise: the running state of the first control chip indicating that a running fault occurs in the first control chip; sending a first configuration instruction of running all first application software to the second control chip [[0038]; One or more of the configuration managers 44 include a watchdog function that both monitors its own applications and the applications running on other processors. If an internal application fails, the configuration manager may store critical data for the failed application. (...) The configuration manager detecting the failure initiates a reboot operation for that particular application. The application is downloaded again from memory 128 and, if applicable, any stored application data. If the application continues to lockup, the configuration manager may then initiate a reconfiguration sequence that moves the application to another processor].
Claim 8: Preston teaches the method of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Preston discloses the vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein the second control chip is any one of control chips in which the set event does not occur in the plurality of control chips; or the second control chip is a control chip in which the set event does not occur and that has a smallest load value in the plurality of control chips [[0045]; In block 154 the configuration manager 44 for one of the processors determines if there is extra capacity in one of the other processors for running the failed navigation application 110. If there is another processor with extra processing capacity, the navigation application is downloaded from memory 128 to that processor with extra capacity along with any necessary navigation data in block 156. This reconfiguration may be done automatically without any interaction with the car operator].
Claim 10: Preston discloses a vehicle control method, comprising: receiving a configuration instruction sent by a processor; and running first application software in response to the configuration instruction; wherein the first application software is application software currently run by a first control chip, and the first control chip is a control chip in which any of set events occurs in a plurality of control chips of a vehicle [[0039]; Failures are identified by the watchdog functions in one example by periodically sending out heartbeat signals to the other processors. If the heartbeat from one of the processors is not detected for one of the processors, the configuration manager 44 for the processor that monitors that heartbeat attempts to communicate with the processor or application. If the application or processor with no heartbeat does not respond, the reconfiguration process is initiated].
Claim(s) 12-14 & 19: The claim(s) are directed towards a system of the recited limitations performed by the method of claim(s) 1-3 & 8, respectively. The cited portions of Preston used in the rejection of claim(s) 1-3 & 8 teach the same steps to perform the system of claim(s) 12-14 & 19, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 12-14 & 19 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 1-3 & 8 as outlined above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9, 11, 15-18, & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Tsuchiya (US 20210103504 A1) discloses in a real-time communication processing system of the present disclosure, at least one computer transmits a notification to a management apparatus when a virtual machine on the computer has the possibility of experiencing unstable operation related to real-time communication processing. When a virtual processor is free, the management apparatus instructs the computer to allocate the virtual processor to the virtual machine that has the possibility of experiencing unstable operation. When a virtual processor is not free, the management apparatus instructs the computer to allocate a virtual processor, secured by live migration of a virtual machine capable of live migration, to the virtual machine that has the possibility of experiencing unstable operation.
Jansson et al. (US 20080172573 A1) discloses a method and an electrical system for a vehicle. A digital information carrier sends digital data on. A first computing device is arranged to execute an installed first application software. A second computing device includes an installed backup application software, identical to the first application software. The second computing device is configured to execute an installed second application software different from the first application software. The second computing device is configured to initiate an execution of the installed backup application software when an error occurs in the first computing device in parallel with the execution of the second application software.
/ANTHONY GABRIEL MORA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664