DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are pending. Claims 11-16 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “the washing recipe” in line 4 renders the claim indefinite because multiple washing recipes are taught (line 2), so it is not clear what recipe(s) this refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180122517 to Semes Co. Ltd. (“Semes”, and note the attached translation) in view of US 2008/0216746 to Fujita et al. (“Fujita”).
Regarding claim 1, Semes teaches a substrate treatment method comprising washing a drying chamber (translation, abstract, page 4, first para, para bridging pages 6-7) comprising: wetting a dummy substrate with a chemical in a liquid treatment chamber (translation, page 4, first para); and washing a treatment space of the drying chamber by loading the dummy substrate wet with the chemical into the drying chamber and then supplying supercritical fluid to the drying chamber (translation, page 1, last full para, page 2, para beginning “The organic solvent is supplied”).
Semes does not explicitly teach performing bake treatment to reuse the dummy substrate used to wash the drying chamber. However, it was known that baking can remove substances on dummy wafers (see, e.g., Fujita at, inter alia, para [0038]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Semes method as was known wherein it includes performing bake treatment on the dummy substrate used to wash the drying chamber, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prepare the substrate for future use, thereby inhibiting the expense of additional dummy wafers for repeated operations.
Regarding claim 2, Semes as modified discloses unloading the dummy substrate from a dummy FOUP and loading the dummy substrate into the liquid treatment chamber; and returning the baked dummy substrate to the dummy FOUP (translation, page 5, para beginning “In the load port”, page 6, para beginning “The transfer frame”).
Regarding claim 3, Semes as discloses a method wherein the chemical wetting the dummy substrate comprises an organic solvent (translation, page 1, last full para, page 2, para beginning “The organic solvent is supplied”).
Regarding claim 4, Semes as discloses a method wherein the supercritical fluid comprises carbon dioxide (translation, page 3, first full para).
Regarding claim 5, Semes/Fujita discloses a method wherein heat treatment is performed on the dummy substrate at 110℃ or higher in the bake treatment (Fujita, para [0037]).
Regarding claim 17, Semes teaches a substrate treatment method (translation, abstract, page 4, first para, para bridging pages 6-7) comprising: performing developing treatment by applying a developer to the substrate in a liquid treatment chamber (translation, page 1, last two full paras, page 4, first para); performing drying treatment on the developed substrate using supercritical fluid in a drying chamber (translation, page 1, last two full paras, page 4, first para); and washing the drying chamber, wherein the washing of the drying chamber comprises: unloading a dummy substrate from a dummy FOUP and loading the dummy substrate into the liquid treatment chamber (translation, page 5, para beginning “In the load port”, page 6, para beginning “The transfer frame”); wetting the dummy substrate with a chemical in the liquid treatment chamber (translation, page 4, first para); washing a treatment space of the drying chamber by loading the dummy substrate wet with the chemical into the drying chamber and then supplying supercritical fluid to the drying chamber (translation, page 1, last full para, page 2, para beginning “The organic solvent is supplied”); and returning the dummy substrate to the dummy FOUP (translation, page 5, para beginning “In the load port”, page 6, para beginning “The transfer frame”).
Semes does not explicitly teach performing bake treatment to reuse the dummy substrate used to wash the drying chamber. However, it was known that baking can remove substances on dummy wafers (see, e.g., Fujita at, inter alia, para [0038]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Semes method as was known wherein it includes performing bake treatment on the dummy substrate used to wash the drying chamber, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prepare the substrate for future use, thereby inhibiting the expense of additional dummy wafers for repeated operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (and claims 7 and 9 are rejected as indefinite), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and claim 7 and 9 cured of the indefiniteness).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art reference is Semes. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of wherein the washing of the drying chamber comprises a pre-mode that is performed before a preset developing process job of substrates is started, a middle mode that is performed during the developing process job of substrates, and a post-mode that is performed after the developing process job of substrates is finished, in combination with the other method steps as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0158699 to Kitayama et al. teaches a method for cleaning a substrate processing apparatus.
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714